Sheraton Kauai Resort

  • 2440 Hoonani Road
  • Kauai,
  • Hawaii
  • 96756
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 703 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Valet needs improvement Two issues need improvement: 1).Before 6 am, everyday, the Valets used the key alarm to repeatedly honk a cars horn to locate the car in the lot next to our room. Do you think you could number the parking stalls so they don't have to use the car horn to find the car??! 2)Front desk committed to applying our SPG discount to our bill at check out; so far to date, that has not occured. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Expensive but offered a relaxing vacation spot Booking the hotel 4 months prior to the trip through our travel agent, I did receive a pretty good rate on two rooms. One room for my husband and myself the other for our two kids (age 18 and 14) After checking in I discovered I would be charged a $30 daily fee per room. 8 days, 2 rooms is a bit of an additional charge. In our kids' room, the TV did not work which wasn't a big deal since we were not there to watch TV but still having to pay the $30 daily fee for that room seemed a bit extreme. Food was very expensive at all the eateries on the Sheraton resort . Resort was nice but definitely overpriced in every area they could over price you in! June 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Our stay at the dump We were put across the streein last rooms next to trash bin dark walk ways vary old rooms rooms out of the 1960s made are reservations 7 months in advance asked for rooms next to rest of family were told no problem on arivel sorry can not do it they were also put on back roe in the dark I would like my points back July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Starwood Quality Its really unfortunate that my stay was so poor. The grounds and staff are not to par with many other Starwood hotels I have stayed at. Firstly, they do not greet you with a lei, which was really disappointing since my fiance had never been to hawaii. It a small gesture that the staff missed an opportunity. Second, when we arrived, the valet asked us to park our car then go check in. They didn't valet my car which takes away from the vacation experience. Next, the check person didn't try to find a nicer room for my new bride and i for our honeymoon. He clearly said his priority was a group that was coming in. I am a gold member and he gave me a room with a view to the parking lot. Next, the pool is a mess, the pictures are deceiving. Its very small, they are teaching scuba in the pool, kids are screaming and no one is helping you find a chair. When you go to the cabana to get towels the first thing they tell you is that you will owe them money if you lose your towels. They never offered to set up a station for you, no customer service. It felt like i was at a public pool. So we tried the beach, guess what - no drinking at the beach. Greeaat! Ok, well lets have lunch at the rest. by the pool. After 20 minutes waiting for the wait staff to come I finally go over to them and ask them if they could take our order. They suggest food that they have never tasted or trained to sell. I bought a pineapple fruit bowl and it was a total waste of money. The fruit looked like it was from a can. Just disgusting. I told the waitress and she shrugged at me like, oh well. Usually a manager would stop by to talk about my experience an any respectable place but they did not. Needless to say the only acceptable thing I could say about this place is the beds. Its a starwood bed so at least you will sleep nice. I will never stay at this place again and recommend you splurge and stay somewhere else. I DO NOT RECOMMEND STAYING HERE! even if you never get out and you have no idea what you are missing out on. This place is a mess. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay stayed here while on business travel. The rooms are decent and the nearby restaurants are excel t, if a bit pricey. The hotel is very quiet at night. this is not the pace to go i you are looking for wild night life, which suits most business travelers just right. July 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing last stop for vacation Disappointing facilities. "Deluxe oceanfront" room was neither deluxe nor oceanfront. Street through middle of the complex, smaller pool and crowded lounge chair area, great beach, good food at the dinner restaurant but slow service, average breakfast, surprisingly uncomfortable bed, shampoo/lotion not fully resocked each day, busy sidewalk between hotel/pool and beach, exercise room unavailable due to remodeling, huge distraction and inconvenience of Marathon supported by the hotel with guests seeming to be second priority to hotel promotion and no proactive warning from the staff of the event. September 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Honey moon We stayed in Sheraton Kauai Resort 3 nights for our honey