Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol

  • 701 East 11th Street
  • Austin,
  • Texas
  • 78701
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 or older with valid identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 223 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by THE GOOD & NOT SO GOOD FOR JULY 2014 WE HAD STAYED @ THIS HOTEL LAST YEAR AROUND SAME TIME. THIS YEAR WAS A LITTLE DIFFERENT. NOT SURE IF ITS BECAUSE OF FUNDING BUT HOUSEKEEPING SLACKED OFF A BIT. WHEN CLEANING,THEY DID NOT BRING OR CLEAN THE SOAP DISH & DIDN'T BRING A LIL TOWEL TO DRY OFF FEET. ONLY THE 1ST DAY WAS THERE ONE. ALSO ONE MORNING ONE OF THE HOUSEKEEING KNOCKED ON OUR DOOR TO SEE IF WE FOUND HER CELL PHONE. SHE ACTUALLY CAME TWICE TO LOOK FOR IT. THE VALET WAS TOP NOTCH! July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel has great rooms and ideal location. The rooms were clean and cool and the employees were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the this hotel to anyone traveling to the Austin area. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel....however Good hotel. If you a Platinum like me and have club lounge access, a word of caution. I been in this hotel of months and the evening Club Lounge staff clearly do not meet the standard welcoming staff of the hotel. He seems not wanting to be there and it shows in his tone with the guest. If you have kids, be even more careful of this passive aggressive undertone. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Presidential Visit Outstanding Service & accomodations; stayed at hotel during President's visit to Austin that restricted in & out activities. Hotel staff were exceptional during this time in accomodating guests. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Friendly People Staff was very friendly and always had a smile. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I've already posted a very favorable review on trip advisor. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Fine Option for Downtown Austin Been staying at this property for last few months while at work in Austin. Like many Sheraton properties it's a bit dated. The executive lounge is not open every day. If it's closed you get a voucher for two drinks and a appetizer at the lobby bar. I actually prefer that as the food and beverage down there is quite good. Hotel is a four block walk from the major entertainment district in Austin which is great. Overall it's a decent property. July 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room 433- Sheraton Austin at the Capitol We stayed in 433 and either the staff door (into an office a few feet down the hall) or the swinging doors (also a few feet down the hall through which Housekeeping push laundry carts) is very, very squeaky and somewhat obnoxious and definitely audible in the room. The conference rooms were freezing, more so than other facilities' conference rooms. I'm still trying to get my invoice to reflect the first three nights, billable to my employer, separate from the last night, which I paid for. May 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A restful stay A little out of the way from the main attractions but still a easy walk, the hotel makes up for it with nice gardens and good outdoor areas with a pool. Although spotlessly clean and comfortable, the rooms could do with an update but for service the staff are friendly and attentive which keeps me coming back. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by July 4th The room smelled like smoke despite being in a non-smoking hotel. I had to have staff come in and spray. The AC would not cool unless placed at 60 degrees. Tiles in the bathroom were broken and only two power outlets easily accessible near the bed. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Way overpriced This hotel looks, feels and smells like it hadn't been updated since the mid nineties. My room had a strange odor and was plain and boring in comparison to what I paid. Staff was helpful and food was great. This place needs a makeover bad. May 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by not impressed I stayed at your facility and have to admit, less than impressed. The room seemed of lower quality than a standard Sheraton; the handle on the sink was broken, the mattress was swaying on one side and the overall ambiance of the room was less than impressive. Especially for greater than $250 for the room. On top of it all, as a platinum member, I was charged for the internet service. October 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic Southern Hospitality I was pleasantly surprised with my stay at this hotel and most importantly the staff who were excellent especially Landon-Manager who made my stay with my family amazing! I was upgraded upon my arrival to a more than fabulous room and was treated above and beyond any expectations of a Starwood Preferred Member especially only being Gold. I do admit the hotel is a little outdated but I would rather stay here than any other hotel due to the service I received and the convenient access to downtown and University of Austin Campus. The rooms were clean and spacious and the internet was fast and I especially liked that you could sync up to 3 devices per room. I really appreciate all the great recommendations Landon provided and especially his outstanding customer service...I see why his staff is so professional and friendly and seem to enjoy what they do. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the Best! I lived in Austin for over 30 years and have attended many functions at this hotel. Now I live out of town but return on business quite frequently. All of the staff, from the front desk to the bartenders are fantastic and go out of their way to make us feel like we are home. Every once in a while we get a perk, like a suite, comped parking, or a free breakfast. The only downside I could mention is that I think they have been discovered, as it now seems that I am finding more nights full or with farily marked up rates than that of a year ago. Still, my primary place for downtown Austin. April 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by weekend getaway good old fashioned hospitality! would recommend this hotel and this city for a long weekend away June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious comfort so close to the capitol. We chose this hotel because of it's close proximity to the capitol. This was our first visit to Austin as a family. Having lived overseas for many years we have grown accustomed to four, five, and seven star hotels. We were impressed with the service, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and incredible city and capitol views. The sparkling pool and spa were fabulously refreshing after a long day of sight seeing and touring the city of Austin. There are many restaurants and areas of interest within walking distance of the hotel. The business club on our floor provided wonderful service, a great place to socialize, network, and hang out. We enjoyed our stay completely and are already planning on returning for another visit. August 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice except for the room air conditioner The room air conditioner just did not work well enough for a complete comfortable night's sleep. I woke up 3 or 4 times because I was hot and & two of those times I had to get up to adjust the thermostat (the fan speed must have some sort of auto timer or something). Other than