Sheraton Kauai Resort

  • 2440 Hoonani Road
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96756
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 719 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton Poipu I was expecting more from the Sheraton Poipu. The lobby is nice and the room itself is nice with the exception of the shower/tub which is outdated. The restaurant, Rum Fire, is the only air conditioned restaurant I've eaten at in Hawaii. Every other restaurant is open air which is much more comfortable in the late fall/winter months. The food is average. The wait staff at the valet and the restaurant are mediocre at best. The towels at the pool are cheap and ratty. The view of the beach and ocean from the pool is nice, which is the only thing this place going for it. I wish it was nicer, but I am glad I stayed in two other hotels on the island during my trip, both of which were much more satisfying then my Sheraton experience. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable & Great Location Po'ipu Beach is well-rated for swimming and snokeling, two major reasons we came to Kauai. This Sheraton is well-located on the beach and close to other beaches, shopping, and restaurants. The hotel provided snorkel gear, towels, and badminton gear. The concierge answered all questions. The rooms were slightly older but very comfortable. The beds and bedding were luscious! Even though we had a garden-view room, we could see and hear the ocean. The views at sunrise and sunset were beautiful. The only negative was the food at Lava's and Rum Fire were not up to expectations, yet was expensive. Also, we had signed up for evening tidepooling, but no staff met us at the appointed time and no one could help us find out what had happened. December 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Beach Location & Property! The renovated room was fabulous! May 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel was HORRIBLE when it came to quietness, easy accessibility We stayed across the street from the main hotel. It was ridiculous to get to one point to another. We waited for over an hour for lunch and then it was wrong. The place was NOT crowded. I have NEVER been to a hotel where you could hear EVER word that was said in the next room. You did not even have to raise your voice. We were awoken twice by a 4:30 am alarm because we were able to hear it as if it was in our room.... You could not even tell people to be quiet because they were just talking. The children who were a little louder made our stay unbearable. August 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Shaeaton Kauai - a great stay The staff and hotel were absolutely fabulous. We stayed in a deluxe ocean front room with two balconies facing the ocean- one facing east so we could watch the sunrise and the other facing south just a stones throw from the beach. I would rate the hotel a perfect 10 except for two small issues. The bathroom was a little dated compared to the rest of the room and the included breakfast which we paid for did not include toast - $3.00 for two slices toast was a bit much. Otherwise a solid 9.5 and many fond memories of our stay at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, with some issues Overall, this is a nice hotel. The room decor is a bit dated, but nice nonetheless. The overall facilities were very good, and the staff with whom we interacted were pleasant, helpful, and polite. Two issues bothered us: one was the persistent presence of some small insects (some type of ant, perhaps) in the lavatory area. Much more of a nuisance was using the WiFi system. Each device (4 maximum) had to be registered every day; in the case of an iPad or iPhone, that was several times daily. The process was NOT fast. As someone who's worked in and out of IT for 30+ years, I can assure you there are better ways of doing this. One final point: even for Hawaii, the service in the pool area, including the bar, needs a lot of improvement. May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent property restaurants could be better The hotel staff was great from the front door to the maid service. Very hospitable and work to ensure you have a great stay. Room was excellent and incredibly comfortable. Being a Sherwood member was recognized surprisingly well and really paid off. Pool and poolside service was great. Grounds were very beautiful and well maintained. Only area needing improvement would be on site restaurants. Rum fire was just ok, overpriced, and just not a fun experience overall. It's a great location but just misses the mark. Lava is fine for happy hour but again prices are too high and service was slow every time. We had breakfast as part of our room and it just fell far short. I would eat out or at the cafe next time. Overall great stay would return. December 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to stay in Kauai! We stay at this hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed very much. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The property is well maintained...very clean. Our room looked like it had been renovated fairly recently. We had a great view of the garden pool. Only downside to our room was noise from other rooms to the sides and above, but very common just about everywhere we have stayed. The amenities at the resort were nice. They had two nice pools, fitness center, business center, concierges desk, and a couple food places. The RumFire grill was good, a little on pricey side for their brunch. The Cafe had some good offerings for quicker meals and snacks. Overall, we had great experiences at this Sheraton and would return if we get to Kauai again. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay In researching the hotel I found quite a number of negative comments stating that the staff was less than friendly and not helpful and the rooms were dated. This made me a bit apprehensive about what I would encounter. After staying a week my wife and I could not have had a better experience. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and we always had our concerns addressed (there were few). The bartenders at Lavas were very personable and full of information. As far as the rooms being dated, I would rate them average. You're in Hawaii do you really care? We had an ocean view room on the 4th floor with almost a 180 deg view. Every day we watched the whales, one afternoon for almost two hours. The beach is the probably the best feature of the hotel. We will definitely book this hotel in the future. March 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Sheraton Kauai Poipu Paid The Hawaii Resident Discounted Rate, Absolutely No Value, Actually Feel I Was Grossly Overcharged In Terms Of What I Paid And What I Received. Small Tiny Room, Super Small Bathroom, No Sliding Screen Door! Had To Keep The Door Closed Always And Run The A/C Or Bugs Coming In. Room Was So Dark. Old Noisy Refrigerator, Couldn't Sleep. 1 Dinner Restaurant, Rum Fire, VERY Poor Limited Selection. Hotel Was A Total Rip-Off In My Opinion. The $30.00 A Day " Hotel Charge" Is An Absolute Farce. Rent A Condo. In The Area, You'll Do Much Better! October 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Privacy Our room was not up to our expectations for the price we were paying. Other hotels have better construction than the Sheraton. I felt there was no privacy for us since we were able to hear every sound from the rooms on either side of ours. It was as if the walls were only a curtain! The bathroom was so cramped that one could not open or shut the door when seated on the toilet. We called for television service two different days, and on the second day the loss of reception was solved by switching the box with one from another room as there were no other boxes available. I felt the resort fee was unrealistic. There was no microwave in the room, we never used the tennis courts, or the ocean side pool, and the Rum Fire Restaurant was never available to us. December 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Major Dissapointment Stayed 5 nights and booked room with SPG points. I took the time to call the hotel twice before arriving to confirm that an ocean view room preference would be indicated on my reservation. Zena was most difficult in accomodating us and said that all SPG members get a Garden View room and would have to pay for an upgrade but no rooms were available. The next day, to order to pay and move to an oceanview room, $75 per day, Zena asked that we be out of our room by noon, so we could get our new room. Waited 3-1/2 hours for our new room.]! July 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love the Sheraton Kauai This was my 57th Stay. I can't say enough good things about the staff at this hotel. They are warm and attentive. I would say that I was disappointed in the slow remodel of the fitness center. I missed having a treadmill in an air conditioned room with a TV. Since I was there for work travel it would have been a nice option. My only real complaint was that housekeeping kept providing me with the wrong sized lids for the coffee cups. It was frustrating since I was trying to leave for work at 4:30 AM when nothing is open on the island. September 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location We had a great stay at the Sheraton; it is located right on the beach and is a lovely property. Staff service at the poolside was kind of slow, but they were always friendly and attentive once you got their attention. May 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff, rooms fail to meet standard 4 star The Sheraton Kauai staff were well trained and very professional, as expected in a 4 star resort. The resort pool and the resorts location on Kauai were also fantastic. Where the hotel fails is on the rooms. The quality of finishing details in the bathrooms especially, as well as the bedroom leave something to be desired. 1970's plumbing that doesn't work and appears old and grungy, no place to hang towels or place toiletries near the vanity, and fit and finish on the vanity being obviously damaged and unkempt. I have stayed in 3 star accommodations that far exceed the quality you see at Sheraton Kauai. Especially due to the high price to book this hotel, I would not return. Furthermore, it was clear that the hotel has no security on random locals or other tourists with use of the facility, which taints the experience for guests paying almost $40 per day for use of the resort pool and parking. Again, the hotel staff appear to have a high level of professionalism, but hotel fit and finish don't meet expectations of a 4 star high end resort. May 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A mixed bag While the valet and front desk staff were attentive and professional, the housekeeping and concierge service left much to be desired. After hanging a do-not-disturb sign up for a single night, we were ignored by housekeeping for the rest of our 4 day stay. The concierge was not very knowledgeable about anything outside of the hotel grounds and insisted on trying to sell us a timeshare at other Sheraton properties. We found this annoying particularly because we just wanted simple information and got roped into a long talking-at. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Saved by Blaire Blaire saved the week with the type of room we requested to celebrate our 43rd anniversary and my upcoming retirement. Initially we were not given the king/ocean view we requested when we made our reservations. When we spoke to Blaire DelaCruz she was very understanding and took control of the situation with a new room, choc. dip strawberries and champagne. Everything was now perfect. April 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overpriced I expected more from this hotel. Resort fees for wifi that didnt work, ants all over the bathroom, the ceiling in bathroom tub falling apart. This was for our honeymoon and I thought the free champagne was nice but we had to pick it up. It would have been nice if it was already in the room. $30 to rent a beach chair is ridiculous. Breakfast buffet was lacking taste and variety. Everything closes so early. Bar at 7pm the little store at 9:00pm and lava at 11:00pm. I think hawaii was wonderful but I would never go back to Sheraton. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Romantic Escape We were very pleased with our stay at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. Beautiful Beach, Great Pool and Hot Tub area. Room was very well appointed. Loved the Fire Pit in the cool evening. We were there in March. Staff was very personable and very helpful. We had an Ocean Front Room and the view was spectacular, as well as the sound of the Ocean Waves lulled us to sleep every night. Did not need air conditioning. Another bonus was the Shuttle Service provided to and from Shopping Areas. Will definitely return on our next visit to Kauai. March 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Kauai We had a great time in Kauai exploring the island's beauty and swimming in the ocean. Our experience was enhanced by our stay at Sheraton. After a long day of physical and challenging activities the hotel, helpful staff, amenities, facilities and comfort were most welcome. We would like to mention in particular what an excellent hotel restaurant Rum Fire was. The food was superb. April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good stay I like the hotel. I wasn't a fan of the pillows. Service was mostly good with one or two aberrations. May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff We had a very wonderful week. My only comment was regarding the upkeep of general maintenance to the room. There needs to be some heavy cleaning behind the bed and the wood on the bed frame (sides of bed frame) needs to be addressed. We were in 2220. Maybe some scratch cover up. Also your little tables out by the pool need some repainting. Also the morning wait staff (Rum Fire) is a tad on the slow side w/returning to table. Your staff overall was exceptional accommodating our needs and smiles and friendliness were a delight. March 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great view from room, but that is it I really wanted to rate this hotel higher as the staff was helpful and attentive and the view from the room in the ocean wing was beautiful and the beach in front of hotel was better than expected. But the food at the hotel was not good, we ate every meal outside the hotel after trying both lava and rum fire restaurants which was not convenient at all Although this was not a business trip i still wanted wi fii access from my room but it barely worked..if at all so the only guaranteed internet was at the business centre.. November 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place The hotel was a great places to stay. The room I had was in the back with a beautiful view of the gardens. It was clean, and housekeeping did a great job of keeping it that way. The staff everywhere was friendly, smiling, and made me feel welcomed. The responded to any requests I had in a timely manner and taking my schedule into consideration. When I had a problem with a clogged tub, they came and repaired it while I was out and did a great job. The only down side is that in this day and age of personal electronics, one would expect an electrical outlet near the desk and the nightstand to plug in chargers. I found one outlet near the exit and had to use the bench to keep from leaving the electronics on the rug while they are charging, which is a fire hazard. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location! We were all looking forward to your breakfast buffet which we remember well from our last visit to Kaua'i (as do our friends), however we were quite disappointed to find that it's now all A La Carte, which takes considerably longer in the mornings. Waiters (Kevin and Roger to be commended - both efficient & lively (needed at breakfast!!)). Just wondering if you have received similar complaints? Our travel agent was unaware of the non-existence of the buffet. Cafe on-site is good, all facilities excellent (great pool area). December 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great location Great location as we were in the guesthouse closest to the ocean. Loved the hula and lei class. You probably need to advertise these more. Some folks don't read on the back of the map The issue was going from place to place there ......you always had to go outside at some point to go eat or another place which is fine unless it is raining .Service at Lavas was lacking. Seemed to be understaffed and a little overpriced. April 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by being ready Unusually cold and big swells led the hotel to not be ready for the pool. POOL WAS COLD! so we couldn't enjoy the pool in addition to the ocean being cold and having too many swells. We were sent to Kee for snorkeling since the rest of the island was closed down only to find that Kee was closed all day as well. got charged for the snorkeling gear we never used. We had the breakfast package, but it was the EXACT breakfast choices a week in a row. we ended up eating out or spending more money when we shouldn't have had to. May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front desk Front desk staff was not very friendly, I forgot that I had breakfast included and didn't remember till the next day, so I got cheated out of 1 breakfast. The front desk said when I checked in I should have been told and I wasn't ! Also it was my anniversary and thought I was to get champaign , nothing, not a word about it. The room was fine except the ac unit sounded like a car starting! noisy!! April 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome stay! We were overwhelmed by all of the staff, with their aloha spirit and friendliness. Every staff member that we encountered were smiling and asking if we needed anything. A few standouts were the parking attendants, to registration ( I can’t remember her name) who answered all of our concerns, to our concierge, Shantelle ( who helped us find a florist for leis for our daughters wedding), and to housekeeping, Lolita and Lida who took great care of our room daily. March 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing location and staff-only 1 complaint.. This Sheraton was beyond amazing with regard to the facilities, location, and customer service!! If you stay at this hotel- especially with kids- every need can be met with the multifarious amenities offered!! Our only complaint was that our deluxe ocean view room was not very clean when we arrived. The bathroom looked as though it had been somewhat wiped down-but not cleaned. There was visible grime on the counters and sink-and the floors were dirty-also looking as though they had been swept-but not "cleaned." It was gross. We called the front desk and they sent someone up to "clean" our room--and it was done satisfactorily. Other than the initial disappointment of paying for a deluxe ocean view room that presented as unsanitary--the rest of the hotel was utterly breathtaking and exceeded our expectations in every other area. Thank you! March 24, 2014
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 25 next>>