Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

  • One Dock Street,
  • (2nd and Walnut Streets)
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19106
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 465 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good hotel A very good hotel: staff is very helpful; decor is solid and functional; very well maintained. I happen to like the area but it is on the edge of the center city. A little bit of a hike from some locations. March 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable stay but food/beverage was pricey Many hotels offer free breakfast but your hotel had just the opposite, a very expensive breakfast. $5 for a cup of coffee is a bit extreme. The $5 green vouchers helped but your customers shouldn't have to make a sacrifice in order to get a good meal and a fair price. On a positive note, my room was very comfortable and clean. The LAN was pretty fast for a hotel LAN with so many people sharing. I also liked the close proximity to many of the historic sites in Philadelphia. I did catch a cold while I was there. I can't be certain if it was from the room or not but I recommend your cleaning crew disinfect the surfaces and the glasses between stays. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow-Great Family stay from time entered to time left, all staff were great. Rooms, location, décor, A+ August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's the Details The hotel is physically lovely, and it's location for proximity to the historic sites of the city is perfect. The lobby is beautiful, and the rooms are large. Because it is a low lying structure, there are no views of any kind, from what I could tell, but noise from the street/highway was not a problem. However, my stay on the Club Lounge floor, for which I paid a hefty upgrade fee, was a mixed blessing. While I appreciated the breakfast/snacks, the foods were depleted often throughout the day, despite the best efforts of the nice woman who was in charge of it. Further, without any notification, a sign magically appeared on Friday night that from this point forward, a glass of wine would be TEN DOLLARS. The front desk gave no indication that weekend policy differed from weeknight - it was a shock. Lastly, it was impossible to sleep past 6am because of the noise from the fitness center. Despite the fact that my room was on the other side of the floor, the dropping of barbells began like clockwork every morning, and I was not the only one woken up by this every day. It was incredibly frustrating -- I was there on business, and sleep was essential. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel but need to check on.... Hotel is excellent but there is an odor that hits you once you step out on the driveway outside the front of the hotel. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food and Service Food and service was wonderful! Salmon was perfect - not overcooked. Staff was very friendly and helpful. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect location Having never been to Philadelphia before, we wanted near the historic area. We sure got it!! We could walk almost everywhere. We did take the hop on hop off bus for the full range of options the first day.Had the bus drop us on their next to the last stop--one block from hotel. Had a very nice dinner at Taste the first night. The personnel at this hotel were about the best we have ever encountered. Check in they treated you like royalty and I am only gold status. The bell hops and valet guys were always waiting to open doors or guide you to interesting areas or restaurants. Always happy and chatty. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. Only thing I would improve is a snack shop with sandwiches in the lobby. July 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff could be a lot nicer When I called the front desk to request a late checkout (1 pm), I was rudely informed that checkout was at noon. When I asked if that restriction also applied to Platinum Preferred Members (5+ years), she begrudgingly granted the request. Despite the nice room, pleasant check-in experience, and fun time in Philly, her ill-mannered temperament left a sour taste. There are other hotels in the area with much nicer staff. I stay at Starwood hotels all over the world, and I can easily state that this location has the least hospitable staff. I recommend this hotel due to location, but ,again, there are friendlier, albeit non-SPG, hotels in the area. January 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cleanliness was not up to par My room was lovely and appeared clean, however there was a distinct musty smell in the bathroom that made it clear that it was not clean. I called Guest Services to explain there was a musty "wet towel" smell and requested they send Housekeeping to use a disinfectant or bleach-like cleaner to remedy. It was evident that Housekeeping did not clean the bathroom, and in fact, Housekeeping never visited my room during my entire 3 day/2 night stay: the coffee service was not replenished, the trash was not cleared, and the musty smell remained. I did not expect them to ignore the room altogether, especially given my request for a bathroom cleaning upon my arrival. Lastly, I had to kill a few ants that were crawling in the entryway as well. I've stayed here before and did not experience these problems, so I would recommend. