Sheraton Waikiki

  • 2255 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 910 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Christmas Eve in town Me and my husband decided to treat ourselves to a staycation in Waikiki this year for Christmas. We chose the Sheraton Waikiki as we had stayed there before and really liked it. The check in process was slow, but once we were checked in,the room was good and the view was amazing. Being as it was Christmas Eve, things were a quiet festive in Waikiki. However that all changed at about 10:00pm when it sounded like our neighbors were having a party. When we went out on the lanai to see where it was coming from, we discovered it was not the neighbors but it was coming from Rum Fire. Now mind you - Rum fire was 8 floors BELOW us. After listening to this for about 45 minutes - with the music getting louder and louder, I finally called the front desk to be told that "Well we are a hotel and it is a night club that goes until Midnight". Really, because I was pretty sure it was a hotel and I was a paying guest..... I was told that they would send security over to see if they could turn down the music. After another 10 - 15 minutes, the music FINALLY was turned down. It was to the point that we almost left. If this has become the "norm" here, we will reconsider our Staycations as it was NOT RELAXING at all. December 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gr8 location, smaller rooms, svc still needs work... Stayed at Sheraton Waikiki several times, before & after the "pretty lobby" Reno. They get enough traffic that they don't care to upgrade on the svc, but that doesn't mean they shouldn't. The pool lounge chairs are old & some torn. Staff will give towels to people w/o wristbands. Hallway to my room smelled of cigarette; complained that evening because was woken up from smoking AGAIN!! Was told they had to catch them w/the lit cigarette in hand, for them to do something. This went on for 3 out of 4 nites. Mgr finally sent an ion machine to clear the smell in my room. The TV remote channel up button sticks & the down button stopped working after 10 clicks. Had to hit it constantly. And no, I didn't call u about it. Figured it wouldn't get me anywhere. Went to The Edge bar on the last day. Very disappointed in the brown beer puddle stench on the corner seat floor, facing ocean. Ordered a cheap, but WEAK Mai Tai, no snacks given---everyone else had one..?! So, I promptly headed back to the pink hotel for a proper last Mai tai. You guys have 2 great hotels left & right of you. You should try to aspire to be one of them. You have the outside new sheraton, but internally it's still the old Sheraton. November 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Had a great time. Great staff! Beautiful hotel. Best on the beach! MUST STAY! August 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Enjoy! beautiful hotel, was our 33rd wedding anniversalry and everying was perfect April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant indeed! Everything about this stay went beautifully; no kinks, no disappointments. August 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed in Waikiki Whe the hotel location was very good, that is about all I can say. The platinum suite upgrade was nothing more than what appeared to be a regular room on a higher floor. On my day departure, I had to ask 3 different staff members if there was someone manning the SPG preferred desk. Twice the person I asked disappered and never came back. It wasn't until the thrid time and 15 mnutes later that I told a front desk employee hat I could not wait any longer and that the hotel could bill me for any expenses. She then went to the back office and within about 5 minutes a staff member came out to help me. In the mean time I realized I would have been almost just as well off and probably much less frustrated if I had ust waited in line with everyone else trying to check in to the hotel but I was under the impression that the SPG preferred desk would/should be manned at all times. If not then I would expect that an employee working the front desk would recognize a preferred customer and come to the SPG desk to assist that customer. If not then why bother havnig an SPG preferrd status at all. All in all I have been very satisified with SPG. However, due to the front desk staff I will never stay at the Sheraton Waikiki again. May 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Good pool and comfortable facility. Good location. Good for kids. August 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sometime things don't go to plan! Staff have bad days too! But it is how they deal with the guest. September 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overnight stay for 3rd wedding anniversary trip July 12,2014 My wife, myself and her mom & dad were traveling to Maui and Kaui with a stop in Honolulu for the night. I picked this hotel for the airport shuttle and that was perfect. When we arrived we found the room booked was not available and had been upgraded to a suite. The staff and Manager on duty at the time helped with an wifi issue on my floor and bless her heart she went to a sister property hotel to get me a MiFi hotspot and that I will never forget that kindness and service. In closing this hotel is perfect for location to Waikiki beach and close to everything, I will gladly stay there again. Many Thanks Jason July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice no beach small pool you have to fight for chairs August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel We loved it. Can't wait to go back! February 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by peak season, off peak service? My