Sheraton College Park North Hotel

  • 4095 Powder Mill Road
  • Beltsville,
  • Maryland
  • 20705
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 60 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Third-world Wifi Overall, an average hotel with clean beds but stained carpet, decently responsive and helpful staff. At the same time, you get charged for bottle water ($5, really Sheraton?). There's a pool and a gym. That's all the nice things I can say. That said, my biggest gripe is with the internet service. Wi-fi and LAN service can only be described as a third-world experience. Maybe it's the fact that we stayed on the 9th floor but we could not even check our email. That's how bad it is. I had to drive to Starbuck to use the internet. Shame on you Sheraton, please recognize that this is the 21st century and having good wi-fi is as important as having clean towels. We don't need 10 or 15 megabit connections, just make sure we can access gmail, google search (maybe you don't want us to find a better hotel?) and occasionally YouTube. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by not a business hotel/terrible shuttle service This hotel is located in the Washington DC suburbs and connects to the city via hotel shuttle. When I called I was told the shuttle operates every half hour up to 9:30 pm. When I arrived at the Greenbelt metro station, I called and was told that the next shuttle wasn't until 9:00. The driver arrived early, but told me that someone had scheduled pick up at 9:00 or he wouldn't be there at all, and we had to wait until 9:00 before he would drive me to the hotel. It took one hour to get from the metro stop to the hotel. Upon arrival, I asked about the shuttle in the morning and found out it was already booked and the earliest I could get a ride to the metro was 9:00. The manager promised that she would be there in the morning and would find a way to get me to the metro at 7:00. When I went down early (after checking out the club lounge with the worst breakfast options ever, and it didn't open until 6:30) the manager was not on premises and I ended up sharing a taxi with another stranded working guest and our own additional expense. If you need to go to work, this hotel will not be able to help you. There were a lot of visiting young people around and it seems to work for them. The room was actually very nice with standard good Sheraton bedding, but the service was terrible. April 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business Traveler This is a nice out of the way hotel. The staff is friendly and efficient. It is close to the interstate and within 20 minutes of major attractions. However housekeeping could be improved ( room carpet needs to be cleaned and ice machines on at least 4 floors didn't work). Other than those issues which can be easily corrected, I recommend this hotel. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by SHERATON COLLEGE PARK NORTH HOTEL IS THE WORST HOTEL IN SPG! I and the kids have stayed there 3 times since it is close to Six Flags America. Each time we check out I've sworn never to return. SHERATON COLLEGE PARK NORTH HOTEL IS THE WORST HOTEL IN SPG! The staff is completely rude and non-accomodating. For example, I showed up last weekend with my kids expecting to find our room upgraded as per my Suite Night Award request. Instead, they denied the request and gave us a small room with a king-sized bed. I went back to the front desk to ask for the upgrade only to find that it had been denied. They offered to put us in a double room and after a few strong words, they finally gave us a suite. If they had a suite available, why did they DENY my Suite Night Award request??? Also, when checking in, they didn't acknowledge my Platinum status. I'm not a demanding client but no club lounge, no internet access, nothing, I mean nothing was offered at check in. When the kids and I finally got to the room, there were no sheets on the pull out sofa bed. I called 3 times and walked down to the front desk before finally getting sheets an HOUR later! This was our latest experience and the 2 prior were no better. I'll say it again: SHERATON COLLEGE PARK NORTH HOTEL IS THE WORST HOTEL IN SPG and we'll never stay there again! July 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceeded expectations I was very pleased with our stay at this Sheraton! The location was excellent for traveling around the Washington or Baltimore area without being the in middle of the city. It was set back in a nice, quiet area right off the highway. I was welcomed with a big smile and a very helpful staff. They even congratulated me and immediately put me on the club floor for my 10th Starwood stay. Carpets and a few items in the room are mildly dated but I was surprised to find things much nicer than expected due to the other negative reviews. I will stay here again and recommend to family and friends! July 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Way below my expectations The only plus I can say about this hotel is that it is right off the highway so it is easy to access and they have a parking lot right in front which is also hassle free. Otherwise, I found it below standard for an SPG hotel. Upon arrival after 4PM (we did not check in early) our room was still not ready. I also had paid extra for a reservation with club access which includes breakfast though my key nor did my companions keys work to enter the club and when we went down to ask them to switch the key and went back up, yet again it did not work and I just gave up and did not bother going down a second time. The facilities look more like an upscale college dormitory building than a hotel. Upon checkout, when I told the clerk at the front that I was really upset about the fact that I could not access the club facilities she just shrugged her shoulders and ignored my comment. June 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY UNCLEAN Last month my family and I checked into Sharaton Washington North after something like a 30 min wait time. We were not given the correct room type and were originally taken to the 3rd floor that smelled of sweaty gym bags, the second we left the elevator. Ater noticing that the rooms smelled the same and that the bathrooms didn't look to have been