Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

  • 115 Cavendish Square
  • St. Johns,
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • A1C 3K2
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children 18 years and under stay free when accompanied by an adult. Children 5 years and under eat free from Kid's Menu.  Kid's Menu is available for children 12 and under.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 19 years or older to reserve a room. Guests under the age of 19 must be accompanied by an adult.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 252 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff People make the experience and everyone I encountered appeared happy in their job and show a willingness to engage the guest in a positive fashion. February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a pleasant stay. Sheraton Newfoundland is always attentive to my needs. The restaurant food is excellent and complemented by a wonderful view of St. John's harbor. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by sheraton st john's The hotel is located close to St John's downtown, where easily can be found many good restaurants, the hotel is clean, great service is provided. February 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Trip to NL Excellent location and Great, Professional Staff rounded this visit. No question, I will stay here on my next trip. January 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by People make the difference The staff were helpful and courteous. The room was exceptionally clean. A great experience. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but service needs to be consistent and improved We stay at Sheratons whenever we can. Although this hotel has a great location we experienced a number of areas where service was either inconsistent or needs to be improved, for example at check in mistakes were apparently made with our check in process that prevented us from using the phone and it took three different calls with different responses to resolve, phone calls to guest services were frequently not answered, the layout of breakfast in the club lounge was inconsistent each morning and when we ordered wine in the lounge, not only was the choice limited and quite expensive but the quantity served was inconsistent. September 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton St Johns Service is not good. Reception is the worst among all Sheraton's I've stayed at. September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel Staff and services are great. Restaurant is very good February 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very pleasent staff great location within the city February 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel met my expectations. Great beds and Nice rooms. February 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a business hotel - noisy!! I stayed for a conference mid-week to the weekend (conference offsite). I had no sleep due to the extreme party nature of the clientele who were extremely loud until 4:30am each night. There was no SPG floor apparently (or it wasn't offered) and the staff I complained to about the noise did nothing. I had to check out very early on my final night (at 3:30am for an early flight) and the hallway was littered with ice trailing to the "party room" and he noise level from the adjacent room was such that I had no need to even worry about me making noise at that early hour. I'd never stay here again even with no other SPG option. And I travel frequently. October 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Loved it here We stayed from August 17-19 while in St. John's. When we arrived we got in line to be checked in and it was painfully slow until another staff member came out to help. Our room was facing the city but the view in a hotel room is not the most important thing since I did not travel here to stare out the window. The bed and pillows were wonderful and everything was spotless. The room service card that was left in the room for us to fill out for breakfast in the morning was filled out the second night and put on the doorknob by 3 am as instructed and was taken by morning so we would receive our order by 10:00-10:15 am. This did not happen. The card states that if you do not receive your order in 30 minutes it will be complimentary, so we waited until 10:50 and decided to call to find out where our breakfast was. Apparently they did not get our card which was taken off our door, so I asked the front desk staff about it and we were given two vouchers for the breakfast buffet in the restaurant located in the hotel. This was appreciated considering we just waited almost an hour for a breakfast that was never coming. Samantha was the staff member that helped us with this problem and she is wonderful. The restaurant and the bar in this hotel is great but when the bar is busy like it was Friday night it is a bit of a wait. Parking at this hotel is free and can be a nightmare when returning to hotel when there is a event going on in their area for weddings and such things. But most of the other times there are spaces available. The pool is also lovely and the work out area is being renovated but they have machines set up in a room but I did not go there so I cannot comment on that. Over all this hotel was great, the staff are great and the gift shop is very nice with a wonderful lady that runs that. Although like most other places I've stayed, every time someone lets their door shut you can hear it as plain as day. We also heard the noise in the hallways when people would walk by talking like they were out in the street. Our next trip to St. John's will be in the next few months and this hotel will be a top choice since it was very clean and comfortable and in a great location. August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love to visit I love to stay at Hotel Newfoundland aka the Sheraton. Always a pleasure. Thank you. November 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by beautiful view I had a lovely room looking out at the Ocean. Priceless. Great proximity to restaurants November 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by St. John's best The hotel reception was outstanding - friendly, efficient and welcoming. The location and views are outstanding - you couldn't be better placed! November 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is like coming home Whenever I visit St. John's I stay at the Sheraton on Duckworth. My business trips are usually 2-3 days, and being away from home is hard, but knowing I have the friendly staff and the luxurious rooms at the Sheraton to look forward to, makes it so much easier. The 'biffer' is also a great place to relax after a hard day at the office, with a nice glass of merlot, and their fabulous seafood chowder and mini desserts. It is a nice ending to the day. The staff in the biffer are wonderful, especially the two ladies who've worked there for years, always so welcoming and friendly. I love it. Marilyn September 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great view This hotel has a great view and great staff. Door noise is the hallway is a bit of a problem, but the rooms are lovely and very clean. October 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I am an SPG gold member, I used to be fully comfortable in the Sheraton series, but this time I was so disappointed by the service, staff, room service, it was a bad experience unfortunately this time. January 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one complaint Great staff and accommodations but a hotel of this size and price