Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

  • One Dock Street,
  • Calles 2nd y Walnut
  • Filadelfia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19106
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 471 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noise level was not acceptable Stayed two nights. Both nights had teenagers yelling in the halls and in their rooms. By the second night, I had to call the front desk and have security sent up to have noise level reduced. Didn't help much as noise level continued until about midnight. March 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good hotel A very good hotel: staff is very helpful; decor is solid and functional; very well maintained. I happen to like the area but it is on the edge of the center city. A little bit of a hike from some locations. March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel choice... This hotel is optimal for a business stay and for holding meetings, events, etc. I would highly recommend to anyone planning an event in the Philadelphia area. The bed was awesome! May 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No posted guidelines Stayed at the Sheraton In Philadelphia with my kids. They used the phone not knowing that was a charge for every call as nothing was posted on the phone. My kids were 11 and 8. If that was a charge they would have read and not made the call. I was not notified until check out and a huge bill later. The receptionist was somehow willing to help but not the manager who told me that the call prices was posted on the phone. I even took a picture of the phone to show it to them but nothing was done much to the bill. My kids now know not to use the phone in hotel. When is hotels going to stop charging outrageous prices for calls? I wont stayed there again. August 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's the Details The hotel is physically lovely, and it's location for proximity to the historic sites of the city is perfect. The lobby is beautiful, and the rooms are large. Because it is a low lying structure, there are no views of any kind, from what I could tell, but noise from the street/highway was not a problem. However, my stay on the Club Lounge floor, for which I paid a hefty upgrade fee, was a mixed blessing. While I appreciated the breakfast/snacks, the foods were depleted often throughout the day, despite the best efforts of the nice woman who was in charge of it. Further, without any notification, a sign magically appeared on Friday night that from this point forward, a glass of wine would be TEN DOLLARS. The front desk gave no indication that weekend policy differed from weeknight - it was a shock. Lastly, it was impossible to sleep past 6am because of the noise from the fitness center. Despite the fact that my room was on the other side of the floor, the dropping of barbells began like clockwork every morning, and I was not the only one woken up by this every day. It was incredibly frustrating -- I was there on business, and sleep was essential. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel but need to check on.... Hotel is excellent but there is an odor that hits you once you step out on the driveway outside the front of the hotel. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Food and Service Food and service was wonderful! Salmon was perfect - not overcooked. Staff was very friendly and helpful. June 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff could be a lot nicer When I called the front desk to request a late checkout (1 pm), I was rudely informed that checkout was at noon. When I asked if that restriction also applied to Platinum Preferred Members (5+ years), she begrudgingly granted the request. Despite the nice room, pleasant check-in experience, and fun time in Philly, her ill-mannered temperament left a sour taste. There are other hotels in the area with much nicer staff. I stay at Starwood hotels all over the world, and I can easily state that this location has the least hospitable staff. I recommend this hotel due to location, but ,again, there are friendlier, albeit non-SPG, hotels in the area. January 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel - Bad breakfast Breakfast entre - English Muffin, Ham, and Cheddar was pricey and awful May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Before you go, ask if a wedding is going on that night. If yes, go elsewhere The hotel is lovely, in a quaint section of old Philadelphia. Front desk staff was great, although there should have been more than 2 persons at the checkin desk on a very busy Saturday afternoon, with multiple wedding parties at the hotel. Lunch at the hotel restaurant Taste was surprisingly quick and delicious. The problem occurred in the evening with loud music from a wedding reception that I could hear on the fourth floor! When I called the front desk at 11:15 I was told the reception was not scheduled to end until 12:30am. Seriously??? At a hotel??? I was given a $50 credit on my bill, but would rather have had a good nights sleep. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Green Choice We opted for the Green Choice during our 4 night stay. After 3 days we decided we needed our room cleaned and towels exchanged. We were told by the maid to request this at the front desk. We informed the front desk and were a little surprised when we were met with resistance from the desk clerk. He said we had selected the Green Choice and was very reluctant to arrange for our room to be cleaned. We persisted and he said Ok. By the end of the day no one had cleaned our room and we had to call down to the front desk for fresh towels. If the hotel wanted their $5 Green Choice coupons back for that day we would have gladly given them back in exchange for service. October 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Renovated Rooms are Great - History at the Front Door I was in town for a large conference (June 2012) and was pleasantly surprised by the Sheraton Society Hill. I enjoyed having so much history right outside the front door and it’s very easy to walk anywhere downtown from the hotel (though it will take 15 mins or so) Cabs were plentiful if you needed to get someplace and didn’t want to walk. I was given a King room (newly remodeled) on the 3rd (Club) floor. Since everything in the room was remodeled there isn’t much to say about it except it was comfortable, clean, new and very enjoyable. The club room was very large and with your room key you could stop in at any time and grab a free water or soda. The gym looked completely new as well and there is also a pool at the hotel. If you want to be in a smaller hotel that has a lot of history all around it, don’t stay downtown among all the financial buildings and stay here instead. The only downside was that on ½ the floor, the emergency intercom was experiencing random static all weekend and the same speakers are in your room. I had several colleagues who were also attending the conference who were kept awake most nights by the static. When they complained to the front desk they offered to send up an engineer but conceded that there was probably nothing that the engineer could do. Since it was a sold out conference, there were no rooms to move them to. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable stay but food/beverage was pricey Many hotels offer free breakfast but your hotel had just the opposite, a very expensive breakfast. $5 for a cup of coffee is a bit extreme. The $5 green vouchers helped but your customers shouldn't have to make a sacrifice in order to get a good meal and a fair price. On a positive note, my room was very comfortable and clean. The LAN was pretty fast for a hotel LAN with so many people sharing. I also liked the close proximity to many of the historic sites in Philadelphia. I did catch a cold while I was there. I can't be certain if it was from the room or not but I recommend your cleaning crew disinfect the surfaces and the glasses between stays. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by good view from room - that was it The river side of the hotel offers wonderful views of the bridge and lights on the river at night , but the rooms themselves were average and in need of updating. It also could have been cleaner for the price we were paying. The windows had hand and even face prints on them! Carpets and especially the upholstered furniture were stained and old looking. There were also stains on one of the duvet covers on the bed. The brochures, menus and written material left out on the desk were misshapen and wrinkled from drinks being spilled on them and we didn't even want to touch them. There was no refrigerator in the room which was a negative for us. We also had a bad exchange with the valet service. I couldn't even ask a question before he told me he was "too busy for special requests" - and he didn't even know what I was going to ask him!! Front desk people were efficient but not friendly. Granted we were there at a very busy time - lots of weddings going on that weekend, but even so, it's their job to be extra helpful to all guests all the time. There was a "green" option for the cleaning service, so we chose not to have our towels replaced or the room cleaned during our 2 day stay, as did many of the other guests (cards hanging on doorknobs) but the cleaning carts seemed to always be in the hallway all day long. It was very annoying to have to squeeze by the carts when we were all dressed up for the wedding and later going out. I was shocked at the price we had to pay per night to keep our car in the hotel's own parking garage - with tax on top of it to boot. Over all it was not one of our better hotel experiences. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Please don't call guests after 8 pm I requested a roll-away bed for my daughter when checking in at 3:30; was not in my room when I returned at 7 so I needed to call to remind staff. It was brought up fairly promptly. However, front desk called the room at 9 pm to ensure it was delivered. My daughter had been asleep for 45 minutes (and I was in bed as well). She thankfully was not woken up. I appreciate the front desk's follow-up, but in the future... 1. Deliver the bed shortly after the first request (in this instance at check-in) 2. Do not call guests after 8 pm. This is far too late to bother guests, especially to remedy something the front desk should have taken care of 4 hours prior March 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty Blah Hotel is fine...that's about it. It looks like some things were recently renovated, and those areas are nice but other things were just overlooked. For example, the elevators are shabby & beat up (and smelled funny) and there is no automatic door at the front, so I had to juggle my briefcase & suitcase to even get inside. There was never a doorman to be found & I came & went several times. The room was comfortable and about as corporate as a room could be. It had a strong chemical/detergent smell that gave me a headache. Also, each time the a/c came on, it was like someone started a jet engine. All together, a perfectly fine stay, but nothing special. October 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Hotel and even better Staff This hotel is in a great location and is nicely appointed. You can walk to the key attactions in Philly and it is very quaint. The staff is great and I want to thank Ali at the front desk. He is a consummate