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great hotel, just don't park there I attended a formal dinner on April 26. The dinner was fine, the very seasoned wait staff was just fine. Everything was great UNTIL I tried to get my car back. There was a 45 minute wait but mine was an hour wait because they messed up the tags. The Sheraton used to have self parking which worked well. Somebody decided they would be all valet which just ruins an otherwise nice experience. Unless they bring back self parking, I will strongly recommend that we hold no more affairs there. So, Sheraton, you decide. Would you rather assume the risk of self parking or watch your event revenue decline because of the horrendous end of the evening valet experience. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Renovated Rooms are Great - History at the Front Door I was in town for a large conference (June 2012) and was pleasantly surprised by the Sheraton Society Hill. I enjoyed having so much history right outside the front door and it’s very easy to walk anywhere downtown from the hotel (though it will take 15 mins or so) Cabs were plentiful if you needed to get someplace and didn’t want to walk. I was given a King room (newly remodeled) on the 3rd (Club) floor. Since everything in the room was remodeled there isn’t much to say about it except it was comfortable, clean, new and very enjoyable. The club room was very large and with your room key you could stop in at any time and grab a free water or soda. The gym looked completely new as well and there is also a pool at the hotel. If you want to be in a smaller hotel that has a lot of history all around it, don’t stay downtown among all the financial buildings and stay here instead. The only downside was that on ½ the floor, the emergency intercom was experiencing random static all weekend and the same speakers are in your room. I had several colleagues who were also attending the conference who were kept awake most nights by the static. When they complained to the front desk they offered to send up an engineer but conceded that there was probably nothing that the engineer could do. Since it was a sold out conference, there were no rooms to move them to. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice, convenient Nice updated rooms, friendly staff. love the lounge. August 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty Blah Hotel is fine...that's about it. It looks like some things were recently renovated, and those areas are nice but other things were just overlooked. For example, the elevators are shabby & beat up (and smelled funny) and there is no automatic door at the front, so I had to juggle my briefcase & suitcase to even get inside. There was never a doorman to be found & I came & went several times. The room was comfortable and about as corporate as a room could be. It had a strong chemical/detergent smell that gave me a headache. Also, each time the a/c came on, it was like someone started a jet engine. All together, a perfectly fine stay, but nothing special. October 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Please don't call guests after 8 pm I requested a roll-away bed for my daughter when checking in at 3:30; was not in my room when I returned at 7 so I needed to call to remind staff. It was brought up fairly promptly. However, front desk called the room at 9 pm to ensure it was delivered. My daughter had been asleep for 45 minutes (and I was in bed as well). She thankfully was not woken up. I appreciate the front desk's follow-up, but in the future... 1. Deliver the bed shortly after the first request (in this instance at check-in) 2. Do not call guests after 8 pm. This is far too late to bother guests, especially to remedy something the front desk should have taken care of 4 hours prior March 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Understaffed and acquard Understaffed and Confusing This hotel is not up to standards for business travel. First Impression - Inadequate drop off area. I was left waiting in my car for vehicles to allow me to approach the entrance - Unprofessional doormen. Whistling for a taxi, the doorman left my right ear ringing for hours. I have not seen hotels use finger in mouth whistling to hail taxis for some time. Quite pedestrian. - No one helped me with my bags - No one consistently opened the hotel door for me - I had dropped bags for a late departure. No bellman to retrieve when I was ready to leave. Held me up for another 5-10 minutes. NO TIPS FOR ANYONE Confusion - The reception desk view from the entrance was blocked by pillars. I wandered around for 30 seconds looking for the reception. At first view was the concierge desk, not staffed and darkened. - Waited to check in and did not get a welcome, “are you checking in?” - There is only one button for the 3 elevator bank. It is not located in the middle, instead on the left elevator. The farthest right elevator opened, there was no light above the elevator indicating it was ready and the door view was obstructed by the thick walled facade around the door. - Room numbering is completely confusing. Instead of the room legend signs being consistent i.e. rooms 4000-4050 that way and rooms 4051-4099 this way; the signs mixed the numbering convention counting down and then up 4050–4000 and 4051-4099. Not a big deal in itself, but a big deal with a ringing ear, long wait, un-empathetic staff, confusing elevator markings, etc. Amenities - Thank goodness the room was clean, order less and in order. - Hot water took quite some time in the shower - The AC worked great and was in good working order - Tap water tasted good Conclusion This may be a OK place to bring your family where you have a squadron of kids to run around and figure out where things are and have spotters for the elevator