wife and I and our two young children stayed a week at the Sheraton Waikiki in early August 2013. It was our second stay there - the first was in early 2012. So we had high expectations which regrettably were not fully met this time around. This may may have been a function of it being peak season and staff were feeling the pressure or bad luck encountering a few indifferent or jaded staff. Not sure. First,, the positives: We had an excellent suite On a mid-level floor. Spacious, great views, generally well appointed. Also, the front desk staff at check in and check out were attentive, as we're the friendly cleaning and ground staff.. My wife and I both had good massages at the spa and good meals at the Japanese and Kai restaurants. We took our children to the pool every day bar one, when it was closed for cleaning after " an accident" - which was disappointing bc the kids had been looking forward to some relief from the heat. Also disappointing was the patchy service at the concierge desk, where we experienced uneven levels of helpfulness, professionalism and courtesy during the week. Some of the staff in the shops within the hotel - a clothing shop and a nail/pedicure shop - were also a little less than friendly to us for some reason. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel's accommodations was excellent. I was so impressed with your staff. We arrived late at 11:30 pm on 11/01/2013. I was exhausted and wanted to get to my room. We were there for the Paradise Cup Event and had booked my hotel reservations ONLINE with (at the time I didn't know it was another online company) for 4 people in the room with Expedia). When the front desk clerk told me the room only had a king size bed. I told her there must be a mistake because I paid for two nights over $1400.00 for 4 people to the room. Desk clerk apologized and said my reservation was by made with Expedia and that I would need to contact them. I was not happy with the news and became quiet. My daughter in the mean time kept up the small talk about her first competition at the Paradise Cup. The front desk clerk had asked me to wait and she would be back. When the desk clerk returned, she had stated she spoke with the manager and I was able to have the accommodations for our 4 people. I thanked her and the manager for accommodating our needs. Many thanks and heartfelf ALOHA to SHERATON WAIKIKI FOR YOUR WARM HOSPITALITY. You're #1 on my list now and I will definitely share my recommendation about this hotel with my friends, family, and business associates!!! However, I will deal with that other company!! November 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by too crowded too many people, not enough staff August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is Paradise in Paradise.... Best managements and Staffs August 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 Suite not sweet at all. Disappointed from the moment we entered the suite. For the price we expected the rooms to be a bit more up-dated and up-kept. Walls had different finishes of paint and there obivious scuff marks on them. Hide away bed did not sit flush on floor and bedding was dirty, like some one stepped on it with their shoes. Light bulb over dinning table was burnt out. Both balconies were dirty, I don't think they mop balconies at all. Big problem with me I got two babies. Telephone receiver still had make up and oil from previous guest on it. Carpet around ice box was wet, drinking glasses had water stains on it. We called front desk they had supervisor from housekeeping come up and check it out. She did apologize however, she never checked to see if issues we resolved. Ice box still leaked because door did not shut good. Had to put babies antibiotics on ice to keep cold. Glasses we never replaced, balconies were not left any better then they were before. If it wasn't for the pools the entire stay would have been a disaster. I do believe in the saying, "you get what you pay for", but this was a huge disapointment, To top it off, at check out we were not ever asked how was our stay. I think this hotel is into mass production, getting people in and out. No personalization at all. Awe! as say in Hawaii July 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded All My Expectations I have to admit that I have not been a big fan of the Sheraton portfolio within Starwood as my experience with the brand has been inconsistent over the years. However, I believe this property sets the standards on what the Sheraton brand should be and could be! The staff anticipated my needs starting with initial communication from Sheri and was followed-up promptly and consistently through the check-in process. We were recognized for our Platinum status and celebrating special occasion. The property recent makeover was impressive with the rooms, Leahi Club Lounge, pool decks, etc. Staff was friendly, professional, and prompt with requests. The only improvements that I would recommend are: - There is not enough staff at front-desk and at such there is often a long wait time for check-in or questions. - There are too many people reserving lounge chairs extremely early in the morning and not show up until much later in the morning. - The Leahi Lounge breakfast needs improvement. It should have at least one meat selection daily and hard boiled eggs (if scrambled eggs are not available). The seletion is very carb heavy and not very healthy. - The resort charge of $25/DAy should be either waived for Platinum Members (especially if one doesn't have a car to park) or additional benefits offered. March 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is chaotic and outdated Upon arriving in our room we found it to be old and