Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort

  • 1050 Schooner Drive
  • Ventura,
  • California
  • 93001
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 343 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some issues but no deal breakers Have stayed here multiple times. The staff is always very friendly without appearing fake. The room was nice but some of the appointments are starting to show their age. The bed was very comfortable but the sofa cushions were like a rock. You know how you want to come in after a long day and just collapse on the sofa? Not happening. The A/C units have been upgraded and that is nice. The old ones were much noisier. However, the couch kind of blocked the output of the A/C unit. The Fitness Center had treadmills and the like, however, the video screens on each unit did not work. There were also some weight machines and a few free weights. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel!! My husband and I recently were in California to attend a wedding in Solvang. We weren't really too familiar with the stretch between LAX and Solvang. There were a lot of Starwood properties between the two locations to choose from. We went with the Ventura property on a whim. This is perhaps one of the better Starwood properties we have stayed at! We were warmly greeted by the friendly staff upon check-in. Upon walking the hotel grounds, my husband commented that the hotel felt more like a resort. The room was a nice size, clean and it was great to have a balcony! This hotel was a great surprise! Would definitely recommend staying there to anyone!! October 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice view out on the harbor The room, the restaurant for breakfast was good, clean, and friendly. The check-in process was a nightmare. We arrived early ,1:44 pm, and were told our room was not ready at this time and check in would be 3:00 pm. We were o.k with that and returned an hour later. A different receptionist, her name was Sara, told us our room was still not ready and if I would leave my phone number she would call us. We left and returned about an hour and a half and the same receptionist told us again our room is not ready. We firmly said that would be impossible when she said she just found a room. When asked why she didn't call us she said she did not have the time March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by reservations don't mean a thing I was traveling with a party of three, but one of us was told, I mean told, that he would being moved to a dfferent "property" because the hotel had been overbooked. not will you consider, do you mind, unfortunately, none of that, just, we're moving you, period. this is unacceptable, otherwise, stop with the reservations, as they mean nothing. he was saved because he is a prefferred customer, and got a room. horrific experience! August 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissapointing and Poor Service This was my first experience at a Four Points by Sheraton. I took my famliy up to the Ventura Harbor location to celebrate my Cousin's graduation from UCSB. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon. We had agreed to a rate of $115 on Saturday and $106 on Sunday before we arrived. I did not think I would have to double check this and the Mangager on duty did not point out the rates upon check in. When our initial bill came sliding under the door, they decided to up the rate to $156 for the Saturday night. This was just the tip of the iceberg. We did use the pool and the Jacquzzi during the day on Saturday and the facilites were average, but nothing special. After going out to a nice dinner with family, we came back to the hotel. We wanted to enjoy some wine in our room, so we asked the bartender for wine glasses. She refuse to give us the glasses that we wanted and instead offer us wine glasses the size of a thimble. We returned to the room dissapointed and in amazment that they would not meet our request. The next day we left for my cousins graduation. We left no signs on the door, thinking that they would clean our room by the time we got back at around 5PM. The room was not cleaned, the beds were not made and we needed to get ready for dinner at 6PM. I called the front desk and asked that they clean the room after we leave. They said that maid service ends at five and could they come clean the room immediately. I said we would not be leaving the room until 6PM and they reluctantly said they would clean the room. When we got back from dinner at around 10:00PM, the sheet had not been replaced, but the beds were made haphazardly and the room smelled like human excrement. I don't know what else to say about how dissapointed we were. The management did take care of the discrepancy in the hotel rate after a half hour discussion. However, I think this property needs to take a serious look at their service standards and how to treat their customers. Being a Gold member for life, I have even higher expectations. The Ventura Harbor Four Points did not even come close. June 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by my favorite place to stay! Granted, I am not much of a traveler, but I have stayed at a few different upscale places in various locales. Ventura 4points is my favorite hands down. The staff has been so friendly and accommodating every time I stay. They are "down home" friendly and my experience