cleaned, we went back to the front desk (after about five minutes) and were finally given the room types we requested- the same rooms we were told, "are not currently available." Once we got into our connecting rooms and began to get comfy, it suddenly became VERY clear that there was a man in my bed who did not clean up after himself, nor was he cleaned up after. We were then given free this, waived fee that, free this, waived fee that, but it just doesn't seem like enough. My 12 y o twin cousins shared that room with me...Sheraton should definitely consider doing things right the first time, as although the cost was dramatically dropped, I will still never step foot in there. What other messes didn't we see...? July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy access to Adelphi and College Park, Maryland A stone's throw from I-95 at the Capital Beltway north of Washington, D.C., this hotel's location is the reason we choose it. The staff are friendly and do a good job of making us feel at home. While I didn't use the in-room refrigerator or microwave oven this visit, it is great to have the option! August 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff problems Poorly trained and slow staff at Reception got stay off to a poor start. Things did not improve with poorly designed suite with heavy furniture blocking deployment of sofa bed, missing duvet, no clock/radio, broken coffee maker, and broken thermostat. I hope never to repeat this Sheraton experience! June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and hospitable Room and service were excellent June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Probably needs new management First impression bad, was suppose to be upgraded to club level (had confirmation via email) but wasn't...ok I can deal with this. But the desk clerk was incredibly hard to understand (English was NOT his primary language), he was the only staff member when I arrived on a Sunday afternoon. Two people in front of me, a dozen behind. So I was trying to be cordial. Then the room smelled, the carpets in this hotel need to be changed. Service all 4 days was poor. And don't get me started on the pool not open and the food overpriced. June 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mrs. Hutchinson 1. Room was very small 2. No doors on closet had to look at my clothes all night 3. No free wifi 4. Restaurant was overpriced and the food was awful. 5. bathroom had a pedestal sink, no place to put your to toiletries May 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff support was outstanding I was highly impressed with the service and the hospitaility I recieved while I stayed at this location. I have no complaints. I would, of course stay here again without any hesitation. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed feelings Nice lobby / nice looking room but very noisy air conditioner + outside unit placed too close to windows of club level (9th floor) made room very uncomfortable for sleeping - Staff at front desk seems to be in-training - worse issue: we received confirmation of room reservation by e-mail a couple of days before leaving: club -level room included breakfast and internet access - we were told by front desk staff that we had to pay for internet access and that our "room rate DID NOT include breakfast - due to that we missed the first day breakfast - my husband who inquired about internet access was able to "negotiate" access after arguing with front desk - room staff and club lounge staff were very helpful and friendly - most front desk staff needs to brush up on their skills and knowledge about the hotel they work for. Last issue: the shuttle was very unreliable : our group was told the driver would be right back - we waited close to an hour to be picked up - June 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great staff - disapointing facility I stayed at your hotel on April 29 for the night. I have to say, things were really worn down in the hotel, which was very disappointing. However, the staff at your hotel could not have gone out of there way more to make me feel welcomed and taken care of. Of special note was Rem, at the front desk. He was very knowledgeable, helpful and went the extra mile to make sure everything was in order. While the physical hotel was a disappointment, the staff—especially Rem, exceeded expectations and made the experience a good one. Please pass my thanks to Rem. May 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by charge I wanted to pay with another credit card. I know it was my responsibility to say so but had staff asked if I wanted to pay with the credit card on record it would have reminded me that I should have used a credit card other than the one I made the reservation with. June 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Hotel was partner for National History Day, when over 3000 students are in DC for competition. Although they provided shuttle to the college where competition was held, they only had 1 going there, and other places, and it was limited to 10 seats. Round trip was 1/2 hour. Could not meet demand of the number of people staying there. Manager said they were unprepared for the demand - last year they didn't have as many. Ok, but why didn't they make adjustments after the first day? This caused severe stress and additional expenses for many guests - who had to be at the college for competitions at set times. (We had to take buses and taxis to make sure we got there on time.) Drivers did the best they could, but were put in an untenable situation. (NOTE: A Metrobus station stop is located at entry to hotel. Front desk had route schedule, but this information was not provided to guests looking for transportation until asked.) Walls were not soundproofed at all. First room was right next to elevator - could hear every beep and bell. Got moved, but could hear every word from room next door. Laundry room, but no change machine. Front desk and restaurant could not provide quarters. Not enough front desk staff, made it hard to get prompt service. No in-room information on hotel amenities, nearby hotels, etc. Internet is not free. This is ridiculous in this day and age. This should be a no-brainer amenity. First night, room was not completely cleaned - ice