Sheraton Commander Hotel

  • 16 Garden Street
  • Cambridge,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02138
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Quartos e tarifas

Fechar

Crianças por quarto

Esta informação nos permite identificar os quartos que acomodarão melhor o seu grupo e nos preparar para sua chegada.

Consulte os termos e detalhes do quarto para obter informações sobre encargos por cama dobrável e/ou pessoa extra.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 198 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A classic hotel I've stayed many times at the Sheraton Commander, and it's central location just off Harvard Square is convenient. The staff has always been very helpful to me. Ironically, as a Platinum, I've generally refused the room upgrade, preferring instead the exceptionally quiet smaller rooms on the back of the hotel. The junior suites on the front are beautiful, but the street below is simply too noisy for me as a light sleeper. That's not the hotel's fault for the street noise, and other folks might not be bothered by the noise. January 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel! I stayed here while attending a Harvard event. The staff was responsive and I was able to take full advantage of my SPG status. The Club Lounge is awesome, and filled with lovely food. My room looked out onto Harvard College. I'd definitely go back again! November 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service When visiting Cambridge during Thanksgiving week, this property exceeded all expectations. The customer service was amazing - from check-in/out, parking/valet service, to the Club Room. If I stay in the Cambridge area again, I would definitely return. November 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good SPG hotel Start with the negative: I booked three separate reservations due to some schedule uncertainties, but the front desk combined two separate reservations when one of my roommates checked in. She combined the wrong two reservations so my suite upgrade got cancelled but fortunately I got the email notice, so I was able to call in and get the suite, although I told her I need a king size bed, I got two double beds when I checked in. It;'s all good from there. The roo was very nice and all my friends were happy with the hotel September 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Sheraton in a historic property I stayed here because of the excellent weekend room rate. The property is very historic with a fascinating past. The renovation is sufficient considering the age of the building. Nothing too fancy or modern, but adequate.The location is great for exploring Cambridge and the Harvard area. I was disappointed there wasn't any hot food available in the Club Lounge for breakfast or weekend newspapers for Platinum members. The front desk told me I was welcome to purchase whatever newspapers I wanted from the gift shop. November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Try it again I wrote another review that was apparently too disagreeable to post- simply put; I have stayed here a number of times in the last 20 years and was dissapointed by my recent visit- the quality and character of the renovations, cleanliness, and as others have said, the loud old heating/cooling unit made it difficult for me to sleep in an otherwise comfortable room (this was absolutely unacceptable), bathroom was dirty, slow drain, and hard to use. I cannot describe the Commodore as anything other than mediocre. July 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Changing the bedding made the bed less comfortable I always thought the Sheraton bedding provided an extremely comfortable night's sleep. For some reason, the hotel changed the duvet and replaced it with one that is heavy and, even more importantly, slips off the bed constantly. This significantly impacted my night's sleep on 2 visits, leading me to downgrade my satisfaction with the overall rating as well as with the room comfort. I'd hoped that the problem was remedied after my first visit, which was why the facility did not meet my expectations. September 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Pleased! This was my second stay at your hotel. Overall I have been quite pleased. I love the location, the staff and the feel of the hotel. The beds are extremely comfortable and for such a old hotel, the rooms are pretty spacious. The only negatives were the heated/air unit being on the wall seems to be either too strong or not enough. And the heat did not reach the shower area...burrr. Also the pressure in the shower was not very good. But like I said, overall, I would recommend this hotel. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Rooms, Unhelpful Front Desk My wife worked in Starwood's corporate office for years. Lucky for all she did not pick up the phone and call folks who are still there. Except for one person who was great (Narjah?), the front desk staff needs help. Not problem-solvers at all. I could go into details, but I'd get a head-ache (again). Let's just say their first impulse was always to say "no", even when I needed help getting on to the computer right after having turned in my key. Duh! Sadly, many other examples exist. October 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historic Hotel with Modern Amenities This is the second time I've stayed at the Commander, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Boston. It's more like a boutique hotel than a typical "sheraton". The staff are all very friendly, rooms are very clean. My only complaint was that housekeepiing kept coming into the room in the morning, without knocking to clean the room and it was only 9am. I didnt have a sign on the outside of the door but seems you should knock before just opening someone's door. September 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms The rooms were very clean, neat and in great condition. I have only two suggestions. Place deflectors on the heating / ac units because the air blows directly on you when sleeping. Woke each morning very congested. Lastly, could anything be done to quiet the toilets when flushed. Even with the door closed the noise would wake you when the toilet was used. Sounds picky but it was really annoying. Other than that the rooms and hotel were very nice. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeding Expectations We have happily stayed at The Commander many times during our daughter's time at Harvard. But the wonderful hospitality in the form of complimentary ice cream, Bailey's and coffee, champagne and strawberries, chocolate fountain, photos, and gifts of the charming Dr. Seuss book and photo mug... WOW! All of this combined with the warmth of the staff made this the BEST place to stay for graduation. You made this once in a lifetime occasion even more special. Thank you!!! June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ideally located, pleasant and comfortable A great first-time visit to Boston made overwhelmingly enjoyable by helpful, courteous and attentive staff. Thank you very much!!! November 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good but two quibbles Very comfortable, convenient, generally quiet. I will be staying there again presently. Two quibbles: no one told me that as SPG member a continental breakfast included in room price. And second, parking is a real inconvenience. If you leave anything in your car and want to fetch it later, valet parking has to bring your car around to you, The location of the car itself seems to be a closely guarded secret, so you can't just walk over to it and get what you need. December 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by WeekendWarrior Our teen son had a 4-day swim meet at the Harvard Blodgett Pool. (17 minutes to walk from the hotel. Our room on the Lounge Floor was spacious, very comfortable, and very nicely decorated. The Lounge had decent breakfasts and evening appetizers, with comfortable tables and chairs. (We appreciated the cold bottled water and hot tea which was accessible at all hours).Location is a HUGE factor; minutes from Harvard Yard and a variety of restaurants, stores, etc. August 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Harvard Trip This hotel falls below the standard usually expected of Sheraton. Starting with the big illuminated sign outside where most of the letters are out. Room was not made up on first night of stay, food trash was not removed, bed made or bathroom cleaned. Front desk offered no explanation or compensation. Service in the restaurant was slow and inattentive - although food was good. Even for an old building, hotel displays its wear and verges on the shabby. June 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Guest are a nuisance I checked in after 10 PM on Monday night after a full day on the road. There was no hot water and thus no way to take a shower - BASIC comfort which I expected and PAID for. I only found out once I got into my room and unpacked - the staff did not informe me in advance. At this point I wasn't going to re-pack and start changing hotels. I also had issues of getting water, tea, coffeee in the room . . .Reception staff was very unhelpful. August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff! Just wanted to thank the hotel staff for being very accommodating and willing to help. I was in for a conference during the reunion weekend which is always a hectic time and they were very able to assist, and always with a smile. As a result I'm staying with you again next May when I am back in town for my own Harvard reunion and have had excellent service from Lauren in sales to help get the room booking in place. September 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Nice I was pleased with the facility overall. The elevators are small and soooo slow! They have a "go green" plan in place tied to your SPG points, but you have to redeem these cards at check out to get the points. I forgot to hand in the cards, so I didn't get my 500 points. Kinda hate that. I live by the philosophy, "Just do it." If I say I want to do it, then just do it for me. Don't put these conditions on me getting the points. Cheapens the effect IMHO. September 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Club level benefits The Sheraton has a nice line of hotels and the Sheraton Commander didn't disappoint. The club room has recently been updated and provided a comfortable atmosphere, a lovely breakfast spread, and an evening appetizer bar that was very satisfying. In addition, the snacks throughout the day were appreciated. The staff was always friendly and the