Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2044 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another wonderful stay In this last stay I reserved 2 rooms for me and my family. Despite the fact that the hotel was fully booked, I was recognized by my Platinum status and by my dozens stays in the past, and was upgraded to charming club rooms with all the benefits entitiled. As always, our stay at the Sheraton New York was most enjoyable, convenient and rewarding. It was again our home-away-from-home in NYC. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bruce M 17 Great hotel, staff was very friendly, always asking us if everything was ok. Very clean and lobby was beautiful. Will be back for sure. July 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by cancelled reservation Imagine arriving in NY city with your 14yr old daughter, and having the Sheraton representative tell you, "Your reservation was cancelled!". I felt so disappointed, so scared and that feeling of being alone! I booked the hotel in October 2011 as we were going to a dance competition. Circumstances changed, so I changed the reservation by phone, and the reservation clerk, "Dave"said the reservation number was the same as original one. No mention was made that I would be charged for one night in addition (even when I specifically asked about this). I also called many times(at least 6) to ensure the date was changed appropriately, (I was cut off, I was told to call "customer care"and was told everything looked ok before we left) spoke to Martha and Jason.Manager James Green was able to rectify everything in the end, thank goodness, but bring copies of reservation especially if you change anything. July 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems with customer service We had a bad experience at the Hotel since arriving, the receptionist did not properly treated, and also gave us the wrong room (1446), having to ask to change later (to 4630) as we had an upgrade. Regarding Club Lounge, this was the only good thing about staying at the hotel, breakfast and amenities were good. Another factor to improve is checked out, as we found was there was uncoordinated and friendliness of the staff of the Hotel. In summary, our expectations were not met at the Hotel. We have been to several Sheraton across the world and this was a bad experience. July 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Service On arrival I had a very unpleasant experience with the parking staff, & when I complained on registration, both the front desk clerk & then the front desk manager failed to take any responsibility, stating merely that the parking valets did not work for them, in spite of the fact that I was paying the hotel for the parking. The general manager was supposed to call me but never did. They appear not to realize that this is essentially a service industry. This initial experience soured my entire stay. September 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff and clean, comfortable rooms Had a great experience at this hotel on a recent two day stay. Room was clean if not a bit small. Bathroom recently renovated and well done. Staff was exceptionally helpful, courteous, and accommodating. Very close to Times Square and Central Park. Would stay again. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT STAY Fantastic hotel, just renovated and looks beautiful. I travel 75 nights a year for business and this is one of my favorite hotels to stay. The staff treat you with respect and make you feel very comfortable. If you are coming to NYC on business or pleasure this is the hotel to stay. January 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by busy but beautiful city hotel Sometimes a bit overcrowded. Large hotel, but staff and views and comfort are tip top. Staff makes you feel like you are in a boutique hotel. Bravo. July 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel disappointed me On the second of five days at the hotel, the elevator two of the elevators that went to my floor broke. That left only one elevator for everyone going to floors 21 to 28. The wait to get on the elevator was over 30 minutes. That is very unacceptable. There were lines to get on the elevator. There was a guard stationed by the elevator and when I asked him when the elevators would be fixed he only shrugged. The other two elevators were not fixed for two days. Which meant I either waited 30 minutes for an elevator, or took a another bank of elevators up to the 20th floor and walked up the flight to stairs to my floor. The hotel was completely unresponsive to concerns about the elevator and made no accommodation. August 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor management I'm accostumed to travel to several Sheraton Hotels. This hotel has very poor customer services as well as management. All issues I asked management assistance, they were not resolved. One of them refers being double charged (I pre-paid my stay and the hotel charged me again at check-in). I informed at least 3 times to reception and/or VIP management - besides had to repeat the issue every time, I was also pointed to someone else as there was not a track or management taking over the customer issue. Issue is still pending to be resolved by the hotel after 7 days of report. July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great visit Me and my teenaged sons visited The Sheraton Times Square for seven nights and we had a totally awsome stay with many great memories. It was not only the incredible city, but also the hotel with a terrific service, to be able to book tours on the hotel and the service in the reception. The breakfast was maybe somewhat expensive but very good choices/menu in a very pleasant surronding with not so much noise. Thanks! July 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience so far Requested to room service to not do cleaning as I was on a business call during the mid-day hours. Put "do not disturb sign" on my door. Room service still came back multiple times and called three times despite my request and the sign on my door. Tried to order room service, but was denied service due to item