The Great Wall Sheraton Hotel Beijing

  • 10 North Dong San Huan Road, Chaoyang District
  • Beijing,
  • Beijing
  • 100125
  • China
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 2.7 out of 5 by 79 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rough Hotel has been saying they will upgrade for 9 years, no upgrade in site. Perfect place to put employees that have no choice over their hotel, since it is the lowest price. Would never stay again myself. July 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Aged The hotel is pretty aged and would need an urgent overhaul- the only advantage is that it is close to our office which makes it convenient. The restaurants are below average and half of the dishes offered in the French restaurant was not available. Overall it feels like staying in an old Soviet-UNion style hotel. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Wall The hotel was adequate. The carpets both in the rooms and common areas were stained but appeared clean. Check in was rather slow. December 15, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sevices becomes lower especially for breakfast, June 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by They don't care about you I had just checked out of the hotel to enjoy some site seeing. During the day, my wallet was stolen containing all my credit cards and money. I was able to get back to the hotel so I had a friendly place to sort through what I needed to do to get to my next destination. I was able to get other tourists to give me enough money for a taxi ride to the airport. As I worked through cancelling credit cards etc. I realized I hadn't eaten since the morning. I told the hotel manager my situation and asked if they could spare some toast or a sandwich. I was told no but they would give me a bottle of water. now I understand my stolen items weren't their concern but I had just spent 1000's of dollars are their hotel the previous days. I can't believe they wouldn't offer me any assistance or something to eat until my flight that night. Will not stay at a Sheraton again. August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from home. My stays at this hotel make me feel like I am at home in the comfort of my own house. The support staff know me and ask if they can do anything to make my stay better. Even with new people, they take the extra effort to make sure my needs come first. I say this not only for my recent stay, but coming to this hotel for the last 20+ years, I can not remember a stay this did not go beyond my expectations! May 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old hotel but good price Hotel facility is old, location and price is quite good in Beijing June 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's tired and need of a face lift, but a pleasant hotel Over the past three or so years I have spent 2months+ in this hotel every year during what was my regular 3-4 times a year trip to Beijing. While the hotel is in desperate need of a face lift; something I hear from the management is being planned (but has been in that state for some time), it's a lovely hotel. Plenty of suites if you're a platinum member to get upgraded to which are clean and tidy. I like it over other hotels I could have stayed at owing to it's location. It was easy for me to get to work and I you can walk within 20mins to Bar Street, the Ya Show and many other places. After a long day working, this was a great benefit. I felt the rates appropriate (well our corporate rates anyway), rack rates over the top. October 21, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel in Desperate Need of Renovation We've stayed in countless SPG hotels before and have just come from Shanghai where the SPG properties were high above expectations, only to be dropped straight back down to earth with this hotel. Unlike very other SPG property we have stayed at, the pictures on this website do NOT reflect the majority of the rooms, not even the SPG Preferred Guest floor rooms. I would go so far to say that the pictures are misleading unless you are booking a platinum room (which, if you are spending that money/points, you might as well spend less at another SPG property in Beijing and probably end up with a better room). We were told that our room was "upgraded" to the SPG Preferred Floor, yet it would appear that it is still an un-renovated floor. The rooms look like they have not been updated in at least 20 years. The room itself is TINY. We have no wifi access in the rooms, there is a tube TV instead of a flat screen, and the carpet is very worn out looking (who knows how dirty this is). Furthermore, we were told we were on the non-smoking level, and signs on the room doors would seem to indicate we were; however, I still smelled smoke in the air (through the ventilation), and I am afraid everything we have, especially our clothes, will smell like smoke after our stay. I can honestly say without over-exaggerating that I the rooms in this hotel are comparable to a cheap motel in the US (and those are probably cleaner). Starwood really needs to put some money into renovating this property ASAP. It's ridiculous and erodes the SPG brand in our minds to have stayed at a property that claims SPG affiliation like this. September 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Probably the worst Sheraton in the world Poor Service and Attitude As a