Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

  • 75 East State Street
  • Columbus,
  • Ohio
  • 43215
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 73 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need more staff at registrations desk Stayed at the Sheraton for conference. Rooms were comfortable, meeting space was very functional, food was delicious. Only complaint was a lack of adequate staffing at the front desk. Both at checkin and checkout, there were long lines. Only 2 people at the desk were dealing not only with checkins and checkouts, but answering phones, checking bags, answering customer questions/needs. For a convention hotel, should certainly have more people in front to handle all the different tasks. There was no organized way to form a line, so it was frustrating to have people just walk up to get their needs met while others of us had been standing and waiting. April 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I've never seen smaller beds. When I booked the hotel and entered my credit card information online through this site, I assumed that my credit card would be charged for my reservation at that time like normal booking websites (Expedia, etc), but it was not. At the end of our stay, the bill was a disaster. I was splitting the room with a couple of friends for a conference, so another gal checked in, and learned that the room had not been paid so they took her car and put a hold for the full amount with an unauthorized upgrade. When I came a couple hours later I asked about why her card was charged so much they said she asked for an upgrade (which was false). They handled the matter quickly, but a number of the front desk customer service had unpleasant attitudes throughout the weekend. The "upgraded room" had the smallest beds I've ever seen, I think they were double, and as 3 of us split the room, two people in one bed was very uncomfortable. The temperature in the room was difficult to regulate as well. I had requested extra towels, which they brought quickly but subsequently took away before we could use them (they were left folded nicely where housekeeping put them, then someone came later and they were gone). The location of the hotel was nice and the staff were helpful for the conference needs. The on-location Starbucks and restaurant choices attached to the hotel were also nice. April 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff knowledge was a problem I upgraded to the Club Level and attempted to get the promised free wireless in my room. When the page came up, it had the $9.95 daily charge on it. So I called the front desk who transferred me to a manager who said the free wireless was only available in the club room. I went to the club room and it still said it would be $9.95. I attempted to call the front desk on this, was put on hold, waited 5 minutes on hold and gave up. Finally, I went to the front desk and the young lady there explained the charge would not show up on my bill. Not sure why I was not told that in the first place. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent hotel This hotel shows all the ameneties a SPG hotel would present but the small things make them struggle in the overall experience. First, trouble with tha water has caused me to take cold showers for the past 3 weeks. Secondly, I enjoy sleeping in a cold room and the A/C fan was damaged and made the most annoying noise. I was told it was going to get fixed and it did not. Lasty, overheard the staff making comments about my group of work and how we will not be allowed to come back to the hotel. Again, the hotel is great, but there are some things that make me wonder why would they go through the burden of physical renovation when the employees themselves require further understanding of customer service. April 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, great amenities....bathroom not thoroughly cleaned We loved the hotel; it had great amenities,and the room was very comfortable. However, when we went to use the bathroom in the room, the seat was dirty. Also, we had to hold the toilet handle down to get it to flush. The shower area wasn't as clean as it could have been as well. We asked for a 5:30 wake up call, but it didn't come until 6:00 A.M. We did set an alarm to be safe, but if we would have relied on the wake up call, we would have been late and missed our spot in a competition,,,our sole reason for staying in Columbus. The hotel itself was nice and we probably would stay again.....I guess I would just insist on the staff coming to take care of the uncleanliness off the bathrrom next time. April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Despite issues still a solid hotel Quick Summary: I booked this hotel for the lounge access hoping to get some work done in a more spacious environment than my room but was told upon check in that the lounge would be closed for a private event. This was dissapointing that it was not disclosed sooner. Pros: 1. Very clean room and seemed to be newly refurbished. 2. I was able to use the lounge for a period of time before it closed for the private event. Cookies, pretzels, crackers, popcorn and candy were available during the day. 3. Lounge is on a high floor and has great views of the state capitol building. Cons: 1. Even after expressing disappointment that I had booked a room expecting the lounge nothing was offered aside from an apology. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by a night in columbus i find the club floor rules differ from other Sheraton hotels, even the other hotels has free beer and cheap wine, and you want to charge $25 for Hors devours, and even withhold an upgrade for your Gold preferred members to the club floor when the hotel is not even near capacity, i truly found this insulting to your best customers. I also find that this hotel is large enough to have a pet-friendly floor for those who choose to bring their obnoxious barking creatures, this is an annoyance that only a pet owner should endure, Those who are not pet owners or those who may have pet allergies especially do not appreciate this. I find your staff kind and friendly especially Ian, i find the building outside a little dirty and unkempt on the south side. Otherwise i enjoyed this property .a little fine tuning would make this the crown jewel in downtown Columbus December 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Renovation; Need to Kick Up a Notch Last stayed when it was under the prior nameplate. The renovated room I stayed in was very nice. Cleanliness was good, but many of us put down the toilet seats and lids, so the entire toilet is part of the cleanliness need. Also, the soap and shampoo holders are held on to the tile in the tub/showers with screws. These in my room were rusted significantly and detracted from the overall nice feel of the room and renovation. Couldn't believe they are still charging for in-room internet access. In this day and age $10 per night seems very passe. May 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel Needs Improvement Hotel has serious maintenance issues and housekeeping flaws – mold, peeling wallpaper, mouse-sized dust bunnies in vents, rotten food left in fridge and articles of clothing from previous occupant. I had to change rooms twice due to issues. Still no reply phone call from hotel’s GM after 7 days. I would recommend selecting other hotels in the area. December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel I loved staying at this hotel. Everyone was very friendly. The associates at the front desk were very patient with all the guests while we were checking in for my wedding. I could not have found a better property. The location was perfect for the wedding venue we had chosen. The staff in the restaurant/bar were very accommodating. Early that afternoon we told them we had a wedding party in house and they said they would keep the bar open late for us. It was the perfect end to my night. Thank you very much. June 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by weak given class of hotel Generally nice room; same configuration as last time I booked. Again, as last time, room is underlit. Hard for both of us to sit on couch and read = only lamp lit only one end of couch. Should have been lights in soffit above couch. Nice exercise facility. Thought the offer to give $5 off at "local facility" if we skipped having room cleaned was deceptive. Was not clear that "local facility" only meant within the hotel. Still dumbfounds me that classy hotels do not give free internet but cheap ones do. April 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by For the most part, I rate this hotel highly I attended a private evening function; drinks, food, service were excellent. Room hallways were clean Starbucks was aethetically pleasing, invited lingering, service and food/coffee excellent. My only critique is that the room's carpeting along the edges needed serious vacuuming. December 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by just ok location is convenient for businees needs. The hotel is nice, however some things were disappointing considering this is a 4 star hotel. The fact that there is no refrigerator or microwave is aggervating. The first two rooms I had, both shower curtains smelled of mildew. The air conditioning seems to not work to its potential in each room. Others I stayed with noticed this as well. Some of the ladies staying as well received no house keeping at all. I don't prefer any housekeeping. I chose to put my "go green" sign on my door and continue to use my same towels, linens, etc. I did not receive any coupons or 500 bonus points as stated on the card. I don't see the point of the rewards if we don't receive them. The staff was friendly and the valet staff was wonderful! I would come back to this hotel, only because of the excellent location. August 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by What ever happened with the executive lounges? The room comfort and cleanliness were exceptional. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Yet the club lounge on the 20th floor fell bellow minimal expectations. Firstly, it did not have power outlets for laptop computers; one had to unplug the table lamps to access a power outlet. Secondly, on Saturday morning no less than ten pre-teen cheerleaders with their chaperons took over the breakfast buffet, the TV area and even the computer/printer station used to print boarding passes; other guests literally turned around and left when confronted with the crowd. Thirdly, the printer did not work and so it was not possible to print boarding passes. Sure, weekend customers are very different from weekday customers but when did executive/club lounges stopped being a place where professionals can work and relax between meetings? March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and beyond From Valet too check out. A1, Staff went out of there way to help my wife with a few items she forgot. Later that night her wallet fell from her purse and was left behind in a booth near the lounge. We had no idea until the front desk called our room. Her wallet was returned with everything accounted for, including a significant amount of cash. Room service was superb. Just can't say enough good about your staff and facility!