Sheraton Kauai Resort

  • 2440 Hoonani Road
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96756
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 606 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Honeymoon Spot Stayed 2 Nights on our honeymoon after not being satisfied at a hotel in Lihue. Sheraton is on a beautiful beach with good swimming. Rate for an oceanfront room was extremely reasonable. Staff friendly & professional. Hotel not quite as modern as others on stay, but still nice, clean, and full of Hawaiian charm. Conveniently located for south shore activities and the canyon. Would stay again if planning to stay on South Shore Kaua'i. September 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice upgrades, but a few missing This is the third time I've stayed here, and it's been 5 years. The place is lovely, but the garden pool lost its hot tub. Sad. There are very few areas to sit in shade and watch the water, or the sunset. The rims around the fire pits are VERY uncomfortable and could be such a nice gathering place. Also no facilities to wash feet when getting in from the beach. Housekeeping was also pretty iffy. September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Ambience We loved this hotel. I did have a couple of suggestions. I did not find the restroom by the pool until I asked someone on the last day. It does not appear on the map, and there is no sign before you enter the hallway. We had a delicious meal at the Rum Fire. The musician that was playing was very good, but I would have preferred Hawaiian music since I was in Hawaii. The conceirge was very helpful - the map of Kauai was excellent! February 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tennisfacilities This hotel advertised tennis facilities but the courts were in such disrepair that they were unplayable Temp basketball net on one court, large cracks with grass growing out of them, very dirty courts with lots of debris and only one with a playable net. perimeter fence with large holes. We went there with the expectation of playing tennis which was not possible. I did complain to the front desk and they said fill out this form? January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paradise in Paradise Our first trip to Hawaii was everything we could expect and more. A large part of what made our trip so enjoyable was the accomodations and service provided by your facility and staff. When we return to Kauai we will definately be staying at your property again. In fact, we joined you travels program and will look for Starwood properties. Below expectations on food was only based on available hours, food quality was outstanding. October 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Gold SPG member I have stayed here on several occasions over the years with my family and friends. So I decided to come back this year with my two sisters to celebrate my 50th birthday. I probably wouldn't have been disappointed but based on past experiences, I was very let down. There must be new management because the feel of hospitality and Hawaiian friendliness just wasn't there. I didn't get the feeling that anyone was empowered to go above and beyond expectations. As a Gold SPG member, I expected to be treated like one, but when I mentioned that it was a special occasion (my 50th), I was kind of given a "big deal, who cares" attitude. At other SPG properties I have stay at for special occasions (such as my kid's bdays), they were always recognized - but not here. It it a beautiful resort, but it doens't feel like the same place. Sadly, I won't return to this property. May 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by We had a great anniversary trip Our room was fabulous! Beautiful view of the ocean and sunset. Water in the fridge, coffee and tea available, fresh towels - every day. Not a complaint, but we prefer mugs to paper cups, however we still enjoyed our morning beverage on the lanai. The only negative we encountered was Lava's. Slow service, limited menu. We would most definately stay again! October 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff We stayed at the Sheraton Kauai for our 20th anniversary. Hotel is in a great location. Staff was very friendly and accommodated our needs. Overall nice hotel for the money. On the minuses - The exercise facility seemed a bit on the small side for the size of the hotel. As a lifetime SPG gold member I requested late check-out but was denied, even though we had to wait for our room to be cleaned at check-in at around 6:30 PM. September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome location in Poipu We were very happy with this resort. Really nice atmosphere, especially at night with the fire pits and torches. Quiet at night, which suited us. Go elsewhere for nightlife. Hotel staff were incredibly helpful and responsive. We were upgraded to a better view upon check-in, which was a nice start. After three nights we had an issue with our room which we discussed with Peter, the night manager. He promptly re-assigned us to an amazing room in the Ocean Wing for our last five nights. Great beach location, plenty of whale watching from Rum Fire, and the daily sunset was an anticipated event with guests gathering on the lawn to watch. While housekeeping did an excellent job on daily stuff, I noticed that both the rooms we had were ready for a deep clean (baseboards, high traffic areas on doors and walls, under tables, etc). We look forward to our next visit here. February 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sorry, not available Customer experience, not a priority December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice layout and location Even though this hotel is quite expansive, it is easy to get around. The layout is quite impressive with beautiful landscaping, pools and beachfront. It would be easy to stay just at the Sheraton and never leave. Everything is at your disposal. However, the location of the hotel makes it easy to drive both sides of the island for sightseeing in a day, visit the quaint town of Koloa close by, or shop the small malls nearby. March 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The Sheraton Poipu was recommended to us by friends. We were a little disappointed upon arriving to find a big round table in the middle of the lobby and absolutely nothing on it- no flowers, no display at all. Seemed like they did not care to make any kind of impression. Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and staff. Location--great beach, several good local restaurants for which the hotel provides a free shuttle. September 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location, in-house food choices very limited The hotel is in a great location, and the beach is very nice. Food option within the Sheraton are limited. The breakfast buffet is fine, with a decent selection.Service is hit or miss - getting a refill for coffee or orange juice might be difficult. The food at the pool bar is adequate, but not a great value. There is no sundry store and the selection of the snack bar is very limited (and the prices are through the roof). September 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed this hotel and area Forgot to add one thing to our review: there is no smoking around pool area, but, people would choose to ignore this. Around the hot tub in the evening the young 20 somethings had the liquor and cigarettes going. I felt this was disrespectful to other patrons also using the pool area and not in good taste as the signs requested other than that. There is no one monitoring this so I guess they felt entitled to do whatever. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Beautiful Poipu Beach I stayed here during the Rotary District Conference and even though the hotel was undergoing renovations, I found it to be a welcome respite in one of the most beautiful locations in the world. Not ostentatious or pretentious, the Sheraton Kauai Resort just fits into its natural surroundings, provides physical comfort, delicious foods and a very friendly and helpful staff that took care of my every need with warm aloha. October 31, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect get away from Colorado winter The staff was very professional, helpful and friendly, Ryan a concierge was great getting my Tee Times. Verna the morning hostess was wonderful. The fire pits at night were so nice to sit around and listen to the waves slapping against the shore. Breakfast that was included couldn't have been better, I should have mentioned the view of the ocean from every window in the dinning room. It was a perfect vacation! Shirley February 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Premier Property in Kauai but needs new Gym and Spa Our stay overall was wonderful due to the unmatched location and attentive staff, however, several areas need improvement to bring this resort up to world class. The Gym was barely adequate, and there does not really exist a true Spa facility. Also, it needs a good sundry shop and the complimentary shuttle service is a great idea but does not function well in practice (long waits). Otherwise a great resort experience. January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by mixed feelings This hotel is truly beautiful. We were shocked that the concierge staff even contacted us by email and telephone before the stay. The concierge staff was extremely helpful also during our stay. The pool is lovely although the beach surf is very rough. We encountered a few problems. Our door lock would not work because the battery had run out. It took several workmen about an hour and a half to open the door while we waited and no one in administration offered apology or compensation. We were also surprised that a $30 per night resort charge is added automatically and our protests brought no relief. Why isn't this amount simply part of the nightly fee instead of a required add-on? That would be a more honest and forthright way of treating it. The breakfast buffet had the same food every day. Couldn't pancakes or French toast or similar variations be added for variation? April 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay here for below average service Valet is just about useless. We pulled up directly in front of their stand. 5 guys there and not one came over to help with bags. We unloaded then I had to walk to them and ask them to valet the car. Very poor showing. Eric was a notable exception in the valet. When he was there he was always on it and helpful. The first day at the pool they tell us 'sorry, not towels'. Really? You don't have enough towels to service a full house? The guy says 'No we don't. Come back tomorrow and we may have more.' Front desk and concierge were good. Both were helpful and courteous. Facilities were decent but not spectacular. The shower was loose. Carpets were pretty worn. Overall below average for Starwood properties. The chairs around the pool were mostly staked out with towels by 8:00 am. No people most of the day but no chairs either so you pretty much have to go somewhere else. January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but lots of drawbacks Great location but lots of drawbacks: No microwave or only ones to rent for $10 per day. No BBQ's-you have a huge courtyard on the backside of our room which was 6408 that was not utilized, it could have easily been made into a family gathering an eating area since this is called a resort and not just a hotel. Housekeepers were very irregular in the manor or depths of their service. it was not consistant. Found a cockroach, not good! Very unfriendly head Valet, wow was shocked at the attitude and rudeness everyday. Both my boyfriend and myself our quite successful in business but because he is tatttoed pretty much from neck down I