Sheraton Sand Key Resort

  • 1160 Gulf Blvd.
  • Clearwater Beach,
  • Florida
  • 33767
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 1034 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel on the beach When you come over the bridge you take a right turn and you have reached Paradise. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Relaxing Stay * Great getaway ~ * The pressure washer senior citizen man needs an attitude adjustment. Very rude and pointing us in another direction as if we are bothering him while he's cleaning the deck and we along with others were either trying to get to the beach or finding a chair away from where he was working. He had done this twice and therefore warrants upper management to chat with him about proper etiquette when quests are present. * Rooms are nice but has thin walls ~ noisy guests late at night (1AM and on). * Front desk and concierge great ~ * Pool food service should be opened later than currently is especially during the summer hours and weekends (you can make more money) full house hotel stay July 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unresponsive Front Desk Staff Great location and facility. The Front Desk staff didn't measure up. Check in was too long because the keying process wasn't working. The clerk insisted I use a credit card to hold for deposit/damage instead of the debit card I wanted to use and with which I made my reservation. And couldn't tell me why. He said I could have the same room if I extended my stay and that turned out to be a problem. I went to my room and the keys had been turned off so needed rekeying. I asked them to send someone up with new keys. They wouldn't. After an exhausting day of sight seeing we had to drag ourselves down to the desk to receive new keys. Besides they were rude. Next time I'm afraid I'd stay across the street. May 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rusty's Bistro Let me start by saying that this hotel was very nice. The beach area was nice, the room was clean, and the hotel staff was very nice. They put on a great Easter Egg hunt for the kids. Now to the reason for the bad review. If you are a party of three or have a child and plan on eating at Rusty's Bistro in the hotel you should look for other options outside the hotel. For starters, if you go at a peak time like dinner time when most people do, you will not be seated in favor of party's of four or larger or without kids. I watched several large parties walk into the restaurant with no wait and shown a table right away. We on the other hand had to weight over 45 minutes for a table basically when the restaurant had emptied out and they were ok with seating smaller groups or groups with kids. After our dinner, I asked about making reservations for the following day for breakfast or dinner and was told that they will not accept reservations for three. That was fun explaining to my child that we are essentially being discriminated against because we would not bring in enough money to the restaurant, and because he was a child and would cost less. I find it very disappointing that SPG would have a restaurant in its hotel that would run its business as Rusty's Bistro does. I certainly hope that they are not in anyway affiliated with SPG, and that you think about replacing this establishment with a respectable business that does not discriminate against children or party size. As I mentioned in the beginning, I think everything about this hotel is good, but it really ruined a great vacation to be treated as we were by the establishment. Respectfully April 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointing stay The hotel in general has a few issues but my particular stay had a very big issue. Overall the property is decent with it's best feature by far the beach. It is a long walk (maybe 300 yards) from the hotel to the water across sand. They could use a sort of shuttle for the very old or young. The property is dated and the design leaves you scratching your head. There are three restaraunts but none of them have a window to the water. Nuts right? Rusty's is a very good quality place to eat. The lobby is smallish and unremarkable, and when there are any groups luggage is stored there since they have no luggage storage room. The pool is pretty much a joke, grossly undersized for the number of guests. My experience was not good. Travelling with our daughter and one of her friends I requested adjoining rooms, one with double beds. We were given side by side rooms which was fine, but both had kings. Not a big issue. We were not upgraded to a better class of room, but I never really expect that when paying with points as we were. We overlooked tennis courts. The big issue was my room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. The first day they tried to use an ozone machine which had no effect. They said they would do a deep cleaning the next day which they said they did do but we couldn't tell a difference. The following day they must have actually done the deep cleaning because it was better. Not perfect, but at least is wasn't nauseating when we entered the room anymore. They offered to credit back 10k points to my account and I agreed but haven't seen them so far. They never offered to move us and our daughter (we wanted to remain near them), only us, to a really lousy room. They were likely sold out. But I maintain the room should never have been given to us in the first place given it's state of condition. Poor experience and it obviously left a bad taste in my mouth. April 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by All-around family-friendly resort My mom, son and I enjoyed a wonderful two-night stay (1/19-1/21) last week and could not have been happier. This is the second time in four months that I have enjoyed your resort and am pleased to have discovered it; my mom was a first-time visitor and really enjoyed her time at the resort. Our room was ready upon our arrival and as a former hotel manager for five years, I understand how challenging that can sometimes be at 1:30 in the afternoon! It was a beautiful ocean-view room that was clean and well-serviced during our stay. I was able to speak to our housekeeper on Friday upon us leaving the room to let us know we were going to be gone for a bit and she said she would make sure our room was done next -- a great thing when you have a young child who will need to nap in