Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

  • 500 Canal Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to reserve and check into a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 659 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by John Review The pool environment needs to be more closely monitored. There was lots of drinking and bad language at the pool and my 8 year old daugher and wife had to leave because it got so bad. i was dissapointed that there were no Sheraton staff to monitor this area. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Double Beds? Really? A lovely hotel in a great location. I was shocked to see double beds in a room at such a fancy hotel. I think with all the money they make they could surely upgrade to queen beds for heaven's sake! I was very disappointed with the $42.50 a night charge for parking. There is no safe place to park so you have no choice but to pay it. My sister and my 2 kids under 12 ate breakfast in the hotel and it was 79 dollars for 2 coffees and 4 breakfasts' with no extra anything...that is utterly ridiculous!! August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by International Groups It is always such a pleasure to stay at this hotel as the staff always make sure the guests are well taken care of. The location of this hotel is simply The Best. The food is delicious and very well presented, the rooms and the view cannot be beat. I look forward to staying at this hotel whenever my tours are in New Orleans. Thank you all for making the tour passengers feel so welcome. August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best staff A hotel with comfortable beds and a safe environment is expected when staying at a hotel of this caliber. The random things such as the staff who clean the rooms and such can make or break a stay. Not once did I have to call down for extra towels, coffee, cups or anything. The lady who cleaned our room was so kind, friendly and attentive to keeping the rooms nice and restocked I thought my mother had come back to life and was working at this hotel. It couldn't have been better. I wasn't so keen on the new elevator functions; enter your floor on the panel outside and wait for the car it said to wait for. Woe to you if you didn't catch the letter the first time. And don't try to stop a door that is closing! I'm sure they will work the bugs out of this system in time. And I do wish hotels were not doing away with bathroom fans! August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great hotel Everyone was so wonderful and the renovation looks amazing! August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location to stay in. This hotel was very nice and clean. Was located next Bourbon street. Hotel staff was very helpful. We rented two rooms and both were very nice and roomy. We did not get to use the pool, but it seemed very nice. August 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by convention stay Hotel booked 2 conventions at same time. At booking did not specify beds were full not queen. rooms did not have luggage racks. Restaurant food was terrible and very slow--cold when we received it. Charged 4.00 for tea when she never brought it. was charged more on my card then what was on the screen when I checked out. Reception desk personnel were rude. Bartenders were great. Convention food was blah! Room was clean and confortable July 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel nice, some staff issues The hotel was nice and adequate for our accommodations. However, the security bar lock on our door was not screwed in tightly, so we asked Housekeeping if they had a screwdriver we could use to repair it. The lead housekeeper on the floor at the time was very short with us, telling us that it was not a housekeeping issue. We called guest services to ask for assistance, and they said someone would be up directly to repair it, but no one ever came that night or over the next 2 days to do so. When we were ready to check out, we went downstairs for a luggage cart and was told that only staff could bring them to the rooms, and someone would come right up with one to assist us. After 30 minutes no one had arrived, so we lugged everything to the lobby on our own without the use of a cart. All personal face-to-face contact with the front desk and the valet staff, however, was wonderful. August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Issues As a Gold Member I was a little disappointed with our last stay. 1. No one was manning the “Starwood Gold/Platinum” line had to wait about ten minutes. 2. We reserved two rooms – I checked in at 400pm and my friends arrived at 5pm – their room wasn’t ready until 8pm 3. We went out for some nightlife and returned @ 2am. We sat in the loby for a while waiting for some of our group. I had to use the facilities and found out that the men’s room was locked! The woman’s room was open? I asked why and was told that they lock the bathrooms at night. Not offer a key, but told I had to go to my room to go! 4. You had I think a security guy over by the elevators. I say think because he didn’t stop anyone. Why that “guy” couldn’t be nearer to the stairs and watch bathrooms too eluded me? Just thought you’d want to know. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Orleans conference stay I would only recommend the club level as the internet, breakfast and water were enough to cover the extra cost! The rooms were clean and well kept. August 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed My stay here was very disappointing considering I had higher expectations staying in a Sheraton hotel. We were given a room by the elevators so there was constant noise in the room. No free breakfast so we had to pay for a $22 breakfast buffet because with our conference we didn't have time to go elsewhere. We ran out of toilet paper and it took over 30 minutes and 3 phone calls later to finally have some delivered to the room. And I'm not big on staying at high-end hotels but even the low budget hotels have a microwave and fridge in every room. The room was clean and the staff were friendly but those were the only positives. I don't plan to stay here again. December 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Orleans Hotel is centrally located for tourists. Staff is very helpful. Hotel is clean and has a fun atmosphere. But the city is a mess. Roads and streets are deplorable. General population in area very rude. Trash everywhere. Does not feel safe. Such a sad state of affairs. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good experience Room was great. Staff was very helpful. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton NOLA Enjoyed the stay. Especially close to the French Quarter, Rivewalk and Harrah's casino. Could've improved the elevator wait time; unsavory types on streets near and around the hotel at night. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Travel The hotel met our expectations and was close to the French Quarter and downtown. August 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 worst stay ever I was at this hotel for a very large convention from 7/11-7/19. From the short staffing, to the middle of the night construction, this stay was abysmal. It seemed that management forgot to tell the staff that there would be many large conventions/conferences scheduled this summer. In the first 2 nights, contruction began at midnight & ran until 2:30 am, with drilling & hammering. Why anyone would schedule middle of the night construction is beyond me. After complaining on the 2d day, i did receive a couple credits on my bill, but was refused the ability to speak with hotel management. Further construction was scheduled during the day, but it was too late at that point to make those guests who were awakened happy. Had there been another option for alternate hotel space, i would have left immediately. Food was average at best, and significantly overpriced. The hotel staff on duty was wonderful but clearly overworked. Housekeeping seldom had rooms cleaned before late afternoon. Wait staff was pleasant, but not particularly attentive, due to having too few people working at any one time. It took 2 hours to get a sandwich in the Pelican Lounge. It regularly took about 20 minutes to get seated in the very empty Roux Cafe for both breakfasts & lunches. Given that there were several large conferences and conventions at this hotel throughout the week, I expected some dealys but this was completely ridiculous. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by the tour giudes ?? the tour guide desk had no clue on what they were going , they all should be replaced (I am a part time travel agent ) the could not give me direction on how to use cable cars out side on canal st.?? July 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience My reservation check out date was change from the discussion I had on the phone with the agent. When I called to extend my check out date I was not unable too. Staff was very generic in their response and did not care if my issue was taken care of. Several other members of the group I was with had the same experienced. I think was very unprofessional and will not recommend this property to anyone who visits the New Orleans area. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hospitilty The assistance from the hotel entry door staff, front desk staff, room service to the tour desk staff was provided with such care that we will plan to stay at this same hotel when we return. August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations The parking was $43 a day and no one would help me find self parking. Wanted ice cream on night at 7 and it is not on the menu and the gift shop was closed. How do you not have ice cream in a hotel? $5 Starbucks card offered for having the maid skip cleaning but I had to fight for the card every day. Don't offer if your not going to deliver. Small things I would not expect from this Hotel. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel Checking was a bit rough, as I arrived late. Staff made up for it doing week with attention to requests. Meeting rooms had AC set too high. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good place to stay I can't ask more of the staff from the front desk, housekeeping and valet service. I felt everyone wanted to keep us happy and comfortable. I had a convention rate that made the value excellent!! Good downtown location you are close to most major attractions. I definitely recommend staying at Sheraton Downtown N.O. The business office was surprisingly small. The only complaint I have is there was construction going on the third floor during our convention. (No restrooms & excessive noise. The hotel could have rescheduled the construction or moved the convention room location. July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Upscale hotel in an excellent location I recently spent a 4 day business trip in New Orleans and stayed at the Sheraton on Canal St. This is an excellent location being just off Burbon street, adjacent to the French Quarter and directly