level really should offer in-room safes for clients' valuables. October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The room and bedding we had was very dirty.. When we got there the staff was great at the front desk. When we recieved our key, my wife had to go down stairs three times before we could get in our room. The first two keys would not open the door. So the third time we were given a different room on the third floor..312...The room was very unsatisfactory with regards to clean..The bedding was not fit to sleep in and there was mould in the top corner of the bathroom. We left after several minutes in the room and went downtown St. Johns, just to try and have a good night with our two kids. When we got back my two kids went swimming and I went to the bar downstairs. At about 9:30 we went back to the room and took all the sheets off the and went to sleep.. November 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by If not for the view we would have gone to another hotel While the view of the Narrows and Signal Hill - along with room service dinner - was wonderful, I was tremendously disappointed in the cleanliness of the room and the inconsistencies in the in-room items. The night we arrived I cleaned the toilet myself before using it. Regarding in-room beverages it was explained there was a shortage of regular coffee, but when some did finally appear (1 of 4 days), there was only one packet of sugar and no creamer/whitener. Two days there was bottled water left, two days there was not - we never knew what to expect. And to top it all off, starting at 11 pm one night we had two dogs in the adjacent room barking at us. Not what one would expect from a hotel of this caliber or a room of that price. July 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment start to finish Upon arrival, I was told my credit card was declined, in front of a lobby full of patrons. I used my husbands card called my credit company from the room and was told reception entered the expiry date incorrectly -twice - and that my card was in good standing. The hotel was quite noisy, but it was a busy weekend in the city, no problem there. I ran a marathon and was looking forward to a swim and a soak in the morning, but, again, the facilities were closed. Embarrassment and disappointment for nearly $200? I will try an alternate hotel for my next stay in he city. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay in St. John's Stayed two nights at the Sheraton Newfoundland in June for business. I quite enjoyed my time there and would recommend it to other travellers (either for business or leisure). Pros: Good location for both the centre of the city and the airport. Comfortable room. Excellent housekeeping. Great staff. Cons: Decor and furniture are starting to show their age. Food in the lounge wasn't all that good. I did not dine at the restaurant. Overall, a very comfortable hotel to stay at in St John's with excellent staff. Would definitely recommend it to others. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hit or Miss on sleeping I look foward and like to stay at this hotel. The people are very professional and friendly. Unfortunately, this time round I was unable to secure a King bed even though I had requested one. In other words, the staff did not meet my needs to securing a King bed. And the comfort of the double bed is nothing compared to the King. I did not sleep that well on the double bed. I slept like a King in previous stays though on the King beds at the hotel! The hotel is close to a great coffee house. I would go back to the hotel! Hopefully better luck nex time. Thanks! December 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Insufficient Internet The room was comfortable, the good bed and a nice view - all great things. Unfortunately, if you are on the lower floors (1 in particular) you will get the chance to look at the view all night because the road noise will keep you awake. If you need to connect to the internet bring a cable for hard wire connection because you will not be able to depend on the wireless - if you get a signal you can loose it at any time. I rate the room comfort as unsatisfactory because of the internet - sitting on the floor by the door trying to work is not comfort. May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A big thank you from Toyota had a weeklong meeting at this hotel and would like to thank the staff of Sheraton NL for their always wonderful service and attention to our needs. Special mentions to Edward, Glen & Chris in banquets. Linda and Mary for their awesome room service and Gary at the concierge and Fabian and Danny V for getting my control panel working in my room after it was not operating when I first arrived. And finally to Paul for storing my bins these past two weeks. The very best to you all and I look forward to coming back to Newfoundland again. December 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below expectations Have stayed many times however our most recent stay was disappointing. First, our room was now clean. The bathroom was dirty (urine on the toilet) and there were candy wrappers on the floor. We asked to switch rooms and were accommodated however again had to ask to have our bathroom cleaned (hair in the bathtub). Staff did not offer us any upgrade or extra amenities to compensate for the inconvenience. The fitness room was under renovation. We should have been told this upon booking as it we would not have booked if we had known. August 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not what I'd hoped for The Sheraton St Johns is my preferred hotel in the city. This last visit did to meet my expectations. Room 139 was positioned awkwardly in the hotel, and the heating/cooling was extremely noisy. I was most disappointed that the pool family was closed and I was not informed of that when I booked. This left for a dismal stay when staying with a child. I had I known, I would have rebooked elsewhere for this stay. The manager on duty did not apologize for this, or make any suggestions as to where else we could swim in the city. February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay My sister and I were in St John's for a wedding and this hotel was recommended. The hotel was clean and well kept with the exception of the carpet in our room. It looked dirty and in some need of some TLC. The beds and linens were comfortable The bathroom was clean and the shower had a great shower head and excellent water pressure. We had breakfast at the restaurant on two mornings and it was excellent The staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't swim in the pool but we checked it out and it looked nice, clean and well maintained .The hotel is in a good location within walking distance to shopping and great little restaurants on Water street. While I didn't find the hotel a high end sheraton, it was a clean, spacious, well,kept. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting St John's July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic location and really friendly staff This hotel was a very pleasant experience. The staff was warm and welcoming. As an SPG member, they upgraded me to a lovely room with an amazing view of the harbour and the town. The bed was very comfortable, the room was a nice size and I really liked the porthole window and the fantastic view from the bed. The breakfast was overpriced, but no more than other hotels (a pet peeve). The only real complaint I have is that they gave some people in my group a 50% meal discount coupon and we did not all receive one. March 27, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>