Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

  • 250 Market Street
  • Portsmouth,
  • New Hampshire
  • 03801
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 455 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by will not return This was our first time staying at this hotel; we opted for club level..the room was very clean; however, one would expect that at club level the rooms would be excellent; however not the case here. The room was small, the sheer curtain is the only curtain that closes fully; the room darkening curtain does not close at all...not due to malfunctioning but due to design; the curtain tracks do not go in front of the window. Therefore, we were unable to keep the lights from shining in from outside nor keep the sun from shining in at dawn. The air conditioning unit was very noisy. We were unable to check out thru the TV option due to the remote control not working properly. When we advised the front desk clerk of the curtain issue , we received an obligatory "sorry". He also did not seem to know about the curtains...shouldn't he know about the curtains in the hotel?? Also, the 24 hour "store" was completely out of any kind of pain reliever. July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by pool out of order /remote control The main reason we stayed in this Sheraton was for the pool , we were going to mt Washington which is over a two hour ride , but since this is the only sheraton that had a pool we decided to it was worth it , guess we were wrong . we were extremely disappointed as we go on vacation to sheraton hotels that have pools , which when we arrived we were told it was under construction , There should be some type of red flag that goes up to alert the vister when a major part of the hotel is not in use . 2nd disappointment was our remote which they had to come a few times to the room to change & reset never really worked if you were laying down in bed only if you were standing in front of the tv, which you can imagine how unrelaxing that could be if you want to keep changing channels . the service over all was excellent & the staff was most courteous. which i would still come back again to. As a gold member we asked for a upgrade but we were told there were no rooms available , so there was a big damper on our vacation . July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Managing Partner Excellent place to stay for business or family July 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel Convenient hotel, very beautiful layout. Our complaint was that it was very loud. You could hear everything going on around you. Also disappointed that the pool was closed, my fault for not checking that. Otherwise a nice hotel for the area. July 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Positive response to serious multiple issues Room highly unsatisfactory with multiple serious issues. Unable to resolve issues on day of arrival. In AM Spoke to Sarah, Director of Guest Experience. Very responsive to issues we brought up. She explained hotel in process of major renovations. Would definitely give the restaurant 5 stars plus. Delicious food - wonderful service Would return - excellent area to visit July 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Talk about a nightmare My wife and I stay at the Sherton, Portsmouth, NH for our anniversary. We do this every year and I reserve the same room. I was promised this room and even double checked to insure we were all set and when we arrived i was told the room was not available. I was irate. They did offer to knock some money off but the money wasn't the issue. It was the room we awanted and I'm not happy with the way it was handle. I did ask to reserve this for next year and was promised a confirmation before I left and no one ever got back to me. Lack of follow thru is amzing. July 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Although arrived early, ~ noon, room was still not available until after 3 and the room we received had the AC equipment right outside, which for the 2 days we were there was being serviced so the workmen looked right in the room. Additionally, we had the breakfast program, but on check-in we never received the coupons. It was only upon leaving that I questioned it and was provided with the coupons which we then dashed to the restaurant before breakfast ended so we could at least recoup that expense. Additionally, upon check-in learned that the pool was closed for repairs, but we could walk a mile or so to a public pool if we so chose. Otherwise, a beautiful hotel and super location for access to all that Portsmouth has to offer. July 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by hotel close to town We stayed here last year for our anniversary and loved our waterview suite. When booking a return trip the agent said we would get a similar room but we were disappointed to receive a parking lot view room which was in need of painting. We will only consider a return trip if we are guaranteed a water view. July 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick Get Away The hotel has the perfect location, the staff is friendly in nice. No upgrade for platinum status, but club access was nice. I travel a lot for work and wanted my girls to get away for fourth of July. The staff was super friendly and this hotel is lovely. Only flaw was my room had a terrible smell coming from the HVAC unit if turned on. So we had the AC off a lot and it was 90 for both days. We will be back!!!! July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton Harborside Beautiful hotel; great location. Check-in was not as efficient as I would have expected. The room was well appointed but the size of the room did not meet my expectations, July 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The hotel price point ($300/night) did not meet my expectations. In-window HVAC, dated and noisy. Room very small. Top floor lounge food choices limited. Not indicative of restaurant offering, thus went off property to eat. Parking off-site and gate operation spotty. Pool under construction, no notification to booking guest of construction activity. Overall, not a good deal for $300/night! If you like single ply toilet paper, stay here! July 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some