The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun

  • Boulevard Kukulcán Km 12.5 Lt 18 Zona Hotelera
  • Cancun,
  • Quintana Roo
  • 77500
  • Mexico
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 367 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good resort, with challenges Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property is beautiful and the rooms very nice, but there are some challenges and frustrations. There were 11 of us in our group, and each had problems. 1st, the property is also a time share and they work hard to try and get you to go through their sales pitch. The Wi-Fi in the entire property is dreadful, and at times doesn't work at all. The check-in process was a nightmare - too few staff members and it took more than 40 minutes to get checked-in. The location across from La Isla shopping area is perfect and most of the staff are very friendly. August 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Westin Should be Embarassed. My family and I stayed at this Westin for the second time in June 2013 and found the experience extremely disappointing. Check in/Service: We arrived at 11am. The check in process was very unorganized. The first desk gave us a map of the property and charged us for the ride to the hotel. The second desk was where we checked in. It took 45 minutes in line to be helped. There was a preferred member desk with no line and we requested to be helped there, but the woman was VERY rude and said she would try to get to us in a few minutes. 45 minutes later she still would not help us. It appeared she was using the desk as central hub to call other employees instead of using as the check in desk it is meant to be. When we did get help, we found out the rooms would be a while - despite the fact that I had called earlier in the week letting them know we would be early and would like at least one of our 4 rooms to be available. Our rooms were not ready until 6pm. Meanwhile other guests were arriving receiving rooms immediately. As I walked around the hotel waiting to be assigned a room, many staff members seemed to be wandering around chatting or leaning in corridors talking. When we were finally assigned rooms at 6pm we found that we could not get into one of the rooms. We called the desk to request new keys (I was not about to go down to get them after waiting 7 hours for a room). It took 4 phone calls and over an hour to get new keys despite being promised each time that "someone is on their way". SPG members are supposed to receive discount cards to use in the restaurants. The front desk is supposed to inform you of this and give you the cards. They did not. Instead we had to request them. I wonder how many people got ripped off because of that ? Towel cards are also supposed to be given at check in. This was forgotten. When I came to ask for some so we could get towels during our 7 hour wait for a room, I was told I could not have my towel card until I was assigned a room. What did they suggest I do for 7 hours? The staff are not all on the same page. We received different stories from different people. Example: we had two 2 bedroom lockouts. We asked if we could assigned 1 credit card to each room (4 total). Two staff members said it wouldn't be a problem. Then when we went to the desk to add the other 2 credit cards, we were told it was not possible. Oceano: Drinks were extremely weak. "Happy Hour" was never staffed properly so it was nearly impossible to get a drink. Sports Bar: We waited 20 minutes for service despite the restaurant being nearly empty. Guacamole and chips took 30 minutes to come to the table - we could see it sitting in the kitchen window. We ordered drinks during happy hour, but when the bill came, we were charged full price - had to request a reduction. This happened twice. Other: WIFI almost never worked. Positives: The room was nice and the pool and the beach were beautiful. My family owns multiple time shares with Starwood. We have had the pleasure of enjoying them in Kauai, Maui, Orlando, Atlantis, and Jensen Beach. My husband and I were considering purchasing one as well, but after this experience, we are reconsidering. As a seasoned traveler and a loyal Starwood customer, I feel extremely disappointed by this experience and that Westin should be embarassed. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent resort MY FAMILY AND I TRAVELED TO THE WESTIN LAGUNAMAR 7.27 TO 8.3 13 FOR OUR FAMILY VACATION. THIS WAS OUR FIRST TIME TO MEXICO AND TRADED OUR TIMESHARE TO COME TO CANCUN. IM SO GLAD WE DID AND WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THE RESORT, 2 BEDROOM LOCK OFF AND THE GREAT POOLS AND BEACH. THE STAFF WAS AMAZING AND RESORT WAS VERY CLEAN. WE HOPE TO COME BACK AGAIN IN THE NEAR FUTURE. August 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Great But...... SPG levels mean nothing here. I booked a 1 BR and requested an upgrade to a 2BR with no luck. The 1BR villa & view was very nice-. My complaint is that I used Platinum amenity points for breakfast. I was told I could only eat breakfast at Dunas & not Oceana & buffet is the same. It is not the same buffet. Dunas closed for season for breakfast 2nd day of trip & front desk told me I had to pay full price for remainder. August 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Stay My kids and I stayed at this Westin and really enjoyed it. The pools were great, the beach was clean, and the staff was very attentive. The only draw back to this property was the pricey food and the quality of food. I think I paid $10 US for a pizza for my child that looked like it came out of frozen food package. I did like the market place, which allowed me to cook for my family while I was there. You also have to wake up at 7am to put a towel on a chair to get a good spot at the pool. Overall, our stay was great. I would vacation again at this property. August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another excellent stay Just returned home from another fantastic