outdated. The carpet and paint was dingy and the bathroom sink and toilet had some hairs laying around. The sink would not drain well and the tile in the shower was dingy. Also, the shower head did not stay put and the water flow was low. At the pool I tried to get a seat at 7 am and found every seat was already taken but no one was there. People had reserved their seats with dirty towels and did not show up until much later around 11 am. The pool staff seemed to do nothing to fix this problem. The hotel was overcrowded and seemed dirty . We will definitely not stay at a Sheraton again. January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, but... I love the Sheraton Waikiki. Great location, amazing amenities, restaurants, and beautiful hotel. Fabulous pool as well! While the hotel itself wasn't an issue, I did come across a few challenges with very impolite front desk staff. I called on a few occasions (to reconfirm, etc..) and while one employee was very helpful, every other time I called, each person I spoke with was quite rude. I work in the tourism and hospitality field so, I know what it's like to make sure to make visitor's feel welcomed to our islands, and these employees sure did not show the "Aloha Spirit". It's unfortunate. Not sure if they were having an "off" day, but it is unacceptable. I even told the staff that I was a local (from Maui) and I was a relative (daughter) of a Starwood associate, yet was still treated poorly. When checking in (on July 26th), the front desk agent wasn't the friendliest, but wasn't rude either . Our check out experience (July 29th) was a lot better, though. One department that showed Aloha and were friendly and helpful the whole time was the Valet & Bell Desk staff. Kudo's to them. They are constantly always busy, yet I noticed that they made each visitor feel the Aloha. :) Hopefully, others will not receive the service (or dis-service) that I was given and that proper training and/or re-training is given to your front desk team. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location and facilities My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon, and loved almost everything about our visit. Our room had a stunning full view of the ocean, with a comfortable balcony, and we could watch the sunset from there. The infinity pool right on the water is definitely one of the hotel's strongest assets. We also enjoyed the food, particularly the breakfast buffet and the dinner menu at The Edge (don't miss the Ahi flatbread). One of the nicest perks of our stay was a complimentary bottle of champagne from the hotel, in observance of our honeymoon. We shared the bottle on our last night while we watched the sunset. We also had a complimentary photo shoot on the beach, which is definitely worth it. The location was terrific, as we were steps away from great shopping and the beach (you can walk from the pool to the beach in seconds). If there was anything to criticize, it was the lack of a hot tob in the adult pool area, and the fact that the pool closed at sunset (and the pool bar at 9). The gym was adequate; a little small but well-supplied. The lobby area has a lot of shops, which did mean it was always crowded, but we found the excitement enjoyable. Overall, for the value and quality of facilities, we were very pleased, and would highly recommend the hotel to others. If we visit Waikiki in the future we will certainly look into staying here again. January 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better outside than in. This property's fantastic location with step-down access to the white sands of Waikiki and extensive outdoor pool and dining areas makes it a strong contender. There is a quiet adult pool and a much larger family pool area with water slides and water features. Overall, the front desk and valet staff were very professional, welcoming, and accommodating. The rooms are spare and somewhat small, although I expected this based on website pictures and other reviews. However, I was surprised how generally banged up all the furniture was. The room was clean, but all the scratches and dents made it seem less so. The bath is very basic, with no upgraded finishes, but it served its purpose. The mattress was comfortable. Note: partial ocean view was quite removed from the sound/smell of the waves because this is a very large property. Note: if you're not a super-attractive 40's mother or one of her beautiful daughters, save yourself the money for surf/paddle board instruction from the gruff old teacher. He and his staff pay plenty of attention to such travelers (while providing their off-color commentary while the women are out of hearing range). Everyone else gets the short end of the stick. Overall, this place serves the purpose well for someone wanting full access to the sights, sounds, and nightlife of Waikiki, with a comfortable place to rest their head at night. May 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nickel and Diming along with Apathetic Management Originally stayed here in 2010, was my first stay at an SPG property and thought it was great! In fact, this hotel converted me to an SPG loyalist....shame to see how much it has changed. Been back a few times subsequently and unfortunately service has declined considerably. The resort fee has gotten out of control here. $30/night+tax is sometimes more than 10% of the nightly rate. Theme of most recent stay was the hotel consistently nickel and dimes, and does not provide any type of Plat recognition that would actually cost the hotel money. (i.e. you can wait in a shorter line for breakfast, but stingy on upgrades, you need to fight for plat amenity/alt amenity, etc.) Management fakes not knowing about the Alternate