Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor Resort

  • 1050 Schooner Drive
  • Ventura,
  • California
  • 93001
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 323 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice view out on the harbor The room, the restaurant for breakfast was good, clean, and friendly. The check-in process was a nightmare. We arrived early ,1:44 pm, and were told our room was not ready at this time and check in would be 3:00 pm. We were o.k with that and returned an hour later. A different receptionist, her name was Sara, told us our room was still not ready and if I would leave my phone number she would call us. We left and returned about an hour and a half and the same receptionist told us again our room is not ready. We firmly said that would be impossible when she said she just found a room. When asked why she didn't call us she said she did not have the time March 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms comfy..some staff rude Overall, this was a nice place to stay, especially for the comparable price in the area. If you're staying for business or have things to do around the area, it's a great stay. If you're looking for a family getaway and to sit poolside, I'd stay somewhere else. Our room was comfortable. The restaurant was reasonable. The hotel itself was underwhelming. One thing that was VERY irritating was a misunderstanding about their amenities. I understand there being a miscommunication from the reservations department to the actual hotel. But I was very put off by the demeaning and rude manner in which I was spoken to by the manager at the front desk. She was assumptive and very derogatory. They also made no apology for the mistake on their end. She put it back on me. It left a sour taste in my mouth. June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This place has improved There must have been a bit of remodeling over the past year. It seems their policy is no special late checkout for Gold SPG. January 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay Stayed two nights for the Seaside Highland Games. The food and staff service at the Friday night banquet were excellent. Room was clean and well appointed. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service. Great features especially the coffie in the morning. Keep up the good work. September 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location and affordable, a little tired in some areas. The hotel is basic and comfortable. Fine location adjacent to the harbor, and close to downtown and beaches. The room was comfortably furnished. The bedding was top quality. Bathroom amenities were fine, but the bathroom itself was rather severe - kind of an institutional feel. There is a mini fridge and coffee service. Curiously, the coffee maker wasn't plugged in, and there was no outlet available in proximity - I had to move it onto the desk across the room to plug it in. The t.v. is a flat screen, but the cable/sat system is sub-standard. I couldn't access the guide or menu, and had to flip through the channels to select the program. The property needs some attention. The gardening crew overlooks basic details - there were planter beds that were empty, lawn patches that were bare, some butts around, etc... June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some issues but no deal breakers Have stayed here multiple times. The staff is always very friendly without appearing fake. The room was nice but some of the appointments are starting to show their age. The bed was very comfortable but the sofa cushions were like a rock. You know how you want to come in after a long day and just collapse on the sofa? Not happening. The A/C units have been upgraded and that is nice. The old ones were much noisier. However, the couch kind of blocked the output of the A/C unit. The Fitness Center had treadmills and the like, however, the video screens on each unit did not work. There were also some weight machines and a few free weights. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel!! My husband and I recently were in California to attend a wedding in Solvang. We weren't really too familiar with the stretch between LAX and Solvang. There were a lot of Starwood properties between the two locations to choose from. We went with the Ventura property on a whim. This is perhaps one of the better Starwood properties we have stayed at! We were warmly greeted by the friendly staff upon check-in. Upon walking the hotel grounds, my husband commented that the hotel felt more like a resort. The room was a nice size, clean and it was great to have a balcony! This hotel was a great surprise! Would definitely recommend staying there to anyone!! October 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay Don't have any complaints. Hotel staff was friendly & helpful. Room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. We stayed over the July 4th weekend. There was plenty to do around town. Enjoyed being near the harbor. Close to many stores, freeway, etc. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by reservations don't mean a thing I was traveling with a party of three, but one of us was told, I mean told, that he would being moved to a dfferent "property" because the hotel had been overbooked. not will you consider, do you mind, unfortunately, none of that, just, we're moving you, period. this is unacceptable, otherwise, stop with the reservations, as they mean nothing. he was saved because he is a prefferred customer, and got a room. horrific experience! August 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ventura Hotel Room were clean, staff was friendly and the weather perfect during our stay. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissapointing and Poor Service This was my first experience at a Four Points by Sheraton. I took my famliy up to the Ventura Harbor location to celebrate my Cousin's graduation from UCSB. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon. We had agreed to a rate of $115 on Saturday and $106 on Sunday before we arrived. I did not think I would have to double check this and the Mangager on duty did not point out the rates upon check in. When our initial bill came sliding under the door, they decided to up the rate to $156 for the Saturday night. This was just the tip of the iceberg. We did use the pool and the Jacquzzi during the day on Saturday and the facilites were average, but nothing special. After going out to a nice dinner with family, we came back to the hotel. We wanted to enjoy some wine in our room, so we asked the bartender for wine glasses. She refuse to give us the glasses that we wanted and instead offer us wine glasses the size of a thimble. We returned to the room dissapointed and in amazment that they would not meet our request. The next day we left for my cousins graduation. We left no signs on the door, thinking that they would clean our room by the time we got back at around 5PM. The room was not cleaned, the beds were not made and we needed to get ready for dinner at 6PM. I called the front desk and asked that they clean the room after we leave. They said that maid service ends at five and could they come clean the room immediately. I said we would not be leaving the room until 6PM and they reluctantly said they would clean the room. When we got back from dinner at around 10:00PM, the sheet had not been replaced, but the beds were made haphazardly and the room smelled like human excrement. I don't know what else to say about how dissapointed we were. The management did take care of the discrepancy in the hotel rate after a half hour discussion. However, I think this property needs to take a serious look at their service standards and how to treat their customers. Being a Gold member for life, I have even higher expectations. The Ventura Harbor Four Points did not even come close. June 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by my favorite place to stay! Granted, I am not much of a traveler, but I have stayed at a few different upscale places in various locales. Ventura 4points is my favorite hands down. The staff has been so friendly and accommodating every time I stay. They are "down home" friendly and my experience is that they personally want you to be happy and comfortable and they go the extra mile to make that happen. The beds are by far the most comfortable I have slept in anywhere. The location is gorgeous- open the sliding glass door to look out over the harbor and breathe in that amazing ocean air. I had a great rack of lamb dinner at the restaurant this time. I am looking forward to my next stay. October 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My first stay here I was very happy with the location of the resort.Weather was perfect,being from the desert it was a pleasure staying here.I did notice some ware in some of the rooms and the hallway carpeting was stained.I My wife noticed a musty smell through out the facility.The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.One thing that could possibly bring in more business during the slow week days is a late afternoon or early evening "fiesta type" gathering - complete with D.J. and drink specials.there are many open spaces and balconies facing that beautiful dock. Just that setting alone and taking advantage of your great sun-sets would take your resort to the next level . August 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Location Loved the location. Bed was very comfortable and appreciated the white comforters. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only issue at all was the teeny tiny toilet! We are not overweight or handicapped but the toilet must only be about 12 inches off the floor and is very small. Sure hope they're replaced soon with a more "normal" size and at least 16" height so we would enjoy returning. #To be fair, on a trip up the West coast from San Simeon all the way up to Oregon, we found this toilet in each of the hotels and B&B's we stayed in. Must have been a VERY good salesman along the California coast a few years ago.# August 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by They gave up my room!! Booked on spg points 2 weeks previously. Arrived at 10pm, booked in to find that they had given up my 2 queen bed room. I was travelling with a collegue for work so this did not work. On top of this, the room had been recently "fumigated" and was completely uninhabitable. There was no other room available that night as they were fully booked. "We are so sorry" doesn't work when you are on the street at 10:30 at night in an unfamiliar place. Did go back however and stay 2 days later on the end of the business trip and had a good room, could still smell faintly the "fumigation" in this room, but was habitable. Thought they might comp the room but did not. Not impressed. November 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wedding Stayed here with other wedding party members and had a great time. Rooms were comfortable and the spa and pool facilities were great. June 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A nice place when in Ventura. This hotel is aging, it's upkeep is still great and the staff are friendly. I will stay again. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by If not here for a conference... The hotel is fine. However, keep in mind that they are also a 'conference center" and "resort". So if you are a Starwood Platinum and need a late checkout, they don't have to give it to you. (In my case we compromised). Also, unlike most Four Points at which I've stayed, breakfast is not included for Platinum guests. It is available as a welcome amenity (continental breakfast only - or $5 discount), but only if you ask for it. When a conference is taking up the hotel, the restaurant is used for conference attendees - not regular guests. After all that, the place is a-ok and the staff courteous. January 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Again This hotel did not live up to our expectations of previous stays at Sheraton resorts. The beds were old and extremely uncomfortable. The toilets so old and low to the ground, I felt like the bathrooms were designed for little people. The room was clean however very outdated. Not once did anyone call to see if there was anything we needed as other resort staff had done in the past. We had to change rooms due to the first room having the worst bed ever. The second room had a gap at the top of the door of at least two inches, going out to the outside air. I was not informed of the $10 dollar per day parking fee before we checked in. Sadly, we will not be returning to this Sheraton resort. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Central Location Excellent and very friendly staff. Checking in was a delight. All questions answered in a cheerful manner. June 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ah, the view Our view of the garden off the balcony was lovely, but open the door and the sunset was outstanding. Although there is no beach access here the harbor is breath taking and beaches and museums are nearby. The pillows here were so comfy, husband did not bring his in from the car! Spotlessly clean rooms felt roomy. The way the room is laid out also allowed a family of four to get a little privacy and not feel like we were tripping over each other. If parking and breakfast had been included, the stay would have been streamlined and felt easier. As it was we found the restaurant menu a bit boring and the latte in the morning was just awful. Easy to over look though after a good nights sleep here. January 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by JOHN the manager is rude and untrained. JOHN, the hotel manager needs basic training in customer service skills. Upon checking in to the hotel, my husband and I were immediately appalled at John's rude and unhospitable behavior! To top it off, the toilet in our room was backed up, and instead of relocating us to another room (the hotel was virtually empty), John promised to send a plumber to our room immediately. After 1 hour of waiting for the plumber, my husband caled John to complain, and he reluctantly agreed to move us to the empty room next door. What a complete moron! Because of JOHN, we will take our business elsewhere!!!! February 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel has great facilities and good place to bring pet bringing my dog here was an A+ experience. There was privacy outside of my patio, which allowed for minimal outside exposure for my dog. Also, the garden area is an excellent place to walk your pet. The grounds and room are very clean. I would have given 4 stars, however the staff needs some work. the sign for the jacuzzi states that it closes at 11pm, but we got kicked out at 10:30. the night before that, it was closed around 10p. The staff had an issue with our check in when we added an extra night, and the tone was quite rude. Ended up, it was a mis-communication on the staff's part. Overall, I would stay again due to the comfort and ease of traveling with a pet. very nice hotel and location. May 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great front desk staff and room facilities Compared with the other Four Points I stayed during the same week, this one is much better: friendly and efficient frond desk staff, comfortable room, recognition of SPG status. June 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stinky and rude The smell from the local sewage plant was awful early in the morning. Disgusting. Additionally, When my grandchildren, 23 and 10 went to the restaurant to redeem their complimentary breakfast they were told Sunday morning, at 9:40am it was too late. The 10 year old said Äwww"and was told "TOO BAD!". They were not offered room service, or even a piece of toast. Some service! I will never use this hotel, any affiliates and will spread the word far and wide. The front desk offered no help, either.Treat me bad is one thing, to treat a child that way says a lot about a facility. March 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful location, nice facility, but dog friendly? Glad to find such a nice hotel, friendly staff, great location on Graduation weekend. $75 per day for a 10 pound, well mannered, terrier does not seem very dog friendly. June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by parking The only compalint I would have is the parking policy. There was no mention of the policy when making the reservation. On the parking pass that you require a signature on it is clearly spelled out that you do not assume any responsiblity for anything, including "guarding your car", when you ask the staff what the charge is for they tell you that there is a guard hired to watch the cars. Which is it? You are charging me for something that says in writing that you are not doing! Do yourself a favor and offer free parking to the people that frequent your establishment. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great With a wedding on Friday and lots of traffic, I would have shampooed the carpets on the first floor before everyone got there. It made the lobby smell damp. Great place to pick up the bus for the fair. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location, Smelly A/C System This was our first time staying at the Four Points, and it was a really nice hotel with a great location on Ventura Harbor. The rooms were clean and updated with very spacious bathrooms. My only complaint was that the air conditioner was very loud and every time it would come on, there was a very strong odor that reminded me of stale urine. We notified the hotel staff of this when we checked out, but probably should have done so earlier. I was surprised that the system was controlled directly on the unit (which seemed too small for the room), rather than on a wall thermostat like most high end hotels. This wasn't anything serious, just an observation. Overall, the rooms were comfortable and clean and I would stay there again. October 16, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>