Sheraton Sand Key Resort

  • 1160 Gulf Blvd.
  • Clearwater Beach,
  • Florida
  • 33767
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 1065 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by End of summer vacation My 13 year old son and I had a great time spending the week at the Sand Key Resort. The ocean was just a short walk away across the sandy beach. The only downside was a large volumn of pool crashers (50 plus people) that were playing in a sand volleyball tournament adjacent to the hotel. They basically took over the entire pool area for the whole day. It seemed the staff did very little to police the area that should have been for registered guests only. August 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice escape Hotel is great for small meetings. A little distant from nearest airport (Tampa). Very reasonable price-great value. Nice tennis facility and spa. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a Great Experience I've stayed at this property probably 10 times (mainly business) in the last 8 yrs and have always had a great stay. Rooms are clean and nice, staff is friendly and food is great. Also, what a great location, right on the beach! I highly recommend. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Birthday Ever From the moment I checked into the resort till we left, the stay was PERFECT!!!! The staff made us feel like VIP's. The room was great, clear and attention to detail. The wait staff in the Island Grill gave us 5 star service. All of the staff in the resort were Friendly , always greeted us with SMILES. The level of service in this resort is something that is not seen in many places. We can not wait to stay at this resort again!!!! Thank you so very much August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great getaway hotel My family is from Orlando and this hotel is the perfect distance for a quick getaway. The beach is pristine and the rooms are very nice. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel and had the all-you-can-eat crab legs buffet. Heavenly! August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Enjoyable Clean , great dining options, beautiful views, resonable cabana rentals, nicely tucked away from the hussle and bussle of Clearwater Beach. August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this hotel, Even though this an older hotel it is very well maintained. The beach front location, on Clearwater Beach, is unsurpassed. Pool area, restaurants, lounge, fitness centre and other amenities are all first rate. We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and always look forward to a return visit. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay Was here back in 09', liked it so much my daughter and I were wanting some beach time and knew we wanted to come back here, feel so safe here. Thanks August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Frequent SPG visitor I have stayed at many SPG hotels around the country and world and can say they have the best staff of any hotel I have every stayed at. We were very happy with our stay and would definitely come back. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was an oustanding getaway ! Very outstanding service met and exceded!! August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots to do, great beach, convenient to other things to do. Rooms were very nice. Service was great and all employees were friendly and helpful. August 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Denise Only 2 problem for us, no refrigerator or microwave. Everything else is outstanding! August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Place We had a fantastic time at the Sheraton Sand Key. The hotel staff was kind, friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool was absolutely fantastic and the hotel grounds were very well kept. We really enjoyed the restaurant options inside the hotel. Very reasonably priced and the live music entertainment really made us feel like we were on an island getaway. The beach near the hotel was a gorgeouse place to watch the sunset. Overall, we loved it and will certainly return again! August 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel stay was very nice Our rooms were very clean and very spacious. We had 3 rooms. 2 were together on one floor and and we had a room on another floor which was fine. I have been coming to the resort for years and the only thing I didn't like was the new pool design. It looks pretty, but it is too small for the amount of people staying at the resort. We couldn't even find pool chairs so we had to sit at the cafe. Other than that we had a great visit. August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly, inviting resort This was my second trip to the Sheraton, but certainly not my last. There is a great mix of all age groups - families, young people and "older" couples. A very nice blend. The beach access is great and the beach itself is comparable to any tropical island resort. Very highly recommended! August 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old and Dated This hotel is old and dated. It needs significant updating to bring it into the modern era of hotels. In addition, the front staff and management do not have the customer service and care mentality that is expected within the Starwood program. I would not plan to stay here again. August 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The staff working this property are what make this hotel exquisite. Although the rooms are a bit tight, they are clean, and remodeled to a decently modern level. There is a choice of three in-house venues to eat, drink and be merry, and there are a couple shops to provide guests with beach sundries and fashions as needed. But the most special accouterment of this property is the staff. Every aspect of human resources was excellent, from the front desk, to restaurant servers, to the poolside towel/info kiosk operators. They were all fabulous, treating us with thoughtfulness, humor and just overall happiness! We fell in love with several of them, and would return just to see them again. A nice staff who made our stay extra special. August 