Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 381 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY NICE SHERATON HOTEL Best location in downtown San Antonio ,with walking distance for cafés, restaurants, mall, Riverwalk,etc... Professional staff . They just renovate most areas, like the lobby, restaurant and bar, Club Floor and Platinum SPG lounge, and rooms. Remember that is a 100 year hotel, with a lot of history behind the walls. Good rest and sleep quality. June 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall not bad The hotel itself is nice. It has lots of historic value and well maintained. At check in I felt rushed though and there wasn't even a line of check-in's, just me. I recommend a little less of getting people rushed through check-in and more time connecting with guests. Judy in the restaurant was extremely nice and very helpful. The food was fantastic as well. One thing that bothered me was the height of the counter that had the bacon, sausage, and potatoes during breakfast. I'm only about 5'6" and the top of the counter was about up to my eyes (it made me feel small). I know this is a historic hotel but I felt more like an employee in my room's bathroom due to the type of toilet and the type of toilet paper. Other than that It was a nice hotel with helpful friendly staff. keep up the good work with the team members! July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great environment and location We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a wonderful mix of old and new. Very clean and pleasant decor. Perfect location to wander the streets of downtown and the Riverwalk. July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay Sraff was excellent. Valet attendants very helpful. Enjoyed my stay. Only draw back to our room was room next to AC and ventilation systems....quite loud and made getting to sleep a bit difficult. July 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by things have changed Loss of Barons restaurant was bad for the hotel. Parking is to expensive. If room was cheaper our stay would be more worth it. Lobby colors went from elegant to blah. July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Problem with noisy neighbors I had to call 3 times on Saturday night starting at 12:26 AM, to report the noisy next door neighbors. The 3rd time I called, the front desk told me that they were having a party and that security gave them a warning. I told him it was 1 o'clock in the morning and my adjoining room door let all the noise into my room and it sounded like there were 100 people in that room. He said he would attend to it himself, and then the noise stopped. Unexceptable June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My review This hotel has historic significance, which is part of its charm, although you don't feel that from the very modern lobby. The bathroom in the room had a certain "industrial" feel to it which was unlike other Starwood properties where I've stayed. In other Starwood hotels, I felt very warm and friendly front desk staffs. The experience here was different. I was also disappointed that when I made my reservation (via phone to SPG). I was told I'd be on a club level for my trip with certain benefits, but there was no club lounge available during my stay. It's a case of missed expectations. The hotel's location is fine--a comfortable walk to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. We ate in the restaurant; the food was good and the staff there was helpful and friendly. I normally don't review hotels, but felt like I needed to with this recent experience. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful & Charming Experience A great place to stay. Lots of history here, each room is unique. The staff upgraded us to the Robert Johnson suite, what an interesting story and room. Great lobby and lounge. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a hotel with character and charm. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel overall was good Except for the obvious disrepair (ballroom ceiling had fallen in this week), the rooms were updated and very comfortable. Staff was generally very helpful and responsive; one employee at the Houston Market was particularly rude and would not give us a table height table to sit at. Luckily other employees there over compensated for his rudeness and came to our aid. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hot hotel The cooling equipment of this hotel was probably the worst I have experienced in many years. The conference rooms and break out rooms were hot! June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement This hotel is below Sheraton standards. There was a rectangular vacant spot on the wall of our room, which appears to have been a mirror at one time but now is only a discoloration with seven holes in the plaster. There was no refrigerator in the room. The hotel has only something resembling a coffee shop but no real restaurant with a real menu. Glad the Palm and Bohannan's were next door. The staff, especially in the lobby bar, were great. June 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unexpected poor quality for Sheraton This hotel sadly did not live up to our expectations. Our bathroom was not cleaned and was only done after I made a special request. Even after this request the following day the same thing occurred. The Rooms were very small and dated,the bed was very old and squeaky. The Air conditioning very loud and effected my sleep. The Outdoor pool was dirty and needed to be cleaned and was not fit to swim in. A very disappointing experience one which I would not like to repeat and would probably question me staying at a Sheraton hotel in the