moon. The hotel is nice with a great ocean view. We had dinner in both restaurants and we can afferm that everything was very good. We had had a problem with some guests the first night (they thought of staying in a disco rather than in a hotel), sometimes happens. We would really like to thank Peter(Manager) for his kindness and the professionalism with which he has solved every problem. July 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointing Experience This hotel was the worst we experienced in our 16 years of marriage. We were 'upgraded' to a partial ocean view and were recognized for our anniversary. However: - Our refrigerator was not working, ruining our fresh flowers and food. Staff offered $20 for compensation, which was a joke. They eventually went to $50. - Bar staff was rude; comments like "look lady, I'm busy". - Hotel check-in staff was hurried and did not explain hotel features. Bellman did not offer to get ice - just told us where to go. - Room air conditioning was being serviced the first day of our stay. I don't think it ever worked after that. - Room service delivered the wrong food. The second attempt, the food had no flavor and was inediable. Our stay here was a disaster. We moved to a different hotel on Kauai. June 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service ~ Lovey Property Staff went out of their way to accommodate our every need. Very friendly and not stuffy at all. They really exemplify the aloha spirit of the islands. Love the pool area. More vegetarian options on the pool an dinner menu would be great. Fresh veggie sticks and ranch dressing, fresh fruit salad, veggie burgers as an option would be awesome. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was the best! The front desk staff (Sissy, in particular) was stellar. The valet staff, servers (Ashley at Rum Fire in particular), housekeeping, every person we met really, performed at the highest level with a smile. I am from Las Vegas, and I have very high standards for service. The service in Hawaii is usually poor in comparison. Not at this property. I was pleasantly surprised. July 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by IF YOUR USING POINTS, DON'T BOTHER TO COME HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WE ARE PLATINUM MEMBERS, WE WERE PUT IN THE BACK 40, IN FRONT OF THE GARDEN VIEW FILLED IN HOT TUB. YES A HOT TUB IN HAWAII FILLED IN WITH DIRT ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE GOOD OR NEW PART OF THE HOTEL. THE PICTURE OF THE POOL ON THIS HOTEL NEVER LOOKS THIS CLEAN OR PUT TOGETHER. THEY CLOSE DOWN THE POOL DESK AT 5PM AND STOP SERVING FOOD AND DRINKS AT 6:30pm RIGHT BEFORE A SUNSET....STUPID! THEY HAVE A GYM THAT THE EQUIPMENT IS SO OLD, YOU FEEL IT IS GOING TO BREAK AT ANY MOMENT. UNLESS YOU ARE IN A ROOM ON THE OCEAN SIDE, YOUR ROOM SMELLS LIKE MOLD. WE HAVE NEVER EVER HAD SUCH A HORRIBLE HAWAII EXPERIENCE EVER AT A SHERATON. THIS PROPERTY SHOULD BE STRIPED OF THE SHERATON NAME. VERY SAD TO SEE. WE STAYED AT THIS PROPERTY 27 YEARS AGO......IT NEEDS MAJOR HELP. WE ARE REQUESTING OUR POINTS BACK. LET'S SEE HOW STARWOOD TREATS ONE OF THIER SO CALL "LOYAL" MEMBERS! August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We had an amazing honeymoon Thank you so much to the Sheraton for allowing us to have an amazing, relaxing honeymoon. The plumeria suite was breathtaking! July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is our favorite for family vacation The Sheraton Kauai Resort has become a yearly trip for our family. Our room is always immaculate and very clean. The staff at the breakfast buffet are wonderful and very inviting people. Food is wonderful too. Very responsive management and staff. We are planning to spend more time later this year at this Sheraton because we feel so at home here. Beautiful place and wonderful and caring employees. June 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Location is great....thats about it The location is perfect. The beach is fantastic. The managers were very nice but were unable to correct any of the issues. Unfortunately that is where the good news ends. The staff is very nice but consistently underdelivers. The restaurant are poorly managed with bad quality and high priced food. Internet service was down most of the week. By mid afternoon they were out of beach/pool towels. This was hands down the worst managed/run starwood property that I've ever visited. This place needs a management overhaul. January 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Under construction Well seems my experiences are not alone. As with the previous i arrived to find construction, also my best room in the house only steps away from the beach is on the second floor opposite the rocks some 200 yards from the nearest beach, which is inaccessable without walking out and along the main street. When complaining to manager i was told this was what i ordered, despite it clearly stating in the room