Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

  • 1380 Harbor Island Drive
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1276 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by November 2014 This hotel is very accommodating to your needs. It is close to the hotel and only 3.5 miles from downtown, the Convention Center, and the Gaslamp and most major restaurants in the area. Easy access from Interstate 5 and to the downtown areas along Harbor Blvd. Great view from either side of the hotel. November 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel with great location We stay at the Sheraton whenever we are in San Diego because we love the location. The Harbor Island site provides some great views, proximity to the water and a wonderful place to walk and enjoy the scenery away from the city bustle, yet close enough to provide a short trip to major shopping or the convention center. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT HOTEL Having read previous reviews before we went, we were overjoyed to find a great hotel where everything is working. Especially the staff in the Club Lounge. Clean and relaxing - we can only hope we get back some day soon. Dena Crump made sure we had the maximum pampering. November 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fresh, comfortable, relaxing and luxurious environment with a great view I have been coming to this hotel three times to attending the PraxisNow events hosted by John Assaraf since June 2014. The hotel is convenient located--only 5 minutes of free shuttle ride from the airport. The staff is always friendly and extremely helpful with welcoming attitude and smile. And, I love the awesome fitness center, amenities, and gourmet restaurants. With sunrise right outside of the large glass balcony doors and glistening bay waters, I often have the illusion of being on a fantastic getaway.instead. Thank you, Shareton. November 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel stay was excellent; however, see below... The valet parking situation was scary, uncomfortable, and uncertain. Sometimes and staff and/or manager could not find our car. November 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel needs a little upgrading Room was comfortable, but rusty shower rod, cracking old formica countertops, old tile. Not up to SPG par. October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Staff Returned here for another weekend getaway. Great staff everywhere in front desk, club, housekeeping and restaurant. I was taken great care of as a platinum member. Will definitely stay here again! October 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by You guys really need to work on Customer Service day 1 - I didn't like my room and wanted to move another one... Couldn't help me. day 2 - I was told the concierge was open at 7am and had to wait until 9:20 to get help. My whole day was delayed due to this. you should have just told me to go to the airport and rent a car. day 3 - waitress was too busy to check on our table. she was nice, but she had too many tables day 4 - I was told that I could get my check out complimentary extended to 2pm. 3 of my other colleagues told me they got the same thing during their stay. at check out, i was charged for 'late checkout' and the agent told me I misunderstood. I am a highly educated person who works for the government, but sheraton told me I don't understand what 2 hrs complimentary check out means. Thanks, don't send me a coupon. Never staying at your hotel again. October 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by loved the location great area for a walk, very quiet , had a good sleep October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff I had a training scheduled for two days with 16 associates from my company. I scheduled a small conference room, coffee service, lunch, etc. Everything was top of the line, on schedule with constant checking to make sure I had all I needed. I stayed an extra day after to enjoy San Diego and the weather being from Seattle. Again, the restaurant staff, front desk right down to the staff around the pool were friendly, attentive and made sure our stay was perfect. I was on the 11th floor and had access to the Club Level for the morning breakfast and evening appetizers to watch the sunset. Just a great experience overall and looking forward to coming back very soon. October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Versatile hotel, close to airport and attractions For business travelers, this hotel is close to the airport, but affords the feeling of a mini get-away with its setting along the water and marina. Nice restaurants are within a 15 minute walk. For vacationers or those adding a personal day to a business trip the property is close to many attractions in San Diego, including Little Italy, the Zoo and the ballpark. The hotel is actually sited in three different buildings, so make sure you know what you are booking. The Marina rooms are in the same building as the main lobby and check in, as well as the Club Lounge. The Bay rooms are in a different building entirely, not connected and a 5 minute walk away. Lanai rooms are in a third location and face their own, small pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. Platinum recognition is good, and though only Lanai rooms were available for online booking, I was upgraded to a suite in the Marina tower. One small problem was that I was on the 4th floor, very close to the marina. A bunch of guys partying