Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

  • 625 El Camino Real
  • Palo Alto,
  • California
  • 94301
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 315 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by portolm8 I like the Sheraton Palo Alto for various reasons. First the location which is within walking distnace of a wide choice of restaurants downtown. I like the proximity to nice stores like Palo Alto bycilcles and the proximity to the Stanford campus which is ideal for running or walking. In addition to this the staff of the Sheraton Palo Alto is particularly friendly... must be the weather or the location, but they rank to the top of my list of hotels for friendliness, going to extra mile to help out and so on... And this is consistent at each visit! Of course the rooms are very nice and clean. The lounge also has very good breakfast food. July 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Palo Alto Hotel overwhelmed by Stanford Graduation This was an extremely important weekend for us as our daughter graduated from Stanford School of Medicine with Ph D. When we called to confirm and, online, we were promised Club Level access to breakfast and evening hor d'orvres, unfortunately, not one evening access to Club amenties were available and we had paid for them. Staff at reception area did not have a clue, and just repeated a pat answer that there was Club level access ! Later we were offered cookies in the lobby, juice and free water. June 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by BAD EXPERIENCE..BEWARE... 1.) $10/day - self parking..yess you red it right.you booked this hotel & they will charged you for $10 a day. 2.) you have to pay if you use the internet..other hotel offer free wifi..better go there.. 3.) room we got esp. the bathroom is for disabled that's why all the water goes on the flr.. 4.) the tv signal is very very bad.. 5.) the room is smelly.. June 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Misleading Taxi Fare Information The hotel's website says that taxi fares to and from SFO airport run $70. This is just not true on the "from" side. The meter indeed reaches around $70, but (surprise!) the taxis are allowed to charge 150% of the metered fare for out-of-city trips originating from the airport. When I brought this to the attention of the front desk clerk (after having to pay in excess of $100 for the cab) she just shrugged and admitted the information was incorrect for trips from the airport -- "sorry about that." Had I known the cost would be so outrageous I would have arranged a shuttle. Otherwise it was a standard Sheraton and perfectly fine -- as long as you don't mind hearing the train that runs right alongside it. Convenient to Stanford. May 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Paying 9.95/day for internet is not a good idea Alright, let's check this out. I tried to solve this issue with Starwood Hotels service and they couldn't do anything cause it's the hotel that decide if they charge for internet or not. Look at this, this way. Wifi internet is free in the lobby, and then is 9.95$ a day when you reach your room. If only it was paying in the lobby too, they would have a reason to make us pay in the rooms. You get under a megabit internet connection, three days cost of near 30$, which is equivalent to a MONTH of cellphone service... Sheraton is supposed to be a premium hotel service. I work with computers, I stayed at very cheap remote hotel/motels and ALWAYS got better internet service than here. How can you explain that an premium hotel right at the heart of silicon valley can charge a premium fee for slow internet service ?!.... thanks for reading my complaint Also, charging double the amount for a local beer at the hotel's bar is not going to get you any business. January 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing As a regular business traveller and SPG Gold member, this hotel was below expectations for a four night stay with my family. Early check-in request was moot as we arrived at four (after the "stated" check in time of three) and still had to wait for key release while they finished prepping the room. Beds sagged in the middle, pool was also the bar so smoky in the evening, and in general the decor and condition are no longer an SPG level 4 property. Location lets the operator charge for parking and a premium on the room that is not appropriate. May 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by chased from the pool area I am 74 years old and had to visit the Stanford medical center A friend drove me up so I thought I would treat her to a nice hotel. It was a beautiful day so we went to the pool with deck of cards and a glass of water. we were playing Gin Rummy and keeping score on scratch paper. a employee came out to our table and accused us of gambling(I thought he was kidding) We continued to play and soon the same man along with the bartender came to tell us we could not bring drinks from our room, water? I complained, they gave us a free breakfast, but our day of fun was ruined.Needless to say this was embarssing and and unnecessary. You will never find us at this hotel again. July 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by