Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

  • 75 East State Street
  • Columbus,
  • Ohio
  • 43215
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 152 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Columbus 2011 The typical Sheraton experience... clean, quiet rooms, cordial staff, everything I have come to expect. My only complaint was the television. Bad picture, few channels, the sound jumped from barely audible to being too loud in a single click, and the menu function did not work. I hardly had time to watch it anyway, so it was not an issue. I would strongly consider booking at this property for future visits to the area. The staff makes the difference, and they were terrific. October 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BIZ TRAVELER warm and friendly from check in to check out...nicely appointed comfortable rooms with adequate work space...room upgrades have been awesome April 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful staff and clean rooms The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. She was very efficient and even asked if I had a room preference, which I never even knew was an option! She also took the extra time to direct us to some local dining options. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was so comfortable! July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very clean and great location I enjoyed the spacious and clean room. Parking was close and easily accessible. The afternoon/evening staff was very friendly and helpful; the morning members were not as sociable. July 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didnt get the room that I reserved. I reserved a room with a king bed. When I arrived (at night) I was told that check-in is at 3pm and my room had been given away. I suppose next time I will reserve any room available, show up at 3pm and take over the best room at the hotel. Also, the water heater went out and our water was brown and cold. Good thing we didnt drink to much of it in the middle of the night. March 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean, enjoyable, best for weekday business travel I actually attempted to pay more to avoid staying here because the negative reviews posted here, but could find no availability. So my wife & I celebrated our first anniversary here, and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The facilities are nice, our room was clean & had a decent view, the staff was friendly & helpful, and the bed was PHENOMENAL! The location was nice, except that in the immediate neighborhood there were virtually no restaurants open over the weekend. Plan ahead for places to eat and plan to drive if you stay during a weekend. Otherwise you'll end up paying a hefty premium for the average food & mediocre service at The Plaza restaurant onsite. Contrary to some reviews here, there were no hidden fees (sure, you can pay for Wi-Fi, but it's not a secret). To summarize, we had a blast, the room was comfortable, the service was friendly & prompt, and there are much better restaurants around but you'll have to drive to them. October 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most comfortable bed ever I usually don't get a goods night sleep on business trips but the bed and the pillows here are better than home. When I met my colleagues in the morning it was unanimous. Most comfortable bed ever July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very high on my list of places to stay From the moment Stacy checked us in to the moment Alicai assisted me with finalizing my bill, it was delightful experience. The room was spacious, luxurious, clean and nicely appointed. The bathroom was the same July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall great experience The room was quite spacious and comfortable. The bed and chairs were quite nice. The only downside was the shower had no traction in the bottom and the temperature of it kept fluctuating drastically. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff is Great !!!!!! Just the Best clean rooms May 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and Bad We had a good and bad experience at this hotel. The Good: The room was nice and roomy, refrigerator and microwave, nice view and a comfortable setup. Also, the staff was great, courteous and quick in responding to all of our issues. The Bad: Upon arrival we were given keys to a room that didn't work. We got that taken care of then went back to the room and it was either still occupied or just dirty, with the bed unmade, towels in the bathroom, glasses here and there, etc. We then got switched to another room on another floor and low and behold that floor was for SPG reward members with a plaque stating so at the elevators. Just wondering why we weren't assigned that floor initially. (Felt like an outcast because it's the reason I choose that hotel) One other issue was the shower knob was very hard to switch on to the point I called and thought the water didn't work. The staff came and quickly remedied the problem, but I could have done the same, but I felt like I was going to pull the knob completely off. My wife tried with 2 hands before she agreed with me. Bitter sweet because my mom, dad, sister and her family live there and we will be back often and the location was great to where they live. Not sure if we want to go back there or look for another hotel in the vicinity. I'm a forgiving person so I just may return. I did mention that there was NO problem with the staff. Thanks July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by So-so experience The hotel is well-located downtown, and the food is good. However, the front desk phone rings a minimum of 10 before it's answered. I was also not notified when a bag that was lost by the airline was brought to the hotel - even though I called down to ask about it. (I was told that there wasn't a note in the system about it so it must not be there.) I went down later for another reason and asked about it again. Even though there was still not a note in the system about it, the lady looked in the back and it was there. I had missed 3 hours of a concert because of this - and that was the whole reason we were there. Very frustrated. May 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Paper thin walls. Stained bedding Had read previous reviews but figured it couldn't be that bad. I was wrong. Could hear my neighbors till 5:30 in the morning. There were four drunken guys with a cooler and a love for MMA fighting which they emmulated till the wee hours, throwing themselves against the wall and the adjoining door. They were so verbally abusive to each other we were uncomfortable complaining because they would know who it was. We complained in the morning to the front desk who could care less. The lobby was filled with High School Students who were unsupervised and the hotel personel did nothing to help the situation. Luggage was everywhere and kids were laying all over the furniture and computers. Entrance was thru the valet parking which made it awkward. March 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It was fine...but The stay was fine, but not great. I was there for only one night on business. The room looked fine and seemed clean. But there was a dull hum in the room, which was awful when trying to fall asleep. The shower was freezing in the morning and the towels were sandpaper.The ironing board was burnt and stained. Then I found old blood stains on the sheets. Overall it was fine, but I probably wouldn't stay again and I am glad it was only one night. April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great downtown experience. Great location downtown columbus. Close to everything. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel, unless you need Internet Room was of a high quality and beds very comfortable. My only issue was the quality of the internet in the room was pretty poor, this is a problem when you have a child trying to watch Netflix! Location is in the business district, so many of the restaurants close early. July 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Neglected Property Not Worth the Price This hotel is the embodiment of apathy. Rooms are not thoroughly cleaned; bathrooms are not completely stocked; walk hooks drop because they are attached only to sheet rock, not studs. On the day we arrived the hotel's air conditioning was not functioning. At all. In the entire building. But the front desk did not alert us to the problem at check in, only admitting when we inquired after spending time in the room as to whether it was always so warm and muggy in the rooms. We waited the full 20 minutes noted on the valet's podium - and then some - for our car to be retrieved in the morning. The hotel is located centrally in downtown Columbus and has a fully Starbucks in the lobby - those are its most attractive features. I would recommend visitors to Columbus look elsewhere first before booking a room at the Sheraton. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service is excellent The staff at the Sheraton is exceptional. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Especially, Charles and Glenda at the front desk. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Road Warrior Great biz hotel...staff very accommodating to biz traveler...room service menu limited but food and service very good July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Eccentric Quibbles One demerit: Your "No Weapons" policy. I work for a state LE agency and carry off duty. I would have been able to do so in Columbus as well, were it not for this policy. Because of it, I had to leave my weapon at home and go unarmed for a week. I will not be able to stay with you again in future for this reason. One demerit: The free local shuttle was one of the main reasons I booked. It was completely useless to me because (a) it does not run on weekends and (b) it does not run before 7 a.m. Thus I had to walk the mile or so to the Convention center and back each day I was competing there, dragging my equipment bag the whole way. On the plus side, it was quiet and peaceful, housekeeping was unobtrusive, the free internet was a nice thing at an upscale hotel, and the young man ( bellman? valet? ) at work outside the front entrance Friday morning was really showing some hustle. PS "Primary purpose for travel below" is a required field but none of the options fit me. June 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by do not stay here The hotel room was not comfortable. shower did not work well and electrical outlets were broken. It was difficult to get interenet access in room. The staff did not seem to know where anything was and could not give directions to any area sights. I was also told it was very close to the convention center and it was not-at least a mile drive. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Visit Spent Valentine's weekend in Columbus to visit our son. Hotel was great! We had a double room. We were surprised at how spacious the room and the bathroom were. Very comfy bedding. Only drawback was the slowness of the Wifi in the room. Never used it in the lobby. Location was good. Walking distance to Arena district and many downtown areas. Drove to Easton - another great place to visit while in Columbus. Had a great time! February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the staff at this hotel! Charles at the front desk and Scott in room service are the most professional, courteous hotel staff I've ever had the pleasure to experience in my business travels. I love the room layout and spaciousness of the bathroom. June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't Arrive Late in the Evening We made our reservation about a month before our stay and when we arrived, they did not have the room we reserved available. We were told- it's first come, first served. My children were not too happy with sleeping on the sleeper sofa, when we had reserved a room with 2 double beds. Towels had holes in them. Shelves in the bathroom had quite a bit of dust on them. Had to wait about 45 minutes for linens for the sleeper sofa. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel I had a block of 25 rooms over a weekend (2 nights). I was extremely impressed. Maggie Butler (Conv. Service Manager) had a "will do" attitude to make sure everything runs smoothly. The front desk staff were extremely nice, helpful & out to please. The Hotel is new renovated & beautifully decorated. The rooms are beautiful. Housekeeping was very attentive & helpful to all our needs. I highly recommend this Hotel. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable Spacious & Clean The room was big enough for us to be comfortable! June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Biz Taveler Glenda at the front desk exemplifies great customer service June 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by "Not bad" doesn't mean good So, the amenities included with the room and such were neat and all, but, the escalators broke down thrice, the elevators were slower than molasses, the air-conditioners seemed to not function whatsoever, and the staff, aside from the one nice lady at the desk, always seemed rushed and somewhat unkind. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable This hotel has a great downtown location and the bed was outstanding. I do have a suggestion for the Manager....your Valet parking has a sign stating parking is $17.00 for all day...when we checked out I saw the charge was $23.00. I also read this same complaint on Trip Advisor which I contribute too..I asked to speak with the manager (unavailable) someone from the desk explained that all night parking was $23...I was trying to make the point that all day means a 24 hour day...I don't care if the parking is $23...but I do care that you are playing with words to get money...people don't like that....so if you want to keep a good image on Trip Advisor I suggest you change your signage. April 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by You need improvements! * Friendly staff * When I checked in, the person told me I ordered a handicapped room. Not true. * Not enough electrical outlets. There was only 1 outlet at the working desk area, and I had to move the desk to get to it. * 2 pieces of the molding at the base of the wall were off and laying on the floor - gives the appearance that the place is deteriorating. May 8, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>