Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 334 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for our trip The Sheraton Gunter fit our plans almost perfectly for our recent trip to San Antonio. Ideally located for any of the multiple opportunities the downtown offers (the Alamo, the Riverwalk, the theater district), the hotel served as a great launching point for our plans. The room was spacious, the beds were extremely comfortable, and the privacy was excellent. We would most definitely stay there again. The only drawback was that the pool is not ideally placed to enjoy any sunshine. March 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy Hotel is in a nice location and looks good from the outside but is noisy and old. All the fans for heat/AC are located in the center court which increases the noise level. The windows are old and do not stop any noise. When I called to change room it took more than 30 minutes to get another key + I had to call back to find out what was happening. The new room was just a little bit quiter. I had to wear earplogs to sleep.Earplugs hurt my ears but I could not sleep without them. Hotel rooms look old. I was charged for a bottle of water after check out when it was labelled as free (I did not touch the other bottle with a price) January 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Supreme Service I chose this hotel to propose to my girlfriend. The hotel staff was so accomidating. They helped me with every step of my proposal. Brandon (the night auditor) helped me early in the morning (at the end of his shift) toe notes on 3 dozen roses. Thurston (the bellman) took my inital call and was excited to help, and was there to help tie on notes as well. Every night when we would return to the hotel, the staff would approach us with excitement. July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historical Hotel and Great Service Great experience with front desk. Stayed twice. Once we tried to check in early. The room was not ready, so we went to the Gunter Bakery to eat lunch (great food) and Chris came and brought us our keys. Next time it was very busy. We had a connecting room which was not yet ready, but Amy came up to our room when it was ready and brought the keys. She even checked the key to make sure it worked on both rooms. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Halloween with the kids Had a great weekend at the hotel with the kids. This was our 3rd visit to the property. Decided to upgrade to the club level and just loved Ben!! He was awesome and so friendly and gave us information to resturants in the area. Good Job Ben cant wait to visit again!! November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in San Antone I stayed at the Gunter for the first time last week. Outstanding hotel in an outstanding location next to the River Walk. All of the hotel staff were excellent from check-in to check-out. My room was superb - roomy and comfortable. Excellent access to computers both in the Club and in the lobby. The Gunter is a classic hotel from another era that truly stands out in downtown San Antonio! May 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel I loved this hotel! The only issue we had was a noisy baby next door and the hotel immediately moved us to a quieter room. The bed was incredibly soft & fluffy. I loved the history of the hotel. All the holiday decorations were gorgeous. The location was close to the Riverwalk and downtown attractions. There is a Starbucks right across the street. Score!! :) December 1, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historic hotel with character. The Sheraton Gunter has been our choice for a hotel when we are staying in downtown San Antonio. The location is great with the Riverwalk, Majestic Theater and restaurants a short walk away. The bathrooms are small, but the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. We have been regular guests at this hotel when we travel to San Antonio. December 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely experience altogether We only stayed one night but we were treated like royalty. We so appreciated the little details and customer service. There were only two things that we thought were less than awesome, and that was the price of parking and the fact that the club lounge had no service on weekends. Isn't that when most people travel? Seems an odd policy. March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful historical hotel in best location with fabulous staff From the valet parking staff to the front desk, housekeeping, concierge level and bartending staff, couldn't ask for more professional, expert service. Great recommendations for places to eat, visit in San Antonio. Location is perfect to visit any part of the city. I love historic hotels, this is one of the best. January 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Historic Gunter Sheraton meets all needs The Hotel staff was wonderful. Cheerful greetings and smiles made my family feel welcomed. We had some special requests and the staff accommodated every one. Rooms were spacious and enjoyed the history associated with this historic building/hotel. Great location--walking distance to all riverwalk attractions. February 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check In I checked in late and was never recognized as a Platinum member. My room was over a very busy area so sleeping was difficult. I went downstairs the next morning and an amazing front desk person named Amy changed my room and took very good care of me. It redeemed my stay and I will return thanks to her! February 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Be Careful Hotel is decent, however it appears they have no quarems with ditching your reservations for better opportunities, even when everything is sold out. Mon - Thurs reservation (SPG Lifetime Gold Member). Flight was canceled, called hotel and said I still need Tuesday - Thurs, I've seen the past hotels may cancel reservations when this happens. I said "do not cancel my reservation, how can you assure me I will have a reservation Tues - Thurs?" Lady said, I'm 100% positive, we will not cancel. Emailing and noting in profile. Called on Tuesday, reservation was canceled AND they decided to charge me. They get 2 starts because they removed the charge when I called. This practice frustrates me as frequent traveler. There was a conference in town and everywhere was sold out. It's clear they could easily back fill my reservation, they chose to leave me on the street so they could be assured an extra buck in case I didn't arrive on Tuesday. February 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms need renovation The toilet in our room had mold around the rim of the inside. The carpet was dirty and old and needed to be replaced. The air conditioner was loud. The room was very noisy with street noise which is why we found ear plugs next to our sink. Hotel is very tired and needs upgrading. March 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by magical at Christmas time A wonderful location, close to everything we wanted to do. The wi-fi was a problem, kept dropping off my laptop, and it seems unfair to want to charge a separate fee for each device, i.e. laptop, smartphone, ipad. OVera;; we loved this fine, historic hotel. December 8, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service & tradition This is probably the most positive hotel experience I've had in two decades. The hotel knew that I was in town for a special occasion, which they recognized up on my arrival. Both the GM and the Director of Rooms introduced themselves upon check in. Today, so many hotels focus on hitting the minimum threshold, which they see as points and minimum benefits per the loyalty program. This classic hotel's team focuses instead on guest recognition and guest needs. There are a ton of hotel options in San Antonio, but I will only choose the Gunter in the future. Hotel is undergoing a refurbishment, which looks gorgeous. Great location and well-appointed hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel could be excellent but . . . I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel while attending a professional conference in San Antonio. While the staff mostly helped in meeting my needs as a guest, the rooms were in poor shape. I experienced the following issues: i) towels and sheets were torn/ripped upon check-in (hotel staff quickly rectified this issue); ii) tiles in the shower area were covered in mold/mildew, which was not cleaned after mentioning this to housekeeping and/or front desk staff; iii) room carpet was extremely dirty and stained. As a result of the guest room condition, I will not be using for any future stays in San Antonio or recommending that colleagues stay in this hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool hotel This is a great hotel. Comfortable beds and pillows. Location convenient. AC wasn't as cold as I would like. Only cool to 70 degrees. Otherwise great place and staff very friendly and helpful. July 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lovely Hotel & Great Location The Gunter is a lovely boutique hotel located 2 short blocks from the riverwalk, 4 to the Alamo, a trolley stop at the door, with restaurants, drug store, bagels and coffee shop nearby. What else could you want? Super helpful & friendly staff, stately charm and just the right amount of elegance with lovely rooms and comfy beds. I was MORE than pleased with our stay. We loved the old hotel switchboard on display in the lobby. I would recommend the Gunter to anyone. It was a perfect gem, glad we found it. December 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Sales and Catering Staff Around Our association hosted a conference at the Sheraton Gunter and the staff treated us very well. They were very accommodating and provided the best atmosphere for the conference. And the food was absolutely amazing. May 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is visually appealing yet comfortable. The hotel has a very attractive look to the inerior yet was comfortable and relaxing. The front desk staff was professional and very helpful. Our room met all of our expectations and more. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was incredible!!! My husband and I were supposed to go to San Antonio together to a convention but due to a back surgery, he could not go. I went alone, stayed in the Sheraton Gunter and had a wonderful experience even though I did not have my husband there. The breakfasts were good and the evening repast. The last day my flight did not leave until 9 pm, therefore I was concerned about sightseeing then having to fly without showering. I was able to leave my bags at the hotel while I was out, and then I was able to use the pool shower and the pool so that I was refreshed for my flight!! I am soooo appreciative of that "extra" touch for me!! Thank you sooo much. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay One of the best Sheratons I have stayed at. The amenities are great and the location is close to the Riverwalk. Only negative was the hot tub was normally not hot enough. June 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay We were in San Antonio as part of a cross country driving vacation. We were checked in by Patrick who was incredibly helpful. After we checked Patrick helped us with recommendations of things to do, places to go, directions and restaurant suggestions. He was right on with everything. The hotel and our room was very nice but our room was somewhat worn. The carpet needs to be replaced. The leather desk chair was torn in several places. The bath and shower was clean but also worn. The shower head is unusually low on the wall making it a bit difficult for an average sized person to shower. The service of the staff, however, made up for the room. April 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Older hotel needs updating This is an older hotel that needs updating. The carpets were dirty, the A/C didn't work well, the sink was backed up, etc. etc. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel What a beautiful and historic hotel this was! Great location, walking distance from the "Riverwalk," and much more! September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Historic Hotel This hotel is centrally located downtown and only 1/2 block to the famous Riverwalk. December 7, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ear Plugs are not the solution I'm sure you have lots of comments about some rooms being really loud. I give credit to the staff that checked me in but the noise from mechanical systems was very hard to deal with. We also experienced poor service at the bell hop stand and concierge. They seemed very difficult to deal with uninterested in helping guests. The food at the restaurant and coffee shop was great, along with conference food. The rooms are clean and well tended, but the toilet seat was about as old as the hotel and showed it. That too easy a fix not to mention. The location is great and with a few minor changes this should be a flagship location. Best Regards, October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by SA Trip Perfect location. Great historic hotel. Very impressed May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Historic Hotel Near Alamo This is currently my favorite hotel in Texas for a number of reasons—but primarily because of the superb job the Sheraton has done in honoring the history of this century-old building and retaining the old world charm. I was upgraded to the Governor’s Suite, which I’ll admit was very kind of the hotel, but the other rooms are equally as nice. The Governor’s Suite was large and spacious. I especially liked the heavy wooden shutters that you could open in the mornings and close in the evenings. While sitting in the lobby, it felt like you were in the early 1900’s…with all the hard wood, marble floors and antique chandeliers. The Alamo is only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and the River Walk is equally as close. I recommend to SPG Corporate to increase the category designation of this property from Category 2 to Category 3. My opinion is that room quality, guest amenities (including full Club Level lounge), and prime location in historic San Antonio far exceeded expectations for what customers are currently paying/night. Judging by the guest reviews, Hotel Gunter has one of the highest customer satisfaction ratings in the network, and, I’m giving the hotel 5 stars across all points of evaluation. Keep up the excellent work, Hotel Gunter! Highly recommend this property if you’re considering staying in the San Antonio area. October 17, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>