is that they personally want you to be happy and comfortable and they go the extra mile to make that happen. The beds are by far the most comfortable I have slept in anywhere. The location is gorgeous- open the sliding glass door to look out over the harbor and breathe in that amazing ocean air. I had a great rack of lamb dinner at the restaurant this time. I am looking forward to my next stay. October 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel was average The staff here are extremely friendly and very helpful. The room was a very nice size. There was a balcony in the room which was nice and it faced the Marina. The only problem is the wall on balcony is too high for you too sit out there and look out at the Marina. Also I am NOT a fan of the sink outside of the actual bathroom. It makes for some maneuvering when you are sharing a room with someone.The bathroom was a nice size but the toilet is SO small and so low to the ground it is way out of proportion for the size of the bathroom. The beds in my room were some the the worst beds I have ever slept on in my life. So all in all my stay was average at this location August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My first stay here I was very happy with the location of the resort.Weather was perfect,being from the desert it was a pleasure staying here.I did notice some ware in some of the rooms and the hallway carpeting was stained.I My wife noticed a musty smell through out the facility.The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.One thing that could possibly bring in more business during the slow week days is a late afternoon or early evening "fiesta type" gathering - complete with D.J. and drink specials.there are many open spaces and balconies facing that beautiful dock. Just that setting alone and taking advantage of your great sun-sets would take your resort to the next level . August 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Location Loved the location. Bed was very comfortable and appreciated the white comforters. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only issue at all was the teeny tiny toilet! We are not overweight or handicapped but the toilet must only be about 12 inches off the floor and is very small. Sure hope they're replaced soon with a more "normal" size and at least 16" height so we would enjoy returning. #To be fair, on a trip up the West coast from San Simeon all the way up to Oregon, we found this toilet in each of the hotels and B&B's we stayed in. Must have been a VERY good salesman along the California coast a few years ago.# August 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff! We spent a long weekend here and found the room nice although the air conditioner is dated and too noisy to keep on while sleeping. The bathroom could use remodeling also. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The wall on the patio is too high to enable a view while sitting on the patio chairs. The staff was wonderful, especially Sylvia. She was so helpful during a series of emails, faxes, scans, and other needs. Thank you to her and her associates for all the help and kindness! November 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Again This hotel did not live up to our expectations of previous stays at Sheraton resorts. The beds were old and extremely uncomfortable. The toilets so old and low to the ground, I felt like the bathrooms were designed for little people. The room was clean however very outdated. Not once did anyone call to see if there was anything we needed as other resort staff had done in the past. We had to change rooms due to the first room having the worst bed ever. The second room had a gap at the top of the door of at least two inches, going out to the outside air. I was not informed of the $10 dollar per day parking fee before we checked in. Sadly, we will not be returning to this Sheraton resort. November 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by If not here for a conference... The hotel is fine. However, keep in mind that they are also a 'conference center" and "resort". So if you are a Starwood Platinum and need a late checkout, they don't have to give it to you. (In my case we compromised). Also, unlike most Four Points at which I've stayed, breakfast is not included for Platinum guests. It is available as a welcome amenity (continental breakfast only - or $5 discount), but only if you ask for it. When a conference is taking up the hotel, the restaurant is used for conference attendees - not regular guests. After all that, the place is a-ok and the staff courteous. January 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ah, the view Our view of the garden off the balcony was lovely, but open the door and the sunset was outstanding. Although there is no beach access here the harbor is breath taking and beaches and museums are nearby. The pillows here were so comfy, husband did not bring his in from the car! Spotlessly clean rooms felt roomy. The way the room is laid out also allowed a family of four to get a little privacy and not feel like we were tripping over each other. If parking and breakfast had been included, the stay would have been streamlined and felt easier. As it was we found the restaurant menu a bit boring and the latte in the morning was just awful. Easy to over look though after a good nights sleep here. January 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A little disappointed I was staying here for business and when i checked in the staff wasn't very friendly and i had to get my own baggage cart and take my stuff to my room no one once offered any assistance. I was staying here on a hot rate since my daughter works for Starwood and i have stayed at several of your hotel but this one i was very disappointed in how i was treated upon my arrival. The staff when i check out was very nice even when i checked out late. Just thought you should know. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best in Ventura home away from home! I just love everything about this property. Our family just cant stay anywhere else. Its so nice, they give the very best customer service. The welcome you receive when you walk in the door until you depart is just so warm and inviting. The hotel is very clean and the grounds are so nice. The pool and gym is great. I am a SPG member and I love it. All the staff is amazing. Silvia at the front desk is one in a million! Four Points by Sheraton Harbor Resort I would recommend to everyone. Thank you all for always making our stay so perfect! October 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Under Construction We were placed in a room that was smack in between two rooms that were being renovated. Lots of construction noise until about 6:30 p.m., and then back at it just before 8:00 a.m. The room needed to be renovated. Otherwise, the hotel is in a great location, and the price I paid was miniscule, so probably the rate reflected the construction, but I was not advised that construction was taking place before I got to my room. Desk staff was great. There is a restaurant and bar, but I did not utilize either. October 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by JOHN the manager is rude and untrained. JOHN, the hotel manager needs basic training in customer service skills. Upon checking in to the hotel, my husband and I were immediately appalled at John's rude and unhospitable behavior! To top it off, the toilet in our room was backed up, and instead of relocating us to another room (the hotel was virtually empty), John promised to send a plumber to our room immediately. After 1 hour of waiting for the plumber, my husband caled John to complain, and he reluctantly agreed to move us to the empty room next door. What a complete moron! Because of JOHN, we will take our business elsewhere!!!! February 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has great facilities and good place to bring pet bringing my dog here was an A+ experience. There was privacy outside of my patio, which allowed for minimal outside exposure for my dog. Also, the garden area is an excellent place to walk your pet. The grounds and room are very clean. I would have given 4 stars, however the staff needs some work. the sign for the jacuzzi states that it closes at 11pm, but we got kicked out at 10:30. the night before that, it was closed around 10p. The staff had an issue with our check in when we added an extra night, and the tone was quite rude. Ended up, it was a mis-communication on the staff's part. Overall, I would stay again due to the comfort and ease of traveling with a pet. very nice hotel and location. May 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, relaxing grounds. Tennis courts, heated pool, beautiful gardens and great staff. November 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Good, the Bad & the Ugly.... The staff are your best asset! Front desk is polite, friendly, and efficient. Our room was kept very clean, and was fairly quiet--both plusses! On the other hand, the mattresses on both beds were old, and we woke with sore backs daily. The food was terrible--we had filet the first night there in your restaurant, and it was microwaved and luke-warm--totally unacceptable!! My Caesar chicken salad the next night was bland and tasteless, and the Friday night buffet had few choices and was generally unappealling. October 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stinky and rude The smell from the local sewage plant was awful early in the morning. Disgusting. Additionally, When my grandchildren, 23 and 10 went to the restaurant to redeem their complimentary breakfast they were told Sunday morning, at 9:40am it was too late. The 10 year old said Äwww"and was told "TOO BAD!". They were not offered room service, or even a piece of toast. Some service! I will never use this hotel, any affiliates and will spread the word far and wide. The front desk offered no help, either.Treat me bad is one thing, to treat a child that way says a lot about a facility. March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok hotel great location well its not right on the harbor but close. thought thru some of the pictures of the hotel i would be looking right out at the harbor 20yards away but was more like 1/4 mile.. could still see it.. The Hotel next door is right on harbor & looks like both hotels are joined together somewhat but separate names... Oh well great stay. Room smelled like someone has smoked in room and they covered it up with spray.. HOpe who ever smoked in their got charge....didn't really get a spg upgrade oh well..Used point thought the 7,000 per night was a bit much for this property.. June 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by parking The only compalint I would have is the parking policy. There was no mention of the policy when making the reservation. On the parking pass that you require a signature on it is clearly spelled out that you do not assume any responsiblity for anything, including "guarding your car", when you ask the staff what the charge is for they tell you that there is a guard hired to watch the cars. Which is it? You are charging me for something that says in writing that you are not doing! Do yourself a favor and offer free parking to the people that frequent your establishment. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great With a wedding on Friday and lots of traffic, I would have shampooed the carpets on the first floor before everyone got there. It made the lobby smell damp. Great place to pick up the bus for the fair. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, Smelly A/C System This was our first time staying at the Four Points, and it was a really nice hotel with a great location on Ventura Harbor. The rooms were clean and updated with very spacious bathrooms. My only complaint was that the air conditioner was very loud and every time it would come on, there was a very strong odor that reminded me of stale urine. We notified the hotel staff of this when we checked out, but probably should have done so earlier. I was surprised that the system was controlled directly on the unit (which seemed too small for the room), rather than on a wall thermostat like most high end hotels. This wasn't anything serious, just an observation. Overall, the rooms were comfortable and clean and I would stay there again. October 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, location & staff, but bad ice facilities. On arrival we were presented with breakfast and drink vouchers by a very helpful desk person. The room was nice but we had a hard time programming the HVAC and it ended up cycling on and off all night. The ice bucket are nice looking, but too large to accommodate the plastic liners and to fit under the ice dispensers. The dispensers are located in the most windy ports in the building and it was a real struggle to get the ice into the plastic bags. Additionally it would be nice to have located the floor lamp next to the nice reading chair instead of at the bedside and had an accessible electrical outlet at the coffee machine area instead of having to take it to the sink area to plug in. In all, a nice place to stay an couple of nights. July 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Check-in lack of care I had the opportunity to stay at your hotel checking-in Saturday Sept. 29, 2012. The purpose of my stay was for a wedding. My room was adjoined to the bride's room who was able to check-in before 3pm. I arrived around 2:00 & was told my room would be ready by 3:00. At 5, I still did not have a room. Because of this error on the hotel staff's part, knowing I was part of the wedding party, the rehearsal was an hour late. At about 4:30 when I returned to the desk to check on the room status, two employees were in the back room ignoring myself and other customers. There was 1 person handling the registration desk. At check-out the only accommodation I was offered for the inconvenience your staff caused was 1 night of parking comped. October 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service First it took 4 phone calls to book the room. I provided a credit card but wanted to pay cash. They precharged my credit card when I asked them not to and told me even after paying cash that the charge would just go away later. There is a lot of confusion over the parking because they say they charge but no tickets. The rooms are ok and the regular staff are polite and helpful. Desk personnel I cannot say the same for though and management seem a little putout at times. I would recommend spending the money somewhere else if on vacation or wanting to relax. June 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bring a warm blanket for those cold nights Stayed at the Ventura Harbor Resort on a short trip from LA to Santa Barbara in early December. Despite the efforts of the hotel management to employ Energy Efficiency measures with the key card, our room was poorly insulated and the wall heater did not work. Despite turning it on to full heat, it continue to spew out cold air. We ultimately decided to bundle up since it was too late to call the facility staff. Also bad was the hotel check in. After waiting for 10 minutes to check in while the desk clerk was attending to another guest was a ton of questions, he finally asked if I was checking in and then proceeded to call the hotel manager from behind a wall. Not the Preferred Guest treatment I was expecting as a Gold Card member. December 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is the best in the area for the price. My husband and I stay here whenever we can get a room when we visit family. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and many have a lovely view of the harbor. Staff is courteous, friendly and helpful. We often eat breakfast in the restaurant and the food is great at affordable prices. Wait staff is friendly and attentive. We're often able to get some sort of discount to make our bill a little less painful. After trying out a number of other hotels in the area, we feel that this is the only place we want to stay in this price range. Heartily recommend! July 22, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>