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! March 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff We had a really nice time and the staff, including the valet services, were extremely polite and accommodating. The facility is beautiful and very well maintained, and has very nice veiws of the city from all rooms. Unfortunately, something happened to the water and we were without use of any water in the morning. However, the staff did their best to try and facilitate dealing with the issue at hand while meeting our needs to the best of their abilities. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Last stay was unsatisfactory I had no towels, washcloths or toiletries. Contacted front desk and they told me they would send some up. I got the towels and lots of lotion. I specifically ask for a bar of soap to wash my hands. Had to go to front desk to retrieve. My room was not vacuumed and there was a crusty substance on the desk. I reported all at checkout. My company paid for the room, so they were going to give me 7500 Starpoints. Called twice, month passed - not resolved. November 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleasantly surprised This was my first stay at the Sheraton in Columbus. I came for the Capital City half marathon and the hotels I have used in the past were not available. I was very pleased with the style and cleanliness of the roomsand the desk staff were wonderful. This was my first time using the valet parking, and I loved it. The car was always ready and waiting when i called again the staff were friendly and helpful. I would book this hotel again. May 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I had high expectations. Unfortunately, I could not get into my room until late. My administrative person booked a room on the executive level, my room was not serviced properly I needed to use restroom and discovered an non-flushed piece of toilet paper, there were two adjoining doors. It would be great to inform guest at booking that all rooms on that level are adjoining. I was placed on regular floor without offering comp. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Shower problems Great place to stay but I was upset with how cold of a shower I had to take it was very cold the day we checked so that night before we went out on the town I told the front desk about our problem and she said she would get it taking care of right then. That morning went to take a shower again and the water was cold. The water in the sink was really hot but the shower was ice cold. So they didn't fix the problem at all :( April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brakefast Buffet Visited for the TOSRV bicycke ride. Breakfast Sunday morning, May 12, was poor. Ran out of food, asked for replacements, coam slowly if at all. The hotel was completely booked with riders, and management could easily anticipate that every guest would eat food and depart by 8:00am. Room thermostat continued to reset to unoccupied mode. Temperature was set by guest, only to shut off after cycling. May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience I had reserved two rooms for my brides maids and myself to get ready for my wedding. My husband and I also made arrangements to have our room block with this hotel. I would first like to say this property is wonderful. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I would like to give a special thank you to John, Theresa, Cassie, Abele, LaTyce, and Bill for making our experiences memorable. June 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Above and beyond Except for one rude and irrascible security gurard who seemed to dislike being bothered by the guest service errand he was sent on by front desk staff the staff at this hotel went well above and beyond in thier service to guests. Great hotel and great staff. Would definitely stay again. March 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Comfortable bedding. Good points: Very comfortable bed. Stylishly decorated. Spacious room. Very lg. bathroom. Nice view. Bad points: Very dim lighting. Not enough accessible and working electrical plugs. Bathroom sparingly stocked with tissues, paper, and just enough towels. May 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel with freindly staff. Our stay was for business and our every need was met by the friendly and efficient staff. The only negative was with the glasses in the conference room. They were obviously dirty with lipstick and other stains noticed by all those around us. May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Breakfast in Bed The only disappointment I had from my stay was that our breakfast in bed (oatmeal and traditional eggs, potato, and meat) was subpar at best, and barely warm by the time we received it. Otherwise we loved our stay though April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4.14.13 -white stains on carpet outside bathroom - rust stains on vent above shower - difficult to control room temp; up multiple times during night to turn temp down - raucous crowds in hallway during evening April 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay I stayed here for a conference. It was, hands down, the best conference experience I have had. The rooms were great, the staff friendly and helpful, the facilities worked, and the food was fantastic! April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service The staff at the Columbus Sheraton were a pleasure to work with. Great customer service and very attenative to the needs of guests. May 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was freezing The heater in my room blew cold air and because of the snow storm, the television reception was non existent. March 27, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>