in front of the tram lines that you can use to get around the city. The hotel is very well appointed and the service was excellent for the most part. As an SPG member I had asked for a late check out but on my departure day the desk wasn't aware of it and onlygave me until 1:00 pm. Not what I had requested. Other than that I was very pleased with the club floor room. I had an excellent view of the river and the room was always clean. The fitness facility is top notch with lots of equipment, exterior windows and a view of the pool. One small concern was that twice I returned to my room and the door was open. I didn't note anything missing but my laptop etc. was in the room. Housekeeping also walked into the room un-announced one day when I was getting ready to go out for the afternoon. They had some excuse that they forgot to check something during their rounds.?? The two events combined were a little unusual for a hotel of this caliber. Not sure what was going on there. August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average I have stayed at this hotel many many times over the last few years, so this was an exception to my normal experience but for whatever reason this was just a bad stay. I was stuck in a "accessible" room on the 11th floor right off the elevator. When I was given the room I asked at the desk if it was accessible as I would not have taken it if it were, and receptionist assured me it wasn't. When I got in room I called down to see about getting moved and it was the only room available w/ king bed.......Being right off the elevator in a party place like New Orleans is not always the best place to be if you are trying to get a good nights sleep!! In addition to the bad room/location, the tv was broken (had no picture), and I had to call down to get hand lotion and soap to the room. It was just a very below average experience at a hotel that is generally really highly regarded by me. I will definitely stay here again as I used to have ambassador status with spg and the upgraded rooms are absolutely amazing, but this specific experience left much to be desired!! August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convention Experience Was at the Sheraton New Orleans for a Fraternity convention latter half of July 2014. Meeting facilities seemed to be above par at rooms in which I sat through presentations. Was surprised that breakfast dining had been subcontracted to Starbucks! Concierge Room was nice, especially with hidden (boarding pass) printing ability! Elevators seemed hard-pressed to handle crush time crowd during my time there; I was also a little surprised that the some of the items in the room were not working as well as they could- specifically, a loose faucet in the bathroom, a loose light at the door, and a door that took more effort than usual to secure, both upon exits and entrances. Internet was very good, and I should add that the room service pizza (meatballs and mushrooms) was excellent! July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close Enough For NOLA Fun but Quiet for Rest and Relaxation Initially the elevators were very busy and our room was located next to them but overall, the experience was pleasant and the location worked for night life and for day time travel through the city. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs Major Improvement I am a Starwood Preferred member and try to stay at one of the properties on all of my business travels (3x times a month). I was extremely disappointed in the Sheraton New Orleans. They put me in a room that shared a wall with an elevator shaft so I had to try and sleep with the sounds of people talking waiting for the elevator and it moving up and down between floors every night. Additionally, I called for a wake up call for an early morning, and the front desk called me an hour early after one of these sleepless nights because they had written the hour down wrong. When I had to wake up for my 6am flight out of New Orleans, I tried to take a shower to find that there was no hot water to be had at 4am. Not a pleasant stay at all, will be staying elsewhere on my next trip down. June 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dissappointed, had higher expectations. Even though I specifically requested the room to be prepared daily it was not done. The towels were not always clean and the sheets in the bedroom were not changed atleast once during a 7 night stay. The quality of the food at breakfast and the in room dining was below average. It was a lot more enjoyable to walk down the street and have breakfast at the ihop and at 50% of the cost. The room had cracks on the ceiling and the rugs were not vaccumed at all during the stay. July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprisingly comfortable We have never stayed at the Sheraton property before and we were surprisingly pleased. The lobby area I had a nice ambience. The room was comfortable and the view was fantastic. Angelle H., checked us in and was very informative with the answers to our questions. I would only say during large events, all the staff needs to be helpful. The bar area was a little non responsive. We really enjoyed the Light refreshments in the lobby. We would definitely stay here again! July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly Service This hotel has excellent customer service and response. The club lounge is also very good for a domestic Sheraton. Note that I had internet problems during one of my 3 nights. August 3, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>