The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

  • Boulevard Kukulcán Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera
  • Cancun,
  • Quintana Roo
  • 77500
  • Mexico
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 259 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looking forward to retuning often We enjoyed an extended stay from 3/2-3/15 using two reservations, the first for a studio and the second for a one bedroom villa. It was our first time staying here even though we bought SPG vacation ownership for this property 6 years ago, sight unseen. We never regretted that decision as any 5 star owner and/or platinum guest knows the overall value for hotels, travel and special events. Here are some tips: 1. We treated ourselves to private pick up service at the airport through the hotel concierge. It was well worth it and the price was better than the other services found on the CUN website. You can always take a taxi back to the airport from the resort. 2. It is true that you should not arrive before noon and expect your room to be ready. Yet, the front desk staff are very professional and understanding. Omar took terrific care of our needs, especially the transfer from one room to the next with our two reservations. 3. The entire concierge staff is superb and we were fortunate to have Ailne guide us through some great suggestions during our stay. We also really enjoyed meeting Fernando at an SVN presentation who gave us some good tips on future Starwood plans for owners. 4. This property also has a unique owners lounge for SPG platinum and SVN owners available during Monday through Friday. It is a great place for a cup of excellent Mexican coffee and to meet other owners to share stories. We want to thank Michelle, the concierge at the owners lounge, for being so kind and helpful with restaurant suggestions and for splendid conversation. 5. The resort is in a perfect location with an upscale mall across the street and a convenient bus stop for those who want to go food shopping to fill up the refrigerator or to use the grills on the property. Taxi service is also readily available. You really don't need a car. 6. Do schedule a spa treatment if you have time. The service is outstanding and the therapists are quite good. Thank you Carlos for being so helpful and for continuing to check up on the treatment. 7. We really enjoyed Duna, the Sports Bar, especially pre-March Madness. The other restaurants on site were also very good. While we read earlier reviews about poor internet quality, that does not seem to be the case now as we had no trouble. And yes, there are some inconsiderate guests who grab up lounge chairs early especially by the pool. Unfortunately, this seems to happen at many resorts. We chose to use the lounge chairs on the beach and then would just walk up to the pool areas to use the pool or the jacuzzi. The views of the water and the perfect white sand are better there anyway. Finally, thanks to the entire management team of this property and to the many other wonderful staff members who truly went out of their way to make our vacation so special. Juan the lifeguard would like to remind us we are in paradise at Lagunamar, and we certainly look forward to planning our next trip to Cancun and returning to our home resort soon. March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vacation Stay We have used this hotel twice, and we had a very comfortable, easy and very enjoyable stay every time. The Staff was outstanding, friendly and very prompt in taking care of our needs, The pools were very clean and pleasant to be at. The concierges were on the money. We had a great time. We will return again. November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service Love the Westin Lagunamar! It's perfect for a family vacation sine it has the amenities "of home" with a full kitchen and washing machine, which makes it easy to throw in a load of bathing suits after a beautiful day by the pool. I live in CA so I usually vacation in Hawaii, but after visiting Lagunamar it's a tough choice between the two locales. The staff at the pool, front desk, and bell are so attentive and accommodating. June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by overall a very comfortable and pleasant place to stay The moment we walked in to the hotel we are pleased on the courtesy and hospitality of the staff. From the concierge to housekeeping they were all polite and respectful/ hardworking and doing their job well. The cleanliness and the calm/ peaceful environment. The way rooms are set up, overlooking the ocean . We have been travelling as a Starwood member and this is the only time I have written a review ! Its because this place is really recommendable. This place is really for a relaxing vacation. See it yourself and I will say no more . August 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin Should be Embarassed. My family and I stayed at this Westin for the second time in June 2013 and found the experience extremely disappointing. Check in/Service: We arrived at 11am. The check in process was very unorganized. The first desk gave us a map of the property and charged us for the ride to the hotel. The second desk was where we checked in. It took 45 minutes in line to be helped. There was a preferred member desk with no line and we requested to be helped there, but the woman was VERY rude and said she would try to get to us in a few minutes. 