Sheraton Sand Key Resort

  • 1160 Gulf Blvd.
  • Clearwater Beach,
  • Florida
  • 33767
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 984 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent family getaway My family and I spent five nights at this hotel this past week. What a wonderful experience. From check-in to check-out, we have no complaints. The pool layout and access to beach is wonderful. The beach is away from the crowded Clearwater Beach area and much more private. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the housekeeping staff never missed a beat during our stay (even though they were at full capacity because of a beauty pageant event). We were a family of seven with two rooms adjoining. The front desk provided us with a mini fridge which make a huge difference with small meals at the hotel. We enjoyed every day at Sheraton Sand Key and we will be back again. Housekeeping should get special recognition for a job well done. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel staff was outstanding the hotel was great, the staff was outstanding, the waitress and waiters were the best I have ever had. Whoever did the hiring at this hotel, you did a great job! August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Trip to Clearwater Beach Kudos to Jeanne who welcomed my wife and I. She was able to check us in early, provide a nice upgrade because of our platinum status. The room was very large with views of the tennis courts and waterway to the gulf. Nice seating area, common areas were very nice. Staff was attentive. We loved the location and the size of the resort. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost Perfect Good things first. I was new to the SPG program. When I arrived around 11 a.m., they gave me early check-in which was really nice and surprised me. The room was very clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable. The hotel location was perfect for not being too crowded and close to everything. The beach was huge and clean with fair-priced rentals and items for sale. All staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The hotel was the perfect combination of relaxation and water activities. We did not try any restaurant this time, but definitely will try next time. We were not fans of pool so we pretty much stayed on the beach all the time. The pool was smaller than I thought but full of amenities. Many families enjoyed the pool and bar for sure. The only disappointment I had was from the room service. I ordered rose pedals, cake, champagne,balloons and chocolate-dipped strawberries 2 days before I arrived. Tried to impress my girlfriend. The associate who took my request was really nice and helpful. He even went out to buy balloons himself for the hotel did not carry balloons. I really appreciated that a lot. The services was delivered on time. Cake, strawberries and champagne were delicious. BUT the rose pedals were plastics and just not enough. Maybe I did not communicate well or maybe it was normal. When I tried to call room services to order some fresh real roses, it seems the hotel did not carry any either. I was glad that I brought enough candles to make up for it. The card was hand-written, I would suggest next time maybe you could use computer to print out the words? I am not trying to blame anyone here, just suggest this could be done better. I also wanted to get an item-by-item receipt for the room services but got one folio just showed total on it. Overall, it was like my title "Almost Perfect". We both enjoyed the stay a lot and will come back soon. July 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed Not same quality hotel as in past. August 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Crowded and noisy and unresponsive help My wife and I booked a stay at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort under unfortunate circumstances. We needed a place to stay as we were tending to the death of my 92 year old mother who passed away unexpectedly in early June. As Starwood preferred guest members we decided to remain loyal to the Starwood brand even in this time of great uncertainty. As the quickest flight we could arrange from NY to Fla was into Orlando, we made the track down to Clearwater under duress and fatigue. As we entered the lobb tired, hungry and in a state of mourning, we made a simple request for a club level room in order to be slightly removed from the convention that was taking place. This request was denied. Which would have allowed us much needed tranquility and peace. As we tended to the affairs, we thought we would be able to enjoy a few moments of peace. Unfortunately, the hotel was overrun by the members of the convention as well as their family and friends. This culminated with being woken up pre dawn by rambunctious guests acting inappropriately on their balcony. The same guests directed profanities at my spouse as calls to the front desk provided little relief. We were further shocked and horrified when we were casually told by the female at the front desk that it was members of the owners family who had been causing the commotion. We are deeply saddened that no one ever contact Cited us and explained the issue regarding the noise and profanity. It was just swept under the carpet. It is unfortunate that the Starwood brand having us as advocates for others to become patrons, we instead have a bad taste in our mouth. This text of treatment of its members is unacceptable. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, Comfortable and Convenient We stayed here only briefly knowing nothing of the property or Sand Key and found this hotel to be quite nice. Loved the pool and beach area. Room was clean the staff was pleasant... will come back, soon I hope. December 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfort Good place to enjoy with friends and family for the money. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great First Time Stay I hope to have move stays at this hotel. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendliest staff anywhere and amazing beach! I loved this resort! Before I gush about it, let me start with my one small disappointment...the pool is much smaller than it appears in the pictures. It is still a great pool, but a little small for the number of guests at the resort. Okay, now for all of the wonderful things... First, I can't say enough about the staff. They were not just friendly, but astoundingly friendly. I never once walked by a staff member without receiving a very friendly greeting, and whenever I rode the elevator, ate at the restaurant, or otherwise interacted with a staff member, they always made a point to engage me in conversation. I only ate at the casual restaurant for lunch one day. It was good. The food at the pool grill is fine. Just pizza, hot dogs, chicken fingers, salads. Nothing special, but fine for sitting by the pool. The pool bar is nice and they have good service. The private beach is fantastic. It is soooooo nice to have a private beach. It is so much less crowded than the public beach and it's the only beach in the area where alcoholic beverages are allowed (at least that is what I heard staff member tell another guest). June 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Poor Staff The hotel and the room were lovely. We had a fabulous view from our balcony. The room was nice. After a beautiful evening in town, we came back to have a drink at the hotel. The bar was not busy. However, five waiters and the bar tender ignored us for 15 minutes. When I asked the bartender for a drink, he replied, "I am busy, the waitress will be with you". Five minutes later he took my order and the waitress rudely brought us the wrong order. As we left, the waitress sarcastically said, "Have a good night". At night, there were teenagers and young adults running up and down the hallways, knocking on room doors for fun. This was very disturbing. The hotel has potential, but it felt like an experience from Spring Break with some very rude staff. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay before returning to TPA We chose to stay at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort after spending 10 days along the Gulf Coast because of it's proximity to the Tampa International Airport yet still being along the beach. Everything was wonderful. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and wonderful 'spread' at happy hour that comes with the club room rate. The gym offered a wide range of machines and workout options. Although we didn't eat at one of the restaurants on the property, it was nice to have those options for guests who didn't wish to leave the hotel. The pool and jacuzzi were both very nice with a pool bar and music on Sunday afternoon. The travel time to TPA was about 40 minutes. It was an wonderful stay. May 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2day getaway The room was nice food casual , proximity to beach superb, nice secluded spot, ample parking, the pool a bit crowded, but overall would not hesitate to re-book July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great beach access Absolutely fabulous! We stayed a week and remained on property most of the time. The staff was so friendly and helpful. April 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel on the beach When you come over the bridge you take a right turn and you have reached Paradise. December 7, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Stay This was a good hotel with an excellent beach. Food was OK. Gold status not recognized at check in, has to request free internet amenity. However the refrigerator I requested (for medical reasons) was promptly delivered to the room, and follow up contact was made to confirm the installation. Overall a good stay at this hotel. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular as always! This property never fails to exceed my expectations. The staff always goes above and beyond; and the facility is top notch. Thank you for all you do!!! July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Relaxing Stay * Great getaway ~ * The pressure washer senior citizen man needs an attitude adjustment. Very rude and pointing us in another direction as if we are bothering him while he's cleaning the deck and we along with others were either trying to get to the beach or finding a chair away from where he was working. He had done this twice and therefore warrants upper management to chat with him about proper etiquette when quests are present. * Rooms are nice but has thin walls ~ noisy guests late at night (1AM and on). * Front desk and concierge great ~ * Pool food service should be opened later than currently is especially during the summer hours and weekends (you can make more money) full house hotel stay July 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Employee Accommodations I booked a family vacation back in January for a stay this past weekend in July and it was not up to my standards at all. I am a Starwood Employee and would have expected to be treated better than I was. Upon check in to the first room we discovered that the gulf view room that was booked was actually a pool view and they were sold out so could not do anything about it. All 4 rooms ended up the same. I am sure that because I am an employee they moved my rooms due to the fact that they would like to keep the better rooms for other guests when in fact it should be the other way. Upon checkout the agent who was assisting with our payments as we had multiple had messed it up a few times and it took us forever to get checked out. The night before we left we were given notices under our door that the water would be off from 10am - 12pm so we changed our schedules around that but when we went down to check out at 10:30am there was a note on the front desk saying it got changed to 1pm. They should have posted notices for thee guests to see as we would have