Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 356 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst ever guest svs support - i wish i could give 0 stars I stayed at the hotel a month back and i tried calling them to get a receipt. Someone picks up the phone transfers me to stratosphere...where i listen to my call being transferred 20 times and 7 people putting me on hold and finally reaching the voice mail. I call again, ask the person that transferred my call in the first place to transfer me to a real person - her response - "I don't know what a real person is" - SERIOUSLY. NEVER will I stay there. And if Platinum status means anything - I expect Sheraton to fix this. April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Much for the Money I am normally fine with outdated hotels, as long as they're clean. However, paying $200 per night, I would expect at least cleanliness. The first thing we noticed was the stained curtains. The second thing was the old A/C unit which was covered in dust and grime. We were nervous to even breathe in the air that it was putting out. The third thing was the bathroom. It did come with a vent so naturally we turned it on when we took our showers. However, this vent did absolutely nothing. The bathroom got so humid and hot that water was beading on everything -- floor, walls, sink, etc. Things even became damp after the shower was on (our towels were wet before we used them) - it was disgusting. I almost slipped walking in the bathroom thirty minutes after we had taken our showers becasue it was STILL WET. Also, the bathroom wasn't exacctly clean as there was dust / hair in the wall frame moldings. It looked like it had not been cleaned in a while. Overall, I would not come back to this hotel , which is unfortunate as my friends and I love Philadelphia and visit every year. March 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs work! The staff was courteous and friendly at checkin. The sheets and comforter were stained and the thermostat did not work. The in-wall heater/ac was broken and either made the room too hot or had to be switched off. I was just too tired by the time I checked in to deal with being moved to another room or someone coming to fix the issues. In hindsight, I should have called to fix the heating and change the comforter because I had a terrible night of sleep. March 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by john. The reception employees are nice to the guests. However, the TV remote was missing and it was inconvenient to walk to the set and manually change channels. After about 2 hours of playing, TV pictures broke up and never regained viewable status. A gentleman employee on the 11th floor was rude in loudly knocking and loudly addressing us at the room's door trying to rush us into checking out. There still was 30 minutes until the check out time of 1:00 p.m. We had already informed the cleaning lady of our departure time. We had the quiet sign on the outer door handle. The location is really nice for our business with the university. The garage is very conveniently located. February 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellent hotel!! We had a delightful stay at this hotel during our recent trip to Philadelphia. The hotel staff were a pleasure to deal with, very responsive and very knowledgeable.The room was well appointed and far exceeded our expectations! We had a terrific breakfast overlooking the city and thoroughly enjoyed the area.I would highly recommend this hotel and give it a 10 star review! December 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fine Hotel Mostly excellent. The breakfast was good and could be improved by providing more convenient hot water (the coffee machine is very slow for hot water), having enough napkins and less dried-out burritos. The food choices are quite good. December 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel Everyone and everything was great. November 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grear place to stay Room was clean and look newly furnished. Bed was very comfortable. Room service is restaurant quality. Would stay again. November 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expected I booked the hotel for Drexel Family weekend because of proximity to school; location is great, but everything else fell short of expectations. The room was ok, but double beds should all be upgraded to at least queen. I thought a "city" hotel would have better bar/food services for their guests and the parking facility was tough to negotiate with all the pillars. I know the pillars are for building support, but it felt more like I was parking at a sporting event than a city hotel. I did use Starwood points to book the room and I don't feel that the 10,000 points per night were value for my points used. As I will be in the area visiting my son at school over the next 4 years, I will definately consider other accomodations for any future stays in the Philadelphia area, November 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond Expecations The room was great. Spacious and well stocked with personal care items. The Club Lounge was well beyond what i expected, Chef Marlene made wonderful omelets and Tammie made each visit special and welcoming. Only issue was with the elevators. Seemed like 1 of the 3 was not working. Had to wait several minutes almost every time. November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay My stay at the Sheraton was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast and snacks were a welcome treat. The host I believe her name was Wanda was a pleasure to talk to. I will definitley stay at the Sheraton again. It made my visit to sit with my granddaughter while she does dialysis at CHOP more easy. Keep up the great work. November 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Super comfortable bed; excellent identifiable amenities The service at reception was warm, enthusiastic, and very welcoming; inquiries were welcomed and responded to quickly and politely - with a smile!; what to do and where to eat recommendations were great = no disappointments. Our room was extremely comfortable - spacious enough to give the two of us each enough personal room. The sweet sleeper ensemble is great are the graphic designs of the amenities containers, especially the large typeface used to identify the content of each container - it was so nice not to have to wear glasses in the shower in order to distinguish which was shampoo, conditioner, and/or bath gel! November 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Done In recent years I have had the pleasure of staying at this Sheraton multiple times. I am on the University of Pennsylvania campus often because of a leadership role with the alumni community, and, when possible, I choose to stay at the Sheraton. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, not huge, but very adequate. I was upgraded to the Club floor, which adds some additional amenities. The Club lounge has added custom made omelets, at least I noticed that on Saturday, which is a serious upgrade for breakfast. Though I spend most of my time on campus, the Sheraton makes center city very accessible as well. November 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location This hotel is perfect for penn or drexel visits. The location is great! The elevators are very slow and there can be a long wait. The rooms could use work, our toilet and shower and sink had water problems. The staff is great and they had many treats for penn parents weekend! October 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Experience I have been to the Sheraton University City in Philadelphia several times now. I find some things are better and some things are worse than my previous stays. The service was good and they helped me to feel welcome. The room was good and everything except for the refrigerator was in working order. The refrigerator did not seem to have a cord and wasn't plugged in. The bed was comfortable and I slept well (unusual for me when I'm traveling). However, the restaurant was definitely not what it used to be. I ate breakfast there and it was not anything especially noteworthy. The eggs were okay. The toast was cold. I drink English Breakfast tea, but all they had was Lipton. On prior visits, they had English Breakfast, so this was all around a dissapointing experience at the restaurant. October 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location next to UPenn, but... The location is excellent, specially now that there is no hotel at the UPenn Hospital building. Expensive. However, there are no accessible rooms and the wheel chair can barely get into the "old sized" doors of the rooms and turn inside. It also needs a bit up "fixer-upper" since wall paint and carpets are worn and it seems like they have not been changed in a while. Also no shuttle is offered to go to the Hospital buildings. October 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel was clean and in a convenient location. Overall cleanliness of room and proximity to attractions was very good. Helpfulness of Desk staff was outstanding. Only downfall was early morning noise of rolling carts which prevented my family from getting a restful sleep. October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent hotel in the heart of Penn This is a beautiful hotel in the middle of the university city section of Philadelphia, walking distance to many buildings at the University of Pennsylvania. My room on the 19th floor had an incredible view of Philadelphia! The club lounge was quite homey and not the least bit intimidating (complimentary evening hors d'eouvres and breakfast were perfect.) I would definitely stay in this hotel again! October 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing We didn't have a room that properly accommodated all 5 of us. it also wasn't ready by 3pm for us. Had trouble with our credit card and no one would at least take a $50.00 cash deposit, then credit the rest the next day. My husband's payroll check was being deposited into that account the next morning, we even said that. One of our children age 14 slept on the floor. The room rates were very high for a family of 5 to be able to stay, eat, and park. We only ate at the lounge for the continental breakfast, it was ok. Wasn't happy about the pool only being outdoors. It's noted on the internet that it is indoors or all weather. Would think twice about staying there again. Even staying on the 18th floor heard a lot of noises inside and out. We've stayed at a few different Sheraton Hotels before but this one really disappointed us. October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Excellent Stay nice to to report our second stay was just as nice as out first stay in August . Your staff is friendly , and always is interested in the reason for our visit to Philly Your rooms are clean and comforatable to say the very least . The feature that was reallly great for us was that we could check out and leave our car until 6pm that day . Not all hotels do that. It was great .We'll be back . Many thanks ,Gary Bloodgood October 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good hotel overall... ...though I found the housekeeping staff a bit pushy on the check-out turnover. I understand the need to turn rooms over quickly, but when someone is obviously still occupying their room before the designated check-out time, the guest shouldn't be bothered. October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome customer service I recently stayed at the Sheraton University City Hotel for a conference. The staff is awesome and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here!! Rooms are comfortable and nice size for 2 people. October 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Paper thin hotel walls While the room was lovely and the staff was excellent, the walls in the rooms were paper thin. I had to hear the person next to my room's conversations as well as her early morning rant at her boyfriend/husband. I would recommend this hotel because of the proximity to UPenn, but I would not recommend it for a romantic getaway or relaxation. Hearing every word spoken is not very relaxing. October 