stay at the Lagunamar, 4th stay in the last 3 years has become a bit of a tradition for my 88 year old father and my 6 year old son. Upon check in we were surprised to go to go to our room number to discover we were upgraded to a one bedroom villa. The room was perfect for us, the additional privacy and space was ideal. As always grandfather and grandson enjoyed time at the pool and location of the property. New expansion gave additional swimming options. Hotel was fully booked but with three large pools never felt crowded. Staff attentive and friendly as always, grilling facilities ideal for a family stay and club sandwich at the swim up bar massive. Beach is great, Westin has lifeguards in attendance on the beach. Walking to La Isla shopping mall is easy and convenient. I always recommend Westin Lagunmar when asked where to stay in Cancun. Regarding wifi, yes wireless can be spotty - I bring my own travel wireless router, plug into the LAN line and create my own wireless connection. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, rooms and pools The Westin brand carries quite a weight of expectation, which I'm happy to say that the Lagunamar exceeded. The views fom the large, well appointed rooms are great. The pool is enormous, and not at all crowded. Food at the restaurants was good. Can only fault the wifi coverage. Quite slow and sometime non-existent in our room, which is an issue for those who are roaming. August 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and features; disappointing service We had a great stay at the hotel because the facilities - from hammocks to pool to a beach where sea turtles came to lay eggs - were fantastic. However, the service we received was disappointing. The personal concierge assigned, who had my arrival time and date, said she would meet me on arrival but did not. I was arriving after hours and was actually pretty impressed that she would be on duty when I get in at about 8+pm. I had asked for information on tours etc so I could plan when I arrive - but not only was she not around, she didn't leave word with anyone else. When we finally met the next day, she was pretty pushy on selling vacation time-share when all we wanted was help with arranging day trips and recommendations on restaurants and places to go. We decline the time-share invitation and didn't hear from her until the last evening before we were to leave. It was a check-the-box call to check if we were enjoying ourselves, and she didn't even ask about or offer to help with dinner arrangements that evening. The other concierge personnel were less than hospitable when we approached them. After my stay, I completed an online survey requested by the hotel and gave all these feedback but it's been a month and no response so far. Ignoring all these, if you just want a nice place to stay and enjoy yourselves regardless, the facilities are good. August 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The loudest room ever! Don't go. Can't sleep. This was a one bedroom villa with missing things in the kitchen. My family stayed in 72* which is above the restaurant. There were compressors on until midnight and turned back on at 6 am. It is like a jack hammer beneath your floor. You can feel the pounding all night long beneath your feet. DVD player broke and they had to change it out two times! The beach towels are worn out and mismatched. Ants throughout the poolside. Bad WiFi and slow Internet speeds. Staff was nice and tried but we could not switch rooms nor did they try. It takes two or three tries to get staff to do something such as wifi router for room or switching DVD player. My wife found baby waste at the bottom of the pool. This was reported but no reaction/action by staff except surprise. Dirty diapers sitting on lounge chairs by pool for the entire afternnoon! August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Favorite Westin Resort We've been to this resort 5 times so far and have never been disappointed. Last visit was July '13 for 8 days. The best infinity pool we've seen. There's something for everyone at this resort - for families, kids, teenagers, and singles. The food is good at all the restaurants. The service is excellent at Oceana restaurant and the manager, Freddy, makes sure everyone is happy. The only issue was the service on the pool decks. There are not nearly enough waiters walking around the decks and we had to routinely wait 30-60 minutes before the waiter would come around again to take orders for food and drinks. This was the first time we experienced this shortage and hopefully they will rectify the issue soon. My wife got a massage by Ester and said it was the best one of her life. We'll definitely be back. August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Resort - Excellent Location - Highly Recommend We had a truly fantastic holiday and could not find fault with a single thing apart from perhaps the poor wi-fi signal. A very special mention to Judita our Concierge who was extremely welcoming and very helpful and also Valerie who took some great photos which were a lovely memento to our holiday. In fact all the staff were very professional and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Also a nice touch that when you gave your room number at the restaurants they looked you up and addressed you by your name. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with everything you need and kept very clean. We did 2 fantastic trips one to Isla Mujeres to swim with dolphins and the other to Chichen Itza which we would highly recommend. Would love to return again sometime!! August 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by All we hoped it would be Beautiful facilities, uniformly friendly and helpful staff, awesome location for a family. Beach is beautiful, waves are fun but not dangerous for kids (plus lifeguards were admirably vigilant). The pool is huge and immaculate with a wonderful view of the beach itself. The cleanliness of the entire establishment was really impressive, and the rooms were fantastic. Very comfortable beds, spacious living areas, AC and fans cooled the room wonderfully, fridge and washer/dryer were as good as at home. The only small complaints I had were that as a pale Irish guy, I could have used more shade (I know that puts me in the minority), and that it wasn't very easy to get food or drink before the pool restaurant opened in the morning. I loved being poolside early, enjoying the quiet before the crowds arrived, but it would have been even better if there were Bloody Marys flowing and huevos rancheros to soak them up. The good points very much outweighed the small negatives. Thanks for a wonderful week. August 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BREATH TAKING VIEWS HAD A WONDERFUL TIME WITH MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS. I CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK FOR A VISIT. EVERY ROOM HAS AN AMAZING VIEW. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RESORT! July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WESTIN LAGUNAMAR RESORT LAGUNAMAR IS OUTSTANDING July 07, 2013 TO JULY 14, 2013 We decided to choose Westin Lagunamar for our first family vacation,and we were not disappointed!! The resort staff and facilities are fantastic! We were allowed to check in early, which was also greatly appreciated! I would highly recommend Westin Lagunamar!! we are looking to our July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experiences WESTIN outstanding location I booked throughg a getaway 2012 and 2013 and will be returning 2014. Both times the villa assignments were great all ocean front rooms. Pools exceptional, beach location great, most attentive to needs. Angel was the concierge for both of our vactions and is most personnalbe. We also had others who filled in when he was not available. The feeling of home, washer and dryers allows you to pack lighter. It rained but it was still great and looking forward to our return in May 2014 July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The kindest people you will ever meet... We just got back from this hotel and it was the best vacation we have had in a long time. The staff was more than friendly, our waiters always called us by name and took great care in serving us, and our concierge was fantastic and helped us plan everything we wanted to do (and gave us tips on restaurants off the property - even though we never ate at a restaurant our of the hotel). The spa facilities are beautiful and we had such an amazing service. It was super clean, very relaxing, and the staff again was more than helpful in your time there. Our waiter Roberto in Oceano quickly learned what we liked to eat, he gave us tips on what to do, and he had the band come sing for us (which was amazing). Also they have an awesome photography hut by the smaller pool. The session was free and I only paid for the pictures I wanted. And they were extremely beautiful and professional pictures. They are without a doubt the best pictures that could have been taken of me on the beach. And we cannot wait to go back! July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great family vacation beautiful resort on the beach, Wonderful service, new spa, ocean views from villa, nice restaurants, market on site. Very convenient location. Already planning to come back. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LAGUNAMAR IS OUTSTANDING We were at the end of a 15 day stay at Soliman Bay and were leaving the following day. We decided to choose Westin Lagunamar for our last day, and we were not disappointed!! The resort staff and facilities are fantastic! We were allowed to check in early, which was also greatly appreciated! I would highly recommend Westin Lagunamar!! July 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The staff at the hotel were attentive and always available. The view from the room was breathtaking. We are looking forward to another visit very soon! The biggest challenge at the hotel was the inconsistency with money exchange and the acceptance of the US dollar. Upon check-in we were told it was accepted to only later find out that it was not. Once we recovered from all the confusion everything was fine. Also, Wi-Fi was never available. We used the business center instead, which is open 24 hours a day. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Owners update The Westin Lagunamar Resort was very nice and had great amenities. We enjoyed our stay at the resort very much. Pools were fantastic, beach front superb, resort staff very friendly (Pedro the concierge VERY helpful). However, the absolute worst part of our trip was the 2 hour complete waste of time in the "Owners Update" which is really code for "Let's sell more timeshares". We were told prior to the "update" that it was truly an owners update and not a sales pitch. What a bunch of bull!!! It was only a sales pitch. This is why I will not buy another time share. I hate the constant sales mentality at the resorts. Please just allow us to enjoy the vacation without having to sit through 2 grueling hours of a salesman trying to become our "best friend" so that we will buy more options. July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features, very good hotel This hotel has great features, very good hotel July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Vacation, First time in Cancun This was out first family vacation in Cancun and we were very impressed with the Westin Lagunamar. The pool was awesome and the beach was even better. Our concierge, Angel, was great. He contacted us before our trip and made sure we had transportation arranged and gave us details about getting through the airport then helped us arrange all of our excursions for the week. Mucho Gracias! The rooms are well appointed and clean with fantastic views. It rained quite a bit on our trip but we still managed to accomplish what we wanted to. The location is also great being right on the beach and