the afternoon. The attention to my 20-month year old son exceeded my expectations. It was also his first visit to your resort and I cannot wait to bring him back. At every meal (two dinners at Rusty's, breakfast at Rusty's, room service breakfast, and lunch at the pool cafe), the associates took time to address him and his needs. They offered him whatever he wanted to eat and our server at dinner was even able to get him some blueberries -- his favorite food! My mom and I were constantly commenting on the attentiveness of the staff to our needs and those of my son, which really made a huge impression on us. Being in the central Florida area with a lot of family-friendly theme parks, I am accustomed to that, but was delighted that your resort had the same focus on making sure the whole family enjoyed a comfortable stay. Your pool area and playground for the kids was a great hit, as well. I especially liked having a few noodles and balls in the pool because kids (and adults!) always like to have something to play with when they're splashing around. Again, many thanks for making our mini-vacation so wonderful and we look forward to returning. January 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Summer vacation Really can't ask for much more. The staff was attentive from the time we walked in. This Hotel is situated just far enough from pier 60 and yet close enough. The only negative i have with this Sheraton is the pool size as it is just to small for the amount of people who stay here. They have 3 full size tennis courts which I saw being used once in my week here. Maybe put a bigger pool on that side and keep just one tennis court. Maybe just renovate the present pool to a bigger size in it's present location as there appears to be room to do so. Other than that the hotel is wonderful July 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fine Facility The room was comfortable and everything seemed to be in good working order and clean. The staff was friendly enough, and responsive. However, the concierge service didn't do much more than pull out a couple of minor photocopies of restaurants and activities. With one pool, the area was very crowded. There is a long walk to the water on the beach, and be sure to bring your umbrella and chair, because there is a $25/day fee for what they provide. The water was wonderful and it was a nice beach once you made your way there. Really a hotel feel moreso than resort feel. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience This was our second trip to the Sheraton Sand Key Resort and for the second time our stay was great! The hotel staff from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance to restaurant was kind, courteous, and welcoming. While the rooms did not have refrigerators, we rented one for a nominal daily fee. We were provided a Platinum SPG member upgrade to a wonderful room with view of the pool area and Gulf beach. My wife's 50th birthday was even acknowledged upon our arrival. The only drawback was that the water was murkier with lots of seaweed, and it was extremely windy this time around, but this was due to the mother nature and nothing related to the hotel's excellent service. We will return, hopefully annually! August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was Great, SPG is TERRIBLE The Sheraton Sand Key Resort is an excellent facility. This was my family's 7th time visiting. The facility is clean, everything you need is on site and the staff is friendly. My issue is with the Starwood Preferred Guest Program. Due to our continued loyalty to this hotel, we subscribed to the American Express AMEX card. After amassing over 65,000 points, we looked forward to our "free" stay in Clearwater Beach this year. When I called to use my points...which are advertised with "NO BLACKOUT DATES", I was told that while the hotel would accommodate our points for Tuesday and Thursday nights, the "points rooms" were sold out for Wednesday. I asked how this was possible with "no blackout dates" and was told that there are only so many "star point" rooms available. I was told I could pay the internet rate for a room (which was cheaper than the room I was trying to pay for with points) but could not use points. While I thought this ridiculous, I was forced to reserve the room anyway. I reached out to the general manager of the Sand Key Resort, who promptly turned my issue over to one of his staff members, Marilyn. Marilyn did an excellent job handling the situation on her end...however, even she had difficulty resolving the issue with SPG. I was told to call and explain the situation and it should be handled. When I called, the SPG representatives were clueless. They indicated that all was well on their end, all three nights were covered by points. I checked with the front desk and was told the same thing. So, one would think that all was corrected. The next day, Marilyn had to fetch me from the middle of breakfast to speak to an SPG representative on the phone. I provided my password and was told that now everything was TRULY resolved. Only problem, now I had paid for the room with my AMEX AND POINTS. Still waiting on the AMEX refund. Even more annoying was the fact that SPG reserved the room under three different reservation and confirmation codes. Each morning, I had to "reset" our room key, as the system said we were checked out and now "invalid guests". Why SPG didn't make one reservation is beyond me. The staff at the Sand Key should be commended for their work at trying to rectify issues that were created by the SPG program. This entire fiasco highlights the problems with today's society where there is a total disconnect between the rewards programs, the reservation representatives and the hotel. There is much to be said for the days of an old man sitting behind a desk with a pencil and a ledger, keeping track of reservations and valued guests. It's this type of customer service that has been lost in today's corporate conglomerates. Perhaps it's time for all of us...THE CUSTOMERS...who give these corporations OUR MONEY...to stand up and demand the service we deserve. I will NEVER recommend the SPG Program, or the SPG American Express card to ANYONE. Which is sad, considering how many people have gotten these cards on my advice. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like coming Home This is the third year we have stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, and every time we have stayed we have been treated like family by the staff. They are warm, gracious, and accommodating. Our rooms were very clean, and the beds very comfortable. We ate in both the Mainstay Pub and Rusty's for breakfast and dinner. The food was delicious and our dinner as good as any restaurant we have eaten in the Clearwater area. The pool area was immaculate and a great place to relax. The gym facility has up to date equipment that we used extensively. We will be back next year. March 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday stay I chose this hotel to spend my 24th birthday to spend with friends. The original room I was given was facing the street, and right above the air conditioning vents (Ask for a room facing the pool or beach). The following morning before friends arrived I requested a room change, mentioned it was my birthday, within 15 minutes I was moved to a higher room, at the far back of the hotel right on the beach... the view was heavenly. The only downsides are the bed comfort, and the attitude of one worker I dealt with. Other than that, It's a fun hotel, in a great location. April 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Beach location Away from the "hub bub" of downtown Clearwater Beach. Sits right next to Sand Key Park. We had perfect view of North side of beach so sun didn't hit us full force on outside patio. Room was tight for us and our 2 teenagers, but that's my fault for being too cheap to get my kids their own room. Loved walking on beach at night after dinner. Rusty's Bistro was amazing (Rack of Lamb-best I've ever had, Ryan our waiter made our evening beyond my expectations, and the music was perfect though I wish the piano player/singer could have played till 10 pm. He stopped at 9:30 which on a Saturday to me is a little early.) Janet who checked us in on our arrival was truly courteous and gracious, setting the stage for our wonderful stay. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovers Weekend We booked for a lovers weekend. The flowers where in the room as requested but the champagne and strawberry platter no. Kind of took away the "Wow!" factor. Although Jack a bellman took it upon himself to get everything correct and deliver the items. There was mis-communication from the concierge to the front desk about what I wanted set up when we opened the door. The front desk was very attentive. We booked an 8th floor suite. Unfortunatley it was under the exercise area and we had to listen to the thump, thump, thump of people running on the tread mill. The front desk was very understanding and comped 1 night stay! Very attentive! As Starwood SPG memebers we received breakfast vouchers at Rusty's restaurant and it was wonderful. Roberta was priceless as our server. We signed up for massages with Anne in the fitness center. One word..."Delightful". You have to try it! The cabana at the pool had a wonderful attendant and gave us the low down on area attractions and the drinks are free poured and a value. The poolside attendant was very lax. The sign reads "You must provide room key to get towels" but there was no attendant, so I felt like I was stealing the towel when I took it. He was off eating at the poolside cafe and then watching TV at the Cabana. Only after I called to complain did he stay at the towel nook, and obviously got talked to by his manager and was slamming chairs closed, and moving furniture with attitude. It was a little odd to see the manager laughing and relaxing with him after the complaint. Not very professional really. So in conclusion it was a nice place to stay. They need better communication between staff and management. The staff really does do whatever needs to be done to make the stay more enjoyable. With out them the resort would not get as high of a rating as Ive given. December 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing facility, excellent staff - can't wait to go back!!! I stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key last weekend for a girls weekend with my old college roommate. The hotel has a great location on the island, beautiful beach, large hot tub, excellent Club Lounge, lovely views of the gulf and impeccable service. From the front desk staff to the manager, from to the pool equipment guy to the pool bartender, from the Club Lounge attendant to the housekeepers and from the parking attendant to the concierge, every single person we encountered was so incredibly friendly, helpful and kind. A truly memorable time at a stellar hotel. I definitely plan to return with my husband and children. Thanks for providing us with the perfect environment for a relaxing, carefree weekend - exactly what we needed! December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Sisters Reunion My 3 sisters and I (2 out of state) stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key for 2 nights. Janet warmly greeted us upon our early check in. I explained to Janet our celebration was a sister reunion, my 40th bday & a celebration of my good news of now being cancer free, Janet so kindly sent up complimentary champagne and bday cake. Everyone at this hotel was friendly, helpful, welcoming, and professional. The hotel is very clean, relaxing by the pool with the beach view is spectacular! I would defiantly stay again. Thank you Sheraton Sand Key for a perfect weekend. September 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Wedding-Great Job SPG! My bride and I held a 100 person wedding at this hotel during my stay. I really did not know if this event would be a complete disaster after hearing that our banquet coordinator was no longer employed here 1 month before the wedding, but the Manager Marilyn and our new coordinator Melissa made sure every detail went flawless for the most important day of my life. Thank you very much to the entire Sheraton Wedding Staff as there is not one detail about my wedding or stay that I can complain about and many that you went above and beyond my expectations. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by amzazing place We had the chance to vacation with our son and his family. The staff was attentive and helped us with suggestions for resturants and activities . We had our 3 year old grandson with us--He loved the beach and pool--never wanting to leave. The weather was perfect and was a very relaxing, fun time for us. Amazing views. Highly recommend this hotel on Sand Key! September 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience This facility offered everything that anyone could desire when visiting the Florida Gulf Coast. The beautiful beach, the clean and inviting pool and pristine grounds. From the moment we arrived we were treated as valued guests and our Platinum status was recognized and we were treated as prime guests. It was our anniversary and the thoughtfulness of the staff made it even more enjoyable. We live only 30 miles from this facility and it was our first stay but will definitely not be our last! August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay! We stayed for 6 days and had a wonderful experience. ALL staff members were very helpful and friendly. We stayed at Club level and thus were able to take advantage of both the fitness room and the breakfasts and evening apps. The fitness room was very clean and had high quality machines. There was never a wait for a machine. The food in the club lounge was plentiful and very good. Our room was large, kept very clean, and had a great view of the gulf. We had a late flight on our last day, but were able to keep our luggage with the bellhop while we went to the beach - very helpful! It rained almost every night, but the hotel had a bucket of umbrellas for people to borrow - it's these little touches that help! I would definitely stay here again. August 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very impressed SPG gold member This is the nicest Sheraton we've ever visited. The housekeeping was excellent. The fitness center was excellent. The service of the staff was way beyond what you would expect at a Sheraton. The bell men/ conceirge were super nice and helpful. The front desk, especially Carol, was very helpful. The pool restaurant was excellent and affordable. The gift shop had everything you would want and affordable. The SPG club level lounge with breakfast and evening snacks was way beyond what we expected. You really could stay and not go out for dinner. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by April Vacation Sheraton Sand Key Resort is a wonderful property right on beautiful Clearwater Beach. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly our entire stay. The hotels proximity to the "strip" was perfect... Up and over the causeway - just the right amount of separation so when we did venture out we could escape back to our small private resort in less than 5 minutes. Food service was great, pool side was great and the shelling on the beach was awesome. A wonderful little resort - perfect for an annual spring escape from MA! Highly recommended. April 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service My husband and I stayed one night at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort to celebrate our Anniversary. We were so pleasantly surprised when we checked in to hear our room was upgraded to a nicer view. When we got to our room the general manager had a chilled bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. It made this short little getaway so special. That kind of service is hard to find today in big resorts and we are so appreciative that Sheraton Sand key still goes the extra mile to give that personal touch. Thank you! April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My tropical getaway Sheraton Sand Key has become our annual tropical getaway. Everything is clean, everyone is attentive and the rooms are pretty quiet! I don't think t here is one "bad" view from a rooms standpoint and the breakfast buffet is phenomenal! We love it and plan on returning for many years to come. September 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by need to verify ammenities before you go Not really what I was expecting. We thought "resort" would include more room ammenities - we had to wait 2 nights for a beat-up mini fridge (we ran to walmart and had to purchase coolers). Our "bay/gulf view" was of an absolutely disgusting roof top that was so noisy with the awesome sound of airconditioners running, we couldn't hear each other speak on the balcony. I definitely should've done more research on the quality of the room. Also, the only free wifi was in the lobby - I didn't realize I'd have to pay for it in my room. March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience I just returned from hosting a group of 25 people at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort. I am confident that I can speak for everyone in the group when I say just how fantastic our stay was. From the moment that each of us checked in, every member of the hotel staff went out of their way to welcome us, inquire as to how they could make our stay any better, and assist with our every need. The recently remodeled weight room and lounge were clean, bright and featured state of the art equipment. The pool and beach were cleaned each day. We went as a group to Rustys for dinner. It was by far the best dining experience which we had during our entire stay in Clearwater Beach. We recommend the Sheraton Sand Key for anyone looking to hold a meeting or a family reunion. Dave February 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I rarely give a 5.0 My stay was exceptional. Great property, location and service. I couldn't ask for more. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great staff Wonderful staff, friendly and courteous and helpful beyond the call of duty. Fabulous location. Lovely pool. Large attractive rooms. We had a wonderful time. October 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This was a business trip but I brought my girl friend to propose to her. Everything presented was what I expected from a 4 star hotel. Everyone was super, helpful, rooms cleaned, great service except for one person who managed the Bar one night. I filed a formal complaint to the manager on duty, but heard nothing back. I expect to stay in Clearwater Beach many times over the next three years for business with Duke Energy. As good as everyone else was, I will not stay here again unless our hear a suitable explanation and some disciplinary action for the rude and obnoxious manager in the bar. I would be glad to discuss with your management November 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by this hotel has the best food in the area Biutifull hotel, but the beach is too far away. October 6, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 36 next>>