Platinum member I spoke to the Sales as I wasplan to be a long staying guest for 3 months planning to stay at the hotel for 2-3 months and would like to request for upgrade not to the suite rooms but their renovated cleaner rooms with WIFI. William the Sales Manager rudely refused and said there is no way that Platinum would be upgraded to the Elite floors unless they pay for it. The non elite floors rooms are old even for the suite rooms with old dirty carpets and old room smell. There is internet but not wifi, unless you pay deposit and get a modem from business center. The front desk does not recognise gold or platinum member and one has to wait on line easily for average of 20 minutes and they will service others and ignore the platinum line and worse still, non members use that line too. Many of the front desk staff tends to be rude and takes a long time to process check in or check out. often having more than one staff to attend one customer. This HOTEL in general is not Starwood member friendly and is only interest regular guest paying full amount. The only good thing is its location. if you are thinking to relax at the pool - think again...the swimming pool is probably the most unhygienic pool I have ever seen. It looks like a sunken TITANIC. it is rusted and no water cleaning system. just a huge rusted pool of potential germs filled water. Its about time the Starwood management look into this hotel. It is a shame to the name of Starwood. Heard it was a first class hotel 30 years ago... guess, they have not done anything to upgrade since then and still hold on to the snobbish attitudes from front desk. If I were to rate this hotel, it would be a minus and not even zero, having visited Starwood hotels all over the world. May 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel in good location My 3rd time back at this hotel. This is a nice hotel in good location nearby subway and restaurants. Staff and service is excellent. The TV is old and needs upgrading to the new flat screens. Also there is no wireless internet in the room which is almost a must in todays world...how do you plug a wired internet cable into an ipad? Nevertheless I had another wonderful stay. April 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value This hotel represents quite good value in a fairly expensive city. While the location may not be perfect for a vacation, it is not inconvenient and is reasonably close to the airport. Yes, some of the property could do with a makeover but I still enjoy staying here at its current rates. The staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. June 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Keep your expectations low I've seen claims that this is the worst Sheraton in the SPG network. Although the facilities and rooms are quite dated, for the price, you still get a sweet sleeper bed and clean sheets, at a bargain. It would be nice if the remodeled rooms on the 17/18th floor were included in the upgrade pool, but it's not a deal breaker at this price point. Room service was adequate, although a bit pricey. Again, keep in mind this is a Cat 2 hotel, not a Cat 5-7. If you maintain reasonable expectations, this place isn't terrible. June 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel have old rooms Very old fashioned rooms. Nothing is upgraded . TV , bathroom, furniture everything feels old. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Wall Sheraton Hotel: Under promise and over deliver The hotel surprised me positively with every single thing. From check in, timeliness, adhering promptly to requests, personalized service, etc. Rooms had a great view of Beijing, the SPG dining room was a pleasure to enjoy breakfast in, the front office executed every request first time right, and on time. It was a great experience which few hotels will be able to match. There location is great and central. I will without doubt recommend this hotel to anyone and I already have friends who wants to go to Beijing next year so guess where they will be staying. Really well done and thank you for the effort from the general management and front office management. April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff Professionalism I left some money in my laundry while they were being sent out for washing. The housekeeping staff found them and contacted me immediately. Money was return fully intact ! March 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4 night stay Overall its a good Sheraton hotel, but does need a update. TV's need to be updated to flat screens. Pool needs updating. Carpets need updating. Sheraton private Car service to/from airport is over priced, take a cab for around 75 cny. Close walking distance to subway, around 5-8 min walk. Around 20-25 min walk to mall area and nightlife or you can take subway. We stayed on the 13th floor and had access to the club lounge on 17th floor for happy hr. Happy hr was 4-7 and had small selection of drinks and snack food. We were here for 4 nights and the snack food was much the same every night which got old. Breakfast in the morning was really good. Staff response to guest services was excellent. We booked a 1 day Beijing great wall tour from hotel, it was very good. For point value redeemed I think it was a great choice for Beijing. November 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected I read the following comments before I booked