rest of the hotel proved to live up to my expectations for a Sheraton. I'd stay here again August 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff is rude and egoist I have stayed complete of times there. But during my last stay in Feb 2013, I have decided not to ever stay in this hotel. Gentleman who checked in was rude. My partner was there earlier than me. So when he was checking in, SPG staff told him that since ' platinum memberr' is not with him, they cannot give any platinum services. He explained that 'platinum member', (writer of this review) will join in couple of hours, but that did not change staff decision. We are were not given access to the lounge. I have never seen that staff smile ever. Rooms are old and smelly. Carpets are dirty. Breakfast selection is poor. Heating is not very effective and very loud. Whole experience is lousy. I used to pick this place due to its proximity to Harvard. But I would rather travel a little bit rather than see rude staff at the end of my hard day. March 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location I was very disappointed that no one alerted us that there was construction going on in the hotel. The noise was very annoying and non-stop. I think it's best that you give your guests a heads up. The price of the room was steep to be having to deal with the noise level. I have stayed here before and love the location and the hotel itself but this visit was disappointing. I was in town for the marathon which itself was certainly a positive experience. April 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room was not as clean as I would have liked I was there for a week long program and the hotel staff put me in one of their worst rooms. There was a generator or HVAC system that turned on every 15 mins and made the entire room vibrate, all through the night. There was hair, that was not mine in the shower/bathroom and the room had an unpleasant smell. I wouldn't stay here and I would not suggest that others stay either. I will not be returning to the Sheraton Commander. August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service at this hotel Each and every person who worked at this hotel was hospitable and service-oriented. Whether I asked for a great place to get a manicure or where the nearest Starbucks was located, I was provided the information. The staff even called ahead to secure the manicure appointment for me. Most importantly, I needed a double bed at the last minute and the staff was able to accommodate me for the duration of my visit even though the hotel was very busy. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander Service The Sheraton Commander is an outstanding hotel - comfortable, well appointed, but what marks it as a must-stay place is its service. I was given a SPG room on the first night, but , on the second, there was a noisy high school dance on the floor beneath me. The staff immediately moved me to a different, but equally luxurious room, where I got a great night's sleep. The mark of greatness is when the staff takes care of the unexpected. Bravo. April 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Graduation Celebration We held a graduation celebration at the Sheraton Commander. While I have recommended this property to others, this was my first time hosting an event here. My expectations were exceeded in every way. The staff was attentive, the food was delicious and ample, the room was charming. A special thank you to Judy B. for all of her help in planning this event and making sure every detail was perfect. September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Excellent service, good location. November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service, great place We found ourselves at the last minute needing a place to stay in Cambridge with an accessible bathroom. The staff here was unbelievably helpful and kind. While the purpose of our visit--getting our injured son back to school and situated back in Cambridge--was not fun, the location, the facility and the staff made our stay as good as it possibly could have been. We look forward to a visit that is just for pleasure sometime soon. March 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Problems I stay here a lot - I like the location and generally like the hotel but this time there were major problems. Room 439 : Heat malfunctioning - either too hot or too cold, hard to get a good night's sleep, pull on shade broke off, bathroom fixtures need repair, no decent water pressure in the shower. Quality of the food at breakfast was poor. Pastries hard as a rock, stale. No excuse for this ina city with good bakeries nearby. April 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment Tiny elevators size of a phone booth so two people with luggage cannot ride together; tiny room; could not adjust A/C - either hot and stuffy or bitter cold air blowing over you while you sleep; mattress and pillows uncomfortable; did not know pets allowed - awakened overnight by barking dog; asked for advice on nearby restaurants, but was simply given a list; so disappointed I used my SPG points to stay here 2 nights June 23, 2014
  • 2015-03-28T17:46:54.435-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_198, tr_198
  • loc_en_US, sid_607, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>