The Sheraton Read House Hotel Chattanooga

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 431 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I wanted to love this hotel. The building is amazing and it is great to see older building keep their history and charm. However, upon arriving to our room there were dishes left by the previous guest left outside our door. The dishes were left from room service and included half eaten food and coffee that had things floating in it. The biggest problem however was the plumbing issue. Our shower was clogged and our sink backed-up into our tub. On leaving for dinner my wife and I stopped by the front desk to address the issue, after calling from our room three times without and answer. We were told that someone would fix it upon our return. It had not been fixed and now had black junk floating in it. At this point it was late and changing rooms was not an option for us. It was only an over night stay, but we will not return to this hotel or recommend it to anyone. The only bright side to our stay was Ashley, that helped as we left. February 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great location This is a beautiful hotel, I like the old charm of this hotel. Valet staff were nice and helpful with directions. check in and check out staff were not friendly. The air conditioner in the room was noisy and the sheets were wore out- no elastic. We fought the sheets all night long. Bathroom was clean, however hair was all over the place. Breakfast in the dining room was good. April 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible I had high expectations for this hotel as it is a historical site, however, the site left me with much disappointment. The rooms are in dire need of updating, including the peeling wallpaper, dirty floors, dirty bathrooms, etc. I paid for access to the concierge lounge, however, they failed to tell their patrons that the lounge is closed on the weekends! This is misleading and should certainly be addressed immediately and stated on their website. When checking in, the staff was helpful and stated that we could go up to the lounge and get water. After a long day out, I went up to the lounge and tried to get water. Since I could not access the refridgerator, I called the front desk. Whomever answered the phone was VERY rude and should NOT be in customer service as they told me I should not be there and cut me off everytime I tried responding to her questions. Rediculous! I will NEVER stay there again - in fact, this has tainted my view on Starwood Hotels. September 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Offering cold showers at the Sheraton! We entered the hotel lobby and was immediately impressed. Gorgeous lobby area. There was one person at the counter, even with three couples in line. We booked the romance package and asked to have the sparkling wine and strawberries to be delivered immediately. We were excited about our room. The junior suite had a great layout and a super comfy bed. However, there was no running hot water, so we had cold showers! If anyone has long hair and knows what is involved with cleaning said long hair, understands my pain. My husband went downstairs and noticed there was a maintenance man walking the hallway with a toilet plunger. I believe there were plumbing problems with this hotel. The a/c unit leaked so the floor under it was wet. After 2 1/2 hours, our strawberries and sparkling wine never showed up and we left for dinner. By the time we got back to the hotel, there they were hanging out by the door. The next morning we left the hotel, again after another round of cold showers (I do mean cold, not even a hint of warm water), disappointed by our experience. Would I stay here again? No. August 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst SGP Hotel Experience Hotel room had not been maintained ... paint chipped, walls plastered/banged up, visible small holes in wall, bathroom tube cracked and chipped, elevator dirty with empty bottles in it, one elevator not working, pool area filthy with no clean towels (dirty towels laying all over the pool area), club lounge did not have napkins, or forks for breakfast (my family had to share two knives and a fork to eat breakfast). It was also a pancake breakfast and there was only one small bottle of syrup left of which my family of four had to share. No coffee in club lounge for breakfast, they were out. I had breakfast at 8am. Tables in lobby area, by TV, were covered in with beer bottles and empty glasses. Club lounge night before was out of bottle water, there was none in my room, so I had to by some from front desk. My family and I were not able to log into wireless on any of our devices during the entire stay. My bill was double charged for parking $15 per night, only stayed one night. I had to get this corrected morning of checkout. Only bright spot, was the valet! January 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by travel Light bulbs did not not work.. charged for water. bill delivered at 3 in the morning. No one to carry luggage to room. Had to roll up my own suit rack. Honeymoon package was 2 pieces of paper. Hair in tub. December 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but be careful Double check your room when you enter! My daughter opened one of the waters (apparently you get one free) but the other was half empty. I threw it away without reporting the opened water so was charged $2.50. Now that may seem trivial to most, but I don't like feeling as though I am being manipulated. We already went the green route (by the way it means your room isn't cleaned/straightened at all), but what about one water per day? Not my usual experience at a Sheraton property. August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs maintenance Age has taken its tool on the Read House. The rooms, while updated, showed their age: dirty carpets, spots on fabrics, etc. Bed sheets did not properly fit the extra-deep mattresses, which wile comfortable, were unsightly when not completely covered. Our bathroom did not feel clean, and had a loose doorknob and broken mirror, and a sloppy paint/sheetrock repair