Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

  • 811 7th Avenue 53rd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 2079 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great location This hotel was a wonderful place to stay for our first visit to New York. It was a short walk to Times Square, the MoMA, and Central Park and the staff was helpful in answering our questions about finding different sights around the city. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but the staff sent up a complimentary bottle of wine and some snacks later. A very nice touch. July 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but last 2 stays not up to spg Hotel is in great location. Lobby has great vibe and is full of energy. My colleagues tell me that their rooms were nice and renovated. They don't have spg status. I've stayed as an spg gold the last 3 times there and my room was old, wrinkled, scratched. Not sure why they would consisently give the better rooms to the non spg. Definitely not what I expect from sheraton. Because of risk that I could end up on shabby floor in shabby room, I won't be staying here again until all renovations are done. January 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just Ok This hotel is busy enough that that do not need to cater to the individual traveler. Really the best part of my stay was the service in the dinning area. Check in no Platinum line, waited 40 minutes, No upgrade, charged for internet and had to get it removed, rented a movie TV died, maintenance came to fix it and said I would not be charged for the movie and was. Good Points Valet very polite, Wait staff love their city and helpful. I am choosing a different location when I come back to the city. July 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel in a great location Loved my stay at the Sheraton Times Square! Hotel is situated perfectly, right in between Central Park and the hub of Times Square. Room was actually less compact than I was expecting for a NYC hotel. Sweet sleeper bed was very comfortable. All the staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay there again. April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel of Choice in Time Square! I've stayed at this hotel twice since Christmas and am in the process of booking it again, for a total of 6 nights this year. For anyone wanting to stay downtown and be close to everything this is the hotel. From Central Park to Macy's ... everything is just a short walk away. The hotel staff is courteous, helpful, and always have a smile. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Bathroom is perfect, but compact! On our last stay, we were on the 50th floor... must admit that it was a little noisy. My husband kept thinking it was garbage trucks working all night, until we realized in the morning that the headboard was on the same wall as the elevators!!! But those spectacular views made it all worth it! June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent! Great hotel in a fabulous location. The room is well appointed, comfortable, quiet, clean. Very nice amenities in the hotel, especially the guest business center. Easy in, easy out. Ultra comfortable bed and bedding. The double-blind window coverings ensured a dark room which was great. The floor was particularly quiet and maybe because we were on the 25th floor, we really didn't have any intrusion by the busy NY street noise. HIGHLY recommend the hotel and will return there again. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Attentive Staff and Excellent Midtown Location This is my second stay at the Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers and we will definitely be back! We arrived early on April 1, 2013 and were able to secure a room thanks to the help of the front desk clerk Ahmed. He graciously provided a room with handicap features after I explained that I had recently had knee surgery. Our room was clean and inviting with wonderful amenities. The hotel itself is located in the heart of Midtown with everything we wanted to see close by; can't wait to return! April 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best home away from home in New York! All we can say is this hotel gives meaning to excellence in every way. Most striking is a staff that is so incredibly responsive, warm, helpful, kind, and it crosses every area of hotel staff. If "it" all starts at the top, Bravo, Bravo, Bravo! Gosh we hated to leave this place and will always be Sheraton New Yorkers. What a great model for how positive energy just makes the day better for everyone, why not? June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Midtown Location and Service This hotel provided us with a great midtown location from which we could easily access several parts of Manhattan. Proximity to the airport was also convenient. Our room was well appointed, and the staff members were very accommodating and responsive. Very good overall experience. July 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor preparation The hotel was hosting conference activities related to the Clinton Initiative. This created undue burdens and inconvenience for other hotel guests. Most importantly, the hotel failed to adequately staff in anticipation of this knowable problem They should have had added far more additional security, front desk, lobby personnel so that the burden on other guests would have been mitigated. Instead they took the profits from the Conference sponsors and imposed the burdens on other guests September 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory experience The bellman dropped off our luggage and never took the time to explain any features of the room. We had to call downstairs because our fridge was locked. Had to call a second time because the TV did not work. We could not get the lamp/light to work. We had to call a 3rd time because there were no shower curtains in our bathroom. This was a business trip and because of the problems was not able to go to sleep until 11:30pm! This hotel was not up to my standards and I will never return. June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice size room for Manhattan I'd read mixed reviews about this hotel as it brings itself "online" into the Starwood family, both physical accomodations and skill of the staff. I must say I had an acceptable experience with both. I requested on arrival two rooms to be on the same floor, and while they weren't able to accomodate that request, I felt they tried even suggesting we check in to one and they would attempt through the afternoon. And they welcomed and recognized my Gold status on check in, even though I wasn't in the Gold Preferred line. The hotel room was nice, beds comfy