on their boat in the marina until 4 am was loud enough to disturb my sleep several times during the night. Not all rooms in the Marina tower are situated as close to docked boats as the one I was in. One other thing to note: Parking is expensive here even though you are not in the city center and the parking lot is huge. If you are a AAA member, check the rates on a parking package. I shaved $15.00 off by going with the package as opposed to buying the room and parking separately. All in all a nice hotel, beautiful views and a versatile location for both business and personal travel. October 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Again This Sheraton is our regular "home" when we visit our daughter at her university and when we fly out from the adjacent airport. Our first few stays were wonderful and the hotel is gorgeous. We've quickly come to the conclusion it is understaffed and there's more attention given to large parties and weddings than individual guests. We arrived and had to wait in a line of 10 people to check in with only one person at the front desk. A manager walked by and told us there would be someone right out to help us. No one showed up. We waited over 30 mins for the porter to bring our suitcases to our room and when we called about the delay advising the staff we needed them so we could change and leave for an event they told us the porter was over at the other Sheraton helping out and he would be back soon. We went down and retrieved our own luggage. The air cond system in our room would not work properly each time we would open and close our sliding door it continued to indicate the door was open and it would not come on even when the door was shut and locked. We opted for the "go green" and in the past at all Sheraton's and Westin's we've received fresh coffee supplies and the bed was made. That was not the case at this hotel. House keeping removed some of our towels including our bath step out mat and a couple of smaller towels was left for us in their place! Our trash was emptied at least. I called for coffee supplies and we received 2 pouches of coffee. No cups, sugar, cream, etc. As always the bartender was amazing and the drinks lovely but he had no assistance and the bar was packed due to weddings and large parties. Again, an under staffing issue. We are always offered some additional points or a small discount on our bill but we would much rather have good service like all the other Sheraton and Westin hotels we stay at. We have decided to try another line of hotels for our future visits. It is aggravating when all we receive is a condescending reply from some hotel management person in response to our concerns! October 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel redeemed itself First two nights were rough. Seventh floor rooms we stayed in were pretty beat up. Paint peeling, tub wasn't clean, carpet was dirty and damp and other things. I watched this peanut stay on the same spot for two days. we used the ironing board and iron at 5 am and came home at six pm and it was right in the middle of the way. We figured they'd stow it. Day two maintenance guy took out the air filter and it was clogged solid.neighboring room was a smoking room and every time they lit up we got to share. I hate cigarettes. The double beds are like what you'd find in your aunt's basement when you visit. It'll do but it's not high end. We mentioned switching hotels and we were told we'd be still charged for the whole reservation. So trapped, we tried a Third room on the tenth floor. This third room was what I expected from my previous Sheraton stays. Clean, nice, quiet, smelled nice overall high end. King bed awesome. Both seventh and tenth floor views were awesome from both marina and city view sides. Valets were great. Parking is $30 a day. The staff (sue, bianka, brian, Enrique, the other room service lady ) were all incredible. Nice, professional, friendly, welcoming, very good crew. Even an employee we met down by the pool. He spoke no English, but he listened and pointed us in the direction of what he thought we were asking. The food wasn't special. What we tried anyway. The mini bar charges you for everything you touch so we moved stuff around to put our leftovers in there and my card was charged 615.00. I tried to square it away at check out and she helped but they have inventory numbers instead of products so I'll never know if I was overcharged. It ended up being a nice stay we just had to work for it September 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not for the business traveler! This hotel is in quite a good location. It's easy to reach and there's ample parking. The downside, and it really is a downside, is the service: it's lacking. This hotel really caters to tourists and not to the business traveler. Check in was tedious. Checking out was not that much better. The rooms are sort of Spartan. They resembled the sort of place your parents would have taken you for a beach holiday. The lounge always seemed to be crowded and, again, service was not adequate. If you're on vacation this hotel will probably work for you. If you're a business traveler, avoid it. September 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond the call of duty ! Dena Crump, front desk manager, went above and beyond the call of duty. My son and his fiancé were evacuated from Cabo San Lucas after hurricane Odile. Dena was most generous to hold a room for them until I received confirmation they would be in San Diego. That may