Rated 3 out of 5 by NoSleepInCuyahogaFalls If you love trains and motorcycles
Hotel was nice. Staff was friendly. Trains that roll by blaring the horn at all times of the night and day terrible. Train tracks very close to hotel and they honk the horn numerous times with each pass through. Trains run numerous times all night and day. Staff explained they have tried everything to eliminate the sound with no success. Also motorcycles getting on the freeway tend to rev it up and the sound echos off a concrete wall and the sound it deflected directly to the hotel. I would recommend that if you HAVE to stay here that you try to get a room overlooking the parking lot so sound is minimized.
June 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by N777 see above
see above, NOT WHAT I EXPECTED FOR A SHERATON, I HAVE STAYED AT SHERATONS IN THE PAST, THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME I EXPERIENCED SUCH NON CHALONT RESPONSES.
December 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nell27 This hotel is different than most hotels
This hotel is very unique and does not have the same features as most hotels. From the lower level with the bar/restaurant, sitting area, rooms, pool; the balconies and bar/restaurant with a rushing river view; the rooms with sitting areas, two tvs, windows, getting ready area; to the almost 24 hour (less 20 minutes to run reports) store that had what I needed and didn't even need to leave the hotel; to the great location with other activities around, you can't go wrong by staying at this hotel. There was a wedding going on and unless I went by the venue, I didn't even notice. The banquet area is a gorgeous place for a wedding. I will definitely be back! Thanks Sheraton for a memorable stay.
July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pam0511 Nice location and views, but
We stayed on the Saturday night before Mother's Day, and when we went to the hotel restaurant for the breakfast buffet, we were told that unless we had a reservation, we could not have a seat. It was clear the hostess was flustered and did not know how to handle the situation. That is terrible service for a hotel guest to be unable to have breakfast at the hotel. They should have advised us at check in that because of Mother's Day, reservations for breakfast would be required. Definitely not what I expect when I stay at Sheraton hotels, which I frequently do because of your pet friendly policies.
May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by j24633 A wonderful way to celebrate Valentine's Day
We booked the romance package for Valentine's Day overnight and couldn't have been happier. We did have 3 snags - a less than kind woman checking us and no luggage carts to bring our stuff to the room. Also, the package included a 4pm check out, if available. It was disappointing (and surprising) to find out it wasn't available.
We ate the Sunday brunch. Not only was the food spectacular, but the service was friendly and accommodating. The bed was comfortable. The room was in a great condition. The bar staff was friendly. The champagne and strawberries were a perfect touch. All around excellent!
February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rich6964 Nice place, but needs some improvements
Hotel is very nice, but we had a few issues. It would be nice if hotel guests could actually park in the parking lot instead of across the street. Also, it was a hot and muggy day and the room would not cool off. Turned the thermostat to 66 and it didn't do anything. It made for a very poor nights sleep. And the train whistle blaring all night didn't help the sleep either. Finally, there were 3 of us in the room with a king bed and sleeper sofa. There was no bedding for the sleeper in the room. And another small thing, there was no hand soap for washing hands. Only the soap in the shower.
July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Protocol Staff was unable to meet any of my requests
Rate was more then others in my party and hotel wasn't willing to lower my rate to match it. I asked to be on the ground floor, I was on the 4th. I asked if the ground floor was unavailable could I please be close to a door, my room # was 412 that is in the middle of the hall which isn't at all close to a door, their were several doors in this hotel seems that wouldn't have been that difficult. Seems to me the over all customer service has gone way down at the Sheraton properties. It was a busy weekend at the hotel but that is a reason to step up your customer care. I felt unvalued as a guest.
January 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by DMC02 A repeat guest
My wife and I have been staying at the Sheraton in Cuyahoga Falls since 2002. We enjoy the many amenities the hotel has to offer. However, we have noticed a drop in the overall service in the past 10 years, especially the front desk staff. And on both days, our room was not cleaned until 3 or 4 p.m. (However, the housekeeper was more cordial than the front desk staff.) And I'm wondering if there is any hotel in the world that does not offer complementary morning coffee to their guests (other than a tiny coffee maker in the room). These things are easily remedied though, and I hope they will be taken into consideration. The atmosphere, cleanliness, and location are great. In all, a comfortable stay.
