Sheraton Birmingham Hotel

  • 2101 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North
  • Birmingham,
  • Alabama
  • 35203
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 603 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good stay Our stay was very pleasant. Wonderful hotel and staff. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has great features i enjoyed my stay and would recommend to a friend September 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by week long stay I recently had a week long stay at this facility.. i was told i was registered under the "green program" and they would not change my bedsheets each night but would replace towels etc.. I had no problem with that - however, no one ever came in to change towels coffee etc. i had to call every night for those. by Thursday i was told i was suppose to call for this daily. i was also not told that internet was free, until i heard it from another guest, and i was overcharged by 30/night on my bill and for parking that i did not use. very disappointing. June 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some work but people are good. This hotel could use some TLC; it's probably already on the Sheraton rehab schedule. Looks a little shabby and dated. But the staff was unfailingly helpful and friendly. Cafe food was expensive but you are pretty much captive in the hotel so that explains the pricing. Subway to the right of front door was a good lunch option. May 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has some good features,But I liked it's location to BJCC and the staff overall was very good. However, check in and check out was very, very slow. There were only three working when I checked in at 3 and had reservations as did most everyone. It was the Elton John concert date and the lines got really long. Also for the price it did not have a mini-fridge or microwave. Refridge was available for $25 more, I feel that was a rip. Throw in the ice machine was not working in our room area, well anyway it was a great concert. March 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cold Shower + Wrong Billing I had no hot water for my shower on Sunday. I called down to guest services, they apologized and would send someone up immediately to sort it out. 35 minutes later no one had shown and I had to leave for my flight. Ice cold showers are less than acceptable. I received my bill through an email. I opened it up. It has the wrong name and address on it as well as the wrong SPG rewards. I called in, they put me through to voicemail to rectify. Left a message..I will give them some time to respond. Called back 4 times now to reach someone about the ice shower and all I hear are voicemail. No one is answering. As someone who takes groups all across the country, I cant believe this is the type of service I can come to expect from a Sheridan. Shocking. December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the access and location POSITIVES: The hotel is literally right off I-20, we barely had to detour at all from our planned route. We booked two rooms, and they were both in good shape. The beds were very comfortable, and the showers were nice. One of our rooms had a walk-in shower with a shower handle which was convenient for washing the baby. The staff was very friendly, particularly in the Atrium restaurant (thanks Ms. Carolyn!). And the food? Excellent. Next time I pass through Birmingham, I may drop in just for the breakfast bar! Best quality bacon I've had at a restaurant in a long time. Plus eggs, fresh fruit, various biscuit/waffle/pancake options... it was awesome. NEGATIVES: Unless you valet, expect a long walk through some poorly-maintained hallways to get to the hotel. The hotel is attached to the BJCC convention center and the entrance from the parking deck is in rough shape, which is NOT the fault of the hotel. Perhaps a cost-sharing PIP with the BJCC to get that entrance fixed up would do wonders for the hotel's image. Some inexpensive PVC flooring planks with a hardwood look, double-secured with glue, would be spectacular and hold up well to heavy traffic. Some of the carpeting inside the hotel was spotty as well, and moulding was missing in spots in some of the hallways OVERALL The negatives are really, really, minor in comparison to the value proposition that this hotel offered us. We will definitely be back although next time we will probably valet :-) September 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by the room less travelled Was very dissappointed in service. Went to check in room only to find bed not completely made. Started the venture of getting another room that entailed me going from floor to floor with a manager who kindly volunteered to assist only to end up back at the starting point with me making up the rest of the bed. I also had to retrieve my own luggage after waitng for bell hop that never responded. So much for breakfast at the club lounge the next day it was depleted by 8:00am and after waiting 30 mins. I gave up. Understaffed. UNBELIVEABLE!!! April 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel did not live up to expectations The hotel advertised a hot tub. There was no hot tub. The reservation was made under my name, but everything was listed under my mom or my daughter's name, who were both on vacation with me. The bill was in my 8 year old daughter's name. Really? I got a discounted rate for the Talladega race, and I got a horrible room to make up the difference. The bathroom door had to be lifted to open or close it. We came in to a chair with 2 broken legs. My reservation was for 3 nights and we were informed they only had us down for 2 nights, so I didn't get my 2nd voucher for refusing housekeeping services. Our remote for the TV didn't work well. It was incredibly difficult to change the channels. What hotel, especially at those rates, doesn't have a mini-fridge or a microwave? We couldn't save any of our leftovers. Wasted money! The "heated" pool was FREEZING! I would have liked at least