professional and cares about the guests. He should train all Sheraton employees on customer service. You will not be disappointed with this hotel. The Sheraton Club is excellant and Latika does a great job there. What a great personality. The food is excellant there. The only issue with the hotel is the Parking at over $40 with tax. That is expensive, but the room is reasonably priced.. I will definately stay here again. August 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Understaffed and acquard Understaffed and Confusing This hotel is not up to standards for business travel. First Impression - Inadequate drop off area. I was left waiting in my car for vehicles to allow me to approach the entrance - Unprofessional doormen. Whistling for a taxi, the doorman left my right ear ringing for hours. I have not seen hotels use finger in mouth whistling to hail taxis for some time. Quite pedestrian. - No one helped me with my bags - No one consistently opened the hotel door for me - I had dropped bags for a late departure. No bellman to retrieve when I was ready to leave. Held me up for another 5-10 minutes. NO TIPS FOR ANYONE Confusion - The reception desk view from the entrance was blocked by pillars. I wandered around for 30 seconds looking for the reception. At first view was the concierge desk, not staffed and darkened. - Waited to check in and did not get a welcome, “are you checking in?” - There is only one button for the 3 elevator bank. It is not located in the middle, instead on the left elevator. The farthest right elevator opened, there was no light above the elevator indicating it was ready and the door view was obstructed by the thick walled facade around the door. - Room numbering is completely confusing. Instead of the room legend signs being consistent i.e. rooms 4000-4050 that way and rooms 4051-4099 this way; the signs mixed the numbering convention counting down and then up 4050–4000 and 4051-4099. Not a big deal in itself, but a big deal with a ringing ear, long wait, un-empathetic staff, confusing elevator markings, etc. Amenities - Thank goodness the room was clean, order less and in order. - Hot water took quite some time in the shower - The AC worked great and was in good working order - Tap water tasted good Conclusion This may be a OK place to bring your family where you have a squadron of kids to run around and figure out where things are and have spotters for the elevator but it is no place for the business traveler. Sheraton Society Hill does not value your time; they prefer to understaff to cut costs versus properly staff to deliver a quality service experience. I don’t know how the other hotels in the area stack up and I won’t go out of my way in the near future to find out. July 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel is terrible This is an old and awful hotel and is far and far and away the absolute worst Starwood hotel I have ever stayed at. The hotel is very old, the walls are thin and the air conditionioning did not work properly. I was there for a wedding and I know several guests (including myself and my wife, the groom, and the best man) who did not sleep well because the a/c would shut off at night, leaving the place very humid, and would make very loud noises which would wake us up when it went on again. On top ofthat, the TV did not work, the sink was backed up, the bathroom smelled, and the fridge stopped working. I won't be staying here again. August 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great hotel, just don't park there I attended a formal dinner on April 26. The dinner was fine, the very seasoned wait staff was just fine. Everything was great UNTIL I tried to get my car back. There was a 45 minute wait but mine was an hour wait because they messed up the tags. The Sheraton used to have self parking which worked well. Somebody decided they would be all valet which just ruins an otherwise nice experience. Unless they bring back self parking, I will strongly recommend that we hold no more affairs there. So, Sheraton, you decide. Would you rather assume the risk of self parking or watch your event revenue decline because of the horrendous end of the evening valet experience. May 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location but time for a renovation The staff was extremely pleasant and exactly what I would expect from SPG properties. I checked in at 5pm and was told my room was not ready. After a long day all I wanted to do was rest. The front desk was very understanding and proceeded to give me an available suite. Not sure if it was a standard suite or not because being platinum I wondered why it was not given to me in the first place. Unfortunately the room left much to be desired. The carpet was aged and needed replacement. The room also had a foul smell to it. On the plus side the location is great and with a little renovation this hotel can come back to life. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE I WAS NOT IMPRESSED WITH THIS HOTEL AT ALL. FROM THE VERY NOISY HALLWAYS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT, WHILE TRYING TO GET SOME SLEEP, TO THE EXESSIVE PARKING CHARGES WHICH WE WERE NOT INFORMED OF. I WAS NOT INFORMED OF THE CHARGE WHILE BOOKING THE ROOM, OR AFTER CHECKING OUT. I WAS TOLD BY ANOTHER FRIEND WHO CHECKED OUT BEFORE ME. AFTER I DID NOT SEE A PARKING CHARGE ON MY FINAL BILL, I INQUIRED ABOUT IT. I WAS THEN TOLD YES, SURE, THERE IS PARKING CHARGE, SO SINCE I PUT MY ROOM ON MY CREDIT CARD, THEY WOULD HAVE JUST ADDED THE CHARGES AFTER I LEFT, WHICH I FEEL IS DECEPTIVE. I WOULD HAVE THOUGHT MY FINAL BILL WAS WHAT WAS ON THE PAPER IN MY HAND, NOT $40.00 MORE THAN THAT. November 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy and 24hr room service improvement opportunity I was on the third floor and throughout the night heard what seemed to be furniture scaling along the floor. Also I was pinned between two adjoining rooms whereby I had to listen to chatter in the early morning hours from one of the rooms. Lastly, I chose the hotel for its 24hr room service. Sadly I called before 6am and never received a pick up to my call. I informed the front desk of my debacle and was told I would see extra points in my SPG account and could check out same day. My bill was over $290 and my expectations of the hotel have fallen flat. I am unfortunately disappointed in this hotel stay. March 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service Needs Improvement I am a frquent traveler, and I was disappointed by this hotel. One disappointment was how I rushed to the coffee counter to get there before it closed at 4 pm. At 3:45 pm, the staff member at the counter told me it was closed. When I told her that my impression was that it was open until 4 pm given the sign I saw and the booklet in my room, she reiterated how the counter was closed. Another time, I called from my room and asked for a pair of scissors--forty minutes and two reminder calls later, I received them. Finally, I asked for a bellman to help me with my luggage and some boxes I had. I waited in my room for twenty minutes, and then decided to lug the luggage and boxes myself. April 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed We had stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and this time was very disappointed. The rooms were very dusty from the first date and not once was it dusted. The room was never vacuumed. Only towels, bathroom and bed were cleaned. The TV had problems and finally last day I was there it was changed. The AC unit was VERY loud. My room service orders were wrong every time. The staff was very accommodating to correct the issues but I don't think there should've been an issue to begin with. I don't think I have to tell room service to get the order right this time or tell house keeping to vacuum and dust. March 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A little underwhelmed Hotel lobby and exterior were very nice. Major complaints- TV did not work- many of the channels were blurred or not working at all. There was no attendant in club lounge on a busy Saturday morning to restock things- coffee and food were out. Room service could be little more flexible with times. Most hotels I've stayed are more than accommodating if you want to order lunch at 11 am. There should at least be a brunch menu. Not everyone wants eggs and pancakes til noon on the weekends. I was impressed by the overall appearance of the hotel and shocked that these areas were so lacking. I would still recommend the hotel because I'm guessing I was just unlucky during my stay and these things are not the norm. August 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Thanksgiving Getaway Brandee greeted me upon arrival and was very nice and started my stay off perfectly. There was an upgrade available so I accepted. The room was nice and directly across from the club. Would be a great location if the club door didn't slam shut. A suggestion to install a soft close door, although I understand ensuring the door closes every time it's shut. During the stay there was an alarm set off around 0300 one night. No real issue with the alarm, safety first, but there was no access to the stairwells to walk back to my room, lots off waiting for the elevators as everyone in the hotel needed to get back to their room as well. Overall my stay was great and the staff was outstanding. Thank you! December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location The hotel is located right in the heart of Philadelphia's historic area, and is also within walking distance of Penn's Landing, South Street, and so many great restaurants! We loved the city feel of the area, yet the street that it is on is surprisingly quiet The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, very comfortable and inviting. We loved the open feel of the 4-story atrium lobby. The rooms are modern, yet homey, the beds are comfy and the bathrooms seem have been recently updated, have a luxurious feel, and are spotlessly clean. We totally enjoyed our stay at the Society Hill Sheraton May 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected more from Sheraton I was given a room that did not appear to have been used recently. The TV was not working when we arrived. I was unable to reach the front desk by phone so my daughter went downstairs to tell them about the problem. "Engineer Jason" came promptly and told us the tv was not properly connected. He also said we had an old phone which was why it did not have an extension number for the front desk. The heating/cooling system made a loud noise (almost like a door slamming) every time it came on during the night. There was noticeable dust on the wooden furniture and hair on the bathroom floor. April 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by bad start to the new year We stayed at this hotel for the New Year's eve festivities. The room was hot and if you tried to lower the heat the air conditioning came on, in short freeze or boil. In the morning we had to wait over one hour in order to get our car from the valet parking. They knew they had a full house but they only staffed one attendant for the valet parking. They do not offer self parking and being in the city is not easy to park on the street. We liked the dinner and dancing the night before but will not go back next year. I called to complain and they did not return my call. really disappointed. January 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>