Rated 2 out of 5 by JPSP Not up to Sheraton standards
Upon arrival SPG Event Planner did not receive any reward gift non an up grade.
Hotel fees for guest parking to high. As a Green Hotel even if you choose to not have your sheets and trowels changed daily at lease they should come in and clean up the room, not explained in their detail card. If you chose Green they do nothing to your room,. No trash removal, vacuum, fresh tolietries, not even checking to see if you need toliet paper. Wi-fi to high a rate for room use.
July 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by traveler314 Solid hotel - Club room not worth upgrade price
Likes - Compared to other hotels near downtown SD, this has the best price. Large pool and jacuzzi. Staff friendly and happy. Initial check-in pleasant.
- Club lounge not worth $50 extra a night. coffee table a bit inconvenient to eat off of. Access to soda inconvenient. Admired the food quality, but hit and miss for my liking, would enjoy simple pizza, or Costco type hotdog
- Bed quality not up to Sheraton standards. Especially for the Club Room package!
- The room Wetbar mini-fridge!? at those prices!
- Bathroom bathtub had some old fixtures.
- Room service burger was over cooked, but asked for medium cooked.
- Hotel location not walking distance to places to eat.
- Using the $5 green coupon was not easy. 1st floor sundry shop would not take $5 coupon. Starbuck's would not let us use for packaged coffee.
August 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by ChiefAndy Very Good, but ...
The hotel was very good in almost all aspects except for the equipage of the room's bath - there were no towel rods. This made it impossible for us to participate in the "Go Green" initiative. The only alternative for hanging towels to dry in the bathroom was the shower rod, it was too high to reach comfortably (unless you're 7+ feet tall!), it also has a very short clearance between it and the ceiling.
July 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anne12 Wait to stay here until remodeled!
I arrived at hotel and was given a room on '2nd floor' which ended up being a balcony right at ground level and smelled like someone had been smoking in it. For safety reasons I asked for another room and was moved one floor up. Later I noticed this new room had ants in the bathroom and also crawling on the bed! I packed up and went to front desk and was moved to room on 12th floor. Hotel is just beginning remodeling so I'm hopeful that some of this will be better.
September 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by NancyW Feels like Home!
This was our 2nd visit to the Sheraton Marina and it won't be our last. Everyone was incredibly friendly & helpful. We noticed lots of smiles on the faces of the staff which means that the Manager must reall be great! Our only concern was that we had a crazy experience with trying to let the hotel know we would arrive a day late. I am not sure that when we checked in that it was cleared for us. Thankfully we did get a great room with a wonderful view of the Marina.
February 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by DaveFromtheTundra This hotel has a lousy parking lot
Half of the $24/day self parking lot is a dirt lot and the other half always seems to have sprinklers that coat your car with hard water calcium (or something). I don't know what it is, but every time I park my car at this hotel, I have to get a $10 wash afterwards. For $24, I'd expect more than a dirt lot. Otherwise, the hotel is fine.
July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by UnsatisfiedGuest40 Unsatisfied Guest
I was very dissatisfied with my stay at this location. I have frequented the Sheraton chain for many years.
August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Jeff0704 Excellent location-Services need improvement
Excellent location but do not expect any amenities that are standard for rooms at this price range, even if you are a frequent guest or you are celebrating something. A bottle of water, newspaper delivery or a small plate of fruits would have added a warm feeling of hospitality. Breakfast Buffet can be improved. The hotel offers skipping maid service during your stay to get extra points! Not a great idea if you are staying more than a couple of days in a resort.
July 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tanya41 The Best Hotel along the San Diego Bay
This was my second stay at this fabulous hotel. I've recommended this sheraton to all my co-workers to stay here when they visit San Diego. This is the only hotel I will use when I come to San Diego. It's close to downtown, it offers shuttle services to and from the airport. It also offers the Big Bay shuttle which services all the highlight areas along the bay area for an affordable price $1.00 for all day. This was one of the best ammenities besides the view.