that, it seemed clean & was comfortable. June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissatisfaction, reservation # 345524718 I'm very unhappy with the cancellation policy of your hotel. You told me that because I wanted to rearrange my stay from two nights to one night that I would have to incur a charge of $199 for the night that I wanted to keep. I've been an SPG member and a Starwood Harborside at Atlantis own for the past 9 years. Incidentally, I was able to book a room at your hotel for Saturday evening for $159 dollars through Priceline. That room should have been offered to me when I was in the process of trying to rearrange my schedule. April 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sheraton Austin has Blackout Dates SPG policy is there are no blackout dates for using points. SPGs website says, "Free Night Awards are available when you need them to be. That means if a standard room is available, it’s yours, even during holidays and big events." However, when there is a UT football game, you CANNOT use your points for a stay even when a standard room is available. Standard rooms are offered on a prepaid basis and somehow they claim this makes the normally standard room non-standard. This is simply a cover up of a blackout date, It's a date points can't be used for the exact same room that points can be used on another date. It's a blackout date. UT football game (a big event) equals no using points for a standard room at the Sheraton. It's misleading, a ripoff . . . a blackout date! August 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location! Excellent Staff Communication Below is an Honest review outlining my stay with at the Sheraton Austin by the Capitol. I believe that the executive has taken the necessary steps to improve all the issues that are listed below, I would like to personally thank Front Desk Manager Michael and the GM of the Hotel Robert Morgan for addressing the issues that we had during our stay and compensating me accordingly. , I truly appreciate the executive teams professionalism in handling this matter and I look forward to staying at the Sheraton Austin Hotel again in the near future. Pros: • Good location centrally located in downtown Austin • Some of the staff was extremely helpful (Director of Revenue Services & Manager Michael) • Would stay at hotel again • Room for improvement in representing the SPG brand with the change of ownership and renovation scheduled • Executive Team will address any problems promptly that you may have during your stay and provide fair compensation should it be deemed necessary Cons: • Power out in Executive lounge and no breakfast was served on March 24th 2014 • Coffee Machine broken for 4 days in the executive lounge • Door not working at the executive lounge and had to go down stairs several times to gain access to the lounge • 2 day’s during stay was notified the day of that water would be turned off for said duration of time • No hot water in the showers downstairs in the fitness room • Called in advance to ensure that we would be able to park the www.bullyprooftour.com trailer a secured parking spot as we have over 100k worth of sound equipment in the trailer. Arrived at hotel and was told that due to the new fire code that we would not be able to park the trailer on premise and was not provided any additional safe alternatives at the time which forced us to park the trailer on the street causing a great deal of stress and creating potential liability issues. • Was told that no roll away beds were available due to a fire code, upon further due diligence on my part found out that the corner rooms would accommodate a rollaway bed. • No paper in the printer in the executive lounge for 3 days called down on several occasions to notify the staff . . . Computer in the executive lounge has no virus protection and a plethora of bugs causing it to crash and run extremely slow. • Missing one reservation at time of check in • Extremely cold air blasting at the entrance of room 1504 May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was exceptional Philip, the Bell Captain at the Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol was the most professionalism and helpful individual that I have ever met in my many years of travel. His attention to detail and awareness of service is unmatched. He should be highly commended. June 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great clean hotel, with some needed improvements I stayed here for a few days for a conference and arrived late at night. The staff was quick to help get me in and easily available for services, requests, and room service. The hotel is clean, staff is great and rooms are clean. Room service was timely, delicious and reliable. As for critiques, I had made a club room reservation, which is overrated at this hotel. The club room, while always available, rarely has food in it, other than drinks. The food was sub-par at best and would not warrant the increased rate, which doesn't include any alcohol. So $30 - $50 for sub-par food/breakfast and soda...is unfounded. As for the room service, while it was good, there was a delivery charge (which I never understand since there is no other option to pick up the food yourself) when room service implies a delivery and already included a self-satisfying 20%. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extraordinary Staff Staff was wonderful. Very helpful and accommodating. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Downtown Hotel This is a good hotel for those needing to work in downtown Austin. March 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! Was very impressed with this hotel. Nice indoor/outdoor pool that allowed use during both the warmer and cooler February days, and coupled with a spacious hot tub. Great BBQ lunch buffet at a very reasonable price. Overall a great stay! March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Place!!! What a great experience as always in my beloved town of Austin. I love the location of this place and the staff is always so professional and polite. March 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by You get what you pay for I arrived at midnight and looked through the menu to order food. The menu table of contents listed a late night menu but nothing was listed within the menu itself. I called the front desk and was told all food service was closed at 11pm...how can a Sheraton hotel not have a late menu?? I was told I could order pizza instead....no thanks, November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Stay The Austin Sheraton is located perfectly, close to major arteries, but away from the congestion of being right smack downtown. Easy to get anywhere. The property is in great condition, and the staff are helpful and friendly. I hadn't visited the hotel in a few years, and it was just as great as the last time we were there. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service and Facilities. Excellent room, conference facilities and staff! Perfect location near Capitol. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No internet access and noise I arrived in the room and immediately could get on the internet without using the password given to me. After that I never could get on again. My room was adjacent to the elevators. Although it wasn't a major problem, I thought the building was breathing for a while until I figured out what the noise was. August 21, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>