45 minutes later she still would not help us. It appeared she was using the desk as central hub to call other employees instead of using as the check in desk it is meant to be. When we did get help, we found out the rooms would be a while - despite the fact that I had called earlier in the week letting them know we would be early and would like at least one of our 4 rooms to be available. Our rooms were not ready until 6pm. Meanwhile other guests were arriving receiving rooms immediately. As I walked around the hotel waiting to be assigned a room, many staff members seemed to be wandering around chatting or leaning in corridors talking. When we were finally assigned rooms at 6pm we found that we could not get into one of the rooms. We called the desk to request new keys (I was not about to go down to get them after waiting 7 hours for a room). It took 4 phone calls and over an hour to get new keys despite being promised each time that "someone is on their way". SPG members are supposed to receive discount cards to use in the restaurants. The front desk is supposed to inform you of this and give you the cards. They did not. Instead we had to request them. I wonder how many people got ripped off because of that ? Towel cards are also supposed to be given at check in. This was forgotten. When I came to ask for some so we could get towels during our 7 hour wait for a room, I was told I could not have my towel card until I was assigned a room. What did they suggest I do for 7 hours? The staff are not all on the same page. We received different stories from different people. Example: we had two 2 bedroom lockouts. We asked if we could assigned 1 credit card to each room (4 total). Two staff members said it wouldn't be a problem. Then when we went to the desk to add the other 2 credit cards, we were told it was not possible. Oceano: Drinks were extremely weak. "Happy Hour" was never staffed properly so it was nearly impossible to get a drink. Sports Bar: We waited 20 minutes for service despite the restaurant being nearly empty. Guacamole and chips took 30 minutes to come to the table - we could see it sitting in the kitchen window. We ordered drinks during happy hour, but when the bill came, we were charged full price - had to request a reduction. This happened twice. Other: WIFI almost never worked. Positives: The room was nice and the pool and the beach were beautiful. My family owns multiple time shares with Starwood. We have had the pleasure of enjoying them in Kauai, Maui, Orlando, Atlantis, and Jensen Beach. My husband and I were considering purchasing one as well, but after this experience, we are reconsidering. As a seasoned traveler and a loyal Starwood customer, I feel extremely disappointed by this experience and that Westin should be embarassed. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome resort Just returned fron 8 days and wish it had been longer. Service was unbelievable, except a little on the slow side at duna. The pool staff and pool restaurant were great. We attended both the pizza/ pasta night and the steak night, both were great. We had lunch evey day at the pool restaurant, the food was really good. Pedro our concierge was very helpful and informative, Fernando the sales consultant was very friendly, infotmative and not overbearing. Although everybody kept saying the water and ice were purified I was a little apprehensive, I waited a few days to see if hubby or friends got sick as they were drinking tap water. by about day 6 I used the ice, no sickness!! My only question would be why do owners only get a mid week cleaning but renters get a daily room cleaning? Pools were beautiful as well as the whole resort. I have never seen so much cleaning and upkeep going on around us. Helpful hint, make sure you get pesos, it just makes life alot easier. February 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Come to this Hotel! 0 Customer Service The food was very bad They dont care about SPG July 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by not cleaning rooms I am still here and right they skip cleaning your room even after you call them and the say they will send someone, as spme previous reviews said. November 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Resort, Amazing Staff Our stay at the Westin was amazing. Of course Cancun is spectacular, but the genuine staff at this hotel made our stay the perfect vacation that it was! They are truly happy to see you each day, call you by name, and meet every need with a smile. The food was always good, the theme nights were very well done and the property and grounds were spotless. I can't say enough nice things about our visit...I wish I could name every staff member by name, but a special thank you to Felipe at the Pool Bar for being so kind. We will be counting the days until we can return. March 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE My husband and I are still at the Westin Lagunamar but it has been a horrible time. We were unfortunate and given a room next to the construction. Staff here is unhelpful and unable to offer us a better room. Everytime we complain, we're told false information; first it was that we shouldn't be able to hear the construction which is not true since we hear ALL OF IT. then we were told it would only be for one more day, which is not true, this is now day 3 of the construction. then we were told on day 2 of construction that it would not be happening over the weekend (sat & sun) but it's saturday and the construction is loud as ever. This experience is just terrible. I do not recommend this property because regardless of what they tell you, I would not believe them. There are so many other available places to stay in Cancun and this is not one of the better ones. I would look outside of SPG and stay somewhere nicer. Also, since this is a time-share property, unless you own here, they do not give you