Sheraton Sand Key Resort

  • 1160 Gulf Blvd.
  • Clearwater Beach,
  • Florida
  • 33767
  • United States
  • Map
 

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 994 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rusty's Bistro Let me start by saying that this hotel was very nice. The beach area was nice, the room was clean, and the hotel staff was very nice. They put on a great Easter Egg hunt for the kids. Now to the reason for the bad review. If you are a party of three or have a child and plan on eating at Rusty's Bistro in the hotel you should look for other options outside the hotel. For starters, if you go at a peak time like dinner time when most people do, you will not be seated in favor of party's of four or larger or without kids. I watched several large parties walk into the restaurant with no wait and shown a table right away. We on the other hand had to weight over 45 minutes for a table basically when the restaurant had emptied out and they were ok with seating smaller groups or groups with kids. After our dinner, I asked about making reservations for the following day for breakfast or dinner and was told that they will not accept reservations for three. That was fun explaining to my child that we are essentially being discriminated against because we would not bring in enough money to the restaurant, and because he was a child and would cost less. I find it very disappointing that SPG would have a restaurant in its hotel that would run its business as Rusty's Bistro does. I certainly hope that they are not in anyway affiliated with SPG, and that you think about replacing this establishment with a respectable business that does not discriminate against children or party size. As I mentioned in the beginning, I think everything about this hotel is good, but it really ruined a great vacation to be treated as we were by the establishment. Respectfully April 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointing stay The hotel in general has a few issues but my particular stay had a very big issue. Overall the property is decent with it's best feature by far the beach. It is a long walk (maybe 300 yards) from the hotel to the water across sand. They could use a sort of shuttle for the very old or young. The property is dated and the design leaves you scratching your head. There are three restaraunts but none of them have a window to the water. Nuts right? Rusty's is a very good quality place to eat. The lobby is smallish and unremarkable, and when there are any groups luggage is stored there since they have no luggage storage room. The pool is pretty much a joke, grossly undersized for the number of guests. My experience was not good. Travelling with our daughter and one of her friends I requested adjoining rooms, one with double beds. We were given side by side rooms which was fine, but both had kings. Not a big issue. We were not upgraded to a better class of room, but I never really expect that when paying with points as we were. We overlooked tennis courts. The big issue was my room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. The first day they tried to use an ozone machine which had no effect. They said they would do a deep cleaning the next day which they said they did do but we couldn't tell a difference. The following day they must have actually done the deep cleaning because it was better. Not perfect, but at least is wasn't nauseating when we entered the room anymore. They offered to credit back 10k points to my account and I agreed but haven't seen them so far. They never offered to move us and our daughter (we wanted to remain near them), only us, to a really lousy room. They were likely sold out. But I maintain the room should never have been given to us in the first place given it's state of condition. Poor experience and it obviously left a bad taste in my mouth. April 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by All-around family-friendly resort My mom, son and I enjoyed a wonderful two-night stay (1/19-1/21) last week and could not have been happier. This is the second time in four months that I have enjoyed your resort and am pleased to have discovered it; my mom was a first-time visitor and really enjoyed her time at the resort. Our room was ready upon our arrival and as a former hotel manager for five years, I understand how challenging that can sometimes be at 1:30 in the afternoon! It was a beautiful ocean-view room that was clean and well-serviced during our stay. I was able to speak to our housekeeper on Friday upon us leaving the room to let us know we were going to be gone for a bit and she said she would make sure our room was done next -- a great thing when you have a young child who will need to nap in the afternoon. The attention to my 20-month year old son exceeded my expectations. It was also his first visit to your resort and I cannot wait to bring him back. At every meal (two dinners at Rusty's, breakfast at Rusty's, room service breakfast, and lunch at the pool cafe), the associates took time to address him and his needs. They offered him whatever he wanted to eat and our server at dinner was even able to get him some blueberries -- his favorite food! My mom and I were constantly commenting on the