August 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GingerC Lovely Hotel and Great Staff
The only issue I had was promptly resolved by the attentive staff. Improvements that could be made would be to install towel bars in the bathroom and offer firmer pillows.
Overall I had a wonderful stay.
August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grace248 This hotel is situated in a very beautiful, restful area of San Diego.
I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. I was particularly pleased that I had close proximity to the AACC conference which was my reason for staying in San Diego. My experience here was very positive. I felt the staff was accommodating and polite. The room was very comfortable, and the restaurant food was very healthy and tasty.
July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by sw33tf33t Great customer service
Outstanding service, the only downside was the pillows and bed (had a dent in the mattress)
August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by GPSPAT Bad food and drinks in the bar
This hotel needs to seriously upgrade the quality of the food served in their bar restaurant. We tried twice and vowed never to do that again. The ribs were horrible, the buffalo wings were dried out scabs, the blue cheese dressing wasn't, the Mai Tai wasn't, the wine list is laughable considering how close to Paso Robles and Napa this place is. In short, Quinn's Moorings sucks and should be avoided like the plague. The buffet breakfast was acceptable though.
May 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sideways Failure to clean and restock room
I reported my issue at checkout at 0730 hours. The desk clerk on duty did not appear to grasp the inconvenience of not cleaning my room and having to go without coffee because it was not resupplied the evening before. In my opinion, this inconsiderate, unsupervised activity is what I would expect from a cut-rate economy motel. Your standards for accomplishing simple things like assuring paying guests have a clean room and coffee is not an unusual expectation.
March 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Jim86 Big hotel, convenient for airport
My expectations were not too high. I selected this hotel because it was convenient to the airport. I had stayed at this hotel many years ago for a large conference.
I was pleased to have an upgrade into an executive suite.
As is typical of large hotels, it was a long walk to the room. The room was old but had been updated to meet Sheraton standards.
The club floor lounge was very large. The food was limited. The staff in the club lounge was very attentive.
February 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by cg81 Awesome views
The views from my room were fantastic! Very relaxing - thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Teresa11 This Hotel needs improvement
The concierge agent was chomping down on gum and was hardly able to speak. When I asked her for restaurant recommendations, she spoke with gum hanging out of her mouth, almost spitting, & only gave me one restaurant name instead of several choices. She never offered to set up reservations either. The front desk never gave us any info on the hotel about where to park or offer help with luggage. The key cards for self park that we received never worked, we had to call valet to open the gate each time we came and went. The housekeeping staff lost my daughters stuffed animal when they cleaned our room. I checked with lost & found but they were mo help either. I am an employee of a AAA/4 Diamond rated resort in Las Vegas, and the service that I received at Sheraton was unacceptable. Your staff really needs customer service training.
August 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by JP38492834 You can do better
I was unhappy with my stay at Sheraton Harbor Island:
Parking was artifically limited on the days I was there - it was not necessary to close off half of the parking.
My room was not ready, until 5 PM. I was moved the second night. The second room was not ready until 5 PM. Even though I indicated I brought my car, my key card did not work to exit the lot the 2nd night. No staff was available to help - I had to go in to the hotel to remedy.
May 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by swtraveller A/C not working well and NO WATER on last day!!
I stayed for 3 days. The hotel is nice, but the A/C in my room was less than sufficient. It ran constantly for 3 days, but never got down to a comfortable temp. Then, on the last day, the water was shut off throughout the entire hotel. We couldn't flush the toilet, take a shower, or even brush our teeth. The hotel's response to this was to provide each room with 2 bottles of water. No other compensation...made the last day of my trip very unsatisfactory.
October 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Deedie02 Average stay, terrible check in service
After traveling 9 hours, to wait 40 minutes to check in because there is one person behind the desk is more than frustrating. 5 people in line, but very, very slow. That can happen sometimes, of course, but it happened repeatedly with other guests, too, during our conference. Prices are ridiculous at this place, and you are rather stuck because it is out on a point, isolated, with no other options for quick meals.
