Sheraton Commander Hotel

  • 16 Garden Street
  • Cambridge,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02138
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Política de edad mínima

Los huéspedes deben tener 18 años o más para reservar una habitación.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 163 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Accomidations for Boston Vaca! This hotel met all of my family's needs and more for our Boston vacation. Great location to enjoy Cambridge and connect to the rail. This Starwood property had all of the luxuries plus the old world charm!! October 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just lovely This is a lovely place to stay and dinner was of the best quality on 12/29/12. My very best compliments to the chef who made the duck with faro and brussel sprouts and apple! December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Stay The service at the hotel is superb. The room is very accommodating and the staff are friendly and courteous. In the future this will be my hotel of choice. August 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by very comfortable hotel This was my first stay at the Sheraton Commander, and nothing disappointed. Location is great, and the room was wonderful. Services were also at high level. October 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Placed a family above a nightclub atmosphere We have stayed at this hotel many, many times before and always gave it a great rating. However, our stay this time left us very disappointed. They booked a function that was extremely loud and actually had guests stay in the rooms immediately above the function. We heard the beat of the music until very early in the morning. There were 2 children in our party, and this was totally unacceptable when there were other rooms that would have been more quiet. Perhaps the guests at the function could have had the rooms, since they would have gone to bed after the music ended. When reported to the front desk, the lady had a "I could care less attitude" November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by What a great location The hotel has a fantastic location for anyone who has work in Harvard. The staff are proactive and responsive. I really enjoyed staying there. May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quaint I like this hotel, it's quaint and old-worldly. Location is perfect for Cambridge. Yes, the hotel is old, and elevators aren't very fast at all, but it's part of its charm. I turned down an upgrade to a suite in favour of an early check in as I only stayed for a night. I really liked the Club Lounge here, as it was cozy and relaxing, with an espresso machine and good service. The room was nice, although I agree the bathroom was on the cramped side. Wifi, as well as cabled internet was not very fast at all, so there's room for improvement here. Also, front facing rooms suffer from noise as I don't think there is double-glazing. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Location, Friendly Staff, Quirky Rooms I frequently travel to Cambridge for business and I always try to stay at the Commander. Pros: Location. Can't beat being right next to the Cambridge Common and steps from Harvard Square. It's also an easy walk from the Harvard Red Line MBTA stop. Plenty of food and entertainment within easy walking distance. Staff. I've never waited more than 2 minutes to checkin at the Commander. Staff is always efficient and pleasant, especially Greg. I have a difficult to pronounce last name and he always remembers it correctly. In the once case when I had a problem with a room the front desk staff immediately moved me to another room and compensated with SPG points without being asked. Price. Compared to the other hotels in the Harvard Square area, the Commander is always competitive and often the best value. Rooms. This is an older hotel, but the rooms have been kept up nicely. I prefer not to have a cookie-cutter modern hotel layout, and the Commander has the perfect blend of unique rooms with modern amenities. The views are excellent if you get a room overlooking the Cambridge Common. SPG Recognition. As a Gold SPG member I've always been recognized and relatively often upgraded. The Commander has also participated in the SPG promos, which is increasingly rare in SPG hotels these days. Internet. Free wireless in every room. It's not super speedy, but certainly enough to get work done. Cons: Noise. Some of the rooms on the lower levels near the front of the hotel (Garden St.) can get a lot of street noise, especially the busses. It's not too bad, but if you are a light sleeper tell the front desk when you check in that you need a quieter room and they can put you in one away from the street. Elevators. These are some of the smallest, slowest elevators I've ever seen. Luckily the hotel doesn't have that many floors so it's not a huge deal. Overall this is a wonderful hotel that I frequently recommend to people who are planning stays in the Cambridge area. I've stayed in just about every hotel in the Harvard Square area, and this is the best. November 11, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by The location is excellent - otherwise unwelcoming I wanted to love this hotel. It is an excellent location for business trip to Harvard. I just had to walk a block and I was there. But I did not love it. There was no warm welcome upon arrival - in fact no welcome at all. Reception is tiny and there was a line. The check in person did not go out of her way to be welcoming or helpful, just to tell me that there was no shot for the upgrade I asked for. Throughout our entire stay there was not one friendly encounter with staff. They were generally not to be seen and certainly avoided any interaction with us when we were around a staff person. As mentioned in other reviews of this hotel the elevators are laughably small. It is an old building so I guess there is nothing for that. The rooms are tiny too as is the bathroom. Most channels on the TV were not HD. The decor in the room was outdated. The room was clean thank goodness and nothing was broken. Overall it was a not a