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A calm harbor during a difficult time This Sheraton is located within walking distance of major hospitals in Philadephia. Staying here allowed me to be at my loved one's side at all hours of the day. I could roll out of bed and walk over to HUP. (Penn's hospital.) Their hospital rate was a blessing, as was their staff. Great place. Thank you, University City Sheraton. October 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great comfy hotel in great location to UPENN I have now stayed at this hotel about 4 times since November for an unfortunate amount of medical treatments I have to undergo at nearby UPENN hospital. This hotel is in a safe location (although at night, I'd be careful anywhere walking around). It's conveniently located across from a 24-hour WaWa and a few restaurants and Pizza places. The staff is always kind, considerate and prompt to help. Free wi-fi in the room is a plus. The rooms are spacious and clean, as are the bathrooms. I have seen a few bad reviews and while I have some suggestions for improvement (which I will go into detail below) - I truly don't understand the bad reviews and think most people are expecting the service of a 5-Star resort for an affordable, safe and reliable chain like Sheraton (which is a solid hotel chain). Some complaints I have read involved the speed of the wi-fi. Are you serious people? It's a hotel, not your own private wifi connection. I have never had a real problem watching hulu, netflix, checking email, etc. If you are there for more important work reasons and are the type of person that requires the reliability of super-fast wifi, then consider paying for a private, personal and portable wifi access point. Other complaints included sound from the elevator if they stayed at a room by the elevator. Yes, that can be annoying, if you are a light sleeper. In that case, come prepared with ear plugs, or, ask for a room change and I'm sure the nice staff will accommodate a change. Another silly review I read was about having to deal with a fire alarm in the middle of the night. Would you rather the hotel NOT have fire alarms? C'mon people. Now to my suggestions: There are 2 bottles of water in the room. One is complimentary, the other $4. I find this unnecessary and tricky. If the water bottles are in the room, then they should both be free. Best to put only the complimentary one in the room - and if someone wants more, they can come downstairs to the vending machine and pay for one. Suggestion #2: Parking is too expensive. Considering the hotel is about 15 minutes (at least) from the actual "downtown" area, I find $25/a day to be too expensive for hotel parking. Sugesstion #3: Breakfast options are limited at the hotel (thankfully the Wawa is across the street!). However, I heard that there is a "Club Room or Club Level" that offers breakfast - but I heard that is also about $20/pp which is ridiculous. There are limited breakfast selections at the Chinese restaurant located within the hotel (I heard bad reviews about their breakfast choice and ate their once and did not like it, so didn't bother trying their breakfast). My point being that if they perhaps charged $10/pp for the breakfast, I bet that more people would take them up on that option. (Not that I was even offered the option of purchasing the Club Room access - not even when I asked the hotel attendant at check-in.) Again, these suggestions are not gonna deter me from choosing this hotel again and again (as long as I can keep getting a reasonable rate online). I will be going back bi-monthly for the next 4 or 5 months...unless any of you guys out there have a quicker treatment (or cure?) for mother-'effing cancer :( October 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room 1218 Aircondition Unit I went to bed with the aircondition unit on as it was warm in my room. I woke up at 1:30am with the unit groaning and nothing I did to it stopped this noise. I finally turned it off but the room became hot, so I gave up on sleep! I paid $188.10 for my room, I could have done better at any other hotel. I told the desk clerk when I left but I have had no response from the management! September 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Hotel is well located The hotel was well located for me because it was at 15 min of my workplace. Also having a restaurant in the hotel is a great asset. September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel went over and above We stayed at this hotel while my grandson was at a baseball camp at the University of Penn. On Sunday the camp ended at 1:00 pm for my grandson. He wanted a shower before our 5 hour plane ride home to Seattle. I had already checked out of our room, but came back and asked if there was any way he could take a shower. Since our room had not been cleaned, the manager on duty made a new key card and let him shower. He did not have to accommodate us which was just one incident of the wonderful staff. September 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is conveniently located and safe This hotel is located across from the University of Pennsylvania's campus and a block from Drexel University. Excellent conference facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Very close to train station, shops and restaurants. Visible police presence made me feel safe staying in a large city. September 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but not worth the price Hotel and room was ok. Best part was Axis Pizza across the street! Room did not meet my expectations of a Starwood property. Could tell the maid only did the bare minimum at cleaning the room. Dusty furniture, dusty floor, air vent in bathroom was disgustingly covered in TONS of dust, shower head was coming out of the wall and bath soaps/items didn't get replaced. I'd give it a chance again in hopes the next room was better but would not pay the high prices they advertise. September 22, 2014
  • 2015-08-31T09:56:44.448-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_356, tr_356
  • loc_en_US, sid_992, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>