preference for a better room. So, of you're SPG gold or platinum, it will not benefit you here. And, even if you are time-share owner they still do not promise a better room. So, just don't stay here. January 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I will surely be back!!! Excellent hotel This hotel is wonderful. The facility is outstanding. But the perfume of this hotel is its people. Since you arrive they give you a warm welcome. My deep gratitude to Erick for his understanding of my need when giving me my room at front desk. My deep gratitude to MARILU for her smile when we went several times to the front desk, she is the SHINY FACE of GOODNESS OF THIS HOTEL. Thank you to Hector at the front desk for his talent and kindness. Thank you to Eduardo and Delfina at the concierge. May God bless you all!!!!! June 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service My family and I stayed at this Westin last week and though the property is nice, the staff has a lot to work on in terms of customer service. We stayed mostly by the pool since we have small kids and couldn’t believe we had to wait almost an hour to get service to order lunch. This is even after we asked two other waiters for assistance, one a female who was very rude and told us “I am not your server!”. Apparently she ONLY works on the beach. However it was apparent that we had 4 very small children with us, one which was a baby and would have expected prompt attention. My husband had to finally talk to the Manager about this and all he could say was sorry. Unbelievable! Also be prepared to pay very high prices for food. Nothing is on the house, not even a glass of milk for the baby and they make sure to let you know that it’s going to cost you. As Gold members we supposedly get some perks. One was free drinks at this restaurant La Madonna in the mall. We got our drinks, my daughter accidentally spilled my husband’s. When I asked the waiter for another one, he said that it’s going to cost us. My husband hardly drank a sip! We have stayed at numerous Westins around the world, and this one surely lacks in service. Will not be spending our hard earned money by coming to this resort again. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond expectations...3 cheers!!!! It was our first visit to Cancun and we never expected life long memories. Hotel comforts were beyond expectations. Ample pools, hot tubs, infinity pool, kids had a blast. Villa was comfortable. I wish buffet/food is more reasonable priced so that we don't have to look for it outside or plan for it. Special thanks to concierge desk who planed our days so that we can maximize fun. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of our best vvacations ever My wife and I stayed at Lagunamar last March. This is simply a great resort. Our concierge, Delfina, met us upon our arrival. She was extremely helpful in aiding our plans for our stay. Our one regret was that this was just a four night stay. We are rectifying that, by returning next March for a full week's stay. We are bringing another couple with us. The amazing thing to me, is that EVERY room faces the ocean. The staff is friendly and helpful. I don't think I would ever get tired of returning to Lagunamar. October 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Service - Good Rooms/Hotel Location My experience at the Westin Lagunamar was mixed. The issue I had is the service in the hotel was poor and become a distraction from fully enjoying my vacation. However, on a positive note, the food was pretty good when you finally got it, the rooms were quite nice, beach is solid, and the hotel location was very convenient on the hotel zone. I ended with a 2-3 overall rating only to highlight that the service was really weak. If they would have just staffed properly I could see this as a 4 rating hotel. The Food Service was painful. I can't blame it all on staff as many of them work very hard - I believe management basically understaffed restaurants / bars / beach during the peak Christmas holiday. At the end of the day "penny wise pound foolish " as they must have lost a ton of revenue as we and others just ate and drank less in the hotel. My example is from the first day...it took 2+ hrs to get lunch at the pool bar (15 min to get dirty dishes off our table, 30 more min to order, another 1 hr to get the food, 1 round of drinks the whole time, another 20 min to get a bill). You would hope this was a bad day anomaly, but basically the same story on other days. Also same for breakfast. In general, we learned to order all at once and ask for the check when the food is delivered. Also learned to eat outside of the hotel. Another big disappointment was the Service on the beach which was almost non-existent. The other service gap was the concierge desk and water activities desk by the pool. I had a "personal concierge" reach out to me in advance of the trip to ask if I needed anything. I sent them a request for dinner reservations for the week. After arriving I realized nothing had been arranged. I tried over many days to get them to assist in making the reservations but each time nothing happened...and nothing was put in my room record. So each time I went back a new staff was there and they knew nothing about the request. I wasted so much time checking, re-checking and re-discussing reservations. This was really unacceptable as it impacted my time and ability to arrange activities. The water activities guys by the pool were similar, bad communication between staff from one day to the next and unable to close out simple reservation requests. On a positive note they had an activities guy who arranged different beach and