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Absolutely Perfect Laid back and yet elegant. Everything you need is at your fingertips. The hotel's main restaurant has amazing food and great service. The staff makes a point of getting to know you and makes you feel at home. The most beautiful beaches in all of Florida are in your backyard. August 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by very busy pool/filled with kids if youre looking for a quiet escape, id go to the neighboring resorts whose pools were empty. this pool is filled with squealing kids and undersized for the hotel's size. the lobby is a constant hustle and bustle of people running or sitting around in swimsuits and a bit noisy. we were woken early every morning due to showers starting in the hotel and kids getting out to the pool early and heard people thru the halls late in the night-- even got a midnight earful of people cussing each other out bc of noise. SO we never got to use the pool or hottub and stayed only on the sand key beach, which is much calmer than Clearwater. the chair/umbrella rentals were $25 a day, not free as I was told on the phone by sheraton. we also requested early check-in but it was not noted when we arrived so we waited, but not too much. we like that we were allowed a late checkout of 12:30. our room was 7th floor. we paid more for the beach view but to be honest it is no different from pool view. in fact, I think pool view is just lower levels but faces the beach directly and our room was beach view but it faced the pool and the beach was really off to the right. we enjoyed the tennis. we paid extra for the club lounge and that was very nice but sometimes it was locked and sometimes not. I wonder if people snuck in and enjoyed without pay. parking was not fun and it seemed many ppl did sneak in and use the pool or go to the beach w/o being a resident there. there was a parking lot attendant sometimes but we were told we would not be towed without a sticker anyway. we did enjoy the room, the large king bed and huge soft pillows but for the price we expected a bigger bathroom. was tiny and suffocating during showers with no fan. we loved the nice chocolate andes left for us each night and towels were always refreshed in our room and beds made. we even got an anniversary bottle of champagne and strawberries complimentary (I hope). room had water bottles and starbucks coffee to make. room new movie rentals were $15 though. the best amenity is having direct beach access and club lounge breaksfast and dinners/drinks. we did eat the outside pool food (no burgers?) and had the chicken strips that were good but the two ppl working seemed miserable. the front desk staff were very kind but frazzled when we arrived at apparently a very busy time. overall 3.5 stars. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Beach View Nice Gulf View, horrible Inlet View. Definitely stay on the Gulf side. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff at this hotel was amazing Our stay was cut short by a family medical emergency, and the staff was amazingly helpful. The bellmen were informative, the waiter at Rusty's was excellent, and the lady operating the drink cart on the beach was warm, gracious, and attentive. August 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Sand Key We recently stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key in Clearwater Florida and were thoroughly impressed. This was the first international trip for our 4 year old daughter. We were so impressed from start to finish with the amazing treatment, service and pleasantness of all staff. The facilities were all well maintained and staffed. The pool area was fantastic, with plenty of seating for all guests as well as ample towel service. Sand toys were also available which was a fantastic bonus for folks travelling long distances, unable to bring such supplies for kids. Restaurants were all amazing in terms of cleanliness, food quality and service. The hotel lounge was also fantastic, offering up plenty of televisions, computers which worked very well including a printer. Another great feature was the pool table available for folks to use. Never seen that before. Our family is eager to begin planning the next stay at this fabulous resort. Our sincerest thanks to the entire team at the hotel for making our experience so memorable. August 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great vacation Our vacation was great. Everyone was so nice and friendly, special Peggy, she made us feel very welcome every morning at breakfast! August 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super quality, staff friendly, terrific facilities. Hotel fulfills a travelling person's every expectation, and more. Great stay. August 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I have come to expect I've stayed in several SPG hotels before but was disappointed with my room at this hotel. I honestly told my spouse that this just a couple of steps above a low budget motel chain. I had a first floor room, which was remarkably quite but the sliding glass door with the flimsy security bar was pathetic. I was told by the check-in staff that I had a scenic view of the tennis courts. This was partly true. The other half of the view was some construction equipment and dumpsters. August 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not my favorite Starwoods Hotel This hotel has some great features, beach front, playground, tennis courts, pool, clean rooms, but the staff leaves something to be desired. The bellman and housekeeping staff were top notch, but front desk, food and beverage, and management were lacking in the service I've come to expect as a frequent Starwood's guest. The overall attitude was that they were doing you a favor in most situations. The hotel routinely ran out of towels (they acted like it was no big deal) the beach food cart woman was rude, and the front desk staff seemed exasperated at our request for adjoining rooms. The pools is also very small for the size of the hotel. I've stayed at Starwood's properties all over the country and this is the first time I've experienced poor customer service throughout