one night there, so I didn't expect too much. But after the stay, I think it's either the following comments are too mean or this hotel just finished a renovation, because the room turned out super nice (better than the LAX one I stayed last summer I would say). The staff were also nice and helpful. But I didn't get the chance to use any other facility though. June 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by GOTTA GET WITH THE TIMES OVERALL IMPRESSION: When I came to China the first time in the eighties, this property was the showplace of the nation and in comparison with what else was out there, afforded a level of comfort and luxury unknown in China. But times have changed, the hotel hasn’t. This would no longer be my choice for accommodation in the Capital. SPG RECOGNITION: They do try but in such a factory-like atmosphere it is hard to feel special. Upgraded to a full suite. THE ROOM: Basically two standard rooms (with two standard baths) connected with a common foyer - the strange set-up meant we virtually never went into the “sitting” room. Decor while pleasant is dated and in need of a re-fit. LOCATION: Beijing is so sprawling that virtually everywhere is a taxi ride away but one pleasant exception in the lovely new upscale shopping and entertainment centre at Sanlitun Road just a short walk from the hotel. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: Unfortunately most were only just met and none exceeded. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: In the new service-oriented China, this place really feels like an anachronism. Some really intensive re-training in line with new customer expectations would definitely be in order. As would be a full property restoration. March 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by the hotel is stool in stool 1. all the employees look like their daddy just died yesterday. no say hello, no smile, nothing. 2. all the employees do not know how to work and how to make customer satisfy May 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It is a good business travel choice. Good location, need to upgrade on the facilities. May 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service keeping this aged facility viable Centrally located, I wish this hotel would be upgraded to the level of the staff service. May 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Experience Stayed in the same hotel 2 x while in China this month, First time my Starwood number was not in the booking and had to push to get a decent room, Second time i got a room but on the 5th floor so could here the band noise down stairs eventually changed the room ro a normal room. I do not understand if the hotel knows I am checking in why they can't allocate a quite room in the first place. May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old hotel – but Good service and SPG recognition The hotel is old and needs to be renovated. But for Plat members it’s still a good choice if getting an upgrade to suites which are clean and tidy. I will come back to this hotel for non-biz travel. Good cash+points option (really great value). Good service, convenient location but could be hard to get a taxi in the morning. April 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Sheraton Ever! I have been staying at this hotel for the past 5 years. It has progressively become worse. This particular visit was unbearable so I will not return to this hotel. The staff were extremely rude on check in and check out. I have never written a negative review for Sheraton (or any Starwood properties) but this has to be done. May 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Spg property This is absolutely the worse Starwood property. They should not even be under Starwood group. With all of the inconvenience. When I complain to the manager. He didn't do anything. Even he was the one who give wrong info. Bizarre hotel. Worse than budget hotel May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best deal in Beijing Yes, it's true the hotel does need to be updated. If you can put that aside you will find yourself a very good value for your money. Most importantly the rooms are kept very clean and well attended to and of course there is the comfort of that sweet sleeper bed. Always a guaranteed comfortable bed. The staff is so very friendly and attentive. We were very impressed with the gym having heavier weights than are usually available in a hotel gym. The Sanlitun area is an easy 20 minute walk from the hotel. Metro station within a 5 minute walk. May 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, but needs a renovation This hotel is in the central part of town, and has easy access to transportation. A traditional hotel, that also has good history. Club floor lounge provides good meeting space, and the 24-hour lounge service is a nice touch. February 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by about the TV system i think great wall sheraton hotel is almost excellent, but maybe just only one thing could not be satisfied, it s TV. I wish this hotel could equip new flat TV when i stay again next time. February 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location, easy access Great location, easy access. Club lounge was nice. However, no LINK@Sheraton in the lobby, and no workstations at the lounge July 30, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 next>>