future. June 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Front Desk Service Great new renovation but horrible customer service. I had a friend driving through Texas and wanted to pay for them to stay at the Sheraton Gunter, I thought they would really enjoy it. After I made the reservation I called the front desk and told them that I would be paying for the hotel room with the credit card the reservation was booked under. No problem they said (after I was on hold for about 3 mins) they would email me a credit card authorization form and I just needed to send it back. I waited about half an hour and still had no email, the reservation was for the next night. I finally called back and got the CC auth form. My friends finally arrived into town and they had a late late check in (2am) so the hotel charged them for two nights. FINE! No problem, but then I get a call from my friends saying not only have they been charged once but they have been charged TWICE! I was supposed to pay for this reservation, this was a gift and I made it very clear to the front desk that this was a very special occasion. When I call the hotel, I understand things happen, they slip through the cracks but it's the way the mistakes are handled that make a place a one star or a five star. Five star hotels make mistakes but their employees are trained to handle them. After being passed around for a few minutes from person to person finally I talk to Melissa C at the front desk on Tuesday, June 10th at 6pm and she says "oh yes..they were charged for two nights, there isn't anything I'm authorized to do" But if I'd like to call back some other time I can talk to the revenue manager Cindy Cassias. I told Melissa that I had spoken to several front desk agents over the phone and was know wondering where all my personal information I sent them was? My credit card number, address etc? She finally agreed to check the front desk email and found my email. It had been sitting there in the in box. Melissa also mentioned that there had been no notes in my reservation and no mention of a credit card authorization. It will be easier for me to transfer money into my friends account that to wait for the Sheraton Gunter to figure this situation out. She did say she could refund the purchase and then charge my card, like a huge mistake had not just taken place. Not only was I embarrassed that my friend had to have these charges on her card, thinking the room (that turned into two nights) had been taken care of but I was embarrassed I put her in the Sheraton Gunter. Melissa was flippant and offered no help what so ever. She only offered what I could do to. Like call back at a later time. Mistakes happen…but training your staff on how to handle them is what makes a huge difference. June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend stay Close to the River walk attractions. Quiet. We loved the room and the Club Level appetizers. Everyone was very friendly when we arrived. The next morning, club level breakfast was disappointing and there was no one to greet us like the night before. It just wasn't the same quality food or service. could have been an off morning. overall a good experience and would stay there again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff, Pleasantly Historical Hotel This hotel was built in the very early 1900s. They have done a great job of keeping in touch with the historical roots of the building. It is conveniently located right downtown. There is plenty of parking across the street if you choose not to go with the valet parking. If you opt for valet parking they have implemented a text based program, which makes retrieving your car extremely painless. The renovations to the lobby and club lounge are now complete. Amazing. The lobby looks great, and the club lounge is huge! This property is the best of the SPG options in town. The touch of old San Antonio and a great staff make it an easy choice. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Geat This was a great experience. The SPG club is fabulous and the attended was right on top of everything. The front Desk people were amazing. The hotel is beautiful and immaculately maintained January 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very comfortable Had a great stay. The staff was very nice and the room was very comfortable. This hotel is in a great location for leaving the car behind and taking a walk to the river or Alamo. Would stay there again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC SAN ANTONIO HOTEL The Gunter is a Great Hotel with a superb location in downtown San Antonio, near everything, including the River walk. Houston street is the one with restaurants and cafés , just in front of the Majestic Theater. The new lobby make a nice contrast withe the old school luxury hotel atmosphere. More than 100 years of history. Very good bar and hotel restaurant The Market, with terrace. If you reserve a Club Room the best ones you can use the Club Lounge, and Oasis for relax and drinks, with a nice tv and more. The Staff is very Professional and friendly. The rooms are not big but very clean and with all the amenities you need for a fantastic rest and accommodation. Mr Cook the GM and all the staff and managers are doing an excellent job so every guest have a fantastic experience in the Gunter my Home in SA. Old School and nice Texas Atmosphere. May 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this Hotel and Staff I really love staying here at the Gunter. I really have only great things to say about the hotel and staff. I just wish the bathroom sink had a little more counter space to set out my toiletries, but I still love this hoel and it has a great location June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to