memorable stay and bordered on unpleasant sorry to say. April 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay in Cambridge I would likely have never foudn this gem if Boston hotels hadn't been sold out. A friend and I were stopping in Boston on the way back from other New England travel and couldn't find a room in Boston but got a room here. We were very happy when we saw the beautiful hotel! It is in a wonderful location and allowed us to do a lot of exploring around the local area. It is also very close to a Red Line stop so we could go over to Beacon Hill with no problem. The staff was friendly and we had no problems during out stay. The only thing is the elevator is REALLY small...like a closet. That was a little nerver wracking but certainly won't deter me from staying here again. September 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy + malfunctioning AC I came up here for my 5th law school reunion. The first night, them thermostat didn't work at all and the room was sweltering. The second night I called maintenance and it turned out the AC unit had been turned off by pressing a button on the plug. The next two nights the AC was noisy and kept me and my wife awake. I will not return. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Pleased My Most Unimpressable Friend While traveling around New England a friend and I decided to spend a night in Boston. All the hotels were sold out except for this gem in Cambridge. What serendipity! This hotel is beautiful and in a phenominal location. Not only is it very close to a Red Line stop (allowing my friend and I to explore Beacon Hill as we intended to do) but it is walking distance to everything you can possibly think of. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and the staff is very polite. My friend can usually find fault with anything (the sky is too blue...) but she actually said she was disappointed that we were only staying a night because she loved the hotel. I will definitely stay here again! September 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff is great the staff was really wonderful, kind and responsive. bed and sheets very nice. very clean. a bit of moldy smell in hallways. April 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Older hotel and not too clean Hotel is in need of a better housekeeping staff. Rooms are not comfortable from an HVAC perspective. Bathrooms have wall heater unit. Rooms have older AC/Heat unit that blows directly over the beds - so either too hot or too cold. Fire alarm went off twice in one night - had to evacuate hotel and walk down 5 flights of stairs. Valet parking is a joke. You pay $30 a night to park your car in an uncovered lot at the end of the block and walk to the hotel. Calling for your car in the morning results in having to walk back to the lot to get it - they don't even bring it to the door. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service, great place We found ourselves at the last minute needing a place to stay in Cambridge with an accessible bathroom. The staff here was unbelievably helpful and kind. While the purpose of our visit--getting our injured son back to school and situated back in Cambridge--was not fun, the location, the facility and the staff made our stay as good as it possibly could have been. We look forward to a visit that is just for pleasure sometime soon. March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Room Overall I would recommend this hotel. The rooms were "comfy". There are only two caveats to this: first, The room heater is very very noisy - so much so that it will wake you out of a deep sleep when it comes on in the middle of the night. Second, I think the staff parking is on the side of the building. If your room heater is on and a car is running under your window, it pulls in the exhaust from the car... On the plus side, the room/bed/chairs were quite comfortable and I really liked how they have an umbrella in every room for emergencies. February 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but very noisy Here are the details... We checked in a little earlier (2:00 PM) which was nice. Although my Gold status was recognized I don't think I got an upgrade. Usually an upgrade is on the higher floors and we were placed on the second floor. While the room is very nice and clean (there's nothing they can do about the size of the bathrooms), the noise coming form the outside traffic was very loud. I had a hard time getting any sleep at all during the night because of the noise. Maybe on the higher floors is not that bad, but I think the lower floors need a window upgrade for a better soundproofing insulation. Restaurant and gym were very nice and if they fix the noise problem this would be a very charming hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Definitely Older The hotel is going for an older feel which is not inline with my preferences. They have REALLY old small elevators, that take forever to come up to or down from the 6th fl. Again part of the charm of an old style hotel. The A/C unit would blow really hard/cold air directly across the bed as it was on the floor right next to the bed and there was no way to adjust it other then on/off. I had to cover the vents with pillows to redirect the air. The TV remote did not work, the wallpaper was starting to separate off the wall and the previous customer left the alarm on the clock set for 5 am so I got an unexpected wake up alarm. Look in the end not a terrible place just not for me given the other spg options September 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Commander Great location, friendly staff, cool historical building. April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few big problems. A/C was as loud as a truck all night long. At various times throughout the night, we had to turn the system off and on to get it to quiet it down. So although the bed and pillows were very comfortable, they were not enjoyed. Toilet and mirrors seemed to have been designed for very short people. Toilet appeared to be built for a child. I had to bend down to see my face in the mirror. The water pressure was so low, it made it difficult to shave. The wireless Internet connection was very week. I could not access the Internet on an Ipad. In conclusion, we left with very mixed feelings about this hotel. It is a wonderful location with a very "Cambridge"feel, but these details prevented us from having complete satisfaction. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Swim weekend This hotel, while not having the typical hotel appearance (built in 1927), the accomadations were exactly what we expect with a Sheraton!! Staff was very helpful from the time we arrived late in evening to a late check out.!! The only downside were the elevators, small and slow, but for a 1927 structure, more than adequate. The Club lounge efor SPG members was always stocked and attended. entire facility was kept clean and spotless. We've been in the SPG family almost 5 years now and so happy we did!!. the SC hotel contributed to wonderful weekend in Boston!! December 10, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG Guest Hello, My overall complaint is how I was treated as an SPG member. I was on a business trip with multiple SPG members all which were treated like SPG members and I was not. For example my colleague is an SPG member and has only accumulated 1000 points, but he had access to the SPG lounge. If you look at my Activity I have built up quite a bit of points. Needless to say, every other hotel I have stayed at I have received the SPG status except for the Sheraton Commander. I will be traveling back to the Boston area, but I don't think I'll be staying an SPG hotel unless we can get this rectified for the next time. I don't hear from anyone on this matter I will assume that it won't be resolved and I'll plan on booking my hotel elsewhere. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor rooms, poor service Hello - I stayed in room 606. 1) The sink water pressure was too low during my stay - shaving and washing my face were very difficult. 2) When the bathroom fogs up, the words "I see you" can be clearly seen written across the mirror - clever prank but freaky none-the-less. 3) I was told at check in that I don't need to call for a cab in advance because they are lined up outside all morning, but when I went out to get a cab there were none. 4) The doorman tried to radio the front desk to call for a cab and then went inside but never came out. I waited around for a while and finally found a cab going by. I did appreciate the breakfast and thought the room and common areas were nice and clean, but overall I'll be staying elsewhere next time. October 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a lot more work Staying at the Commander was like going back in time, not in a good way though... The elevator is tiny, the decor is very dated, the rooms are big but again very dated but the prices are still high to stay here so I would not recommend this hotel to others at this time. There seems to be construction on some floors but they have a long way to go. March 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Pleased! This was my second stay at your hotel. Overall I have been quite pleased. I love the location, the staff and the feel of the hotel. The beds are extremely comfortable and for such a old hotel, the rooms are pretty spacious. The only negatives were the heated/air unit being on the wall seems to be either too strong or not enough. And the heat did not reach the shower area...burrr. Also the pressure in the shower was not very good. But like I said, overall, I would recommend this hotel. January 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Sheraton in a historic property I stayed here because of the excellent weekend room rate. The property is very historic with a fascinating past. The renovation is sufficient considering the age of the building. Nothing too fancy or modern, but adequate.The location is great for exploring Cambridge and the Harvard area. I was disappointed there wasn't any hot food available in the Club Lounge for breakfast or weekend newspapers for Platinum members. The front desk told me I was welcome to purchase whatever newspapers I wanted from the gift shop. November 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A classic hotel I've stayed many times at the Sheraton Commander, and it's central location just off Harvard Square is convenient. The staff has always been very helpful to me. Ironically, as a Platinum, I've generally refused the room upgrade, preferring instead the exceptionally quiet smaller rooms on the back of the hotel. The junior suites on the front are beautiful, but the street below is simply too noisy for me as a light sleeper. That's not the hotel's fault for the street noise, and other folks might not be bothered by the noise. January 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good SPG hotel Start with the negative: I booked three separate reservations due to some schedule uncertainties, but the front desk combined two separate reservations when one of my roommates checked in. She combined the wrong two reservations so my suite upgrade got cancelled but fortunately I got the email notice, so I was able to call in and get the suite, although I told her I need a king size bed, I got two double beds when I checked in. It;'s all good from there. The roo was very nice and all my friends were happy with the hotel September 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, but showing its age a little. Great hotel, stayed there before. Enjoyed our stay, but the hotel is starting to show its age a little. Heating system was very loud and "clangy", knew every time it came on and went off. Hot water in the bathroom sink and shower took a loooong time to get warm. Staff, as usual, was excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was fine, and the location, if you're visiting ART at Harvard, can't be beat. February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Centrally Perfect Wonderful location, great staff and beautiful rooms. The food served was delicious and the presentation was excellent. We were there for a family event and everything was professionally handled. we'll be back March 12, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>