The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

  • Boulevard Kukulcán Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera
  • Cancun,
  • Quintana Roo
  • 77500
  • Mexico
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 363 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort, Amazing Staff Our stay at the Westin was amazing. Of course Cancun is spectacular, but the genuine staff at this hotel made our stay the perfect vacation that it was! They are truly happy to see you each day, call you by name, and meet every need with a smile. The food was always good, the theme nights were very well done and the property and grounds were spotless. I can't say enough nice things about our visit...I wish I could name every staff member by name, but a special thank you to Felipe at the Pool Bar for being so kind. We will be counting the days until we can return. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience We stayed at the Westin from 2/15-2/22. The stay far exceeded our expectations. Maggie the concierge was outstanding and helped us plan day trips, make dinner reservations and just get to know what we could take advantage of. For me the highlight of the trip was Willie at the Viento Restaurant. Willie took the time to get to know the entire family. He greeted the entire family throughout the day and was quick to offer anything we wanted to non alcoholic smoothies to the good stuff. he even took the time to work on my 9 year olds Spanish!. People like Willie and Maggie make this a must stay! March 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed second time around Many of the little touches that made this a memorable experience the first time we visited were gone. Concierge was extremely pushy about the vacation ownership presentation to the point where we had to walk out of our way to avoid her, and her recommendations for the day adventures were poor. Housecleaning staff was mediocre - floors were sandy all week and twice they arrived to clean at 5pm - right when we were returning from the beach/pool to get ready for dinner. We were not treated at all like preferred guests by check-in staff, concierge, etc. despite our loyalty to SPG. Overall, service was lacking. Pool and beach remained beautiful and clean. We had considered making this a yearly trip, but are now reconsidering. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a wonderful vacation My wife and I had a wonderful experience in Mexico. The hotel food was very good. The service was awesome. The view from our room was perfect. The pool and bar area was very clean. I would recommend this resort to families . Overall a very relaxed and enjoyable first time to Mexico. March 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Hi I understand this property is a owners association, but during this stay I felt racial bias towards us. During breakfast at Oceana, we were denied outside tables though tables were available. First day I ignored, but on second day I asked the lady as why you did not give us a table outside thought there were plenty available. She replied- " you can sit now if you want". By that time we were already eating and these are some expensive breakfast buffets. Secondly, my husband ordered oatmeal from the menu. The server got us plain oatmeal with nothing on the side. While we saw him getting oatmeal to others with nuts, fruits and some other stuff on the side. We went for drinks to the sports bar and it was 15 minutes before their closing time. The server said " why don't you go to the other bar ..they have happy hour going on"... Not in a good way. Third incident, during breakfast first 2 days , the server was getting chocolate milk for my son around when we were ready to leave. The list goes on. I am a platinum SPG member and this has been the worst experience so far. I am very disappointed and would not suggest any one from similar ethnicity to go there. March 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by First And Last Lagunamar is a great property very nice pools and beach, great location. It is a shame to get poor service from this property. Front Desk Supervisor Hector was very rude while he is handling my check in. I had breakfast included in my room rate he was telling me other wise, after I showed him my confirmation email saying that i have full breakfast included.. this is how he responded!! I LET YOU HAVE THE BUFFET!! My friend you dont let me have the buffet I paid for the Buffet. I wish we never had breakfast at your restaurant. Poor Service. Server just drop the coffee pot on the table with no cups No greetings what so ever. I feel like all Hotel customers treated different than vacation owners. When I was checking out I still got charge for breakfast i waited 45 minutes for supervisor to come in and fix the problem. Well supervisor was Hector !! He was eating his dinner thats why i waited 45 minutes. I was told he was in the meeting, but they did not know I can speak Spanish His co worker confirm that he was eating. over all Horrible experience as far as the service. As much as I love the property I am sorry I am not coming back. February 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great resort and staff Took the family for an 8 night stay at this resort and was not disappointed. The pool areas are amazing, staff does a great job though in my opinion seems a little short staffed. Rooms and views (room 276) were great and without problem. We could make our own meals and had a great time sampling the cuisine available at Oceano and area restaurants. The mall across the way offers a bunch of entertainment options. And the beach is amazing, too. February 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ain't what it