job around the sink. Dust and cobwebs had accumulated in the corners and windows of the room, and the A/C housing had mold, dirt, and more C-grade patch repairs to the surrounding sheetrock. Not recommended. October 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor experience - internet does not work - rooms are stinky - bathrooms were not clean - staff courtesy could improve - $15 for Valet parking was expensive December 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by No the service that I expect The WIFI was not working and anypoint, the property looks empty, no staff in main lobby to Welcome guests February 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel has some issues... Chattanooga, TN is one of my favorite places to visit. I have stayed at the Sheraton Read House in the past and had a good experience. This time however was awful!! I would definitely not recommend or want to stay there again. Upon arrival, the valet seemed scattered and unwilling to assist getting my bags from the car. I unloaded my own bags on a cart. He then proceeded to tell me that "they were slammed" and he could not help me get my bags inside the hotel. I went to check to see if my room was available and it was not. This however did not alarm me, due to the fact that I was arriving earlier than the normal check in time. I asked where the Terrace Room was located and how to get to it with the luggage cart [I was there preparing for a conference and had items for that as well as my luggage]. The person behind the counter did not really know where the Terrace room was located and gave me directions using the elevators in the lobby, which made it difficult to get to my destination due to the stairs. I found someone upstairs that assisted me by taking by cart and going through the "service entry". Later in the afternoon the valet came in with additional carts with items needed for the conference and took my luggage back with him to store in valet until my room was available. I checked for room availability after check in time and it was still not available, but I had enough to keep my busy in the Terrace room. At 7:15 PM I went to check to see if my room was available, was given a key to a room [I am carrying several bags and from the Terrace room] when I get up to my room and unlocked the door, there was someone in my room [I had been put in a room that was already occupied]. I proceeded back downstairs with all of my bags, which by this time have become heavier than ever, let the front desk personnel know that the room already was occupied, at which time she argued "no, there was not anyone in that room", which I replied, yes it is. She disappears and upon her return, tells me that it would be a few minutes before another room would be available. I asked for the valet so that I could put all of my bags together [they had gotten heavy going from floor to floor]. The clerk told me that I could go back to valet and carry my bags. I then explained that I had been carrying the bags and was quite tired and just wanted them to come in with my original cart with my luggage. I waited and waited and waited [never leaving the lobby area]. A very nice couple behind me in the lobby began a conversation with me to explain that they were very frequent Read House guests and how appalled they were at the "non-customer Service" that I had received. They also relayed their concern with the clerk behind the desk. The clerk announced that my room was now available. I carry all of my bags with me upstairs [my luggage is still MIA] up to my room and my door was not completely shut and about the time I was about to open the door, a young lady [very friendly] opened the door. My initial comment was "you have got to be kidding me", she immediately let me know that she worked there and she was just checking to make sure the room was clean and all was well. I shared my previous experience with her, she apologized and asked if I was going out that night that she wanted to send something up to my room to compensate for the issues. [I never received any compensation of any kind] The room was ok [not great] it was a little hot, but I thought by the time I returned from dinner, it should be ok. I called valet and requested that my luggage to be brought to my room. Upon returning from dinner almost 2 hours later, my luggage still nowhere to be found. I proceeded back down to valet and asked for my luggage. The young gentleman said that he had not received a request for the luggage to brought up to my room. He pointed to the room where my luggage was and even opened the door but he did not attempt to pick my luggage up, but instead repeated that he did not know that I had requested my luggage. I carry my luggage upstairs. After a very long day, I am ready to just relax and get ready for another busy day. The air conditioner is so loud that I had the TV on but couldn't hear it. Yes, I could have turned the volume up, but I did not want to disturb my neighbor. I did not rest very well, as the loud AC ran most of the night. The next day, I did put the do not disturb sign on my door, as I did not want housekeeping to come in my room [I had enough towels/etc]. That evening upon returning to my room I had a note that stated Housekeeping was not able to clean. I slept better the next evening also. On my 3rd day, I knew I would need more clean towels / etc so I took the do not disturb off of my door, Housekeeping did come in during the day and make my bed and bring in clean towels - they did however LEAVE MY DOOR OPEN!!! I am not sure how long my door was left open and I did not have any of my personal belongings missing, but nevertheless, it should not have happened. Also, my garbage can was just left in the middle of the floor. Day 4 I decided that with the group that I was with and everyone wanting to check out at the same time, I would be proactive and get my car out of valet and park across the street. This would allow me not have to stay any longer than I absolutely had to, It had been several years since I had been at the Read House and it has most definitely gone down hill in a rapid pace. I had many complaints from our conference attendees regarding the cleanliness. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of character! great downtown location. food was good. parking convenient. make sure you dont get the haunted room :) August 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible Service This was by far the worst hotel service I have ever received. Whoever was supposed to be answering the "guest service" line from the room phones let it ring and ring without answering, to get any help we had to go downstairs and wait in a line (there always seemed to be a line, probably because no one answered the phones). I asked for someone to arrange a taxi pickup, after missing the wedding ceremony we were supposed to be at, we realized no one had ever actually made the call. We were unable to control the temperature of our room, but it took 2 hours for someone to tell us that. And we didn't receive clean up service once during our stay. May 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by How Embarassing!!!! I used My Starwood Points to Gift this room to my Brother and his two preteen daughters. He called me to let me know that the room was a disaster. The toilet leaked all over the bathroom floor, it was difficult if not impossible to flush, and the room was Dirty! The girls didn't want to sit on the furniture, much less sleep on the bed, but it was very late and they had been on the road for 11 hours. they decided not to ask to be moved, What gauls me though is this, My Sister, also stayed there, AND PAID for the same kind of Run Down, Tired excuse of a Hotel room!!! This Hotel needs to be removed from the Sheraton chain. I will be copying and pasting this review to Trip Advisor if someone from Sheraton doesn't contact me in person, in the near future. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Foul smelling bathrooms Our bathroom smelled foul. Front desk sent someone up with a spray bottle...he immediately said you need to be moved to a new room this is coming from under the floor. Front desk called and said it will be a while we are full. At Midnight they told us we have a new room and brought us the keys to our smelly room instead of keys to the new room. We called back, they said sorry go to the new room and we will meet you with keys. We did and stood in the hallway for 15 min before the keys arrived. By 12:30am we got to the new room. They did discount the room by $30 and give us breakfast vouchers. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience From the moment Ken checked us in, to the moment we left our experience was awesome. Ken was fantastic, nice and so informative. Our room was super and I just love the older section of the hotel. We debated about eating at Porter's and decided we would try it, I will go back it was so delicious. Melanie was very kind and we enjoyed her a lot as well as our wonderful waiter from Texas (cannot remember his name, sorry). Overall a marvelous and memorable experience, Thanks to all your staff for being so kind. May 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Are you kidding me for this price? The city of Chattanooga needs help improve this place, it is in the center of the downtown and is an embarrassment to a great city that we visit often.This place is beautiful when you enter the door, but the rest of it was a huge let down. The rooms are dark due to poor lighting, the walls and carpeting are very dated and have had some very poor repairs and upkeep done on the them, the carpet was worn out in the 80's and I'm not sure why it hasn't been changed. Then we went down to the "best steak house in Chattanooga" stood at the hostess stand for 10 minutes and couldn't get waited on. Stay somewhere else!!! July 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to SPG Standards I was driving from STL to ATL with my 2 kids and we always try to stay at starwood properties. My husband book this hotel for me knowing that we had driving for 7 hours and need to make sure we were in a nice quality hotel. The staff when we checked in was friendly we went to our room and I was surprised to see the quality of the hotel, hallways and room. The hallways had chipped painted by all the baseboards and looked very dirty. When we got the room, the bathtub was so chipped up we decided against showering. It truly was unacceptable. If I was not traveling by myself I would have changed hotels but I did not have the energy with the the kids. After we went out for dinner and came back to the room, I noticed that the comforter was dirty (had food stains on it) and by the dress the carpet had a big red spot stain (that was trying to be covered up but the dresser). It was late so we did not leave but we got out of the hotel as soon as we could in the am. The room and hotel needs a GOOD cleaning and we will not be returning to that property. My parents are starwood owners and we are big proponents of starwood and have stayed at my properties across the country. This is not the quality we used to. July 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Hotel Needs Lots of Work The Read House is in a state of disrepair. Our first room was missing the light over the tub/shower - there was just a hole in the ceiling with a bulb stuck in there. Outlet holes were cut too large for the outlets, so you could see into the walls all over the place. The desk in the first room was so beaten up that it looked like someone threw it down a set of stairs. There was also some sort of very loud mechanical noise every few seconds. The wallpaper is peeling or cracking ALL over the hotel. Bathtub surrounds are sub par, and there were stains on the sheets in the second room we were moved to. The staff is the only thing that saved this place at all - they were friendly and helpful, but until they have a MAJOR renovation, no chance I'm coming back. March 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to standard Probably the worst check in I have ever had, one guest in front of me and still took 30 minutes. Staff offhand and did not have a friendly attitude. There was an important envelope left for me which was not given to me, it was altering our evening plans and dress code. However it was found later