stayed longer if we knew. Overall, the hotel was clean and right on the beach but not what I was expecting from all the review and other employees words that I had heard. July 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rusty's Bistro Let me start by saying that this hotel was very nice. The beach area was nice, the room was clean, and the hotel staff was very nice. They put on a great Easter Egg hunt for the kids. Now to the reason for the bad review. If you are a party of three or have a child and plan on eating at Rusty's Bistro in the hotel you should look for other options outside the hotel. For starters, if you go at a peak time like dinner time when most people do, you will not be seated in favor of party's of four or larger or without kids. I watched several large parties walk into the restaurant with no wait and shown a table right away. We on the other hand had to weight over 45 minutes for a table basically when the restaurant had emptied out and they were ok with seating smaller groups or groups with kids. After our dinner, I asked about making reservations for the following day for breakfast or dinner and was told that they will not accept reservations for three. That was fun explaining to my child that we are essentially being discriminated against because we would not bring in enough money to the restaurant, and because he was a child and would cost less. I find it very disappointing that SPG would have a restaurant in its hotel that would run its business as Rusty's Bistro does. I certainly hope that they are not in anyway affiliated with SPG, and that you think about replacing this establishment with a respectable business that does not discriminate against children or party size. As I mentioned in the beginning, I think everything about this hotel is good, but it really ruined a great vacation to be treated as we were by the establishment. Respectfully April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like coming Home This is the third year we have stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, and every time we have stayed we have been treated like family by the staff. They are warm, gracious, and accommodating. Our rooms were very clean, and the beds very comfortable. We ate in both the Mainstay Pub and Rusty's for breakfast and dinner. The food was delicious and our dinner as good as any restaurant we have eaten in the Clearwater area. The pool area was immaculate and a great place to relax. The gym facility has up to date equipment that we used extensively. We will be back next year. March 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointing stay The hotel in general has a few issues but my particular stay had a very big issue. Overall the property is decent with it's best feature by far the beach. It is a long walk (maybe 300 yards) from the hotel to the water across sand. They could use a sort of shuttle for the very old or young. The property is dated and the design leaves you scratching your head. There are three restaraunts but none of them have a window to the water. Nuts right? Rusty's is a very good quality place to eat. The lobby is smallish and unremarkable, and when there are any groups luggage is stored there since they have no luggage storage room. The pool is pretty much a joke, grossly undersized for the number of guests. My experience was not good. Travelling with our daughter and one of her friends I requested adjoining rooms, one with double beds. We were given side by side rooms which was fine, but both had kings. Not a big issue. We were not upgraded to a better class of room, but I never really expect that when paying with points as we were. We overlooked tennis courts. The big issue was my room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. The first day they tried to use an ozone machine which had no effect. They said they would do a deep cleaning the next day which they said they did do but we couldn't tell a difference. The following day they must have actually done the deep cleaning because it was better. Not perfect, but at least is wasn't nauseating when we entered the room anymore. They offered to credit back 10k points to my account and I agreed but haven't seen them so far. They never offered to move us and our daughter (we wanted to remain near them), only us, to a really lousy room. They were likely sold out. But I maintain the room should never have been given to us in the first place given it's state of condition. Poor experience and it obviously left a bad taste in my mouth. April 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by All-around family-friendly resort My mom, son and I enjoyed a wonderful two-night stay (1/19-1/21) last week and could not have been happier. This is the second time in four months that I have enjoyed your resort and am pleased to have discovered it; my mom was a first-time visitor and really enjoyed her time at the resort. Our room was ready upon our arrival and as a former hotel manager for five years, I understand how challenging that can sometimes be at 1:30 in the afternoon! It was a beautiful ocean-view room that was clean and well-serviced during our stay. I was able to speak to our housekeeper on Friday upon us leaving the room to let us know we were going to be gone for a bit and she said she would make sure our room was done next -- a great thing when you have a young child who will need to nap in the afternoon. The attention to my 20-month year old son exceeded my expectations. It was also his first visit to your resort and I cannot wait to bring him back. At every meal (two dinners at Rusty's, breakfast at Rusty's, room service breakfast, and lunch at the pool cafe), the associates took time to address him and his needs. They offered him whatever he wanted to eat and our server at dinner was even able to get him some blueberries -- his favorite food! My mom and I were constantly commenting on the attentiveness of the staff to our needs and those of my son, which really made a huge impression on us. Being in the central Florida area with a lot of family-friendly theme parks, I am accustomed to that, but was delighted that your resort had the same focus on making sure the whole family enjoyed a comfortable stay. Your pool area and playground for the kids was a great hit, as well. I especially liked having a few noodles and balls in the pool because kids (and adults!) always like to have something to play with when they're splashing around. Again, many thanks for making our mini-vacation so wonderful and we look forward to returning. January 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff Every single person we came in contact with was really friendly and helpful. Great job by whoever is teaching them!!! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Summer vacation Really can't ask for much more. The staff was attentive from the time we walked in. This Hotel is situated just far enough from pier 60 and yet close enough. The only negative i have with this Sheraton is the pool size as it is just to small for the amount of people who stay here. They have 3 full size tennis courts which I saw being used once in my week here. Maybe put a bigger pool on that side and keep just one tennis court. Maybe just renovate the present pool to a bigger size in it's present location as there appears to be room to do so. Other than that the hotel is wonderful July 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel This was our fourth stay at this hotel. Would highly recommend when visiting Clearwater Beach. Nice, relaxing and the staff will bend over backwards to ensure you are taken care of during your stay. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience This was our second trip to the Sheraton Sand Key Resort and for the second time our stay was great! The hotel staff from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance to restaurant was kind, courteous, and welcoming. While the rooms did not have refrigerators, we rented one for a nominal daily fee. We were provided a Platinum SPG member upgrade to a wonderful room with view of the pool area and Gulf beach. My wife's 50th birthday was even acknowledged upon our arrival. The only drawback was that the water was murkier with lots of seaweed, and it was extremely windy this time around, but this was due to the mother nature and nothing related to the hotel's excellent service. We will return, hopefully annually! August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the place and the food... Great for a family weekend great away and the food is excellent.... July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for families. The Sheraton Sand Key Resort was a very clean and well-run establishment. All of the employees were very polite and helpful when questioned about amenities. I would recommend this hotel to others. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was Great, SPG is TERRIBLE The Sheraton Sand Key Resort is an excellent facility. This was my family's 7th time visiting. The facility is clean, everything you need is on site and the staff is friendly. My issue is with the Starwood Preferred Guest Program. Due to our continued loyalty to this hotel, we subscribed to the American Express AMEX card. After amassing over 65,000 points, we looked forward to our "free" stay in Clearwater Beach this year. When I called to use my points...which are advertised with "NO BLACKOUT DATES", I was told that while the hotel would accommodate our points for Tuesday and Thursday nights, the "points rooms" were sold out for Wednesday. I asked how this was possible with "no blackout dates" and was told that there are only so many "star point" rooms available. I was told I could pay the internet rate for a room (which was cheaper than the room I was trying to pay for with points) but could not use points. While I thought this ridiculous, I was forced to reserve the room anyway. I reached out to the general manager of the Sand Key Resort, who promptly turned my issue over to one of his staff members, Marilyn. Marilyn did an excellent job handling the situation on her end...however, even she had difficulty resolving the issue with SPG. I was told to call and explain the situation and it should be handled. When I called, the SPG representatives were clueless. They indicated that all was well on their end, all three nights were covered by points. I checked with the front desk and was told the same thing. So, one would think that all was corrected. The next day, Marilyn had to fetch me from the middle of breakfast to speak to an SPG representative on the phone. I provided my password and was told that now everything was TRULY resolved. Only problem, now I had paid for the room with my AMEX AND POINTS. Still waiting on the AMEX refund. Even more annoying was the fact that SPG reserved the room under three different reservation and confirmation codes. Each morning, I had to "reset" our room key, as the system said we were checked out and now "invalid guests". Why SPG didn't make one reservation is beyond me. The staff at the Sand Key should be commended for their work at trying to rectify issues that were created by the SPG program. This entire fiasco highlights the problems with today's society where there is a total disconnect between the rewards programs, the reservation representatives and the hotel. There is much to be said for the days of an old man sitting behind a desk with a pencil and a ledger, keeping track of reservations and valued guests. It's this type of customer service that has been lost in today's corporate conglomerates. Perhaps it's time for all of us...THE CUSTOMERS...who give these corporations OUR MONEY...to stand up and demand the service we deserve. I will NEVER recommend the SPG Program, or the SPG American Express card to ANYONE. Which is sad, considering how many people have gotten these cards on my advice. March 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 34 next>>