water activities. Nice kid. He organized beach soccer, beach volleyball, group pool activities, bingo, etc. Nice touch that was memorable for the kids. Other positives were the rooms. Nicely equipped with kitchenette / stove, large fridge, washing machine, etc. Bathrooms were large and nicely updated. Recommend the 1 bedroom suite...really spacious and nice. Once of my friends had one overlooking the beach...awesome view. if you get a second adjoining studio it creates a nice two bedroom apt. Location was convenient. Mall right across the street. Bus stop at end of hotel driveway. Most of the nice restaurants are just minutes away. So even with my low rating, I would not say to skip the hotel given the positives - especially if you have Starwood points. Just be prepared to deal with services challenges. Hope these lessons help you navigate the system. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The staff at the hotel were attentive and always available. The view from the room was breathtaking. We are looking forward to another visit very soon! The biggest challenge at the hotel was the inconsistency with money exchange and the acceptance of the US dollar. Upon check-in we were told it was accepted to only later find out that it was not. Once we recovered from all the confusion everything was fine. Also, Wi-Fi was never available. We used the business center instead, which is open 24 hours a day. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Juan Jose and Henry Awesome !! My family along with another couple stayed the first week of September, the grounds are beautiful, we couldn't have asked for a better vacation. we were on the quit side of the hotel which worked out for us. the beach was beautiful. and Juan Jose, Henry and the whole staff at Oceana restaurant were so very nice to us, especially my granddaughter Hailee who turned 4 years old during our stay, they went out of there way to make her feel extra special. and I would like to thank them both and the rest of the Oceana crew.. cant wait to return to this resort, not sure when, but will defiantly go back... October 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations Internet was almost unusable. Staff was not very prompt and always used high season as an excuse. Even the children's activities never started on time and small children were left standing in the sun for a long period. There was a lot of miscommunication amongst staff for any requests made. I donor plan to use this property again. December 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum status not recognized and dirty room In a hotel in which app. 85 per cent of the rooms have ocean view, I was given a room across the parking lot, on the first floor and facing a walkway to the swimming pool. When asked, the staff confirmed that it was the best room available Only upon my discovery that the bathroom sink was full of hairs, they rushed me to a marginally better room; it had some ocean view, but it had no privacy since it was still on the first floor and facing the jacuzzi, so everyone in the jacuzzi can see directly into the room. Therefore I had to keep and curtains closed and could not enjoy the "partial ocean view". I asked to change rooms repeatedly but was conveniently ignored by staff and management This hotel was a big let down for someone like me who usually brag to family and friends about the benefits of being Starwood platinum January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Third stay in last 18 months Always enjoy staying at this property. Staff is friendly and make you feel welcome and at "home". They are also very attentive to address concerns. We discovered our microwave was not working. Notified front desk of this and a couple of burnt out lights, all were addressed by the time we returned from the mall. The property and grounds are well kept, it seems there is always someone cleaning, wiping down patio furniture, hand railings by the pool etc. Location is great - across the street is La Isla shopping center complete with an aquarium/dolphin show, Starbucks and Mexico's version of Nordstroms, El Palacio. If you rent a car at the airport you can return it at La Isla. Parking is free at the hotel. This is an ideal place when traveling with children as each unit has a complete kitchen and grills are available poolside. May 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Place This is my second time staying at the Lagunamar. I was celebrating my birthday and although May is considered low season we had a great time. I loved that the facility wasn't crowded. The staff there are so helpful and hospitable. I really just wanted to relax and everyone was so attentive and made it so easy to just lay back. I had a special candle light dinner on the beach organized by my partner and hotel staff. They made the evening very enjoyable, special, and romantic. We greatly enjoyed our stay. The only thing that could have been a bit better was the internet access was quite slow, other than that, everything was perfect. May 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The loudest room ever! Don't go. Can't sleep. This was a one bedroom villa with missing things in the kitchen. My family stayed in 72* which is above the restaurant. There were compressors on until midnight and turned back on at 6 am. It is like a jack hammer beneath your floor. You can feel the pounding all night long beneath your feet. DVD player broke and they had to change it out two times! The beach towels are worn out and mismatched. Ants throughout the poolside. Bad WiFi and slow Internet speeds. Staff was nice and tried but we could not switch rooms nor did they try. It takes