APPALLING Prior to booking this hotel, I called SPG reservations to inquire about the property. I was told that the hotel had undergone a renovation in 2012.Based on this information, I booked with the representative. Upon arrival, the hotel was undergoing renovation and the next day, the entire lobby of our building was stripped to the wall boards and the noise level was unbearable. This hotel should no accept guests under these conditions. I am furious at the blatant deception on your part. I expect a refund. May 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Old and dirty I am Platinum with SPG and been staying at this property for the last 4 months. I love the location but the hotel decor and carpet is more close to a motel. Depend if you get a upgraded room in the Stanford building the carpet so dirty and spotty, I would not walk bare footed. The towels smells as well. i guest they are so busy due to the location they don't care how they treat because you don't see any regulars. I come here everyweek but have to beg to get any room in the stanford side for newer carpet. Most hotel would know who you are since coming very week. NOPE, they just DON'T care. I am done here, moving to the crtyd people would be more friendlier and know who you are. If you are here for short trip and need access to run\walk to Stanford, this is the place. But I should\would recommend not coming here if you are regular as they just don't care. The concierge lounge ladies are awesome if there is any cancellation. Bring a flippers the carpet yucks.. The rooms are paper thin and very loud, you can hear all bathroom activity from all directions. I am done here after 16 weeks and move to other option down the street. The wifi is less to be desired, drops and weak download speed. BTW, they keep missing my points for other weeks how complicate is this. Its like they just don't want you to come back.. Well I got it... one more week because all hotel are quick to sold but I am done here. September 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs some improvement I work for a company who has frequent travelers to the Palo Alto Sheraton, so I would have expected to receive a nicer room (if they have nicer ones). I was assigned a dated handicap room on the first floor. It looks like they tried to partially remodel the room. The seating area and bathroom were from the 80's. I'm a pretty tall guy (6'3"), so I had to hunch over to be able to take a shower (due to the handicap device that had been installed). The bed was like sleeping on a concrete block, and there were several large stains on the carpet. I know PA is an expensive place to stay, but I wouldn't say that this Sheraton was up to standards of competing hotels in the area. August 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Under construction Since the hotel is across the street from Stanford, I booked a room for a reunion weekend. I arrived on Friday evening to a prom...yes Sheraton Palo Alto hosts proms...and the building I was staying in was under construction. The wallpaper had been stripped from most of the hallway and the carpet was littered with scraps of dry wall and cardboard. Certainly now what I was expecting. If I'm traveling abroad and paying $40/night, no problem. But for $200/night, not good. Obviously this is a temporary situation. I was just surprised that rooms were still rented in a hallway that was clearly under construction. May 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisiest hotel. Prepare for sleepless nights! I was given a room near the elevator and the noise was horrendous. The sound of the elevator mechanism and bells was interminable. After a sleepless first night I bought ear plugs which helped a bit. This is unacceptable for a hotel of this standard. The additional sound of the Caltrain did not help. I travel very regularly for work and this was the worst hotel experience I have had in years. At checkout I was given a letter asking me to tell the front desk about my stay. So I explained the noise situation. The response I received was one word: "ok", uttered in a monotone devoid of any concern. Truly an unacceptable end to a horrible stay. Very disappointing for a Starwood hotel. February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Escape Sheraton hotels are excellently represented by this property in Palo Alto. We have racked up four stays under our SPG account here. Each room we have stayed in is very clean, spacious and recently remodeled. The lavatories are well lit and allow enough space to get started for the day without interrupting others in the room. We’ve started many mornings off with prompt and personalized room service on the balcony overlooking its courtyard full of lush gardens, a babbling brook leading to the pond filled with Koi, all opening to a row of cushy lounge chairs surrounding a rejuvenating pool. Did I mention it’s next to the main restaurant and bar where one can sip drinks with fellow guests until moonrise, or dine al fresco at their Sunday brunch buffet? We love this location especially because it is quietly nestled between Stanford shopping center; located just across the street. Staying on University avenue allows one to walk around the plethora of