July 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vern56 We were treated like royalty.
My wife and I visit Cuyahoga Falls once or twice each year to visit our Grandchildren. Sheraton has bent over backwards every time to accomodate our every need at a great price. I can't say enough good about the entire staff. What a team! Breakfast was wonderful each day and the lounge was fun to visit. The housekeeping staff was attentive and kept our room in tip-top condition at all times. The only problem we encountered was that a Bridal Show was scheduled for the same week-end as our visit, which made parking a little difficult. We had to park across the stree at the overflow lot, which wasn't a real big deal. All in all, this is a great place to stay and my wife and I will be returning for sure.
October 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by skipper2 Bad experience
Nice room , however, both TV sets had terrible to "o" reception. Bath tub had a lot of crud & or dirt in it. Had to clean tub before using. Checking out, was given statement with "0" balance.Had told clerk when checking in wishes to pay cash in morning Asked how much my room was--told they didn't know what had been charged to my Visa acct.Thought I was dealing with the specific hotel in Cuy Falls, OH when bookiing. Don't know who I dealt with now. Very confusing!!!
November 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by WeddingParty Nice Hotel
The hotel itself was very nice and clean. The lobby was beautiful. Only a few small problems. The front desk staff was not helpful or pleasant. We went down at approx. 11:00 pm to ask a few questions and the two gentleman never even looked up. Gave one word answers. We waited about 5- 10 minutes in the store to purchase items and again they was rude like we were interrupting. Finally in the morning at breakfast, we asked for two clean coffee mugs as ours had lipstick and coffee still in them. The server told us the cups were just stained. We took two cups off another table.
May 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GRANTWORKS FAMILY TRAVEL
WE HAVE FAMILY IN AKRON AREA AND WNEN WE TRAVEL TO AKRON FOR FAMILY WEDDINGS AND FUNERALS WE HAVE BEEN STAYING HERE FOR OVER 15 YEARS AND USUALLY BOOK 8 OR MORE ROOMS , JUST RETURNED TODAY FROM THERE , AND WE NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH OUR STAY ,THE STAFF IS ALWAYS FRIENDLY AND GOES OUT OF THEIR WAY TO ACCOMODATE OUR REQUESTS ,, LEFT MY LAPTOP IN ROOM SUNDAY AND REALIZED WHEN I WAS HEADING HOME , CALLED HOTEL FROM ROAD AND THEY RECOVERED MY COMPUTER AND FEDEX IT TO ME AND RECEIVED IT TODAY ,CANT ASK FOR BETTER SERVICE ,, WILL BE BACK IN JUNE FOR ANOTHER WEDDING
July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by echo4 Quality
Have stayed at this hotel a few times in over the years…a wonderful hotel in most very respect. When in the area would not stay anywhere else but the Sheraton Cuyahoga Falls.
If there would be an issue, parking at the hotel is a real drawback for guests not involved in the events at the hotel. especially on weekends. For the price of the room, feel a parking spot should be a must especially for older people or those with handicaps. Noticed the handicapped parking was taken by those without Handicap plates or window hangers.
September 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by RileyD99 No Recognition
Aside from acknowledging that my SPG # was attached to my reservation I received no recognition for being a member. I was not placed on the preferred floor, where I appreciate and enjoy the free bottled water that is generally provided. I requested a room other than a double bed room and was not accommodated, either. Had I not been forced to sleep in a bed smaller than I am accustomed I would rate the room comfort higher. The best part of the stay was the fitness facilities. The pool & whirlpool were great as was the gym. Nothing special about this place.