and bathroom very clean. And for a New York room, it was generous in size. Much more than the W on Lex for a comparison. I'll come back again given the price and value level on points. Good location one block walk from Grand Central to catch trains anywhere. November 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience The manager reached out to me prior to my arrival and asked if I had special requests. My sister was visiting first time to the US. When we arrived, they had a cheese cake with a message "Welcome to New York", with Apple and NYC map o nthe side. I thought it was an amazing touch to make us feel special. April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WE will stay again at the Sheraton on 7th Avenue Our family loved the location of this hotel. It was close to Central Park, Times Square, and great shopping on 5th Avenue. Our room was clean and the cleaning staff were wonderful for our entire 7 night stay. The brunch at the Cafe Market was excellent. That was one hightlight, our compliments to the Chefs for the beautiful and delicious Brunch! It was also great to have the morning Star Bucks cafe in the lobby for a quick bagel, coffee & tea in the morning when we were in a hurry. July 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, Location, Location... I stayed at this hotel for a conference. I could have stayed at numerous other hotels, but since the conference was at this hotel I picked it for convenience. I was pleased all-round. Especially convenient was its walking distance to Times Square, theaters, restaurants and other attractions. I was able to leave during a conference break, get in line at the TKTS booth, purchase my ticket for an evening performance and walk back to my hotel without missing much of the conference. November 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Experience I stay at this hotel very frequently. My last two stays have been very unsatisfactory. This past time the front desk staff was very rude during the check in process. Even though I called 3 times before my arrival to request an early check in due to a meeting - the staff was very rude at check in and the room was not ready. Although I requested a call when the room was ready - the staff did not call. I had to check back in. This is the second poor experience in a row at this hotel. February 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Food This hotel food needs improvement especially for breakfast. There was a good restaurant at one time, now the choices are fair at best. I would think with the traffic at this location a decent restaurant would be available for all meals. April 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Experience I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights 06/27-30/2014. I needed 5 but they messed up my reservations. They over charged my card for my stay and charged me for snack bar items from my room that were never eaten. My card was then charged for another persons room and the only way for me to get my money back was for this person to call in their card number. My bank called because they said that the Sheraton was trying to charge over 13,000 in charges on my account. I have spent over 6 hrs on the phone with corporate to be "accidentally" disconnected on and to be reverted back to the Hotel that made the original mistake. I'm getting no where with this place and I'm still waiting for internal affairs to contact me. I so disappointed in the Sheraton staff at the New york times square location, they have NO customer service skills. I'm not the only one in my party that is having issues with over charges on credit cards. If someone higher up in this hotel chain reads this, HELP. I want my money back and want the theif investigated that tried to use my card!!!!! July 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good Location but not up to SPG standards I stay at this hotel often for business because of its location but it is in need of a mjor overhaul and training of staff. The rooms are a box - I'm platinum and they say I'm getting an upgrade- but I'm not- my room is still a box, the bathrooms are horrible, mold on the ceilings, and in the tub, the wallpaper peiling, countertops cracked and you can't even get in the shower without closing door first - its so small. The decor is tired and in dire need of a a reno. The staff does the bare minumum I have never had a bell guy outside help me with my luggage and they are miserable and just lookning for a tip. Check in staff doesn't even check for upgrades- just says no! January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovin this hotel!!! Our 9 day stay at this hotel was the best I've ever experienced. I usually don't sleep well in a hotel but I slept like a log from the first night in this one. The room and bath were spotless.(I have a thing about that) Maggie is the best housekeeper ever. Bellman, Vladimir(sp?) was our first contact and he is so wonderful I will never forget him. Raphael(sp?) in security was so nice and accommodating when I called from the airport having left an item in my room and saw to it that it was mailed back to me. All the staff were friendly and kind. To me it's the people who make any business tick and the folks who work here are unlike any I have ever encountered at any other hotel. Truthfully, I would never stay in any other hotel in NYC thanks to the staff and clean rooms. (My son and his family also stayed at the same time so I was in their room as well) I thank you all for making this the best stay ever and I can't wait to come back. I would never choose any other hotel. It will always be yours. April 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smelly, Rude and No hot water As soon as we stepped into the room we noticed the strong smell of urine coming from the bathroom. I called the front desk and was asked if I wanted the bathroom cleaned or a new room. I asked from a new room and was told a bellman would bring up keys to a new room. My husband and I stood in the doorway of the room with the door open waiting for the bellman as a woman came to the door with a room key. The room had already been reissued to someone, she spoke very little English. I then went to the front desk to see about the keys to our new room. I tried to give the desk clerk my room keys and explain that we had been waiting for the bellman with our new keys when the woman arrived at the door wanting in. Her rude response was she couldn't help me until I gave her my name. Very obviously not wanting anyone around us to hear what is going on. The desk clerk gave me a key and said the bellman would be up to bring us the second room key. The bellman never showed up, we were there for a week, and never heard