but it is no place for the business traveler. Sheraton Society Hill does not value your time; they prefer to understaff to cut costs versus properly staff to deliver a quality service experience. I don’t know how the other hotels in the area stack up and I won’t go out of my way in the near future to find out. July 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel is terrible This is an old and awful hotel and is far and far and away the absolute worst Starwood hotel I have ever stayed at. The hotel is very old, the walls are thin and the air conditionioning did not work properly. I was there for a wedding and I know several guests (including myself and my wife, the groom, and the best man) who did not sleep well because the a/c would shut off at night, leaving the place very humid, and would make very loud noises which would wake us up when it went on again. On top ofthat, the TV did not work, the sink was backed up, the bathroom smelled, and the fridge stopped working. I won't be staying here again. August 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Stay We had a great overnight stay. Only drawback was the $55.00 breakfast w/o tip. We can get the same meakl at a great diner for udner $20.00. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too little Philly I intend to come back and see more of Philly And when I do .. I'll most likely pick this hotel. Negative: leaving yesterday at 5 am and couldn't get someone to answer the telephone at the valet station despite being told by the valet earlier the day before to call at 4:45 am to have a cab ready for me at 5am. Otherwise staff was truly excellent. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location and Comfortable Hotel This hotel was very good even though the conference room we had was very cold and the AC was loud. We managed but I know we were just a small meeting there. The beds were very comfortable. The Green program is great as well as the Starbucks and bar in the hotel. I would be happy to stay here again. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service Needs Improvement Asked for extra towels when checking in - did not get them. Credit card charges higher than actual folio charges, difficulty reaching Billing to get a credit posted. August 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nightmare Hotel overbooked and I was forced to stay over 30 minutes away in a hotel that was completing renovations. It was 2am! August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very clean and the staff was excellent! Our stay was wonderful. While planning our day the staff was great at offering suggestions on where to go, when to go and the best way to get there. House keeping was friendly and always made sure we had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. We enjoyed our stay very much. July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by checking in and out Good hotel. Only problem is that they were chronically short staffed at the check in desk when many people were checking in and out August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost excellent Unfortunately upon arriving at a few minutes past 4 our room was not ready. We had a meeting to attend and I had to change and shave in the first floor bathroom. Although i was satisfied with the rest of our stay the intake staff did not seem to concerned with our predicament. July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT PET FRIENDLY FACILITY Greatly appreciate pet friendliness, consistent quality, and location. Staff is also very professional and helpful when needed. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE I WAS NOT IMPRESSED WITH THIS HOTEL AT ALL. FROM THE VERY NOISY HALLWAYS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT, WHILE TRYING TO GET SOME SLEEP, TO THE EXESSIVE PARKING CHARGES WHICH WE WERE NOT INFORMED OF. I WAS NOT INFORMED OF THE CHARGE WHILE BOOKING THE ROOM, OR AFTER CHECKING OUT. I WAS TOLD BY ANOTHER FRIEND WHO CHECKED OUT BEFORE ME. AFTER I DID NOT SEE A PARKING CHARGE ON MY FINAL BILL, I INQUIRED ABOUT IT. I WAS THEN TOLD YES, SURE, THERE IS PARKING CHARGE, SO SINCE I PUT MY ROOM ON MY CREDIT CARD, THEY WOULD HAVE JUST ADDED THE CHARGES AFTER I LEFT, WHICH I FEEL IS DECEPTIVE. I WOULD HAVE THOUGHT MY FINAL BILL WAS WHAT WAS ON THE PAPER IN MY HAND, NOT $40.00 MORE THAN THAT. November 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very enjoyable stay My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The service and staff were excellent. The hotel atmosphere was great. We will definitely consider staying here again if we travel to Phildelphia. August 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and 4 solid stars Pro: Very best location, all interesting places in walking distance, friendly staff and very nice lobby area, would definitely chose this hotel again! Con's: No mini bar, never had this in a 5 star hotel before! Tiny in-door pool only, ashaming prices for valet parking, always trash in the hall ways (trays, empty glasses, baskets), hall ways not always clean (carpet) July 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Other than the arrival... Arrived at the property around 5:30 PM and was notified that a room was not yet ready for me. While the front desk was gracious, it is still unacceptable to not have a room available until almost 7:00pm. Beyond this frustration, everything else met my expectations. July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice Great location and helpful staff. I really enjoy coming here. August 3, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17 next>>