be normal but, she then followed up the next morning after seeing they did make it in. Kudos to Dena. September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Directions 2014 The room was very clean and comfortable. I liked the balcony overlooking the pool. Our friend had a room overlooking the harbor which was awesome! We were there for a conference and the food served there was excellent. September 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel I have Ever Stayed At This has been hands down the worst Starwood as well as worst hotel experience I have ever had. From the moment I checked in at the front desk to the cleanliness of my room, and finally to checking out nothing has been even close to acceptable. I checked in on the morning of September 13th at which time I was told my room wasn't ready, which was completely fine, and I proceeded to go out and explore the city of San Diego. Roughly 4 hours later I returned to the hotel at which time I checked in and the front desk attendant apologized for the wait and stated "I apologize for the wait, but we were able to get you a room in our Lanai building with a bay view and it is one of the best rooms we have". Upon reaching my room (5308) I first found that the view was that of an old generator and tree, nothing that I had been promised. The next thing i noticed was a refrigerator sitting on the floor set ajar. Upon opening the refrigerator I was greeted with rotting food that had been left by a previous guest. At this time I went to the front desk and spoke with a manager (Jerry) and asked that the refrigerator be removed immediately. The next day, Monday September 15th, I asked for an additional towel for my room. Upon receiving the towel I noticed that it was NOT CLEAN. The towel had stains all over it. I then used one of my old, dirty towels to shower. Today, September 16th, I checked out of the hotel. Upon checking out I asked to speak with a Manager again regarding my stay which i was greeted by Leyonetta (sp?) who told me there was nothing that she could do to make it better. During my time speaking with her I missed my shuttle and asked if she could help me get a ride to the airport which another shuttle happened to pull up at the same time. I walked outside to get on the shuttle and was told by the Valet that the shuttle was not going to the airport and I would need to get a cab. He had a cab pulled up for me and I hopped in following the shuttle that was departing the airport. The cab I was in followed the shuttle (that wasn't going to the airport according to the manager and valet) all the way to the airport. Finally, I called the hotel one last time at which I was told "well there is nothing we can do if the shuttle driver wants to change his route". This was THE WORST hotel experience I have ever had. Not simply the worst Starwood experience, but out of any hotel I have ever stayed in my entire life. I appreciate a response and like to have a conversation with a senior manager as soon as possible as the way I was treated was completely unacceptable and at this point will never stay in a Starwood hotel ever again September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the views The view from our side of the hotel was spectacular and beautiful with the bay and the city lights. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic stay The room are well soundproffed and we did not hear the noise from the airport. GReat hotel. Nice views. A little bit far to walk to USSMidway and piers and downtown activities. September 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Misleading Website; Unhelpful Staff Booked Marina view suite, received view of car park. When I spoke to the desk I was told I had a City View room. When I pointed out Marina View on my confirmation, I was told this meant that if I looked left from the balcony I would see marina, if I looked right I would see the city. Confirmation also said under "Room Amenities" that Internet was included. I was told on check-in that I had to use my Gold welcome for this and included meant the lobby. Staff were rude throughout, I checked out next day and spent three nights elsewhere. September 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greated by the Hotel Staff upon arrival. Great location, view, food and service by the Hotel staff . September 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location I liked your hotel very much, but the parking is for the birds. This is the first hotel we have stayed at that charged for parking. September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All amenities pertaining to the hotel were excellent. The hotel was particularly clean. It was conveniently close to everything in San Diego. It has a wonderful view of the Marina and the city of San Diego. It also, provides a nice walkway around the hotel and the marina. The hotel also provided rentals for bikes, wave runners, paddle boats and all other water activities. September 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service Precious and the rest of the front desk staff did a great job making us feel welcome and valued guests. They showed a genuine interest in making sure we were comfortable and addressing our unique needs (traveling with an infant). September 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Food, but odd Room Had dinner in the Bay Tower restaurant and were very pleasantly surprised by delicious food. Very impressed for a hotel cafe. The Bay Tower room was a bit of a crunch for two beds and in our case 3 people. The one restroom was the only existence of a mirror which does not work for more than one woman in a room. This was a real bottleneck for our trip. Typically, there would be a second mirror on a wall in the room. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay! beautiful property, excellent SPG recognition, Anthony was terrific with our check in experience on 8/31! September 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Incredibly disappointed We have been staying at this hotel on a regular basis now as our daughter is in college here. Apparently since I'm just a preferred status member that doesn't mean anything. During my recent stay our confirmed reservation made well in advance was ignored. I booked for 2 beds on the harbor side and instead received a king and a roll away on the marina/airport side. I called 2 days prior to arrival to indicate it would be a late night arrival and request a refrigerator. There was no refrigerator and my confirmed room was given to someone else with the excuse that the hotel was booked full. I was told I could have some Starwood points and one night of complimentary parking. We never could get in and out of the parking lot as they failed to active our room card for parking even after 3 requests to do such. We had to call the front desk each time we needed to enter/exit the parking lot. We were charged for coffee/pastries that we did not purchase and had to wait a long period of time for a manager in the restaurant area to adjust our receipt. We arrived very tired, late at night and it took an hour to complete the check in, receive our luggage from the porter and acquire the roll away bed even though there was little to no activity at that hour of the night. Our room was cramped with the roll away and we were unable to have guests visit in our room the next morning as we had planned. We were not offered an upgrade but only told that we would have to move into another room the next day if we wanted our confirmed room with 2 beds. I was very kind to the person checking us in as it was not his error but I would like to know the Starwood policy for allowing a confirmed room to be "given away" . I am reconsidering our stay at this hotel in the future even though we have had lovely experiences in the past. I am concerned that I will arrive again to be told my room was "given away". I would like to speak with the person who decided to make that decision and let them know how unprofessional and inconsiderate that is.Obviously that is not a concern of theirs! On this stay we also discovered that the telephones in the rooms have the incorrect address listed on them. The address is that for the Marina facility and not the Bay tower. We gave the address to a driving service when we left for dinner only to discover that it was the incorrect address! This could be a major issue if a guest was giving the address out for emergency services. I find all of these problems completely unacceptable for a Starwood hotel and don't feel that receiving some points and free parking covers our inconvenience. We did sincerely appreciate the most excellent bartending services of Nick in the Bay Tower Lounge. He is extremely courteous, professional, fun and friendly. Beautiful facility but unorganized reservation staff and lacking in some guest services areas. September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Great Experience The hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Starwood and Sheraton property. Clean, well designed and decorated, plenty of amenities and very comfortable and nice sized rooms. My favorite part about this hotel is no matter which side you are on, your room boasts beautiful views. The South facing rooms view the city and what a wonderful view that was at any time of the day or night. My only complaints are the bed and the shower. The bed was a very uncomfortable "full" sized bed that moved a lot if my wife or I rolled over in bed. The shower in our particular room ended up being broken and due to the nature of our stay, we didn't find out until right before we were checking out. I believe that under different circumstances and given the opportunity, the hotel staff would've fixed the issue for us in one way or another. They were very apologetic and made up for it as best they could, I appreciated that. September 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel staff The checkin process was clumsy. We parked at tower one (where we checked in). However, our room was in tower 2. We were also hit with a $24 parking fee which was acceptable but should have been made known upon registration. The room (694) was excellent as was the bed). However, upon leaving the hotel, we asked the shuttle driver to drop us off at the first tower, he declined saying he had to first drop off an airline crew first. We simply asked to be let off abeam the parking lot. It would have taken only a minute. We were on a tight schedule. He still declined. We are both in our seventies and had that long walk with our baggage. It seems that some guests are more important than others. F. Arenas September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ok SPG line slower than other line for check in. We had a barking dog in the next room. The club room is great with outstanding views and great food. August 30, 2014
  • 2015-05-28T19:49:25.950-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1276, tr_1276
  • loc_en_US, sid_127, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 44 next>>