shopping, café dining, or just enjoy the beautiful neighborhood of old faculty homes. Though the Hotel provides excellent dining, it does provide a refrigerator for all the organic goodies one can pick up at the local market. This comes in handy after using the indoor exercise room. Don’t forget to utilize the ample covered parking around back if needed, and the friendly staff who are there to aid around the clock. So if you are looking for that weekend getaway, stop off between travels, or planning an event please call upon the Sheraton Hotel Palo Alto! July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by OK with some need for improvement My stay was very average with 2 issues: (1) I was initially put in a room next in the elevator with a lot of noise and was told at the front desk that switching would not be possible. Another staff member later told me that the front desk was being ridiculous and easily helped me switch out. (2) Before checking out, the internet that I paid the night before already stopped. I thought the hotel should at least wait until after I check out before discontinuing the service that I had already paid. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great people and great location. We had business above San Francisco. The staff was friendly and welcoming on arrival. Our room was extremely quiet. The front desk lady greatly benefitted us in directing us to our destination Sat am. All in all we were pleased with this hotel and shall return. June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room without cold water!! Everything was as usual except the faucet in bathroom didn't work for cold water. It only works with hot water.. Very weird... I managed to stay with it. However, it looks like brushing my teeth with hot water worsened my condition of my tooth. :( It cost me $560 for dental.. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Clean and Cozy but loud The staff was very friendly, the hotel was very clean and conveniently located, however too loud. Yes there were graduation parties and receptions, however our noise complaints were not related to the hussle and bussle of people celebrating. Our noise complaint was that the walls of the rooms were too thin, you can hear every neighbor above/below/and to the side of you flush toilets and shower and wiggle around in their bed. Unless I get a screaming deal, I will not pay $200/night to stay here again. Was disappointing considering the staff was really friendly. May 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice property Overall nice hotel and experience. Only have a few negatives: Small room Super loud heater March 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Uncomfortable rooms The room given (4018) was more of the more uncomfortable rooms that I have staying in any hotel in recent time. The air conditioner made too much noise and made it uncomfortable to work in or sleep. The bathroom, especially the shower area, did not have a good shower and the water pressure was too low. Worse, it was difficult to put soap and shampoo in the holder since it was fixed at an angle and so could not hold these items. Finally, the internet speed was sometimes good and sometimes too slow May 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs updating We did not receive the room that we reserved at check-in but the hotel did correct the matter after speaking with the front dest over 3 times. Bathroom wall paper was peeling off the walls and some fixtures in the bathroom are rusting. Maid service barely addressed anything in the room the three says we were there. Bar workers would comment about us by speaking in a different language thinking we could not understand them-they were wrong. Sad to see the service go down so much since my last visit. Hope to see changes in the service and to the property. I would like to continue staying here on visits because of the proximity to Stanford. November 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs help We were a little taken a back when parking was $14.00. Your manager of restaurant was very rude when no was eating and we just wanted to sit down! One room 2079 had wall support brackets holding it up and one of the lamps was falling a part which is a fire hazard. Then when checking out it was a good thing I checked my bill because you people put someone else's bill on mine, so front desk had to it all over again. We waited 10 minutes to get served in your bar! NEED I SAY MORE? Mary:-/ August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nothing special About the only reason to stay here is that it is very convenient for Stanford. It is not a bad hotel, but it is certainly nothing special to warrant the room charges. The so-called "high-speed" internet, which you must pay extra for, is in fact excruciatingly slow. Reminds me of dial up back in the early 90's. The food is only mediocre. I guess that they are assured of continuing trade due to their location close to stanford, so they do not have to try very hard to please their guests. June 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad service 7/18,19 and 20 Too many weddings etc going on. I was told at checkin that I HAD to have my confirmation number. When I went