attentiveness of the staff to our needs and those of my son, which really made a huge impression on us. Being in the central Florida area with a lot of family-friendly theme parks, I am accustomed to that, but was delighted that your resort had the same focus on making sure the whole family enjoyed a comfortable stay. Your pool area and playground for the kids was a great hit, as well. I especially liked having a few noodles and balls in the pool because kids (and adults!) always like to have something to play with when they're splashing around. Again, many thanks for making our mini-vacation so wonderful and we look forward to returning. January 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Summer vacation Really can't ask for much more. The staff was attentive from the time we walked in. This Hotel is situated just far enough from pier 60 and yet close enough. The only negative i have with this Sheraton is the pool size as it is just to small for the amount of people who stay here. They have 3 full size tennis courts which I saw being used once in my week here. Maybe put a bigger pool on that side and keep just one tennis court. Maybe just renovate the present pool to a bigger size in it's present location as there appears to be room to do so. Other than that the hotel is wonderful July 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like coming Home This is the third year we have stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort, and every time we have stayed we have been treated like family by the staff. They are warm, gracious, and accommodating. Our rooms were very clean, and the beds very comfortable. We ate in both the Mainstay Pub and Rusty's for breakfast and dinner. The food was delicious and our dinner as good as any restaurant we have eaten in the Clearwater area. The pool area was immaculate and a great place to relax. The gym facility has up to date equipment that we used extensively. We will be back next year. March 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience This was our second trip to the Sheraton Sand Key Resort and for the second time our stay was great! The hotel staff from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance to restaurant was kind, courteous, and welcoming. While the rooms did not have refrigerators, we rented one for a nominal daily fee. We were provided a Platinum SPG member upgrade to a wonderful room with view of the pool area and Gulf beach. My wife's 50th birthday was even acknowledged upon our arrival. The only drawback was that the water was murkier with lots of seaweed, and it was extremely windy this time around, but this was due to the mother nature and nothing related to the hotel's excellent service. We will return, hopefully annually! August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Beach Hotel This Hotel has excellent proximity to Gulf, nice pool area, and is an overall great place for a relaxing beach weekend for a couple (my situation) or a family. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay I would have given this 5 stars, but the water in the shower alternated between extremely hot and extremely cold with each use. It was difficult to take a comfortable shower! Otherwise, the stay was GREAT! The staff was awesome! Janet at the front desk is the BEST!!!! She was very professional and very accommodating of the requests! August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was Great, SPG is TERRIBLE The Sheraton Sand Key Resort is an excellent facility. This was my family's 7th time visiting. The facility is clean, everything you need is on site and the staff is friendly. My issue is with the Starwood Preferred Guest Program. Due to our continued loyalty to this hotel, we subscribed to the American Express AMEX card. After amassing over 65,000 points, we looked forward to our "free" stay in Clearwater Beach this year. When I called to use my points...which are advertised with "NO BLACKOUT DATES", I was told that while the hotel would accommodate our points for Tuesday and Thursday nights, the "points rooms" were sold out for Wednesday. I asked how this was possible with "no blackout dates" and was told that there are only so many "star point" rooms available. I was told I could pay the internet rate for a room (which was cheaper than the room I was trying to pay for with points) but could not use points. While I thought this ridiculous, I was forced to reserve the room anyway. I reached out to the general manager of the Sand Key Resort, who promptly turned my issue over to one of his staff members, Marilyn. Marilyn did an excellent job handling the situation on her end...however, even she had difficulty resolving the issue with SPG. I was told to call and explain the situation and it should be handled. When I called, the SPG representatives were clueless. They indicated that all was well on their end, all three nights were covered by points. I checked with the front desk and was told the same thing. So, one would think that all was corrected. The next day, Marilyn had to fetch me from the middle of breakfast to speak to an SPG representative on the phone. I provided my password and was told that now everything was TRULY resolved. Only problem, now I had paid for the room