Amenity owed to Plats because the resort fee includes internet; a fast Google search shows it's been addressed by SPG many times. Bill had a number of errors hotel originally refused to correct even though I had printout of the entire rate plan and it's T&Cs. Required going through SPG corporate to finally get it fixed. There are some positives: Hotel and facilities are still very nice. Rum Fire bar has good drinks as well as a number of their own cocktails that are unique and clever. The Baja sun drink was great. Happy hour menu is good as well. Plenty of pool areas, and seems to be very family friendly. Bottom line is SPG treatment is among worst of the system and they penny pinch. If you set your expectations accordingly, you'll probably be pleasantly surprised. December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Meeting location! I know, you wouldn't typically think of a Waikiki beach resort as a place for meetings, but this was the PERFECT place for a meeting. Our entire team, customers and suppliers were focused and energized in meetings due to the location. Then, after hours, there was VERY relaxed networking in a casual environment. The service was well above expectations (and I'm picky), the views were incredible and you can't beat the location. If you haven't tried this hotel for meetings, DO IT! People will thank you. Also, I think this was by far one of the most productive and thought provoking meetings I've ever attended (and I mean it...my boss is not reading this). August 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by OUR ANNUAL ANNIVERSARY TRIP TO THE SHERATON. WELL, WE HAVE BEEN STAYING AT THE SHERATON FOR 40 YEARS. AND, IT WAS OUR PARENTS WHO STAYED THERE BEFORE US. JULIE HAS BEEN A WONDERFUL HELP EVERY YEAR WHICH WE APPRECIATE SO MUCH. THIS YEAR, OUR 40TH ANNIVERSARY TRIP, WAS NO EXCEPTION. THE HOTEL WAS GREAT IN EVERY WAY. THE PEOPLE WHO WORK THERE ARE SO FRIENDLY AND NICE. GERALDINE, A HOUSEKEEPER, HAS BECOME A FRIEND, AND SO HAS NAOMI WHO WORKS AS A HOSTESS AT CHAI, THE BUFFET RESTAURANT. THE BEACH IS ALWAYS SO CLEAN, THE POOLS WONDERFUL, AND I PARTICULARLY LOVE THE ENTERTAINMENT. IT IS PARADISE. WE HOPE TO RETURN AGAIN IN JUNE THIS YEAR. THEN, OF COURSE, AGAIN IN NOVEMBER OR DECEMBER. December 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Experience When I decided to stay at the Sheraton Waikiki I had high hopes and expectations when it came to staying at the hotel. However, I was sadly wrong and disappointed. Upon coming to the hotel i felt the lady who checked me in was friendly. Then the next day came where my room key did not work. My boyfriend tried and i tried getting into our room but could not. We happened to see a house keeper on the floor and asked her for help and she tried and said you need to go downstairs and get another key and just simply walked away. I felt that was unfriendly. I wish she would have called the front desk to send someone up instead of just telling us to go downstairs and do it ourselves. I don't see the customer service in that. I was already kind of annoyed while going all the way back to the lobby. When i got to the front desk and told the lady what was wrong she acted like I was wrong or something. Not even a sorry about making you come all the way downstairs or anything. I was very shocked! I expected this hotel out of all hotels to have the most ALOHA spirit but I was wrong. But don't get me wrong the bellman seem to be more friendlier than anyone else in the whole entire building. Another rude situation I experienced while staying at the Sheraton was at the RUM FIRE bar. I went to get a drink and the boss on duty was friendly. However, the bartender lady was not as nice. When she was done making my drink she didn't say oh here you go or anything just left it on the counter for me to take. I was again disappointed. So you ask me if I would stay here again? Maybe, for the pool and friendly bellmen but I would think twice about it. April 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly operated vacations We arrived at the hotel late in the day due to weather conditions in Chicago.. Called the hotel and explained that we were enroute to the hotel and didn't want hem to cancell the reservation. Arrived at the hotel and was notified that the rooms we were scheduled for had been given out and that they could give us different rooms. (Which was fine) Then things went down hill. The room we received was a room that was convered from a suite to a standard room, (BIG ROOM) only problem was there was nothing in the room except 2 bed and a TV. Then they tell us that we owe the 30 a night surcharge which on the reservation was never mentioned. VERY POOR OPERATION March 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Resort but Rooms Need Improvement The hotel was good the rooms were bad. The hotel lobby looked very beautiful and the front desk clerk was extremely nice and helpful. Upon entering the room we were underwhelmed especially since everything in the hotel lobby looked so nice. The paint was poorly patched up, shower head was old and very dirty with a hair stuck in it, the tub had stains that made it look dirty, the sink counter was deteriorating, the carpet had lots of stains, the balcony looked dirty and there was bird droppings on the balcony wall. Overall not what we expected. The hotel was completely booked. We assumed most, if not all the rooms looked worn and had stains. So I would not recommend going there for the room. The rest of the hotel experience was good. We did enjoy the overall hotel and here are some of the good points that we experienced. - Hotel Location was great, right in the middle of downtown. It could have not been more convenient to