Sheraton Sand Key Resort

  • 1160 Gulf Blvd.
  • Clearwater Beach,
  • Florida
  • 33767
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 920 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Spot in Clearwater The location of the Sheraton Key Sand Resort was ideal. Use of public transportation made going to nearby sites hassle free-don't attempt to park and drive! The staff of the hotel is what made the visit welcoming - their attitude and friendly service was exceptional. I would tell readers that this visit was by far one of my best getaway locations...the views from the balcony on pool side allowed us to see the beach every day! Great place to relax by the beach and go out in evening for a local bite and walk the Pier 60. Short 2 hour drive to Magic Kingdom! Beach and Disney all in a few days. A must stop for your personal bucket list! August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gulf View Room We reserved a Gulf View Room, but we received a room where we had to go out to the balcony to see the Gulf. I contacted our vacation planner and the next day, they contacted Carol in Guest Services. Carol has been with Sheraton for many years and knows how to provide "Excellent Customer Service." Carol provided us with a different room which met our expectations. Don't settle for something "standard" when you know you've paid for an "upgraded" room. Thank you, Carol! March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than we expected! My sisters and I had a great time during our stay. The beach was way bigger and nicer than we expected. Everyone was very friendly. We made good use of the Jolly Trolley for getting us around. The weather was our only concern but you have no control over that. It was way nicer in Florida than in South Dakota. We left for Florida the day the Polar Vortex arrived in SD. Thank you for a relaxing trip! January 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but the beach is a little strange. The Sheraton Sand Key is a good choice in Clearwater. The facility itself is good but not spectacular. I would have enjoyed the pool more but there were too many kids running around - I'm sure it wouldn't be so bad except most schools just entered summer break. The beach includes a long stretch that should be dunes between the hotel and the water, but the Sheraton has made them beach volleyball courts and it is a little strange to have a quarter mile of beach from the hotel to the water. June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Front Desk Staff Very Rude The property is very nice, although the rooms are very small and outdated. The worst part of any visit to this property is the rudeness of the front desk staff...they are very unfriendly, not willing to assist or answer questions and are ALWAYS condescending. Once you get past the check-in process, the rest of your stay will be fantastic. I have stayed here over 10 times and it is ALWAYS the same scenario. May 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Place to Book a Hotel @ Clearwater! [The day @ Check in] -Fast / Courteous / Accommodating -Billing was explained [The Facilities] -Pool Wonderful looking -Beach Gorgeous -The Breakfast Buffet, Supurb -The Room it was little dark (Recommend a little more lighting hooked up to the main switch when you first enter the room) [Overall] I was very pleased with everything and enjoyed my stay. I would most def. come back! May 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Trip to Clearwater Beach Kudos to Jeanne who welcomed my wife and I. She was able to check us in early, provide a nice upgrade because of our platinum status. The room was very large with views of the tennis courts and waterway to the gulf. Nice seating area, common areas were very nice. Staff was attentive. We loved the location and the size of the resort. December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Winter Blankets on the Beach Why is there a heave blanket on the bed in a hotel on the beach in FL? I've stayed in hotels in -4 degree areas with less weight on a blanket. For your guests that don't feel comfortable with a sheet only, they must turn the thermostat down to 65 degrees (churning your electricity bill needlessly) , and which my room would not get to 65. In fact it appeared the AC was freezing up and then the room warmed up and I'm waking up at night sweating. Then waking up because i kicked off that heavy blanket and was freezing. And the hotel is so far from the beach you guys should have a shuttle cart! Great for those that want to walk though. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like coming Home This is the third year we have stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, and every time we have stayed we have been treated like family by the staff. They are warm, gracious, and accommodating. Our rooms were very clean, and the beds very comfortable. We ate in both the Mainstay Pub and Rusty's for breakfast and dinner. The food was delicious and our dinner as good as any restaurant we have eaten in the Clearwater area. The pool area was immaculate and a great place to relax. The gym facility has up to date equipment that we used extensively. We will be back next year. March 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great staff our stay was great, all of the staff were always ready to help. the room was your average size room, very comfortable. always plenty of lounge chairs at the pool. the hotel inside and out was very clean. there was no disappointment with the food at rusty's . the prime rib buffet was excellent. I would have given an overall rating of 5 stars except the view off the balcony was disappointing. the roof of the hotel with the exhaust fans making noise. the roof was also messy. other than that we will definitely be back, but not with that view again. I have to say Kurt at the front desk had a great attitude and was pleasing to deal with. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean, Comfortable and Convenient We stayed here only briefly knowing nothing of the property or Sand Key and found this hotel to be quite nice. Loved the pool and beach area. Room was clean the staff was pleasant... will come back, soon I hope. December 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Sand Key, Clearwater Beach The hotel staff went out of its way to be helpful and was friendly and courteous. The gulf is a long hike from the hotel. The bathroom was cramped. June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a pleasant surprise I have stayed at many Starwood properties over the last 10 years..I love the Starwood brand. Often though, especially when booking at a Sheraton, it is very hit or miss. I booked at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort sight unseen for a four night stay with my two daughters who were on spring break. What a great time we had! The facility is fantastic. The amenities and friendliness of the staff went above and beyond our expectations... I would stay here again in a heart beat:) April 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel We had a great time staying at this Sheraton. The staff was helpful and the location can’t be beat. It was a little loud during the afternoon, not surprising given it is a family friendly hotel, but once the pool calmed down our view of the beach made up for it. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendliest staff anywhere and amazing beach! I loved this resort! Before I gush about it, let me start with my one small disappointment...the pool is much smaller than it appears in the pictures. It is still a great pool, but a little small for the number of guests at the resort. Okay, now for all of the wonderful things... First, I can't say enough about the staff. They were not just friendly, but astoundingly friendly. I never once walked by a staff member without receiving a very friendly greeting, and whenever I rode the elevator, ate at the restaurant, or otherwise interacted with a staff member, they always made a point to engage me in conversation. I only ate at the casual restaurant for lunch one day. It was good. The food at the pool grill is fine. Just pizza, hot dogs, chicken fingers, salads. Nothing special, but fine for sitting by the pool. The pool bar is nice and they have good service. The private beach is fantastic. It is soooooo nice to have a private beach. It is so much less crowded than the public beach and it's the only beach in the area where alcoholic beverages are allowed (at least that is what I heard staff member tell another guest). June 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My recent stay If you are contemplating a visit to the Clearwater Area, the Sheraton is a must place to stay. The hotel has just been updated, rooms have been refurbished and the whole hotel just has a "new" shine to it. I also can't say enough about the service and the staff at this hotel. WONDERFUL! And the view isn't bad either. Highly recommend staying here! June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay before returning to TPA We chose to stay at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort after spending 10 days along the Gulf Coast because of it's proximity to the Tampa International Airport yet still being along the beach. Everything was wonderful. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and wonderful 'spread' at happy hour that comes with the club room rate. The gym offered a wide range of machines and workout options. Although we didn't eat at one of the restaurants on the property, it was nice to have those options for guests who didn't wish to leave the hotel. The pool and jacuzzi were both very nice with a pool bar and music on Sunday afternoon. The travel time to TPA was about 40 minutes. It was an wonderful stay. May 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great beach access Absolutely fabulous! We stayed a week and remained on property most of the time. The staff was so friendly and helpful. April 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel on the beach When you come over the bridge you take a right turn and you have reached Paradise. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall a wonderful property We stay at this hotel on average every two years. It seems every time we come back some major upgrade/improvement has taken place. This time the lobby and front desk had been changed to a very modern and open concept. The fine dining restaurant (Rusty's) and the lounge/bar off of the lobby have also been remodeled and upgraded in the last several years. We love the pool area with a beatifully maintained swimming pool and good sized hot tub. A pool area cafe and separate bar make spending all the time we wanted to out by the pool very convenient. The long walk out to the beach is a slight inconvenience. Perhaps a future upgrade to the facility will include a boardwalk. This year we learned that the hotel rooms are systematically being upgraded. We stayed in one of the new rooms and it was wonderful. The king size bed was very comfortable and provided an excellent night's sleep. One of the small changes that make a major impact is the amount and location of electrial outlets, including "device" friendly USB charging ports. Few and difficult to access electrical outlets in a room has become more and more of a problem any more as the numbers of devices we have needing daily recharging increases (I am up to three such devices). When traveling with my spouse outlets can become scarce quickly. Not a problem in the newly upgraded rooms at this property. Plenty of outlets and charging ports at convenient spots in the room. All of the food we ate at the hotel was excellent. All staff that we came in contact with were friendly, efficient and helpful. My only regret was that we did not have two or three more days to stay at this property. June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is amazing!!!!! I just returned from a one week stay at Sheraton Sand Key- and found it to be amazing, especially the staff , were so friendly, very attentive and went out of their way to make our stay great. Any meals we had at the resort were very tasty, and good value, shopping near by is also nice you can walk to different restaurants. The beach is very nice, but for not for people with mobility issues. Over all I would go back and stay at this hotel again in a heart beat. It is great for couples/families and singles. March 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for families, less for a relaxing get away This hotel is good for family fun, but if you just want to kick back and relax, not so much. The facility is "tired" and needs updating to keep up with the Starwood brand. Food options are limited and there are NO outdoor bar/dining options at night - very disappointing. April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Relaxing Stay * Great getaway ~ * The pressure washer senior citizen man needs an attitude adjustment. Very rude and pointing us in another direction as if we are bothering him while he's cleaning the deck and we along with others were either trying to get to the beach or finding a chair away from where he was working. He had done this twice and therefore warrants upper management to chat with him about proper etiquette when quests are present. * Rooms are nice but has thin walls ~ noisy guests late at night (1AM and on). * Front desk and concierge great ~ * Pool food service should be opened later than currently is especially during the summer hours and weekends (you can make more money) full house hotel stay July 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to sit in the sand. Spend your points here. I think it's a much better value. The beach outside the hotel is wonderful. Much better than crowded clearwater. The pool is nice, but given the usual amount of guests, is always crowded. The fitness room is small but with an amazing view. Rusty's Bistro is okay. All other food was so-so. Come for the beach not the food. Very little recognition for my gold status. I am used to a club level upgrade, but I was told they don't have a lot of space for that. It's hard to say anything bad about this place. They try very hard. Example: The HBO wasn't working for Game of Thrones. They had someone in our room to fix it before the opening sequence was done. May 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rusty's Bistro Let me start by saying that this hotel was very nice. The beach area was nice, the room was clean, and the hotel staff was very nice. They put on a great Easter Egg hunt for the kids. Now to the reason for the bad review. If you are a party of three or have a child and plan on eating at Rusty's Bistro in the hotel you should look for other options outside the hotel. For starters, if you go at a peak time like dinner time when most people do, you will not be seated in favor of party's of four or larger or without kids. I watched several large parties walk into the restaurant with no wait and shown a table right away. We on the other hand had to weight over 45 minutes for a table basically when the restaurant had emptied out and they were ok with seating smaller groups or groups with kids. After our dinner, I asked about making reservations for the following day for breakfast or dinner and was told that they will not accept reservations for three. That was fun explaining to my child that we are essentially being discriminated against because we would not bring in enough money to the restaurant, and because he was a child and would cost less. I find it very disappointing that SPG would have a restaurant in its hotel that would run its business as Rusty's Bistro does. I certainly hope that they are not in anyway affiliated with SPG, and that you think about replacing this establishment with a respectable business that does not discriminate against children or party size. As I mentioned in the beginning, I think everything about this hotel is good, but it really ruined a great vacation to be treated as we were by the establishment. Respectfully April 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointing stay The hotel in general has a few issues but my particular stay had a very big issue. Overall the property is decent with it's best feature by far the beach. It is a long walk (maybe 300 yards) from the hotel to the water across sand. They could use a