use to be… Great property. Management is obviously ignoring feedback noted here since every response is the same. Noted horrible service in writing during stay and spoke to the Asst. F&B Mgr. who was sad for our experience. No comments from hotel mgr. or front desk on their lack of communication & bad service. Should've known when I had to email twice for every request. Leadership needs to change to make these employees love their jobs once again. February 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommended - for timeshare guests only My husband and I stayed at this lovely resort for 2 nights. The property is fresh, up-to-date and well located; the spa was a pleasant space with good service. I would highly recommend this hotel . . . if you're a timeshare owner or interested in becoming one. As a non-owner, we were dropped at a different entrance with a separate check-in. After declining the "ownership" presentation, we signed the check-in paperwork for a King Villa (we had upgraded at the time of making the reservation online); the room we opened the door to was a queen with a pull-out. We returned to the front desk to get a King room, were told that they were 100% booked and given no other accommodations. [Property wasn't even close to 50% full from the number of lights on at night.] From our room, we were connected to Starwoods by phone in order to cancel our second night. No accommodation was made because we were outside the cancellation policy window. I am disappointed that Starwoods did not assist us. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rest and Relaxation I just finished my fourth stay at Westin Lagunamar and look forward to visiting again. Building 14 offered the best views to date for watching the sunrise. My visits have been for rest and rejuvenation and each time my expectations are exceeded. The most rewarding for me has been the massages given by Manuel. He is very in tune with your individual needs and his knowledge and techniques are apparent in the quality of his service. Most recent were the "Guaje" massage and the Mayan ritual. If you are thinking of having a massage, I recommend late afternoon or evening in the beach huts and also booking with Manuel. You will not be disappointed. I would also like to thank the round the clock workers, which include the beach groomers, who are out at 3:00 a.m. so the guests will have a perfect beach upon rising. Keep up the great work! February 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great facilities bad mangement .. Facilities were awsome.. But, we received calls by 9;00 AM several times (much too early for vacationers who might want to sleep in..) to try and get us to go on the timesharing promo .. There are various buildings and thus more than one concierge and they do not communicate with each other, creating many situations of having to walk back and forth numereous times .. we also had a food delivery which we called ahead of time and asked for a call on our cell phone when it arrived while we were poolside (as it turns out we spoke with a supervisor) yet after calling a number of times and being told it hasn't arrived. We went to each building and asked each desk about it ..one concierge finally said "you have two packages and you need to tell me which one before I can give you the information" (the second package was the WELCOME package which we never recieved since we did not go on the promotion tour) we finally found it at the concierge desk in building 1200 (we were in building one) sitting on the floor for over an hour.. we asked for the supervisor but got tired of waiting and left.. (we never received a follow up call from anyone!) there was also a religious group of guests that needed some space for paryer and they were relegated to do it outside.. being told by the managemnet "you are not our target market" (despite the tremendeous amount of empty spaces throughout the property) "since the group only represented only 8% of the hotel's business" February 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic location for condo Great pools, amenities and right next to the beach. All rooms have a beach view. Barbecues and great kitchen. Our daughter was so impresses she bought a week! February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience An ownership hotel. Great staff, great service. A great place for families with kids. Always a bit windy and the beach can have strong rip currents. February 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to Starwood standards nice for the timeshare kind of crowd. Not for those looking for kuxury. Food at hotel is poor yest staff at pool and beach were great. Spa was run of the mill and a waste of money January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect place to vacation We took our family with us to celebrate our 50th anniversary. There were 11 of us and we were treated like royalty the whole time we were there. The restaurants were great, and the staff was so helpful and friendly. The pools were fun for the younger kids, and the beach has white sand and warm water. Fun restaurants within walking distance too. January 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum status not recognized and dirty room In a hotel in which app. 85 per cent of the rooms have ocean view, I was given a room across the parking lot, on the first floor and facing a walkway to the swimming pool. When asked, the staff confirmed that it was the best room available Only upon my discovery that the bathroom sink was full of hairs, they rushed me to a marginally better room; it had some ocean view, but it had no privacy since it was still on the first floor and facing the jacuzzi, so everyone in the jacuzzi can see