downtown. - SPG Lounge was wonderful. Great views, beer, wine, hot breakfast, night snack/dinner. The food was tasty and a really good way to fill us up. - Platinum gift bag at the store with candy and refreshments was a great idea. - Stores in the hotel was nice and made the hotel lobby bustle with activity. The convenience store was well stocked and open late which is nice, especially if you are looking for something small and didn't want to leave the hotel. - Valet was great in getting us our car everyday after we called down. It was very fast and efficient. - The pool was great and the slide was fun. The free inflatables were also a nice touch. - Proximity to Waikiki beach is perfect. The beach was fun and the hotel was right on it. - Room view was good. We got a nice view of Waikiki beach. Too bad the room was not. - Overall the staff was great. October 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good Hotel, bad customer service and management On our last stay in Dec 2013. We were misunderstood by one of the other staff about the policy at the hotel so my kids can play those small party popper on a new year day . Therefore, We had broke a small rule of the policy without acknowledge. Instead of being ask or inform not to continue to play, we were threaten to be kick out of the hotel and take away our stuffs by the one of security staff. He was so rude and impolite even when I had apology and had explained my understanding of the policy for the hotel when I checked with the other staff's I had inquiry prior. At the time I didn't want to waste my time to filed a written complains and move to another hotel during the prime season period due to we are traveling with 1 kid's and a toddler's and let this incident to ruined my 2 weeks of vacation any more than they had already done. I believes in customer service when I am paying a premium hotel, but I am very disappointed and it has upset me to be treated like this by that security staff. Too bad I didn't get to find out his name even after I had filed a verbally complains to the hotel manager on duty. I guess the other hotel staff trying to protects their staff for wrong doing. I hope they kept the record of my complained. But I was surprise after my official complains, no follow up call, note or no apology from the security dept or that particular staff's. We absolutely love this Sheraton, we stayed here every time we are in Waikiki, due to the pool and the location. but after this experience and reading about the other reviewer about their customer service, I don't think I will ever stay there again nor will I refer anyone to this hotel. A special thanks to one of the activities staff name Cassie, I hope I spell her name right. She is super friendly and nice. She will even go extra mile for you if you have any inquiry out of her specialty. I greatly appreciated. March 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by spent all the renovation money downstairs After what was a pleasant experience upon arriving downstairs in the main lobby. I arrived to my very expensive 1 king bed room for my 9 consecutive evening stay and was throughly disappointed. The entrance tile floor for Rm 2946 was so out of level I almost tripped as I walked in. It carried through into the bath area at such a ridiculous angle it was almost unbelieveable. The doors had to be undercut so much that the noise and light pollution from the corridor was very distracting, especially in the evening. I Had to resort to stuffing a towel at the bottom of the entrance door each night. The actual finish on the room tub was very dated. Perhaps the term "refinishing/Respraying" a tub was not in the budget. Who ever had the idea of keeping the room sleek must have forgotten that travelers do like to have a fully backed chair to sit on once in a while. A nuvo backless floor stool is not very comfortable to the 35 year old and over set. Many thanks to the housekeeping maid who went and obtained a banquet seat chair for the rest of my stay- not very comfortable, but practical. My Ocean view was with the sliding doors that, because of the new lockset installed- did not allow the full seal to take place with it completly closed- so i was treated to the howling winds session on breezy nights. And come on folks- you cannot tell me you could not find it in the budget to put even one small piece of furniture in the room to place a bag on and clothes in side -- not just leaving it to lay everything out in some closet shelving space. I guess I am not hip enough to understand the thought behind having the bathroom mirrors on movable panels that open up into the sleeping area. if it was for ventalation- a ceiling fan with in the light would have been less expensive and more effective. Your Staff is great- very friendly, helpful- but they really couldn't help me with these items about. Do not think I will book into this Hotel again. January 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Location This hotel is getting a bit dated and worn. I can see why...it's consistently full due to a wonderful location. As a SPG member they did a nice job of honoring the points, the free stay night and the upgrade. Our room was marvelous. By that I mean the nice sunrise and ocean view. Everyone was pleasant and helpful well, except the rental car desk. It has a nice oceanside infinity pool and a childrens pool with a slide. There were a lot of families there. We had just returned from Japan and were very tired. They respected our jet lag and didn't disturb our sleep for a day and a half. Thank you Sheraton Waikiki, Sheraton Princess and Sheraton Miyako Tokyo for a wonderful vacation. August 6, 2014
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 32 next>>