another word from the front desk. To top it off, we received a letter under the door on Friday afternoon telling us that due to utility work the hot water would be off from 10 pm until 8 am the next morning. We did receive a phone message telling us that since there was no hot water, we would have free internet access - something they usually charge for. July 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Hotel was very disappointing The hotel room had dirty water bottles next to the bed we found them when pulling down the covers. Currently there is a flu epidemic which makes this even more disgusting. Lights were very dim, hard to see in bathroom mirror, and very small. In addition our floor was extremely noisy from other guests (specifically non supervised teenagers). We had to contact security several times from 12:30 am until 4:00am. One positive comment the bar staff was very helpful and friendly. January 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly controlled event I cannot describe the unpleasant experience I had at Sheraton New York! From the moment I arrived it was not good - room was not ready, I needed wait 15 minutes to have my luggage stored, college kids everywhere - sitting on the floor, taking up all the chairs in the lobby, imagine FL Easter Break mobs. Elevator waits were horrendous at all times in the day. Smoke alarm went off one night at 3:30 AM from someone smoking in their room, loud parties and talking in hallways at all times of night (I should say early AM) and doors slamming. Staff did what they could but, hotel should have better planned the location of visitors and how to move them throughout out the hotel. In regards to room, I had to have bed changed because there was body hair allover the sheets. Later I found the same situation on bathroom shower. March 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Complete lack of responsiveness Hotel itself was terrific, but elevators broke down during my check out. Almost missed my connection home as I was trapped on the 7th floor with luggage and several other hotel guests. We called the front desk several times and they seemed to not know what was happening. They promised us twice that they'd send someone up, but no one came. After 30 minutes we all took the stairs with hotel guests helping me carry my luggage. When we go to the ground floor, we found out that the elevators were down in the entire building. If the front desk had shared what was happening and offered us a solution when we called, we would have understood. It was especially frustrating to see several hotel staff standing around in the lobby while their guests were humping luggage because no one bothered to climb the stairs to update us. February 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, Small Room The location was perfect! Walking distance to all the shows, Time Square, Rockefeller Center, and subways. We walked almost everywhere because of this location. The only drawback of this hotel is the room size. It is small (although I am sure most are in New York). We had three in the room and the bathroom was too small for all of our items. Also, if you like to unpack your bags, DO NOT stay at this hotel. This was the main drawback and the only reason that we would not return. We HATE living out of a suitcase. If you are only going for a day or two it is reasonable, but if you are spending 4 or more days it is extremely inconvenient. I have given this hotel an excellent rating because this hotel is perfect for location and hotel employee helpfulness and friendliness. BUT if you like to unpack, this hotel is not for you. December 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Impressions Are Everything.... It was our first time staying at this location in NYC. I have stayed in other locations with higher star rating... guess what ; this Sheraton was fantastic due to the most important element in a hotel genuine, polite and outstanding employees. Matthew front desk manager was outstanding with customer service under the pressure of Thanksgiving eve rush. My card had a security hold, but he did not treat me any different. I called my bank, and the issue was immediately resolved. The guest services department is very lucky to have Dennis. . She was kind, prompt, and you can tell she loves her job.The bell man Erwin provided great customer service You can spend Billions remodeling a hotel , but your employees are priceless. They performed very well under pressure in a though Holiday (Thanksgiving 2011). We will visit again.... November 25, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience from start to finish Too many things happened in just 4 nights. First, after expressing concern about construction and renovation noise, we were assured we would be placed in a room as far away from construction as possible. We were given a room right in the middle of it, and there was scaffolding outside our window! It took an hour to move rooms with no help with luggage. Next day I was stuck in an elevator for 30 mins and VERY upset. I even missed my luncheon. I was told they would do something nice for me and they never even checked on me again to see if I was OK. Housekeeping never came one of the days. We were charged for mini bar item we never used and had to take time to get that resolved. Toilet didn't flush properly, tub won't drain properly. TV channels fuzzy. Security called and knocked at 6:30AM one morning, waking my husband. February 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed hotel stay The hotel lobby area was fine although printing a plane ticket was only accomplished by the concierges desk versus a common area computer. The lobby restaurant only had a buffet choice in the morning which was not what I wanted so I passed. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, with nice bed linen. The hallway at night was extremely noisy to the extent I was waken up every night and multiple times on one of the nights. Not the hotel's fault but a pain nevertheless. September 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Clean hotel located downtown New York City April 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location Close to theaters and great places to eat, and easy and cheap to get to if you are flying in from Kennedy Airport via the E train and the link from Kennedy to Jamaica Station. Downsides are the usual iffy and often pricey cab ride to La Guardia and over-priced mini-bars in the rooms (one of my pet peeves). One caution--someone mismatched the coffee makers and the coffee supplier for this hotel, so the makers pour coffee all over the place with remarkable ease! October 28, 2013
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 71 next>>