with my AMEX AND POINTS. Still waiting on the AMEX refund. Even more annoying was the fact that SPG reserved the room under three different reservation and confirmation codes. Each morning, I had to "reset" our room key, as the system said we were checked out and now "invalid guests". Why SPG didn't make one reservation is beyond me. The staff at the Sand Key should be commended for their work at trying to rectify issues that were created by the SPG program. This entire fiasco highlights the problems with today's society where there is a total disconnect between the rewards programs, the reservation representatives and the hotel. There is much to be said for the days of an old man sitting behind a desk with a pencil and a ledger, keeping track of reservations and valued guests. It's this type of customer service that has been lost in today's corporate conglomerates. Perhaps it's time for all of us...THE CUSTOMERS...who give these corporations OUR MONEY...to stand up and demand the service we deserve. I will NEVER recommend the SPG Program, or the SPG American Express card to ANYONE. Which is sad, considering how many people have gotten these cards on my advice. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost Perfect Good things first. I was new to the SPG program. When I arrived around 11 a.m., they gave me early check-in which was really nice and surprised me. The room was very clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable. The hotel location was perfect for not being too crowded and close to everything. The beach was huge and clean with fair-priced rentals and items for sale. All staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The hotel was the perfect combination of relaxation and water activities. We did not try any restaurant this time, but definitely will try next time. We were not fans of pool so we pretty much stayed on the beach all the time. The pool was smaller than I thought but full of amenities. Many families enjoyed the pool and bar for sure. The only disappointment I had was from the room service. I ordered rose pedals, cake, champagne,balloons and chocolate-dipped strawberries 2 days before I arrived. Tried to impress my girlfriend. The associate who took my request was really nice and helpful. He even went out to buy balloons himself for the hotel did not carry balloons. I really appreciated that a lot. The services was delivered on time. Cake, strawberries and champagne were delicious. BUT the rose pedals were plastics and just not enough. Maybe I did not communicate well or maybe it was normal. When I tried to call room services to order some fresh real roses, it seems the hotel did not carry any either. I was glad that I brought enough candles to make up for it. The card was hand-written, I would suggest next time maybe you could use computer to print out the words? I am not trying to blame anyone here, just suggest this could be done better. I also wanted to get an item-by-item receipt for the room services but got one folio just showed total on it. Overall, it was like my title "Almost Perfect". We both enjoyed the stay a lot and will come back soon. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday stay I chose this hotel to spend my 24th birthday to spend with friends. The original room I was given was facing the street, and right above the air conditioning vents (Ask for a room facing the pool or beach). The following morning before friends arrived I requested a room change, mentioned it was my birthday, within 15 minutes I was moved to a higher room, at the far back of the hotel right on the beach... the view was heavenly. The only downsides are the bed comfort, and the attitude of one worker I dealt with. Other than that, It's a fun hotel, in a great location. April 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The staff is great, but this hotel is loud and pretty tired The staff bent over backward to accommodate any request, especially David at the front desk and the attendants in the fitness center. However, the walls were thin and the room was quite loud. Overall, the lobby and conference facilities were fine, but the hotel tower needs a facelift. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Beach location Away from the "hub bub" of downtown Clearwater Beach. Sits right next to Sand Key Park. We had perfect view of North side of beach so sun didn't hit us full force on outside patio. Room was tight for us and our 2 teenagers, but that's my fault for being too cheap to get my kids their own room. Loved walking on beach at night after dinner. Rusty's Bistro was amazing (Rack of Lamb-best I've ever had, Ryan our waiter made our evening beyond my expectations, and the music was perfect though I wish the piano player/singer could have played till 10 pm. He stopped at 9:30 which on a Saturday to me is a little early.) Janet who checked us in on our arrival was truly courteous and gracious, setting the stage for our wonderful stay. September 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fine Facility The room was comfortable and everything seemed to be in good working order and clean. The staff was friendly enough, and responsive. However, the concierge service didn't do much more than pull out a couple of minor photocopies of restaurants and activities. With one pool, the area was very crowded. There is a long walk to the water on the beach, and be sure to bring your umbrella and chair, because there is a $25/day fee for what they provide. The water was wonderful and it was a nice beach once you made your way there. Really a hotel feel moreso than resort feel. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great getaway Our family of three spent the last few days at the beautiful Sheraton Sand Key and would recommend the property to any and all. The staff is incredible and the property is in a perfect location. We look forward to future visits. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing facility, excellent staff - can't wait to go back!!! I stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key last weekend for a girls weekend with my old college roommate. The hotel has a great location on the island, beautiful beach, large hot tub, excellent Club Lounge, lovely views of the gulf and impeccable service. From the front desk staff to the manager, from to the pool equipment guy to the pool bartender, from the Club Lounge attendant to the housekeepers and from the parking attendant to the concierge, every single person we encountered was so incredibly friendly, helpful and kind. A truly memorable time at a stellar hotel. I definitely plan to return with my husband and children. Thanks for providing us with the perfect environment for a relaxing, carefree weekend - exactly what we needed! December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Views This hotel's location is beautiful! The beach is jut a short hop away, and not crowded at all. We went in the middle of summer, and everything was accessible- beach, oceanfront pool, beach tennis and volleyball. We had a pool/ ocean view, and it was incredible! I highly recommend this hotel. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Sisters Reunion My 3 sisters and I (2 out of state) stayed at the Sheraton Sand Key for 2 nights. Janet warmly greeted us upon our early check in. I explained to Janet our celebration was a sister reunion, my 40th bday & a celebration of my good news of now being cancer free, Janet so kindly sent up complimentary champagne and bday cake. Everyone at this hotel was friendly, helpful, welcoming, and professional. The hotel is very clean, relaxing by the pool with the beach view is spectacular! I would defiantly stay again. Thank you Sheraton Sand Key for a perfect weekend. September 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Supreme Customer Service While we were in our room the second day of our stay, we heard some commotion in the hallway. It turns out that the room next to us had flooded, and immediate repairs needed to be done. We were relocated as the maintenance staff was concerned that the noise caused by repairs would affect our stay. We did not mind moving, and a team was assembled within a few minutes to move us to our new room. The process took about 10 minutes in total, and we were on the beach about 10 minutes after that. Later that evening, Guest Services called and offered two complementary dinners for our inconvenience. We were very surprized as it was really no inconvenience at all! It was such a nice gesture as it made our memorable stay even more enjoyable. I've stayed at hotels that are triple the price of this one, but none have ever been close to the genuine and friendly customer service offered by the staff at Sheraton Sand Keys Resort. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Wedding-Great Job SPG! My bride and I held a 100 person wedding at this hotel during my stay. I really did not know if this event would be a complete disaster after hearing that our banquet coordinator was no longer employed here 1 month before the wedding, but the Manager Marilyn and our new coordinator Melissa made sure every detail went flawless for the most important day of my life. Thank you very much to the entire Sheraton Wedding Staff as there is not one detail about my wedding or stay that I can complain about and many that you went above and beyond my expectations. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacation Destination We loved the room, the view, the beach, the pool and the restaurants within the Sheraton. The restaurants had great food at reasonable prices. Great family destination! August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Fun Only issue was AC started to go out second night and service man kept saying it is working just fine when it wasn't. Kept trying to tell him it was working fine the night and day before but now it is warming up. After a small argument and him saying "what do you want me to do about it?" several times, he said let me do one thing. Not sure what he did but it shut down the AC and then restarted it and it started to work fine. After that, the room was nice and cool again. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay! We stayed for 6 days and had a wonderful experience. ALL staff members were very helpful and friendly. We stayed at Club level and thus were able to take advantage of both the fitness room and the breakfasts and evening apps. The fitness room was very clean and had high quality machines. There was never a wait for a machine. The food in the club lounge was plentiful and very good. Our room was large, kept very clean, and had a great view of the gulf. We had a late flight on our last day, but were able to keep our luggage with the bellhop while we went to the beach - very helpful! It rained almost every night, but the hotel had a bucket of umbrellas for people to borrow - it's these little touches that help! I would definitely stay here again. August 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel takes care of it's guests My 14 yr. old daughter and I spent 4 nights at this resort and we both agreed the beach was one of the best we've experienced. Beautiful ( especially , on the feet ) sand bottom, no seaweed, CLEAR water and very relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely be returning. The room was clean and spacious with a balcony overlooking the tennis courts and the beach. While swimming on my final day I forgot to follow the "stingray shuffle" rule and was stung by a stingray in the foot. My fault, not the stingray's !! The STAFF at Sheraton Sand Key Resort not only took immediate action to help me, but within two hours, due to their swift action, I felt completely normal and went swimming in their beachfront pool. A big Thank You to that staff on 7/24/14 that helped me ! July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very impressed SPG gold member This is the nicest Sheraton we've ever visited. The housekeeping was excellent. The fitness center was excellent. The service of the staff was way beyond what you would expect at a Sheraton. The bell men/ conceirge were super nice and helpful. The front desk, especially Carol, was very helpful. The pool restaurant was excellent and affordable. The gift shop had everything you would want and affordable. The SPG club level lounge with breakfast and evening snacks was way beyond what we expected. You really could stay and not go out for dinner. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by April Vacation Sheraton Sand Key Resort is a wonderful property right on beautiful Clearwater Beach. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly our entire stay. The hotels proximity to the "strip" was perfect... Up and over the causeway - just the right amount of separation so when we did venture out we could escape back to our small private resort in less than 5 minutes. Food service was great, pool side was great and the shelling on the beach was awesome. A wonderful little resort - perfect for an annual spring escape from MA! Highly recommended. April 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service My husband and I stayed one night at the Sheraton Sand Key Resort to celebrate our Anniversary. We were so pleasantly surprised when we checked in to hear our room was upgraded to a nicer view. When we got to our room the general manager had a chilled bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. It made this short little getaway so special. That kind of service is hard to find today in big resorts and we are so appreciative that Sheraton Sand key still goes the extra mile to give that personal touch. Thank you! April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent family getaway My family and I spent five nights at this hotel this past week. What a wonderful experience. From check-in to check-out, we have no complaints. The pool layout and access to beach is wonderful. The beach is away from the crowded Clearwater Beach area and much more private. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the housekeeping staff never missed a beat during our stay (even though they were at full capacity because of a beauty pageant event). We were a family of seven with two rooms adjoining. The front desk provided us with a mini fridge which make a huge difference with small meals at the hotel. We enjoyed every day at Sheraton Sand Key and we will be back again. Housekeeping should get special recognition for a job well done. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel Our 7 day stay was great. Nice walk to the ocean. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. 3 restaurants to pick from. Housekeeping was very quick in delivering needed items. Trolley is cheap and convenient. There is some shopping and food places within 3 blocks- an easy walk. Will definitely be back next year. If doing anything in the ballrooms- you need to bring warm clothes. Very cold in there. This hotel is only lacking a coffee shop or starbucks. I walked across the street to get it. They do serve star bucks coffee in the gift shop. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is amazing!!!!! I just returned from a one week stay at Sheraton Sand Key- and found it to be amazing, especially the staff , were so friendly, very attentive and went out of their way to make our stay great. Any meals we had at the resort were very tasty, and good value, shopping near by is also nice you can walk to different restaurants. The beach is very nice, but for not for people with mobility issues. Over all I would go back and stay at this hotel again in a heart beat. It is great for couples/families and singles. March 28, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 34 next>>