relax We live in San Antonio, and have stayed at the Sheraton Gunter several times, just for a getaway. This was our first visit since the renovation was completed. Very, very well done. LOVE the new look, yet still captures the history of the hotel. Location is convenient to Majestic Theatre right across the street, Buckhorn Saloon a block away, riverwalk across the street, and San Fernando Cathedral - a couple of blocks - but a must go to at 9 p.m. for the light show. Fantastic! Joseph in the Club Level made us feel welcome, and went out of his way to make sure all guests were relaxed and taken care of with great appetizers and beverages. Great restaurant and café, and wine bar is really, really nice. ONLY issue we had - at check in I asked for a 4 p.m. checkout since we are Gold members. I was told Starwood had changed their rules recently, and now only Platinum members were given 4 p.m. checkout. The latest for Gold was now 1 p.m. I called Starwood from the room (which was very lovely, by the way) and was told there was no such rule change. I called down to the desk, spoke to the same staff member, and this time she told me it was a rule of Sheraton Gunter - they grant 4 p.m. checkout only to Platinum members. I am calling the hotel manager, Steve Cook, today. Don't agree with "random" hotel rules that violate Starwood policy for members. Other than that, we loved our stay, and will definitely visit the hotel again. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Parking fees high!!!!! We were there for a anniversary celebration which was held at the hotel. Due to having two small kids and a lot of luggage/gowns/tuxedo, we needed to valet park. Other parking was across A busy street. Even though my brother and his wife were paying a large amount for the reception/dinner there, no compensation was given in reduced valet fee. It was $30.00 a night. There were a large number of family staying there so some reduced valet parking could have been given. Also, cable went out in my room. I called and notified them. Over 3 hours later it still was not working and had to call again. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great meeting The entire staff was extremely helpful and all my attendees had a great time. June 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by True San Antonio Experience When you travel for work and stay at chains you sometimes wake up and forget what city you are in. Not so with the Gunter. This is a great historic hotel with uniquely decorated rooms. The staff is consistently friendly, efficient and ready to assist with whatever you may need. Because of this I frequently stay at the Gunter when in town for business, Fiesta events, or concerts at the Majestic and Empire theaters. All are within walking distance and you avoid the hassle of post event traffic. Plus you can grab a quick nightcap at Barrons which has a beautiful antique bar. April 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Old Historic Property With GREAT STAFF Sheraton Gunter is a beautiful old historic property, wonderfully restored. The location is superb, a block from the Riverwalk and walkable to all the downtown sites. Staff is outstanding, exceeding expectations in every respect. The front desk, concierge, reastaurant staff and bell staff were ready and willing to do all they could to make our stay the best it could be. They only criticism might be that the street noise at times was an issue, but ear plugs were provided in the bathroom and only were needed for a very brief time one evening. We thoroughly enjoyed evverything about the Gunter. If you want a cookie cutter hotel, this is not for you, but if you want to enjoy old world flavor, the Gunter is exceptional. December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room 620 (636) Very interesting room..... I will be back!!! December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conference at the Gunter Outstanding service and food. Could not have been better. April 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Metropolitan Hotel Gorgeous hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. It is old world with an art deco touch. The room was spacious (two queen size beds). The restaurant downstairs (Market On Houston) was phenomenal. I had the Napoli flatbread pizza. The hotel had a "South Beach" feel and just a block away from the Riverwalk. You will not be disappointed with your stay. June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly staff I have always been impressed with the friendly staff and the responsive valets. The rooms are always clean and tidy. The restyled restaurant was inviting. Thanks May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Riverwal location, very clean & historic building I am in sales and cover San Antonio and this is my place of choice. I really love the history behind this hotel and it is a walk back in time. With that note, please know the bathrooms are small. Some of the rooms are small. If you have ever traveled to Europe or visited historic buildings, you know they were smaller than we are used to today. I've stayed at many hotels in S.A. and most of the rooms are this size. Why stay at a cookie cutter hotel, same old, same old? Try this place. Parking is a little pricey at $28 for valet (only option), but they are fast and your car stays safe & covered. You want your car covered out of the Texas sun. April 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Less than expected This hotel was a little disappointing because of its location. My expectation was it would be a little closer to the main portion of the riverwalk and the Alamo. June 13, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>