clearly marked for me. Rooms were very "tired", peeling veneers, sink plugs that did not function. wobbly shower head, a surge protector attached to a wall socket (I am sure that was not up to code) Apart from the Parking Valet no one seemed to care. The looby is fantastic as are the ballrooms and meeting rooms. A pity the hotel is not the same standard all over April 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charming Excellence This historic hotel warms the soul. Sheraton quality - comfy beds and baths. Know this is a historic building and rooms are not cookie-cutter, set your expectations accordingly. August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel need improvement Lobby look great; expected the room to have an aged look, did not expect the following: trash in the room not vacuum from previous guest, 1 trash can shared between bathrm & bedrm, non working electrical outlets in the bathrm & the 2 in bedrm poor power consumption, broken iron board wih dirty cover, leaking iron, trash (bottle caps) in hallway for 2 days; did not receive green points & unable to check out at 645a with cash June 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by below average Unfortunately the bathtub was dirty and the staff was really overwhelmed with all the checking in and out. I finally got someone to clean it--but she did not speak english, she was cleaning the toilet-so I had to take the pistol grip and do it myself. she was very sweet-but!! Need more staff when you know you are going to be swamped. bed was TOOOO SOFT!!! Where is my Heavenly Bed??? Not there for sure. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hospitality The staff was always friendly, sincere, helpful and welcoming. No matter what our request or need was they were very quick to help. We loved our visit! April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So helpful We were checking in for a conference immediately after another conference had checked out. Front desk staff were helpful and patient with our repeated requests to check the status of the rooms. In addition, the valet service workers were polite, helpful and respectful, even though for the first few days of my stay I didn't have any cash with which to tip. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I do wish, however, that either a more affordable dining option were available or that microwave and refrigerator were available in the rooms. Even if I did dine in Porter's downstairs, I had no way to keep any food that I could not finish, or take a dessert back to my room for later. April 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by unsatisfactory We were given two rooms on the SPG floor; 6th floor. Upon disembarking the elevator there is an old musty smell. We went to the vending area and the area where there would have been soda/ snack vending had obvious signs of water damage... vending had been removed. Ice machine was still present. One room had a large hole in the carpet where it meets the entry tile. The window seal was broken for so long that you could barely see out of the window. there was obvious signs of continuing water damage above the window. The bath tub finish was worn away. It looked as though refinish repair was attempted which had also worn away. Grout was dirty and broken. Shower flow was good. Beds squeak upon slightest movement. Robe in closet had stain on left sleeve. Other room; repaired water damage above window which is of such poor quality that your attention is immediately drawn to it. Windows had greasy handprints. A/C set at 61F still would not stay on to cool room. No robe in closet. The bath tub finish was worn away. It looked as though refinish repair was attempted which had also worn away. Grout was dirty and broken. Shower flow was good. Beds squeak upon slightest movement. room service; soup, baked potato and soda were highlights. The rest of the food was awful. Service was quick and friendly. Valet service was quick and friendly. Check in was quick and easy. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel This hotel is excellent! I loved the old school hardwood throughout the lobby and the friendliness of the staff. This is definitely a great place to stay and is located in a nice part of the city. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel! We loved the historic features of this hotel! The lobby was beautiful! The only items we noticed that needed to be addressed were the water stains on the walls in the halls and the lumpy carpets in the hallways. Not complaining though, because it was a great room and we enjoyed our stay. The staff was also very friendly and courteous. June 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Sheraton Quality The room was cold and no heat available. We asked for a heater and it was brought up 4 hours later. Our room was not cleaned when returned around 430 PM and requested at the Front Desk that the room be cleaned. When we returned at 730 PM the room was cleaned. Big difference from my first stay there. Will not return again. October 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel bathroom - ick Though the area was decent and the room somewhat comfortable, my biggest complaint has got to be the bathroom. Never have I stayed in a hotel with a bathroom that was so dingy. The shower and tub were yellow and black with mold and grime, and the tile floor looked decades old. On top of that, the ENTIRE bathroom was wet after a shower. The walls (wallpaper, ew), door frame, floor, toilet, shelves etc. were covered with a thick layer of moisture following the shower. It was horrifying, and only made more sense as to why the mold existed in the shower: moisture. It's normal for a mirror or other surfaces to get somewhat foggy during/after a shower, but everything was DRIPPING wet. It was gross. If I had seen a decent photo of the bathroom before I confirmed my reservation, I would never have stayed here. Bathrooms need a serious upgrade, and until then, you shouldn't charge that much a night to stay in a room with a bathroom with mold in it. No thanks. Stay somewhere else. September 30, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>