being only available on the childrens menu. Indicated that I received the same order the prior night and was told that there was a policy to make a one time exception. This is in addition to a false fire alarm and multiple elevators down. My prior stay included 24hr/day construction noise from the hotel's renovation. April 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by my stay I come to NY often and i have made your hotel my hotel when coming to NY. However; if you go out and look at lounge area you find it very dissapointing in fact the chairs and rugs are disguesting. The chair are so filthy and stained i did not want to sit in them Many people like me are sitting there in business suits and I'm sure whoever reads this will agree upon your insptection. You are a World Class Company positioned in a world class spot in the biggest world class city in the world. not a good situation. I don't think you want to publish this review November 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location if you want to be near Time sq and Shows. Our first trip to NY and the hotel is located on one the the busiest street in NY. Lots of restaurants around. We got a Metro pass ( they only take $2.50 in coins as payment on the bus ) and took the subway up to Central Park area. It's best to take the street behind the hotel as it is less crowded ( 6th & 5th ave less crowded) and it takes you to the Museum of Modern Art that is a great place for lunch and Rockefeller Centre . It's a short walk to the discount show ticket booth and we got our show tickets there. Long line,but it moves really fast. BEWARE- Had a bad experience with the people who hustle CD's on the street,very aggressive and they will rob you blind. DO NOT STOP. Hope the city does something about them. We took Yellow Cab from the airport .There were three of us and the cost was reasonable . Do take a bus tour as you learn a lot. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The heartbeat of New York This is a convenient location for touring New York, close to Subway, easy to get around from here. Hotel is very busy in July, perhaps that's why no ice in the machine on our floor? Pleasant staff, refreshing cocktails in the bar, comfy bed. Small bathroom, big TV, friendly staff. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Second Great Stay at Sheraton NY Times Square This people at the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel are ALWAYS super. From the Front Desk, to the Concierge to the Room staff, everyone extends the pride of New York. Rooms are NYC size which means small (by US standards), but the rooms are quiet and well-furnished. The lobby is not large and it's always bustling. Front desk lines are busy during check-in and check-out times. You can store your luggage in you're checking in for free ($3.25 if you're not checking in).. I like the gym which is a large, well-equipped gym (with a small locker room). It's $10/day (unless you're a Platinum SPG). Location is great to walk to everything and/or catch subways all over the city. In fact, the hotel is right above the 7th Ave & 53rd St station on the "E" train line which connects to the JFK Air Train, so it's fast and easy to get to the hotel. I will definitely return and recommend this property. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel has a great location Very convenient to Times Square, Central Park. This is our 4th year staying at the Sheraton and will be back next year. July 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement This hotel had 2 great positives: the location was great, and the concierge made great restaurant recommendations, and was the only reason I gave a "good" review for staff responsiveness. And now the negatives- the front desk staff was professional at check-in, but certainly did not go out of her way for those "little extras". No refrigerator (other than the mini bar) was a downer. But THE BIGGEST negative was the bathroom- it REEKED! It smelled of moldy, wet towels, even after housekeeping came through. Not sure if there was a leak somewhere, but definitely should be checked out. I would still recommend this hotel, as maybe this was just a 1-room problem and we would be willing to give it a try one more time. July 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Sheraton has declined Check in wait of 35 minutes. Inadequate staff on duty. Available check in stations were unstaffed. Personnel had little concern and no interest passing on my concerns to their supervisor. Dirty tray tables in the hallways all night and much of the morning. I have stayed here many times in the past but never again. The interest in service has deteriorated markedly. July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by July one night stay My check in experience was very disappointing. Marilyn who checked me barely acknowledged me. I stay at the Sheraton everytime I visit NYC, and have to say that her customer service was awful. I felt that she was bothered to check me in. She did not ask if I had any preferences to my room, acknowledge that I am a SPG member. She handed my room keys and said nothing to me while handing them to me, not even telling me what my room number was. My overall staywas good, but the check in experience was very dissappointing. July 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Check-in Nightmare We stayed at the New York Sheraton over the holidays and had a less than stellar experience. We arrived early and were graciously allowed to check-in to one of our two rooms early. At the check-in, we were informed to come back at 3:00 PM to check-in for the second room (the kids room.) We had asked that we either be given 2 rooms that were on the same floor, or two rooms with two double beds, (knowing that adjacent or connecting rooms cannot both be doubles). The room wasn't ready when we returned at 3:00 PM. We were told to come back at 5:00 PM, but the room still wasn't ready. We were then told to come back at 8:00 PM, but the room still wasn't ready. Again, we were told to come back at 9:00 PM, and the room still wasn't ready - and that it was a flight crew room which was why it wasn't ready? At 