Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

  • 250 Market Street
  • Portsmouth,
  • New Hampshire
  • 03801
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 455 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save your money To be fair, the hotel was bustling. However, with a guaranteed, pre-paid, non-refundable reservation and a 3:00 p.m. check-in time, I did not expect upon arriving after 5:00 p.m. to be told by the receptionist that our room was not ready. Moreover, none of the requests I had made for room floor and location were granted. When I finally was given a room (on the wrong floor), I was told I could not check-in until the room was ready. I had to give the receptionist my cell phone number and wait to be called! We are in our 60s, have spent our entire adult lives traveling, and, over the years have stayed in literally hundreds of hotels. NEVER, have I experienced anything like that! When we informed that our room was finally ready, we were stopped by the receptionist, who saw our Cocker Spaniel, Pearl, on leash. She told us that the hotel was unaware that we were bringing our dog, even though I had told the reservation agent when I made the reservation directly with the hotel. I then had to sign a pet agreement, something I would happily have done upon arrival. This further delayed us. On the way to our room, I was dismayed to see soiled and stained carpeting in the hall. Upon entering the room, both of, as if with one voice, exclaimed, "$299.00" a night for THIS!" Our "deluxe" room was TINY, especially the bathroom and what passed for a closet. It was hard to relax with only one uncomfortable wing chair and a desk chair provided for seating. On the plus side, the valet parking service was prompt, and the staff, other than the receptionist, was friendly, particularly the bellman. P.S. Shortly after our stay, I received a survey from Sheraton about this property. I filled it out, including all the complaints listed above. I never received even an acknowledgement from Sheraton. October 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Staff is excellent - hotel needs improvements The entire staff, including cleaning staff, is exceptional. First – the elevator floors and walls need replacing. Bad first impression. The rooms are extremely small. We moved 3 times before finding one that was acceptable. The fan in the room smelled like mildew. There was noise starting at 4:00AM from outside. I guess because the hotel is old there is a lack of soundproofing. I had been really looking forward to this mini vacation and was so disappointed. We couldn’t wait to check out and go home. October 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great night in Portsmouth The Sheraton in Portsmouth is a great place to stay. The staff is particularly friendly and always willing to help. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. October 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel We enjoyed our stay and found the location to be convenient for travel in the area. The restaurant menu offered several good choices for dinner and our selections were delicious! The staff was very friendly and helpful. October 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Not Up To Standard We were excited to find a Sheraton in Portsmouth NH however upon checking-in we found the room and bathroom very outdated, the staff not very knowledgeable and the hallways to be loud due to the space on the Starwood Preferred Guest Floor. October 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than expected Ideal location Helpful and knowledgeable check in staff Rooms are clean and comfortable October 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Sheratons Have stayed at many Sheratons. Portsmouth one of our favorites. Beds and pillows are soooo comfy. Pouring the night we were there so we ate in at the restaurant, Excellent meal and service. Free dessert with our check in. Can't wait to go back! October 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very nice and gives easy access to all of downtown Portsmouth. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was personable and answered any questions we had. We had a wonderful stay. September 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel knows customer service. Enjoyed our stay, received special attention September 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly WIthout a doubt THE most friendly hotel staff I have ever experienced. Not a single member of the staff failed to smile and ask if they could help. Great Job. September 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel we were treated very well,John form the concierge desk went beyond his call of duty to help us and make us feel very welcomed. We would like to come back when time permits September 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Walk to Everything Great location in walking distance to all downtown attractions. While our room was very clean and well appointed, it didn't seem to match the high price paid. September 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location, Location, Location In addition to an ideal location in Portsmouth, the staff of the Sheraton is exceptional. Very helpful and warm. The wonderful woman who staffs the Club Lounge in the mornings is a real asset to the Sheraton. The only thing that detracts from this property is the $15 garage or $10 parking lot (across the street) charge. September 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This property needs review This property, while convenient to walk into Portsmouth, offered me a view of a mountain of salt, had terrible windows, noisy and leaky, a fan/blower that I could not make work, mold or mildew along the top of the shower/tub unit, no access to a fridge unless I signed out the key to the minibar, and felt like a quarter mile hike from the elevator. Now for the facility: the formal dinner function was grossly understaffed, with some being served our dinner while