bucket, water cups and coffee machine not cleaned. Third night, room was not cleaned at 3 p.m. They did get it cleaned when I pointed it out. Carpets very stained, hallways smelled dirty. Ice machine on our floor out of service. Coffee machine in room with Starbucks packets was nice to have, as breakfast was not provided. Our room also had refrigerator and microwave, which was helpful, since breakfast was not provided. However, refrigerator door was loose on hinges and didn't close properly until we propped it up with a notebook. Onsite restaurant was very good, but a bit pricey. June 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by terrible front desk staff the front desk was cold, unwelcoming to the point of rude. questions asked were tersely answered. made a simple request to call a taxi and the desk guy actually 'grunted' with displeasure. June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stayed there for wedding My son's wedding was close by so most people stayed here. The food for our rehearsal dinner was great. The rooms were great. Easy to get to I-95. The front desk and service people were excellent. I especially want to mention Earl in the bar who did an excellnt job and made sure there was enough help on hand to manage the wild after wedding crowd. March 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Stay Hotel is very convenient to DC area. Clean and comfortable rooms with very friendly & professional staff. Food choices limited but of good quality with good service. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location Maybe the easiest 5 star hotel to get to off an interstate, yet situated in a wooded area that make you feel far from the busy freeway. Friendly staff, and great facilities. December 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel was most reponsive The hotel has a shuttle service that, when available, is most helpful indeed. The restaurant was comfortable and food was prepared well. The staff was friendly and helpful. June 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsanitary and very dirty rooms!!! This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We arrived to our room and found the bathroom partially cleaned--toilet was filthy, carpets were not vacuumed (when housekeeping was contacted, they admitted that "we didn't have time to vacuum because it was very busy last week."), and a king size bed with only one pillow. The hotel reception, though polite, did not follow through on any requests for service. We asked for our room to be cleaned three times before anyone was sent up. The housekeeping staff is clearly overworked and underpaid. Lobby is the only part of the hotel that is acceptable. June 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pleased I had a very late check-in and was exhausted from traveling. I was greeted by a very friendly, upbeat, helpful gentleman named Walter V. He even encouraged me to take the last cookie, which was excellent. He provided such great service which was a relief. The hotel is in a great location, easy to get on and off the highway. My room was ok. My only issue was the shower area. It looked like the ceiling was going to cave in over the shower. Also the fixture around the shower head was not attached to the wall. Other then those two issues, I was happy with the amenities at the facility. Thank you. May 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Minor technological improvements needed Stayed one night for business. The Good: Got a very large studio suite. Very comfortable bed and clean room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was complimentary as a Gold, the lounge was closed. The service was pretty good. Needs improvement: Only power plugs were near the closet and at the desk. The desk had two integrated plugs, but the the source wire was unplugged from the wall for some reason, as was the coffee maker, so neither worked initially. Had to crawl under the desk multiple times to get things plugged in appropriately. October 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs quality control Five orange chairs in lobby around computers were worn through to stuffing and stained, the security lock in my room#922 was broken off the door, the rug in my room had a 3 foot stain on it in front of the television, these items should have been noticed by cursory examination, room #922 is on the club floor I would think that those rooms would be kept up to a better minimum standard. Paint/wallpaper starting to peel off wall at window. Beds were comfortable.Not happy that I had to pay for wireless access. I do not at other chains of which I am a frequent visitor. May 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quality Using the SPG points system works well for us as we expect the quality and always maintained well. the staff were friendly and welcoming. June 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anonymous This hotel has issues with fair treatment and the staff has no intergrity ... and when they are called out on their hick-ups your concerns are swept under their rugs. Rudest and non communication is a great existing problems but must also mention their internet being very slow or non existence. It has been very overwhelming to the point were we had a reservation but was told we did not we give the front desk supervisor a tangible copy and he was very rude and talked to us in a belittering way. Left two messages for the hotel GM after he did not respond the first time. Needs improvement: the furniture was very much used up and stains on the carpet thru out the room!!!! May 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We took our daughter to tour colleges. So it was very convenient to Univ of Maryland - College Park and Georgetown. However, we had issues checking in. Although check in time was 3pm, our rooms were not ready at 3pm. So called house keeping and asked them to put a rush on it. When we came back at 5pm, our rooms were still not ready. After speaking to the manager, they switched us to 2 other rooms. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service Excellent Guest Services. I was greeted promptly and respectfully, Was recognize as a SPG member and received a warm welcomed. Room and Beds very comfy. May 24, 2014
<<prev2 3 next>>