10:00 PM, we just asked for any room in the hotel as the kids needed to get to bed, (they were sleeping on the lobby floor in the NYC Sheraton). It took another 30 minutes to get a room, which was on a separate floor from us (their parents). Also, once we arrived, we asked to use the internet and were told that the name on the registration didn't match the name on the account… (it did match but there was a problem with their internet). We were then told that there was a problem with the internet and that we needed a special pass code… it didn't work either… we gave up on the internet. Make no mistake, the staff was always very nice, very empathetic and very pleasant. I typically love the hotel and usually have a great experience at the hotel. As a 12-year Platinum Preferred guest, this is one of the first disappointing experiences I have had with Starwood. I will continue to stay at this hotel but was very disappointed with the most recent experience. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very clean hotel We loved staying at the Sheraton Times Square. It was very convenient to the attractions we wanted to see. The hotel staff was very friendly. The rooms and view were great. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Handicap Patrons This was a prepaid stay through an agency. I needed 3 rooms the agency only sent reservations for 2. The missing one was mine which required a handicap room. In the confusion we were given a regular room which made for an extremely bad first night. Walker wouldn't fit thru the bathroom door. The problem was rectified the next day after we called. Response was prompt, new room was excellent. One other comment is maid service carts in the hallways made passage with a wheel chair difficult. Should be narrower or remove outboard wheels. July 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by NEVER AGAIN The short story is we went overnight and housekeeping was in our room the next morning while we were at breakfst- threw out our personal bathroom goods, could clearly see our bags were stil in the room, and reminded us that check out was at noon- THIS WAS AT 9:40 AM!!!! Front desk apologized and then stated they had X number of rooms to clean a day- not my problem as a paying guest. as we were leaving we went into the lobby store LANDAU to make a purchase and SUZANE ( store rep) entered from the lobby and began screaming that we entered a locked store- not sure how you do that as the doors were not locke, no closed sign anywhere and this was all during regular retail business hours- the 4 children with us were scared by her rantings- NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!! August 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Vacation Big Apple My first stay with the family at the Sheraton Times Square was a great one! It started at check in. As a new gold member, I requested an upgrade and was given a suite. Front desk attendant Alex Fish gets 5 stars for his customer service and pleasant demeanor ( not always easy to find in NY). Walls were a little thin, but the room was spacious and bed was very comfortable. Location,location, location, can't beat it. We will definitely be back! July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Perfect Stay As last January, I had two stays in the Sheraton New York also last March, as part of my international academic activities. Despite that my pending suite night awards were not fulfilled for the two stays, the hotel staff (the General Manager personally, and the most efficient VIP group) have made their utmost and upgraded us to wonderful suites at top floors of the hotel, with all Platinum privileges and more. We have stayed at the Sheraton New York dozens of times for many years in the past, and it is always our "home away from home" in NYC. We always enjoy the upgraded rooms (club rooms or suites) and the special service and charm of the club lounge. At this time I would like to specially commend the club lounge attendant – Mohammad, for his most efficient, cordial and friendly service for many years. As many many times before, our last two stays were most enjoyable. April 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service Hit or Miss Pros: Good location for tourist spots, relatively comfortable, and competitively priced. Cons: Customer service is a complete hit or miss. Some staff were the incredibly courteous and helpful, other's were outright rude and obstructive. Food is of average quality and incredibly overpriced for what it is (Think standard Sheraton Hotel fare but at 2x the price). Now you could chalk up the waffling customer service and over priced food to your NYC experience, that's what we did, but it's doubtful we'll pick this Sheraton on our next Big Apple trip. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff Front desk staff and room attendants were great. Really went out if their way to take care of us. July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Slow to Resond Begin this review with we have stated at Sheraton's all across the country from St Louis, Washington DC, Phoenix, Arizona and many more. Sheraton's usually exceed our expectations, unfortunately "Time Square" let us down. I ordered a refrigerator for the room, being we were staying 9 nights, leftovers was a very sure bet. We did not receive the frig until four days into our reservation:(....packages shipped to the hotel signed for but never was able to track them down within the hotel.....another sad face. customer service at the desk was less than friendly, always felt like you were bothering them. Can't say the Sheraton Time Square would be my first or second choice for my next visit to New York. July 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid this Hotel The rooms are terribly small. Paint is chipping off of the walls. The lobby is over crowded and not a nice place entrance to a hotel. The hotel staff on the street tell at people and their own guests. The cleaning staff start yelling in the hallways in the morning (so do not expect to sleep past 8:30AM). One of my worst SPG hotel experiences. July 9, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 69 next>>