description. Apparently i made the mistake of not making a special request for the room that i booked. As for the construction, again the manager stated it was clearly labelled on their website. It is interesting that i see a review dated October 26th, 2 days after i booked the hotel that the website did indeed state construction, but apparently until October, hence why i took no notice as my stay was end of December. Now the website states until March 2012. What galls me is that they still make the same claims on the website, even though others have complained about thir misleading descriptions. December 22, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by The worst sleep of my life! The hotel is located in a great place. The grounds are maintained beautifully. The check-in was quick and easy. The young lady at the desk was very pleasant and helpful. The room looked good. Parking was included in the resort fee (which was a great bonus). Overall, everything was wonderful until I went to sleep. I had the worst sleep I have ever had anywhere. I woke up in pain at about 130 in the morning. My back was killing me from the nonexistent support of a mattress that probably should have been replaced long ago. I woke up several more time throughout the night feeling absolutely miserable. June 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good place for a relaxing vacation All that you hear is the waves of the Ocean which will put you to sleep. Good bar location with great service - another relaxing place. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall really good, but bathroom could be updated The hotel is great for the most part. The bathrooms could use some updating. Also, the single light in the bathroom was very dim. The bed was comfortable, but one of the pillows was much harder than the other 3 provided (I didn't realize this until the next morning), and I woke up with very bad neck and back pain. The next few nights I used the other pillows without a problem. Also, I liked that we had Starbucks coffee provided in each room. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we would stay here again. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful place This was our first time visiting Hawaii and we loved the Sheraton Kuaui and would have loved to stay there longer. We stayed there for 4 nights using SPG points. At the beginning we were hoping to be upgraded to a beach view. In the end we could only get a room at the back building facing the pool. In retrospect we were so much happier there!!! It is quiet and beautiful. We can't wait to come back!! The only negative was the food was very expensive. November 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A mixed bag Our room was not ready on check in and then late in the afternoon we got a call and were taken to a room with two double beds instead of a king. We had to wait until the next day and be available for them to move us which basically wasted a day. The staff was good about trying to help once the error was discovered. Asked for a cabana since we had to stay on property until we moved but they were sold out. I forgot something in my car. the valet was rude rude rude rude he made me walk out to my car at least a block away without any guidance and then was rude when I asked for help. I complained to the manager who sent wine and strawberries to me. The beach if calm is good for swimming if not calm go to Poipou short drive away. The food was good but a bit pricey. Overall the service was excellent from most of the folks there. Once we got into our fourth floor room with king bed with beach view we were more than happy. The pool made my skin break out it has a lot of chemicals which was too bad since the beach was so rough. It is a good hotel but nothing compared to the Maui Sheraton June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations! We were staying on the north end of the island, but had traveled to the south end for a day of hiking in Waimea Canyon. Rather than driving all the way back, we used points to spend the night at the Sheraton. WOW!! Had we known it was such a nice facility, we would have stayed more nights! Next trip to Kauai, we will plan to spend extra days at this hotel! June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort on Poipu Our ocean front room was very nice and the view was excellent. Very attentive and courteous staff at all levels. Cabanas on the beach are a nice touch. We enjoyed our stay very much. Only complaint was some of the food on the breakfast buffet (eggs, sausage) was not very warm. Menu orders were fine. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awsome Hotel This hotel was more than we expected, it was quiet and the staff was very professional and friendly and always willing to assist. Very clean and easy to get to. Right along the beach. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Kauai This is our third time staying at the Sheraton Kauai and we will be back. We had an ocean front room which was well appointed and had a gorgeous view of the ocean and the pathway. The deck was large enough to enjoy the outdoor space. Staff were all so pleasant and welcoming. Pool and beach area were beautiful and relaxing, although we wished there were a few more umbrellas to provide shade around the pool. Rented beach chairs from activity desk and found a great place under a tree to relax and enjoy the beach and water. Ryan at the concierage desk was especially helpful when we had diffiulties with our airline tickets. Quiet, peaceful and relaxing with plenty of activities within an easy drive. October 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff My wife and I visit Kauai twice a year and always stay at the Kauai Sheraton. The last three times we have stayed at the Shearton there have been small problems. Thanks to Sissy at the reception desk these have been solved in a matter of minutes. She is proactive in solving problems and is very nice and outgoing. Thank you Sissy! Keep up the good work. January 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be sure to book an ocean-view Be sure to book an ocean-view room! It's breathtaking (we were in 12xx) and cannot be compared to the rooms on the other side of the street. We had one for a few hours for our late check-out so can compare. Staff is nice - use the concierge desk and the activities desk. They really helped us to make the most of our stay June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Refreshing Service!! We stayed at the Sheraton for our honeymoon and it was all we had expected and more. The staff was always friendly and gracious. They were exceptionally prompt and went out of thier way to make sure we had a wonderful experience! Chris at check-in was very warm and welcoming, he had taken the time to explain all that the resort ooffered and also anticipated our needs. There were too many great associates to mention, but no matter laying at the pool, or eating at Rum Fire (who had an amazing Ahi steak) or using the shuttle service you will experience service that shows they truly care. November 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory *Hotel wireless was extremely slow and kicked us out of the system several times/ very cumbersome to log on again and again *Toilet clogged up and needed maintenance to fix *Bath tub/ shower water drained slow *Housecleaning started extremely early making loud noises so was unable to sleep in due to loud noise levels- not peaceful room atmosphere with the noise * Several TV channels had bad reception- only a couple of channels worked well *Automated check out message reminder of 11am check-out very offensive like wanting to make sure we got out...delivery not excuted well *Pool very small and crowded *Fitness machines only got one television channel as option & other cardio machines got no channel options at all *Puddled water on stone walk way with no warning of wet floor- slipped and fell because tile was slippery *At departure- front desk never even asked if we enjoyed our stay or asked if we would come again.... no aloha service Too bad because Sheraton's are usually pretty good... Disappointing on so many levels.... October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The views are spectacular! I loved the resort. We started on the Garden side w/ great views of coy pond and pool. Then we upgraded to Ocean View room a few days later, which was awesome. It was like having 2 vacations in one. For how large the resort is, I think it needs a larger oceanside pool area. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Kauai experience was incredible! We just arrived home from our SECOND stay at the Sheraton in Kauai. Things started out rough as our reservation somehow had been cancelled in April, 8 weeks earlier!!! Needless to say, things were iffy at first but the staff and Manager, Peter, got us an off-the-beach room for the night (which in and of itself was amazing!) and got us an even better beach front room that our reservation had originally been. They gave us valet parking free for the week, a bungalo one day, delivered a gorgeous cheese/cracker platter & a bottle of wine on our anniversary. We would run into staff that would ask how we were, stand there and visit and ask if we needed directions anywhere or anything at all! It was almost ALL the staff. We were amazed and pleased. There was a staff person named Laura who stayed in tough with us our entire stay. On the last day, we got a call that there was a gift at the front desk. Laura had purchased a beautiful book called Ohana ("family" in Hawaiian) for us. We can't say enough about Peter and Laura especially! Our experience at the Princess Sheraton in Honolulu was NOT good, however. It is old, dirty, sweaty feeling, small and staff were NOT friendly at all. This review is for Sheraton at Poipu in Kauai. June 27, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>