mistakes/conflicting information Booked an overnight with Robert. Saw pet friendly indications on hotel web site for every room; was told NO pets allowed at their hotel. Made arrangements for pet to have care at home and did not take him with us. When checking out at front desk, saw a woman with her dog on a leash entering the elevator; spoke with the front desk clerk and asked ARE pets allowed? She said YES, of course, every room. Told her we were told by Robert, there were no pets allowed. We paid for a club level non refundable rate room, king size heavenly bed, bath had granite single sink, clean bathroom, internet included in price. We asked the clerk to mention complaint regarding this conflicting information. After we got home we went on CHAT live with hotel customer service and spent a half hour talking; first they just looked up and quoted the hotel policy line information on the web site that PETS were allowed and we saw and knew that already then she said she would credit us 500 points; then apologized because she couldn't verify who we were online and took them away because I was the one who wrote (wife) and not my husband, who had the rewards number. We stayed and were there together. Another mistake by Customer Service and waste of both our time. We had a mistake on our bill for a gift shop item, (magazine), we did not purchase; and hotel made adjustment when checking out. Parking in Portsmouth Sheraton costs$18 for valet or $15 self parking across Russell street. The hotel restaurant menu choices could be better and simpler. Even though from Cape Cod, wanted to take a break from our busy schedules and take a drive to Ogunquit, Kennebunkport and Portsmouth for a few days of R & R. July 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pool under renovation July 4th weekend? Reservations for a wedding were made over a month ago for a KING bed adjacent to our friends. The hotel did arrange an early check-in but for a double room & at the other end of the floor from friends. There really wasn't a gathering area like the POOL area that was under renovation on a holiday-July 4th- weekend!!!! July 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel ok...Staff accommodation not so much My wife whom is 8 months pregnant and I decided we wanted one last getaway before the arrival of our first baby. We initially booked one night anticipating on staying two if we were having a good time. We solely chose the Sheraton Hotel because of one reason, the indoor pool. My wife being 8 months pregnant cannot for obvious reason handle the heat as normal right now. Upon our arrival we immediately went to our room, put out bathing suits on and went to the pool. When we arrived to the pool it was empty with a sign that stated it was under renovation. I immediately went to the front desk as they told me a few days prior when I booked the hotel that they had a pool available. When we spoke to the front desk staff how sorry they were for the inconvenience and that we could cancel our reservations and look for another hotel! Cancel our reservations on the fourth of July? Yes, there obviously were no other openings at surrounding hotels. When I started to get frustrated they said they had an option for us. They gave us two tickets to the pool down the road (outdoors) the pierce island pool. With that my wife and I were so frustrated we figured we would cut our losses and go to the pool in the morning. So the morning came, we once again put our bathing suits on. I said to myself I am going to call the pool to make sure they are open. When I did at 9:00am they told us that they are open from noon-5pm. I was once again furious, why? My wife and I went to the front desk at 5:30pm on the 4th of July and were checking out at noon on the 5th. So that tickets were absolutely pointless. The front desk staff had no words for this scenario. I really couldn't understand how we were not notified when booking that the pool was closed, especially when we stated that was the reason we chose that hotel The second issue which arose and bothered me more then the pool issue was that of the AAA discounts which the Sheraton Hotels offer or don't offer I am actually still confused. When my wife and I initially booked the room we were told that they did not offer AAA discounts. When I was standing in line to check in, a gentlemen in front of me opened his wallet pulled out a AAA card and WAS GIVEN THE DISCOUNT. I watched it play out. I initially didn't say anything as I didn't want to start the trip off on the wrong foot. We went out to dinner that night and on our way back in I stopped to speak to the front desk. I simply asked the gentlemen if they offer AAA discounts and he said YES. I said ok, I pulled my card out and said I would like it applied to my bill. The tune of the song changed. He said he thought I was a new customer coming in, and didn't know I was already a guest. He had to check with his manager. Needless to say we never received the discount. I was given numerous run around excuses and unfortunately zero of them could explain how they could give someone standing in front of me the discount and not myself. In closing, I have stayed with the Sheraton Hotel Company and Partner hotels all throughout the country and world. I have never written a complaint. This time I could not resist. My wife and I were so much looking forward to this final getaway before a new chapter was going to start for our family and it turned into a very disappointing mess. We chose to only stay for the one night and leave the following morning July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First class hotel in a great location We spent 3 wonderful days at this hotel. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the excellent valet/bellmen staff everything was first class. The hotel is in a great location easily accessible from highway 95 and all the Portsmouth historic sites and restaurants are within walking distance. The rooms are large and the beds and linens very comfortable.THe housekeeping staff maintains a high level of cleanliness. We will return. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Excellent staff!!! We are a family of 4 and this was our 2nd time in 6 months back at the Sheraton Portsmouth. That right there say's a lot! We were greeted by Micah at the front desk and his knowledge and super personality were very welcoming! Our stay this time was in a Port of Call Suite and it was amazing. The amount of space of the rooms and the views were spectacular. We will be back!!! Thank you!!!! July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff couldn't be better The staff was phenomenal. I can't say enough about them. One of the most important things to me when staying at a hotel is a friendly, helpful staff and I wasn't disappointed. From the gentleman that checked us in (John) to the valets the staff was exceptional. July 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Class 1 Appearance for Class 4 Price I'm a Starwood fan and extremely loyal. Thus i book via pay or points to a Starwood if at all possible when travelling. In short, this hotel is Class 4 in location only as you can walk to downtown. The actual hotel is not worth staying at unless you're flush with points and refuse to try another hotel. We went to Portsmouth for a wedding and stayed at the Sheraton. It's sadly dated throughout. The rooms were tattered and worn in all aspects - furniture, bathroom, wallpaper. I almost expected to see a tube television instead of a flat screen. That's the one upgrade in the last twenty years I'd say. I did not use the pool/spa so cannot comment other than public areas and the rooms. June 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG platinum? What's that! No SPG recognition. Did not offer any choices either bonus nor amnesties. I am still waiting for SPG credit. Usually I get them the next day. I had to negotiate a 1PM check out - thought platinum would get 4PM without a hassle. The best experience I got in this hotel was from valet parking - they were awesome friendly and generous June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant This is a very nice hotel in a great location, it is in walking distance to all that Portsmouth has to offer. staff are very helpful and efficient. Overall a very pleasant stay. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amanda My husband and I visited Portsmouth for our 45 wedding anniversary. Upon check in he mentioned this to Amanda. That evening we received a bottle of champagne....what a wonderful surprise. She also upgraded our accomodations. This helped make our anniversary a wonderful day...thank you Amanda. June 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Port of Call suite is In need of Dry Dock Waterstain on Living room Ceiling..dusty book shelves, dirty windows...bath room very far away from master bedroom...got this suite because of elderly grandmother and her needs...reservation gal did not explain this. Air did not operated in the night, and the 2nd floor of the suite was hot and stuffy...uncomfortable...bathroom tiles uphigh have not been clean for a very long time...closet doors could not open... June 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great staff and location. This hotel is in a great location to be able to explore a great city. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Emily at the registration desk. June 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Triangle We used SPG points at this hotel, so we had an SPG room, which now I am guessing the smaller rooms. Our room was shaped at a triangle, which was a little odd but the bathroom was way to small because of it. The wall is right in your face as your using the toilet .Our a/c unit in our room was a bit noisy and it never really kept our room cool even at 60 but I think it's because the shape of the room. June 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Townhouse We stayed in a townhouse, and it lacked the amenities one would expect in a hotel room; for example, it had no luggage racks, and there were no hooks on the backs of the bathroom doors. Little things like that make things easier on a trip. Was disappointed that they switched to valet parking only for both the underground lot and the area in front of the hotel and townhouses. After 3 times staying there, we might try another place in Portsmouth next time. Very convenient location, though - walking distance to downtown. June 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs renovation The rooms desperately need renovation. Our bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was very old, grimy (not housekeeping's fault) and desperately needs to be renovated. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly. June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is eager to please. Upon check in I asked if we were eligible for free upgrade. We were upgraded to the club floor where Christine went above and beyond to bring me some tea and ice cream as I wasn't feeling well. At checkout we requested a wheelchair and after waiting 25 min. I called again. The host was very apologetic for forgetting about us and added 500 points to our account June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Sheraton My wife and I spent three days at the Sheraton while visiting Portsmouth. We had a one-bedroom suite complete with kitchen, dining and living area that had two floors! It's the most amazing accommodation we've had, in terms of space, in all our extensive travels the past two years. The food was also excellent in the restaurant, although the view of debris piles in the harbor outside was a downer. Also, the "wines rated 90+" was a disaster. There were only two wines--one of which was rated only 88 and was clearly bad. June 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb location and great staff! This hotel is in great central location. There are so many great restaurants and shopping within a short walking distance. Unfortunately, I was only there for 1 night on a business trip, but the staff was excellent in making recommendations to fit in as much local fun as possible in the short time frame that I had. June 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by District Conference Facility and food were great! Fire alarm was special, too! June 3, 2013
  • 2015-05-21T20:01:59.228-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_455, tr_455
  • loc_en_US, sid_636, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 16 next>>