two or three tries to get staff to do something such as wifi router for room or switching DVD player. My wife found baby waste at the bottom of the pool. This was reported but no reaction/action by staff except surprise. Dirty diapers sitting on lounge chairs by pool for the entire afternnoon! August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent resort hotel First time to Cancun and I am glad I chose Westin. Very new resort with everything you need available at your finger tips. A mall right across the road if you need shopping or dining. Staff were generally helpful. My only complaint was that the wifi reception was not available in the room and when I complained to the concierge, the staff was brushed off my complaint and never got back to me as promised. I ended up going out of my room to get wifi. July 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is the best location in cancun Hotel is located across the street from many shopping areas, bus line and restaurants. We have stayed in other resorts in cancun and the westin's service is superior to the other resorts. The staff is excellent and accommodating to their guests needs. The new spa and staff were wonderful. Looking forward to returning next year. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great facilities poor service Despite the excellent resort it is, has few employees or some ot their employees don't accomplish the standard is required. Very few waiters @ the pool, it takes so long to be attended, one of the days my room was ready around 8:00 pm, on our check in room was not ready on time and when we arrive it has some dust. And something that I cant believe is that I unfortunately I left my sandals at the room after my stay, and for the quality of the hotels I'd expected to recover them but housekeeping didn´t find them. I just try to recover them because I was going back to Cancun due to my job in other case I'll assume my omission. July 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations Westin Lagunamar definitely exceeded our expectations! The facility is well maintained and staff throughout the resort were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our personal concierge Maggie Salazar was exceptional and made us feel so welcome. The concierge makes it so easy to book tours and activities at discount rates and be sure to book dining reservations through them. We booked two dinner reservations and received a free round of drinks for everyone in our party at both restaurants!! We also booked airport shuttle through the hotel front desk and it was reliable and efficient. The resort pool is absolutely beautiful with the largest infinity pool I have seen. The stretch of beach along the hotel zone was beautiful and very clean. Can't wait to return to this destination. Our whole family had an incredible vacation thanks to Maggie and all of the many hardworking hotel staff. Highly recommend. March 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't live up to Starwood The service at this hotel is really uneven. Some staff are very helpful, but a disturbingly high percentage are truly bad. The rooms themselves are just decent; they are several notches below what is typically expected out of a Westin and obviously cater to the spring break crowd. The hotel sells itself on its luxe grounds and its amazing Caribbean views, but otherwise is pretty subpar. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cancun Spring Break We went there with the family for spring break and found that the hotel was not overrun with partiers. I actually think we saw more babies then we did college kids. Room was quite large and well stocked with a full kitchen stocked with cookware. Pools were very large and all the reviewers comments about not being able to fund a lounge chair are unfortunately correct. It was a bit of a pain. The other disappointment was that the pool drinks were quite bad. I'm not sure if it was bottom shelf booze or mixers but we quickly went and bought our own alcohol and made drinks in our room. As a platinum guest we did get a very nice breakfast spread but as far as platinum recognition that was about it. Check in time was 4 and that's probably being generous. I didn't get a room until after 5 and the hotel was not full. The best thing about the hotel was that the staff were very friendly. Everyone from the valets (Henry I think??) to the wait staff went above and beyond to be nice and it wasn't a fake nice that you get at some hotels. That would bring me back to this property over any SPG recognition. I'd also add to get a few shots from the take 5 photographers located by the family pool. They came out amazing and prices were very reasonable. March 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful trip I had planned on gong to Cabo instead but the hurricane changed that. From the SPG agent rebooking me on two days notice to the wonderful, courteous staff at the hotel, it was a wonderful trip. EVERYONE of the staff was extremely and genuinely friendly. I opted for the Green treatment so I cannot comment about housekeeping. I would certainly go back and recommend this hotel to anyone October 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable hotel with good service in centric location Like: Clean, comfortable rooms with complete kitchen and washer/dryer; nice, spacious hotel facilities (pools, restaurants, etc.) and beach; attentive, personalized service; good quality food Dislike: Very poor internet; poor SPG recognition; hotel lifeguards trying to force guests to swim within the same crowded space on a long, public beach April 15, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>