directly into the room. Therefore I had to keep and curtains closed and could not enjoy the "partial ocean view". I asked to change rooms repeatedly but was conveniently ignored by staff and management This hotel was a big let down for someone like me who usually brag to family and friends about the benefits of being Starwood platinum January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful and clean We came here for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. Right from the start the staff was so helpful. There is an abundance of staff throughout the hotel ready to be at your service, and a special thanks to our personal concierge, Judith, who helped us choose activities and made reservations for us. We felt like she really cared for us. The pools are gorgeous and spacious. From the pool you are able to overlook the beach; just a magnificent sight. The room was clean and they all come equipped with a kitchenette and balcony. The bathroom has a jetted tub and a really pretty shower. It is in a great location, across the street from la isla mall, and a 5 min bus ride to the nightlife down the strip. Everything you need is in the resort! Me and my wife couldn't have asked for a better vacation! January 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Service - Good Rooms/Hotel Location My experience at the Westin Lagunamar was mixed. The issue I had is the service in the hotel was poor and become a distraction from fully enjoying my vacation. However, on a positive note, the food was pretty good when you finally got it, the rooms were quite nice, beach is solid, and the hotel location was very convenient on the hotel zone. I ended with a 2-3 overall rating only to highlight that the service was really weak. If they would have just staffed properly I could see this as a 4 rating hotel. The Food Service was painful. I can't blame it all on staff as many of them work very hard - I believe management basically understaffed restaurants / bars / beach during the peak Christmas holiday. At the end of the day "penny wise pound foolish " as they must have lost a ton of revenue as we and others just ate and drank less in the hotel. My example is from the first day...it took 2+ hrs to get lunch at the pool bar (15 min to get dirty dishes off our table, 30 more min to order, another 1 hr to get the food, 1 round of drinks the whole time, another 20 min to get a bill). You would hope this was a bad day anomaly, but basically the same story on other days. Also same for breakfast. In general, we learned to order all at once and ask for the check when the food is delivered. Also learned to eat outside of the hotel. Another big disappointment was the Service on the beach which was almost non-existent. The other service gap was the concierge desk and water activities desk by the pool. I had a "personal concierge" reach out to me in advance of the trip to ask if I needed anything. I sent them a request for dinner reservations for the week. After arriving I realized nothing had been arranged. I tried over many days to get them to assist in making the reservations but each time nothing happened...and nothing was put in my room record. So each time I went back a new staff was there and they knew nothing about the request. I wasted so much time checking, re-checking and re-discussing reservations. This was really unacceptable as it impacted my time and ability to arrange activities. The water activities guys by the pool were similar, bad communication between staff from one day to the next and unable to close out simple reservation requests. On a positive note they had an activities guy who arranged different beach and water activities. Nice kid. He organized beach soccer, beach volleyball, group pool activities, bingo, etc. Nice touch that was memorable for the kids. Other positives were the rooms. Nicely equipped with kitchenette / stove, large fridge, washing machine, etc. Bathrooms were large and nicely updated. Recommend the 1 bedroom suite...really spacious and nice. Once of my friends had one overlooking the beach...awesome view. if you get a second adjoining studio it creates a nice two bedroom apt. Location was convenient. Mall right across the street. Bus stop at end of hotel driveway. Most of the nice restaurants are just minutes away. So even with my low rating, I would not say to skip the hotel given the positives - especially if you have Starwood points. Just be prepared to deal with services challenges. Hope these lessons help you navigate the system. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great resort experience Our family spent a week at this resort for Christmas. The facility, food, pools, beach, overall level of service and friendliness....all were really excellent. A special commendation for our concierge Alicia who gave truly excellent advice....listening for what we wanted and giving great recommendations around the Zona Hotelera, Cancun downtown, Isla Mujeres, and the hotel property itself. Our meals at the hotel were also good, meeting or exceeding expectations. December 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations Internet was almost unusable. Staff was not very prompt and always used high season as an excuse. Even the children's activities never started on time and small children were left standing in the sun for a long period. There was a lot of miscommunication amongst staff for any requests made. I donor plan to use this property again. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff helpful Our concierge was Violetta, as in previous visits. She was wonderful and warm. The maids were also very nice. The towel person, Francois, we also very helpful when we lost a baby's swimsuit - he looks thru ALL the towels in the bin; no suit. A wonderful stay, and a wonderful place for our grandkids. We plan to return. December 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by lots of walking We had a suite in the 11 building. I was somewhat underwhelmed. We had just stayed at another hotel in Cancun at another hotel and maybe we were spoiled. There was no ice available in our building. I had to walk probably 1/2 mile or so round trip to get a bucket of ice at the swimming pool bar. The room was small. No pay per view movies available. A very small dvd selection at the convenience store. That being said, everyone was nice and helpful, the room was clean and in very good condition. December 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond our expectations! My husband and I came to the resort to celebrate our 25th anniversary. This is our first visit to Cancun. When we were arrived at the resort, we were welcomed with many smiling faces. We were in awed with everything in the resort. We enjoyed relaxing in the sun in the infinity pool as well as the beach. We dined at the 3 restaurant in the resort. We met a very friendly staff named Marco. He went above and beyond in giving us the outmost service. We will definitely come back to this resort for its friendly staff, cleanliness and great location. Looking forward to bringing the rest of the family next year! December 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Location The Westin Lagunamar is in a fantastic location, close to nightlife and set up perfectly on the resort. The beach area is stellar and the pools are beautiful. Every room is ocean facing! I would highly recommend and will be back! December 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Pool!! Family Friendly This hotel has excellent pool. The infinity pool has fantastic view, and every pools are kids friendly. One minor fact is food in restaurant. The choice is very limited and almost american food. not international or local food. December 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The bedding was damp and had bad ordor I've stayed 3 different hotels in Cancun in this trip, from low to high level, and westin was the worst one. The staffs were nice but the room condition was bad. 1. The bedding was damp and had bad ordor. It was the same for two nights I stayed althoug with house keeping. The worst bed sheets I've ever had so far. 2. The bath tub was great but the drain stopper was not working. I did not want to call service as I already call for the safety deposit box earlier so did not complain. Just used with waters on. Due to the damp bedding, I don't want to recommend this hotel. December 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Horrible operations from Spa department to check-in, check-out process Lots of wasted time spent on vacation dealing with operational items like check-in lines, check-out with wrong bill that took literally 5 hours to clear up; spa department offers great service but with messed up appointments, over charging and horrific operations staff. Lots of work needed to fix homeowners experiences! December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very restful vacation My family and I had a wonderful stay in Cancun at the Westin Lagunamar. The staff was very attentive to all of our needs and made us feel welcome from the start to the finish. Fabiola Mata always greeted us with a smile and took care of all of our needs. We have been to Cancun on many occasions and found this one to be the most restful., which is what we were looking forward to. We have done all of the attractions in the past and always come back to Cancun because we know the area and can be as active or inactive as we wish. This was the first time at the Westin Lagunamar, and we will be back in the future. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!!! December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great villa resort We have stayed at the Westin Lagunamar a number of times. This time we chose Lagunamar for a family reunion/anniversary celebration. The entire staff from the Bell Captain to the front desk to the Elite concierge were extremely helpful in coordinating the rooms for our group. We had 20 people ages 7 mos to 67 yrs and everyone had a great time at the multiple pools and the beautiful white sand beach. The concierge was most helpful in guiding us to family friendly dining outside of the resort. The staff at Oceano, including Pedro and Alberto, organized a welcome cocktail party for our family. For the most part the waiters at Vientos pool restaurant were attentive, especially Arline, Robert, and Marco. One negative we have is that the Duna Sports Bar service is extremely slow....took an hour to get our meal on 2 different occasions. However, at least they are showing more sports than just soccer now! We were able to get college and pro football games over the Thanksgiving holiday week. The Heavenly Spa is now open and quite nice. Another negative was when the "Fun Team" or activity group refused to let us use the corn hole game or the volleyball when they had another planned activity in process even tho there would not have been any conflict with space. Our family with little ones had cribs and high chairs in their rooms and really enjoyed the balcony when they had to be in the room while the babies were sleeping. Lagunamar is one of our favorite resorts and we will be going back in March. December 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good The staff at the hotel was very amiable. December 1, 2013
  • 2015-07-04T13:51:47.679-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_363, tr_363
  • loc_en_US, sid_5646, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 13 next>>