others had finished dessert. A practically non-existant wait staff (I think one per 3 or 4 tables) and a bar / corridor where we were herded like cattle until the ballroom doors were opened (this was incredibly tight for an hour - many left or would not enter, as there felt like no way out) I really don't think this property is adequate for our next convention. September 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location I was an attendee at a convention and was pleased up until the last night. It was banquet night ansd we were left out in the hall like cattle for over a half hour. Then the dinner was absolutely horrible!!!!! The steak was dry and tough, the chicken drier than the stuffing. The gravy was super thick and tasteless. For the amount of money spent on this banquet I will not recommend another year there after our contract runs out. The waitress never smiled once or even acknowledged us, Just put down the plates. It was a shame. September 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by no hot tub= we won't be back no hot tub= we won't be back September 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Air conditioning The air conditioning unit in my room was awful. It made the room smell very musty and I had to turn it off. Plus it was very noisy. Need to update or clean. September 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice location, but no Jacuzzi Good hotel, in a great area, however, after a long day of site seeing and much walking, it would be great to come back and jump in to a well needed jacuzzi. there also should be no parking fee for the guest. September 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location, location, location!! I didn't give it 5 stars only because the room was a bit smaller than what my wife and I are used to, but the location was absolutely second to none!! Everything that you needed was literally only a block or two away. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Also, they do have a charge for parking ($10 across the street or $15 for the garage). I recommend spending the extra $5 for the garage as it's secure and not to mention dry (as it rained the day we left). September 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great airconditioning workmen We had a problem with our air conditioning. One person came up to fix it, and when that didn't work, another came and changed the whole unit. September 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by September 2, 2012 Stay My recent stay at this property failed expectations. The A/C unit was inoperable and, upon notification, a hotel representative explained that the hotel was sold out. A/C was necessary due to the temp, as well as the high level of noise from adjoining rooms. I checked out a day early without further incident. September 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rough weekend The staff on duty were excellent, and deserve a big atta-boy for their efforts. The issue was under-staffing. For instance, the club lounge was un-staffed, and quickly became a mess even when guests tried to clean up after themselves. The rooms are dated, especially the bathroom. Cracked sinks can easily be replaced; accordian doors can add a lot of space. September 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Portsmouth -excellent Great place, the staff was wonderful, especially Erin, the restuarant hostess. What would have made the place perfect would be spa facilities on the premises as many Starwood hotels have. Appointments can be arranged and an affiliated spa sends people, but nothing beats having it on-site for last minute needs. Also it charges for daily parking. But still no place in Portsmouth is better. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by status of this Sheraton site My family and I were surprised by the state of the main lobby of that hotel and in particular the sign in desk that looks like a plywood framing with stain applied.... August 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love Location and this hotels but the hotel especially the restaurant is VERY under staffed. Also, it feels like the facility needs some updating. It was acknowledged this was a very busy time (weddings, summer etc) but check in was delayed by more than 30 minutes - we were not given an extra 30 minutes on check out day. August 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by great location, needs updating The hotel stay was okay. It was a great location. However, for the price the rooms need a major update. The decor was dated and there was major signs of wear and tear. August 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by FEELS LIKE HOME The Sheraton Portsmouth Hotel feels like home; the staff is AMAZING...we miss them already and I truly wish all Sheraton staff around the world would be as friendly and warm as this place! Every stay and we come every summer, has been memorable! August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accomodating Hotel The staff were polite and genuinely concern about your stay. The rooms were clean and well stock, and we recieved complimentary bottle water every day. The food in the restuarant was great!! The hotel is in a great location, and the garden was beautiful. August 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel service was average. Amenities were not to our standards. For example, there was only one cake of soap for two people for three days. Also, there is no breakfast included at this hotel. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. Our overall rating would be average. August 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't stay here Quality well below Sheraton standards both in property cleanliness and management. August 23, 2012
  • 2015-05-25T19:58:48.528-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-14, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_455, tr_455
  • loc_en_US, sid_636, prod, sort_default
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 next>>