sort of shuttle for the very old or young. The property is dated and the design leaves you scratching your head. There are three restaraunts but none of them have a window to the water. Nuts right? Rusty's is a very good quality place to eat. The lobby is smallish and unremarkable, and when there are any groups luggage is stored there since they have no luggage storage room. The pool is pretty much a joke, grossly undersized for the number of guests. My experience was not good. Travelling with our daughter and one of her friends I requested adjoining rooms, one with double beds. We were given side by side rooms which was fine, but both had kings. Not a big issue. We were not upgraded to a better class of room, but I never really expect that when paying with points as we were. We overlooked tennis courts. The big issue was my room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. The first day they tried to use an ozone machine which had no effect. They said they would do a deep cleaning the next day which they said they did do but we couldn't tell a difference. The following day they must have actually done the deep cleaning because it was better. Not perfect, but at least is wasn't nauseating when we entered the room anymore. They offered to credit back 10k points to my account and I agreed but haven't seen them so far. They never offered to move us and our daughter (we wanted to remain near them), only us, to a really lousy room. They were likely sold out. But I maintain the room should never have been given to us in the first place given it's state of condition. Poor experience and it obviously left a bad taste in my mouth. April 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by All-around family-friendly resort My mom, son and I enjoyed a wonderful two-night stay (1/19-1/21) last week and could not have been happier. This is the second time in four months that I have enjoyed your resort and am pleased to have discovered it; my mom was a first-time visitor and really enjoyed her time at the resort. Our room was ready upon our arrival and as a former hotel manager for five years, I understand how challenging that can sometimes be at 1:30 in the afternoon! It was a beautiful ocean-view room that was clean and well-serviced during our stay. I was able to speak to our housekeeper on Friday upon us leaving the room to let us know we were going to be gone for a bit and she said she would make sure our room was done next -- a great thing when you have a young child who will need to nap in the afternoon. The attention to my 20-month year old son exceeded my expectations. It was also his first visit to your resort and I cannot wait to bring him back. At every meal (two dinners at Rusty's, breakfast at Rusty's, room service breakfast, and lunch at the pool cafe), the associates took time to address him and his needs. They offered him whatever he wanted to eat and our server at dinner was even able to get him some blueberries -- his favorite food! My mom and I were constantly commenting on the attentiveness of the staff to our needs and those of my son, which really made a huge impression on us. Being in the central Florida area with a lot of family-friendly theme parks, I am accustomed to that, but was delighted that your resort had the same focus on making sure the whole family enjoyed a comfortable stay. Your pool area and playground for the kids was a great hit, as well. I especially liked having a few noodles and balls in the pool because kids (and adults!) always like to have something to play with when they're splashing around. Again, many thanks for making our mini-vacation so wonderful and we look forward to returning. January 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Summer vacation Really can't ask for much more. The staff was attentive from the time we walked in. This Hotel is situated just far enough from pier 60 and yet close enough. The only negative i have with this Sheraton is the pool size as it is just to small for the amount of people who stay here. They have 3 full size tennis courts which I saw being used once in my week here. Maybe put a bigger pool on that side and keep just one tennis court. Maybe just renovate the present pool to a bigger size in it's present location as there appears to be room to do so. Other than that the hotel is wonderful July 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience This was our second trip to the Sheraton Sand Key Resort and for the second time our stay was great! The hotel staff from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance to restaurant was kind, courteous, and welcoming. While the rooms did not have refrigerators, we rented one for a nominal daily fee. We were provided a Platinum SPG member upgrade to a wonderful room with view of the pool area and Gulf beach. My wife's 50th birthday was even acknowledged upon our arrival. The only drawback was that the water was murkier with lots of seaweed, and it was extremely windy this time around, but this was due to the mother nature and nothing related to the hotel's excellent service. We will return, hopefully annually! August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you I have never stayed anywhere so wonderful you were all the nicest people fro. The front desk to the pool men to restaurants and maintenance,best holiday ever thank you so much from The Fennings Family c u soon April 21, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 32 next>>