my entire stay. I was very disappointed. August 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unresponsive For this type of hotel, I expected a much higher level of attentiveness from the staff: - As soon as I arrived in my hotel room, I unpacked my dresses to hang in the closet. I noticed that we were short on hangers therefore asked the lady who happened to be cleaning a room next door for a few extra hangers. This request was never met. I didn't get my extra hangers until I requested another cleaning lady two days afterwards. - My mother was traveling with me and my daughter therefore we needed an extra luggage stand. I contacted guest room services to request for one and nothing came that day & night. - We wanted to enjoy the balcony one night and decided to take some food from a local restaurant to go and eat in. We picked up after ourselves and packaged everything in a "trash" bag but we didn't want to bring it into the room fearing that it may smell - therefore left it outside at the balcony. We left the following day for our activities and noticed when we returned that the glasses we used were still outside untouched. This, to us, meant that the cleaning crew didn't bother to clean our balcony that day. When we decided to use the balcony again the following day, the glasses were still there and we noticed that the trash bag was apparently picked over by birds (seagulls?) who had droppings all over the chairs and balcony floor. We had to call guest services again because the balcony was never cleaned for 2 days. The guy who came in to clean however was very thorough in cleaning the area. It was disappointing that it needed for the birds to secrete all over the place for us to notice hence call for cleaning service, while this should have been part of the daily cleaning routine. - Everyday I was at the hotel, I asked if the club lounge was available for a "post-arrival" upgrade. Everyday I was given an instantaneous, cold, automatic "NO, our club lounge is SOLD OUT until August 1st". I asked again early evening of August 1st and got the same answer from two different front desk personnel on two different occasions. In both occasions, no one bothered to verify whether the status had changed or was still the same. As far as the resort/compound is concerned, the pool is extremely undersized for a resort ... or even for a hotel with the same number of rooms as this Sheraton. There was a no bottle policy in the pool area but it was quite rampant on all the days we were at the pool that we would see folks bringing in coolers (even bare styrofoam coolers) filled with beer bottles - this whole situation scared me with all the kids running around the area. Although being waterfront, the hotel was extremely far from the water. The beach is full of cracked sea shells and didn't have the same fine soft sand that Clearwater Beach boasts. The hotel may be within the borders of Clearwater but it is nowhere near the same quality of Clearwater Beach. I must say that the doormen and valet guys working the front door and driveway were sincerely helpful, accommodating, warmly welcoming, and very knowledgeable of the area. I say that they were the true stars of the hotel. The one star I gave for the staff rating is solely for them. I would recommend this hotel simply because it's the only Sheraton in Clearwater Beach and I'm quite loyal to the brand. August 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Family Vacation During my stay at this hotel, I was extremely pleased with the staff. They were very courteous and eager to assist at any time. The room was very clean and was update it. The restaurants inside the hotel served very good food, and I was very pleased with their portions. Alcoholic beverages were a bit pricey, but overall very good. Things that disappointed me was that this so called, 4 star resort had no refrigerator in the room, and no wi-fi service. Both these service were available if you were willing to pay $5.00 a day for the fridge, and almost $12.00 a day for wi-fi service, which to me seems pretty ridiculous, or just another way to rip people off. I used the wifi from my phone, and had to pay for the fridge...The management needs to learn from their competitors, that offer both these services free of charge.. Don't leave your things unattended at the pool area, because if they do have a little value, you will not see them again... The distance, between the hotel and the beach, was quite a bit, especially if you had to carry anything or anyone (small child). Many of the guest felt that they rather enjoy the pool than carry their kids and other item to the beach...Causing the pool area to be overcrowded.... Overall I had a good experience..but next time I will have to rethink my stay at this hotel. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel staff goes above and beyond. The staff at the Sand Key Sheraton are amazing. Everyone I encountered during my stay were very helpful and always had a smile for me. if you are looking for a relaxing place to bring the entire family, this is it. Very kid friendly with easy access to local nightlife. i suggest that you do not miss the prime rib in Rustys located inside the resort. Top notch food and service. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Spot in Clearwater The location of the Sheraton Key Sand Resort was ideal. Use of public transportation made going to nearby sites hassle free-don't attempt to park and drive! The staff of the hotel is what made the visit welcoming - their attitude and friendly service was exceptional. I would tell readers that this visit was by far one of my best getaway locations...the views from the balcony on pool side allowed us to see the beach every day! Great place to relax by the beach and go out in evening for a local bite and walk the Pier 60. Short 2 hour drive to Magic Kingdom! Beach and Disney all in a few days. A must stop for your personal bucket list! August 8, 2013
  • 2015-08-01T01:03:47.816Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-18, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1065, tr_1065
  • loc_en_US, sid_914, prod, sort_default
<<prev 16 17 18 19 20 ... 37 next>>