juice and donuts, a continental breakfast, for the money I spent. Smaller, less fancy hotels and motels have complimentary breakfast and any ammenities they advertise for. I will be spending my money with them on my next vacation. May 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reverend Sheraton did what it promised: to meet and exceed expectations! Excellent service and care with plenty of warmth. March 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Club Level Room I was given the option of staying on the Club Level which was $40 more per night than the regular level room (same size room - 2 double beds). Sheraton employee in registration explained the difference in the two rooms and why the price was more for Club Level. Perks for this room included food/snacks/drinks various times throughout the am/aft/eve hours as well as few other things she mentioned....unfortunately I cannot remember exactly. During my visit Aug 7-9 for the Alabama Career and Technical Summer Conference not once did I visualize any specific area where food or drinks were served nor was any information given to me at time of check-in. I would like to know what the additional $40 per night for a Club Level room actually paid for???? Thank you August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience. Responsive, attentive staff, well maintained property. May 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't leave a message No callback for three weeks after leaving a message about a billing discrepancy. When it came time to do expenses I called again and reached someone but they could not address my concern. May 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wait times too long I was recently there for a conference (SCOLT) on the 11th, 12th, and 13th of April. My first "problem" was that even though I had a Do Not Disturb sign hanging on my door, a maid entered without knocking while I was preparing my next presentation. The second was checkout. I was to checkout at noon but needed to ask a specific question about my charges. I waited in line at checkout for 22 minutes. There were four people in front of me and approximately 20 people behind me waiting to checkout. There were only two clerks. If traditional checkout is at noon, there needs to be more than two employees. When I left to retrieve my valeted car on Saturday afternoon, I waited for 24 minutes to receive my car due to some type of traffice jam near the civic center. April 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Okay for Business Pretty hotel and nice staff. May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service From the second we drove up to the Sheraton to the second we left, the staff was courteous, helpful and always pleasant,. They never forgot our names even. May 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was a good stay! I stayed at this location because my family and I were moving to Houston TX from Woodbridge VA and that was our resting stop. So, after driving for 12+ hours with an infant it was a little frustrating to find the guest services counter since there were very little signs. After I was checked in the room I gave my son a shower and the tub was clogged from before and the toilet was used( someone forgot to flush)!!!!! Well, I called the FD and resolved the problem. The next day I got a bill for $45.00 even though I used my starwood points. I got charged $13.00 to make a call to another state even though the guest service agent told me it was going to be $2.00 for the initial call and then some cents per min after an hour. This is a little frustrating but oh well! April 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overbooked We were at a convention and could not check in until after the night session was over. When we arrived to checkin the rooms that we requested were not availible, the reservation for the next night was not found and it took for ever to get checked in. This was all after calling the day before arrival and once again on the day of arrival. After checking out we were billed a "No Show" fee. Turns out the reservation associate spelled the names of one of our group so bad that they could not find it. Breakfast was way overpriced. May 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by strange room configuration Our king room was abnormally large with a lot of wasted floor space, however the bathroom was TINY. It had no counter space or cabinet to put any of your toiletries. It had been poorly renovated with slabs of granite on the tub surround, which did not even meet the tub itself. Large gaps with no caulking to even attempt to hide the poor workmanship. Bed was poorly made up, using a too-small flat sheet where a fitted sheet should have been, causing sleep on the bare mattress to occur. Not even a mattress cover was in place. December 12, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by In town for Conference The hotel staff was very nice and responsive. The room could use some additional sound proofing and was a little warm, but was clean and well maintained. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Experience During a Trying Time I was attending a conference here when Birmingham experienced a freak snow storm that essentially closed down the city. Anyone at the hotel at the time of the storm was stuck there. The entire staff stepped up to the plate in a most admirable way. They were extremely helpful and pleaant, even though they were filling in doing jobs that were not part of thier usual duties and doing so on very little sleep. It was a trying time for all, but I commend the entire staff on making it as bearable as possible. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Last minute booking came through I called 30 minutes before to book a room because my original hotel was without power and flooded. It was late and I had an overtired and hungry toddler. The 1-800 number accommodated me quickly, I arrived and was checked in within 5 minutes. My luggage was sent up within 5 minutes of me arriving in the room even though it is a large hotel connected to a convention center. The staff at Casey's, the sports bar, were very friendly and helped find a small cup for my toddler. The room had light fixtures that were falling off the walls (only bad experience) and when we pointed it out to housekeeping, it was addressed immediately. Engineering said we had to switch rooms but they found us one 4 doors down and we were able to rest and recharge before an early morning flight. July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Southern Hospitality at it's best I was hoping the staff would be as nice as Wanda who helped me with reservations and I was not disappointed. Everyone was helpful but my favorite was Byron. He set the tone for all to follow, he was kind, remembered my name thru my stay, asked about my son, and projected the southern hospitality of the staff. The shuttle staff was wonderful, the security staff was quick to solve a packed lobby, the manager covered for a staff person in the club room with the same genuine kindness as all, I could go on and on. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay again on my next visit. The hotel was packed with two different groups crossing over in time but in no time did I feel slighted, everyone took care of my husband and myself and made us feel as important as any group. June 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not So Good of a Stay We arrived for our stay on 02/15/13. The first room we arrived to had an large insect on the tub. I called down to the operator to change rooms after we return from our function. After we returned, third shift was on duty, we explained the situation to front desk they were very unprofessional, the manager came to the front desk and we received another room. We got to our new room and it was occupied. We went to front desk again for a new room and the same unprofessional lady didn't even remember us (it wasnt even 15 min after we left front desk) poor customer service skills. So we received another room it was handicap assesible but it really didn't even matter cause it was after midnight and we were so exhausted. It is a nice location but the customer service is awful February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recent stay This is our 3rd time staying at this Sheraton Hotel. We stop here on our way to and from Orlando. Each stay has been great. Never any issues, rooms are clean and comfortable. Request for housekeeping are quickly recieved. We will continue to stay here any time we pass through. Very conveinent to the highway. Only issue is parking is quite a distance from our room and we had to pay. Other that that it is a great hotel. April 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I'll never stay at this hotel again. My visit started off at 5pm and the Valet Parking was full. What a joke. So I dropped my bags off and they told my wife to go on to the room and it was 30 minutes before we got our bags. The VIP room we payed extra for was a joke. $11.00 for a cheap glass of wine was a joke. The next day we drug our bags across the street to the parking garage early because our meeting lasted past check out time. When we left we once again walked across the street to get our car. Never again. I wouldn't stay there if it was free. February 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by business travel The location next to the conference center was great. The free shuttle from and to the airport was appreciated. Checking out was difficult. I had to catch the 5:30 a.m. shuttle to make my flight and there was no one at the registration desk for over 5 minutes creating a back-up of people trying to get checked out and to the airport. Also, the computers weren't working so I wasn't able to get my receipt. It's now over 24 hours since I checked out and I still haven't received my receipt via email as promised. November 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by $109 for 0 amenities I don't understand why I pay twice the rate of a normal hotel and get half the amenities. No rollaway beds, refrigerators, continental breakfast, free wifi, the list goes on. Why do the wealthy pay so much for so little? The atmosphere is glimmering with marble and greenery all around, but the layout of the hotel makes stairways impossible to find and elevators a huge snag. I am dissapponted with my experience at your hotel and I can't wait to get back to a $65 hotel where I am treated better than my wallet. August 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Attention to Detail I have a very high attention to detail. Okay, I'm picky. I want the best. We all do. Don't we? The iron didn't work. Yes, I do press my business shirt even though I wear a suite coat and tie that covers up most of it. Anyway, I took it to the front desk (the iron not the shirt) and in less than 5 minutes I had a new, working iron. Hey you know stuff happens: sinks get clogged, buttons get broken, irons stop working. But this very carrying staff helped me in all the little details that mean something to me. They were very courteous, prompt, and pleasant. I was greeted warmly with a genuine smile from each member of the staff. Those are the details that really mean the most. Thanks for letting me share. Maybe I'll see you in the lobby sometime. I'll be the one with the nicely pressed business shirt. February 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton Birmingham The room cleanliness, layout, furnishings, etc were all fine. However, there was a very strong moldy/mildew smell in the room that was strongest when I returned to the room after an absence (the air conditioning would shut off automatically when I left the room so there was no ventilation during that time). The maid tried to spary room freshener on the filter and around the room which helped for about 15 minutes. One of the staff said it was a problem with all the rooms in that section (15th floor, tower). September 14, 2012
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 21 next>>