Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

  • One Dock Street,
  • (2nd and Walnut Streets)
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19106
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 486 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel location is great We were accommodated for early arrival which after flitting for7 early hours was great. Their shuttle from airport was reasonable and prompt. The complimentary hot pretzels and beverage in lobby hit the spot before we went to the wedding. The staff was very concerned when they saw my husband limping and offered him a number of cold packs. Their breakfast choices were delicious. A must stay when we are In the area again. So close to old Philly with lots to explore on cobblestone streets July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great place to stay The hotel was perfect for our needs. One day, the daily room service was done a little too late in the day and when they did do it, it was not the complete job, but was satisfactory. The concierge was a little difficult to contact. He was very nice and helpful, but not always at his desk during working hours. July 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location This is a great location for old Philly, you can walk everywhere and is not far from the airport July 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SERVICE REQUIRED RETURNED ON FRI @4-4:30 AND ROOM HAD NOT BEEN CLEANED. HAD TO CALL FOR FRESH TOWELS TO SHOWER BEFORE WE WENT BACK OUT. ROOM WAS NEVER CLEANED BUT FRESH TOWELS WERE DELIVERED PROMPTLY. THOUGHT WE SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED THAT THE STREETS WOULD BE CLOSED FOR THE PARADE WHICH PREVENTED US FROM GETTING TO THE HOTEL TO DROP OFF CAR AND LUGGAGE July 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel but need to check on.... Hotel is excellent but there is an odor that hits you once you step out on the driveway outside the front of the hotel. July 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by AC unit kept us up almost all night email was sent to Sheraton Society Hill Hotel with original complaint about the AC unit being so loud, it kept us up almost all night. I complained early the next morning at the front desk and only received an explanation, not an apology. I have not heard anything from the hotel, as of yet. Very disappointed! We have been faithful patrons of Sheraton for many years and feel they should be concerned about us making a "first" complaint! July 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly staff, very enjoyable stay The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Never had to wait long for any type of service. Room walls are a bit thin - heard TVs from both sides of our room, but nothing that was too distracting. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Received an unrequested upgraded room due to being a Starwood guest. Great taxi service, convenient to the attractions, but far enough away to avoid the large crowds. Elevators were always prompt. Food and drinks at Taste were great as were the bartenders. Would definitely return. July 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room by pool area a drawback this visit We have stayed at this property a number of times in the past year. With this visit, we were upgraded to the club level with our SPG status. However, we were put in a room facing into the indoor swimming pool. There was nothing to look at but a concrete wall and an extremely uninviting "patio" area with no furniture, just a big concrete cube. The room also was musty and smelled very strongly of chlorine. There were lots of kids using the pool and the room was very loud. Fortunately the pool closed at 10 pm, but the moving of the metal furniture woke us up in the morning and the kids were back by around 8:00 am. We had friends to meet for dinner, so I didn't have the time to hassle with changing rooms. I'll return to this property but will not accept any of the interior facing rooms. July 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice property, except restaurant The hotel is lovely, bellmen and doormen very friendly and room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. Room service breakfast was prompt and pleasant delivery. However, the first day I arrived (Wed., June 26), I was hungry and headed downstairs to the restaurant at 1:40. The sign said it was open until 2. There was one table of diners finishing their meal. The TVs were on in the bar area, so I pulled up a stool and kept watching for any servers to attend to the remaining diners or come help me. I waited for the full 20 minutes, but no one ever came. I finally went to the lobby and asked the front desk, who attempted to call the restaurant but could get no answer. I then asked about room service and she said that would be the same number to call for room service and and she didn't know why no one was responding. The woman working at the front desk wasn't apologetic about it, pursue the matter further to attempt to track down someone for room service for me, or offer me any incentive to try another meal with them. As a result, I ended up walking a few blocks away to have a much later lunch than planned, which took business away from your hotel. I struggled in checking my expectations below, because of the range of experience I had. The service from the men at the front door was exceptionally nice, along with the breakfast server and quick speed for room service. However the service of the front desk and restaurant for lunch were far below what I would consider good customer service. July 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad service I stayed this hotel for 6 nights from 16th to 22nd, but I booked the standard rooms but you have me standard room. When I checked out on 22nd, you gave me the billing receive and promised me will return back to my credit card directly with 298.55USD. But now I am in china,I have not received this refund.and you replied me by email that you are not going to refund this 298.55USD. I am so angry. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful rooms Courteous staff and valet parking is convenient! June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great property This was a really nice property. The facility was well maintained, and the staff was exceptionally courteous. Great workout facility. June 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Our room was beautiful but the furniture had not been dusted recently. The rest of the room looked cared for however in the middle of the night my husband saw & captured a huge roach in the bathroom. Upon showing it to the front desk staff half of our room charge was deducted. Fair enough. All staff courteous & friendly. June 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great property with great location. A very enjoyable stay and one of the best Sheraton properties of which I have stayed. Liked the open atrium with the glass ceiling. I had a room with a view of the atrium instead of an outside view. So I cannot comment on what others may see out of their window. My only complains was check-in. I was told there were no rooms available at that time and they would phone my cell-phone when one became available. After 4-hours of waiting in the lobby - I decided to check and see if one was available. Yes there was and no one had called my cell-phone. My other complaint was housekeeping. I was out of the room at 8am and returned about 3pm wanting to relax and get ready to go out for the evening. But the room had not been made-up yet. So I went to the front desk requesting it be made-up and it took about another 1-hour for it to be cleaned. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful hotel for wedding guests This hotel is a must for an Old City Philadelphia wedding. The location is convenient, the staff is welcoming and attentive, the rooms are spacious (especially the bridal & jr. suites), the lobby/restaurant spaces are ideal for a post wedding gathering, and the Sunday breakfast buffet we provided our wedding guests was the perfect ending to a wonderful weekend.. Couldn't imagine reserving a wedding block anywhere else. Thank you SSH for exceeding our expectations. Happy parents of the bride! June 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Prepare to be Nicked and Dimed The hotel is expensive to start with, then they want to charge for internet access (which was weak at best). The iron did not work and by the time they replaced it, I had to leave the room to make it to a wedding. The remote control on the TV barely worked, and mostly the television just presented more opportunities for the hotel to charge for extra items. June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ouch on prices The Society Hill Sheraton was a lovely hotel, however the prices on everything were excessively expensive. The food prices were especially outrageous. A simple sandwich was $15, a bowl of oatmeal more than $10. Think I would find another hotel that was nice, but not so pricey. June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice with some improvements The overall experience was nice, but there are some areas that need improvement. I was a little irritated by hotels charging for room WI-FI, but when I found out that you had free WI-FI in the lobby, I thought "Okay". Go to the lobby to find out you limit even that to 2 hours? Really? And that's not even 2 hours per day. I was on a business trip for a full week! I'm not willing to pay $10/day, everyday I'm there. There were a few other issues that I won't get into, they were more minor than this one. I would still recommend the hotel, but add the caveat of these other issues. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food and Service Food and service was wonderful! Salmon was perfect - not overcooked. Staff was very friendly and helpful. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much Improved Hotel I have stayed atleast 6 times since my horrid experience I shared with you. I have seen a steady improvement in service and the quality of service. The lobby area is now excellent - like a SPR Hotel should be! Thanks for the comfort you provided this week whan I was there. June 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff Unsatisfactory at All Levels Stayed at the hotel for four days for a conference. Staff at every level were not well-trained, not particularly courteous, and most certainly unsatisfactory. I don't normally have any issue with the staffing at hotels I stay in, but this experience was so blatant it was impossible to ignore. Check in took forever because the front desk people didn't know what they were doing; valet parking people often absent from their posts; concierge informed me there was "no vending machines available in the building," then I found a full range of vending on the third floor; called to front desk to ask how long a cab would take to the airport — they reported it'd be at least 45 minutes, if not an hour — then my cab ride to the airport took only 12 minutes; noisy cleaning crews had their carts and vacuums cluttering all the hallways every day from 9am to 5pm. Etcetera, etcetera. I wouldn't stay here again, and it's damaged my impression of the entire Sheraton brand. June 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reservations I reserved a room with 2 queen beds for me, my wife and two 16 year old boys. We were given a room with one king. I called to confirm three times that day because the same thing happened the last time I stayed at this hotel. The second night there, with 2 roll always in the room it got pretty hot and come to find out the thermostat in the room was broken. I just don't know why I reserved this room 6 months in advance. May 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect Pool TOO cold + Valet charge May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleasant stay Spent a three day weekend and were very pleased in all regards. Swipe lock to door battery went dead after one swipe. Called desk and immediately sent up one of the best hotel people we have ever encountered in any hotel! Mr. Dunn took care of everything promptly and took care of us. Very efficient and professional and caring. Kudos to him on an outstanding job. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious enough. We were on the club level and it was a very busy Memorial day weekend. Could not believe the number of weddings going on. At times there were meager supplies of food and drink in the lounge during operating hours. I think this was due to the number of guests and unfortunately the behavior of some of them. Lots of food left at tables when they left. One wedding went 'til midnight and we could hear the band in our room. I suppose this depends on your location. Parking choices, as in most large cities, are very limited and even more expensive! I parked on my own and it was $19 per. If you are in and out a lot the $35 valet parking may be a bargain. If not - park yourself. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Pool appeared to be undergoing some repairs but was opened. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The hotel is very centrally located and has great access to all sites. It's clean and nice, my only concern was that the walls were very thin. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is close to historical sites in Philadelphia Loved that this hotel is within walking distance of the tourist center, Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, Penn's Landing. Very nice hotel and overall weekend experience. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding I really enjoyed the stay in this Hotel. Every employee was very prefessional. The room was excellent. I travel a lot, but this hotel was beyond my expectation. May 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just like home-but better It was my first stay in Philadelphia, and the Sheraton Society Hill is in a prime location. Safe neighborhood. The staff at the hotel was friendly and very accomodating. Would definitely stay here again. May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Second Time A Charm Stayed here at the Society Hill for a second time within a month. Room was equally as cozy> I do recommend the king room over the double room, Truly a nice and relaxing place to stay on the eduge of city. Only complaint, i wanted room service at 11:30 and they stop room service at 11. Can't remember another hotel in years that stops room service. May 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel has staff challenges Staff attitude and approach to guest is not friendly or customer oriented, partly because there is no communication. From the front desk, to bell staff, housekeeping, and banquets, everyone displayed the same disinterest to the guest experience. May 16, 2013
  • 2015-06-27T12:19:31.206-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_486, tr_486
  • loc_en_US, sid_166, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 17 next>>