to get it online, the clerk came out running saying that my name had spaces. THEN the room key wouldn't work. THEN the night manager told me that the "keys have problems" and that Yes, I HAVE to have a conf number (not just my CA drivers license and cc) to register! HA! I saw that other guests did NOT have to present a confirmation number at registration, just the Picture ID and the cc. Saturday night I called for a fridge. The front desk clerk yelled at me and said ALL THE REFRIGERATORS WENT TO OTHER GUESTS. All I did was ask! July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average hotel, below average service I'm sure the presence of Stanford guarantees them occupancy, but I won't be coming back. The business center printers couldn't print a pdf, there was no staff interested in helping, and when I left in the morning my keys had been misplaced at the valet and it took 15 minutes and finally the threat of me asking them to pay for a taxi and bring back the rental themselves before they finally put some brains into the search and found them. Will not return. September 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Sheraton! The hotel is a dated relic that maintains its steady stream of clients only by its close proximity to Stanford University. The rooms are dated in design, and only a basic "soft" overhaul has been done. In the middle of my first night, security actually came into my room, claiming that they had not been informed that the room had a guest in it! I complained to the lobby the next morning, and was offered a Club Room access. I pointed out that it does not really benefit me, since I was on a business trip and on company expense, but the staff did not seem to understand. Then, when it came to check-out, I realized that I was being charged for the upgrade. I had to tell them once again what had transpired before they took the amount off my bill. I do not think I will ever stay at this hotel ever again! I think a motel might even be a better alternative at Palo Alto! November 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointing! Photos on the website makes the hotel look much nicer and newer than it actually is in person. The only nice feature was the koi pond near the pool. The room was very dated! There was no "Movies on Demand" available at this hotel. I found a live spider on the floor and some bugs in the bathroom. The exterior doors which should shut completely and lock at the end of the hallways leads to exterior stairs were constantly open for anyone to enter and not safe. Old style building where lobby isn't even attached to the building where the guestrooms are located. Either switch this hotel to 2 1/2 stars or remodel for your ranking! January 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Room was too small for the furniture so there was no comfortable place to put a suitcase or sit. The walls were so thin that we heard offensive noises everytime someone walked by, flushed a toilet or took a shower in another room. We even heard the housekeeping staff's chatter outside our room in the hallway and their storeroom across the hall. We also almost lost our luggage because the bell capitan put it away without telling us after we checked out. July 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fully unsatisfactory I do a lot of business travel and it is very unusual to have to rate a hotel like so low but I feel Mr. Rebosio has a long way to go in order to get this facility up to the Sheraton standard. When hotel guests are unruly and loud in the halls at 2AM with other guest screaming from their rooms at them and hotel staff slow to pick up, it makes for a very unrestful sleep- the core function of a hotel. April 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed on Green Program and Treatment of SPG Member I signed up for the Green Program which was described as housekeeping not bringing towels and changing the bed during your stay or on days you choose. It turns out the housekeeping staff doesn't visit your room at all if choose Green, not even to refresh coffee service and empty the trash. I had to call for toliet paper. This is a false promotion of the Green Program and poor policy in my opinion. I also had a situation where I inadvertently thought my reservation was booked for an extra night. I had no other place to stay. Hotel Management refused to override the block on rooms and told me I had to leave. I ended up spending an extra $450 to fly out on the redeye that night. There was no concern that I was inconvenienced and not one offered to find me another nearby accommodation. I was with a group, the Columbia Business School, and I will recommend that we do not stay at the hotel. I am a faculty chaperone for this trip. January 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by somewhat disappointed I expected more. The room backed up to the street, the toilet ran and by our departure did not flush. Front desk was called and had sent someone. Fold out bed from couch was not made with sheets even though it was clear we requested two beds. I do have to say the room and grounds were very clean! The pool was nice and the location was convenient. April 22, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>