within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. The WiFi was spotty at times in the room but we just used the computer in the business center when needed. We would definitely stay at Lagunamar again and would highly recommend it to others. Thank you SPG! July 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin experience Location of the hotel is great. The sevice is mediocre. Pool Bar service needs lot to be desired. Toilets need serious upgrade. Phone service average at best, staff do not know the answer to common questions. Grills did not work. TV all in Spanish, need choice of English channels. Not pleased, would not stay at this hotel again. Below standard for 3 star elete. July 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by solo traveler delight I just spent four days here as part of my first vacation in five years. After plans with friends fell through, I still had my ticket to Cancun and did hours of research on where to stay solo. I wanted to relax and take in the ocean, but also do some exploring. The Westin Lagunamar was absolutely perfect. Even though the weather was less than ideal, the hotel's property -- with an infinity pool overlooking the crystal ocean, complete with a swim-up bar -- is breathtaking. Clouds or a little rain don't matter when you're here. Upon arrival, I was upgraded from a studio to a villa, a wonderful surprise. And two bartenders, both named Jorge, made my trip even more memorable with great service Thank you so much! I want to comeback every year now. July 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent hotel We had a great time at the Westin Lagunamar. The staff was great and room amenities excellent. Great location, beautiful setting and outstanding beach. There were two things that need work however: - Internet access was REALLY spotty and when it worked it was REALLY REALLY slow. - The quality assurance on the linens and towels lacks the Westin standard. (Ripped cover and stained towels were provided). June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT FAMILY HOTEL I WAS EXTREMELY PLEASED WITH HOTEL AND IT'S STAFF. WE WERE A GROUP OF 10 INCLUDING 4 CHILDREN AND EVERYONE HAD A GREAT TIME. MY KIDS DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE THE POO; AREA. BEACH WAS ON EOF THE BEST AROUND. I WILL BE BOOKING MY NEXT VACATION STAY AT A WESTIN. June 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 Horrible experience right from the start. I was worried about transportation since I have traveled to Mexico several times & arranged with hotel to be picked up. We are not met with anyone & had to search for car which was below standard from smell of gas and seat belt problems, due to the seat belt cover not covered properly my wife hit back of her head and was injured before getting to hotel. Four days later after several calls to management responded, EXTREMELY POOR SERVICE OR CARE. Mr. Madina asst manager came finally and tried to be of service which did not help after our trip already ruined for four days. No internet service for FOUR DAYS, front desk thinks they can help & would not listen. It took two of the techs 3.5 hours to get the internet fixed after four days. Room had many problems with Refrigerator, washing machine, air conditioning. TV is setup for Spanish speaking if you want movie or film best of luck. Five English news stations, couple of sports stations & serial TV shows running old shows. All HBO & movie channels in Spanish & if lucky to get one movie in English if they have the translations of other languages ins Spanish not English. Some of the staff has serious attitude. Money exchange always problem & limited to $200.00, unless you have other adults with you. One of the restaurants for burgers & Pizza is terrible, could not follow requests. Hotel is beautiful, ocean and views are great but you can never really go into the ocean, always red flagged. Two nights in a row the hotel next to it had concerts & weddings that were extremely loud, one night past 2 am music was so loud. Hotel hall ways are not air conditioned, neither are the elevators to rooms, be aware if you get stuck you are in serious trouble in that heat & humidity. SPA is not worth it, massage was good but not treatments & extremely over priced. Honestly the hotel rooms are great but I will never travel or stay here again after the disaster and lack of care shown to us. I have traveled to Hawaii at Westin and rather have a great experience in Hawaii and far less hassle than going to Mexico and substandard service we got. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place!! I really enjoy everything!! All the people in the hotel are so kind. Love the pool and the spa. It was a great time! June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will definitely be going back. My husband and I had a great time. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Fantastic Stay, however, the internet was not working our whole stay and the staff pushed massages too hard while at the pool. We were approached by 3 employees suggesting a massage within a two-hour time frame at the pool. We will definitely be going back because the hotel offered everything you would want. The beach access was perfect and the amenities were plentiful. A later check-out would be preferred. Our check-out was at 10:00. June 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service Love the Westin Lagunamar! It's perfect for a family vacation sine it has the amenities "of home" with a full kitchen and washing machine, which makes it easy to throw in a load of bathing suits after a beautiful day by the pool. I live in CA so I usually vacation in Hawaii, but after visiting Lagunamar it's a tough choice between the two locales. The staff at the pool, front desk, and bell are so attentive and accommodating. June 16, 2013
  • 2015-07-30T21:15:51.704Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_367, tr_367
  • loc_en_US, sid_5646, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13 next>>