June 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by kort Issue with a late check in
I checked in late (after calling to let them know I was arriving late). i was sent to the other tower, and the room there was occupied. I then had to return back to the front desk for a second room. Not a great experience.
August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by alec1673 Accomodations
The hotel is beautifully located. I had a view of the marina and the airport. I loved the view but hated the 6am wake up to the landing airplanes. The hotel food is ridiculously expensive. There are no vending machines in the hotel so if you have a late night beverage craving, either pay the outrageous rate in the room refrigerator or do as the hotel receptionist advised, walk off the property to a neighboring deli (at 1130pm) who had a vending machine.
October 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed0000 housekeeping
first room assigned was recently occupied and not ready for occupancy, there was trash in room and bed was not made. 2nd room assigned was not the room type reserved, small beds for tall person. Rotten bananas left next to mini bar in room had attracted fruit flies. Disappointing experience. 2nd stay at hotel. 1st stay, 2 months before, was much better.
July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sivajyoti Great location for outdoors enthusiast
I love the location of this hotel!
Just walk out the door to hit the running, walking or cycling trails with options to choose from. Close proximity to Harbor Drive attractions and restaurants, and Little Italy for off the beaten path restaurants and small grocery stores. Would definitely stay in the main tower again. The preferred guest floor rocked!
July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4kimb Hotel stay was fine, administration NOT.
The room was clean and nicely decorated. Hotel amenities are good. All the food was excellent. Valet personnel was excellent BUT the hotel charged me double the valet rate everyday, then said it would take 2-3 business days for them to address this error. Also front desk never had change for a $20.
Overall is was an OK stay.
July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by JWill With Reservation
Previous reviews concerning restaurants, nearby amenities, and facilities are fairly accurate. My concerns are with the "two towers" , the five minute walk between them, and when a reservation is not a reservation.
I booked in November and got confirmation that included a specific tower. Arrived to find that I was in the other tower (away from all of activities associated with the conference I was attending).
I have travelled enough to understand the concept of hotel towers and this setup does not meet the test. I was just as close to another hotel as I was to the other tower. If I had prior know I would have packed walking shoes and extra outerwear (mornings and evenings can be cool in SD).
I was offered the handicapped room when I spoke to front desk but by that time I had already read the review on it and wanted no parts of it.
March 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Di38 There is ALWAYS the bait and switch.
When I book a room at this location I always get switched to the auxillary located down the street.. It is ALWAYS a fight to stay in the main building no matter WHAT I DO. My husband fights me as well. He is tired of the treatment and wants to stay somewhere else. But I guess I am a glutton for punishment, because I keep insisting on staying there. I hope next time if I call the Manager in advance, as he suggested, I will not have this problem again.
August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Araeme Beautiful location, bad for migraines
The hotel has a beautiful location on the marina. The pools are gorgeous and the service was great. My only complaint is that they use some sort of "signature scent" in the lobby and common areas that gave me a headache every time I walked through. I tried to avoid those areas by walking around on the outside pathways when I could. Be forewarned, if you have a sensitivity to scents.
June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Petie Friendly but lacking for what you pay
I did not like the hotel, but my husband did. The staff was friendly, be we could never get follow up. For example: Anything I asked for, they would not bring (but agreed). The conference coordinator paid for a gift in my room, which even though I asked multiple time, I could never get. I had trouble getting extra towels, toilet paper or soap, toilet was extremely loud, and sink faucet leaked, tub was difficult to shut off. The view was spectacular.
April 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Regi739 Outstanding Customer Service
My family stayed at the Sheraton while our son graduated the Marine Corps at MCRD. We purchased a Marine Corp Challenge Coin for our son which we kept in the safe. When we arrived home and unpacked we couldn't locate the coin. We called and asked for help and Precious and Maureen helped us. The room was already occupied but called us back and found the coin (on the floor of the room) and shipped it back to us...Wonderful customer service! Thank you.
December 3, 2012