felt a total judgement from your staff. I am seriously insulted by this in this day and age. Our money is probably more clean then a lot of the guest! Ok a few goods besides location. Loved "Jan" at the front desk, she was super nice and helpful as were the conceirge. "Free" kinda (exccept for the resort fee) valet parking everyday. Super nice and appreciated. Back to the location, loved Sheratons beach! We spread our 10 days in Kauai inbetween the North and Southshore. First 6 were at the Westin Princeville which was amazing and had every ammentiy that one could have wanted except a nice beach. Sheraton failed in comparrision by a mile in ammenities. I hate saying that. So thats my review! Julie Safley (Sanders) December 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great beach in front of hotel we really enjoyed our stay here. we were celebrating our honeymoon. the room was kind of small but the bed was comfortable. the location was great. my wife overflowed the toilet and we called for housekeeping but some of the edges and corners of the bathroom were not cleaned because there were still some remnants of toilet paper on the edges even on the next day. we did love the property though. August 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed the views Enjoyed the hotel. Lava's should be open longer in the day. Stopping serving food service at 5 PM is way to early. People don't always want a larger venue like Rumfire. If they don't go to Rumfire they probably would go somewhere else close like the Poipu Shops. Rumfire's food was good but it was way too much noise to even hear yourself talk. Don't know that we would return. Also the service wasn't the best. March 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG member discount I had breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant "Rum Fire" but didn't receive the below discount. *Quote* Whether at home and on the road, SPG members receive an exclusive discount at more than 500 restaurants and bars worldwide, Starpoints® for dining experiences, and the chance to win an around the world VIP culinary journey with a SPG members-only sweepstakes “Around the World in 5 Meals." *Unquote* T August 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience This is truly a GREAT property. From the moment you pull up in front until the moment you pull away (really hated to leave) the staff, service, food & rooms are teriffic. Very plesant, knowledgeable friendly staff that made our stay a pleasure. Thank You November 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is on a great piece of property Awesome hotel beach side. Very cool pool and hot tub. Look forward to go back in the future. Far away from any liquor stores or shops. Very rustic Hawaii! November 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel! This resort hotel & location is beautiful! Our stay was exceptional from check-in to check-out. We asked to be moved to a more secluded area of the resort and they had us moved the next day, without hesitation. They would have moved us immediately if a room had been available.The entire staff was exceptional. We will definately come back to this resort in the future and highly recommend it to anyone! June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Property We returned to Kaui and Poipu on our 29th Wedding Anniversary. We enjoyed the Sheraton Kaui and our Ocean Front Room. The staff is excellent and friendly and provided us with information that made our visit so much more enjoyable. We were a little dissappointed in the limited breakfast menu at Rum Fire. Due to the limited hours of Lava's, we were unable to enjoy our complimentary bottle of champagne. October 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Value and Pleasant Stay This was our first visit to Kauai and we like this island, it is less crowded and less hectic than Maui or Oahu. The Sheraton Kauai was a pleasant, relaxing experience. It's smaller and less family-oriented than resorts on other islands, making it much more relaxing. I liked swimming in the ocean, but it's probably not for small children as the waves are large and the dropoff is instant. And the pool isn't designed for kids, either. So there aren't many kids around, which makes for a more relaxing, quiet experience. As a Platinum, we had booked a base room but were upgraded to ocean view which came with a balcony and was very pleasant. This isn't a luxurious 5-star, but it is very serviceable, clean, staff are friendly, a pleasant stay. It's quite close to Lihue and the airport, perhaps 12 miles/20 mins. My two complaints: the Internet was intermittent. Nowadays I expect reliable Internet. Second, the resort fee. Pretty much everything that it was supposed to include are features that Platinums get, so just don't charge the resort fee to Platinums. What's listed is things like 2 bottles of water and Internet. November 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Kauai We had a great travel experience at the Sheraton Kauai. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff treated us with dignity and respect not just another customer. The food was excellent. The Concierge went out of her way to welcome us and help us with travel destination directions. Overall it was a most pleasurable travel experience. We wouldn't hesitate staying at a Sheraton resort in the future. November 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The new restaurant My husband and I have been to your hotel 5 times and this time the wonderful breakfast by the water restaurant with the windows open was no longer there. We tried your new restaurant for dinner but it was so loud we left. Since there are no other restaurants at your facility, as there used to be, we ate all our meals off campus. Why was the open restaurant by the water closed. it was such an asset? March 25, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 21 next>>