June 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by izymassage Sheraton satisfaction
We've had very satisfactory stays the last 2 years, where the staff on the ground exceeded expectations in a majority of areas. Last year's stay had a rough spot with one server, which although promised to be compensated by last year's mgt, never materialized. Glad I brought this up to the national reservation line- because the current mgt and staff were informed bent over backwards to review the issue and keep us as satisfied returnees. The total experience this trip was all mgt and staff are customer service focused, and seem to take it in stride as to who they are. Very nice. Only disappointment was I wish we were informed the pool and spa areas were under renovation as I love a spa after working out in their excellent fitness room.
May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by OEMIII I RECOMMEND & WILL BE BACK.
I have come for the breakfast brunch for several years of which I always enjoy. I have also stayed at this hotel before and will come back. My only dissatisfaction would be the pillows on the bed and not enough handicap parking if there are other activities at the hotel which makes those spaces fill up quickly.
This is a great facility, with good food, comfortable suites, and a great location. I will be back since I like coming here just to have a relaxing weekend.
October 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by JLW47 disappointed stay
We have stayed in SPG hotels around the world at club level. The room was very nice.
This hotel has a problem with the plumbing
which happened during the night. The shower drain worked the night we arrived.
In the morning the drain was full of black dirt and the water would not go down the drain. We were unable to take a shower and had no time for maintenance person to correct this issue.
Breakfast at the club lounge was decent.
On the other hand we were surprised to have to pay for a glass of wine in the evening. We agreed to pay and were serve two glasses of merlot which was warm full of deposit material and had started turning a different color. We did not have to pay for the wine but our expectation would be that the Sheraton would serve a drinkable wine to their club members.
September 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rands51 Dishwasher
Health concern about the glasses replaced in the room; they were so soiled with fingerprints and other marks that I wondered if they had actually been cleaned.
Maid was very helpful and met every expectation and more.
Love the view but Hate all the steps in the restaurant. Hostess was a pest about, "I have to seat you", though there were lots of tables empty and I was only getting the breakfast buffet. Business people need to get in and out in a hurry, unlike in the evening for dinner. I cancelled the breakfast option for future reservations.
February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Erinkm1 Wow look @ the view!!
I have to say, this was our first strip to Cuyahoga falls, Ohio.... in fact it was our first trip to Ohio. The Hotel was spectacular. The front desk staff was awesome(Simon), they made everything perfect and bent over backwards to make our stay wonderful. The Restaurant Sunday brunch was amazing, and the staff in the Novo Lounge were engaging and interactive (Juan). We left feeling like we were leaving home and will miss the staff the amenities and the view of the falls most. With warm memories and looking forward to coming back.
August 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by deke4161 Check in needs attention
My email confirmation stated that I was confirmed in on the club floor with continental brkfst in club lounge. When I checked in, the front desk guy told me I was not on the club floor - standard room only and "we don't have a club floor". I didn't get my breakfast voucher until that evening when I went back to the front desk and the lady gave it to me. She stated that I should have been on the club floor when I checked in. That happened to several of our guest in our group. I've done a meeting at this hotel, can't say I'll do it again soon.
August 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by brianfm Parking is a Disaster
This hotel doesn’t have nearly enough parking for its guests much less for the excessive number of non-guests who are attending various functions at the hotel. Hotel guests are forced to park their vehicles across the street in an unattended public parking lot with poor lighting and no security. This hotel clearly has no regard for the safety of its guest or their property. How could anyone recommend a hotel that fails to concern itself with even the most basic service to their clientele namely the safety of their guests and their property?
October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Janice104 Mix up in reservation
The hotel was very busy with weddings for the weekend. When I checked in we were sent to a suite with one king bed. I called and went down to the front desk and they gave me another room with 2 beds...this was still not the room that I thought I had reserved. We had 3 adults and 2 children and I had requested a large suite. The room was nice but not what I had reserved.
October 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sandra55 Not a restful sleep
After spending $500.00 for multi-level suite, we were unable to enjoy the balcony/patio area because of a party going on at the next balcony. At least 8 to 10 young people drinking beer and being loud and this was at 5pm - same group woke us up at 3:30am only louder. There needs to be some type of security/supervision to avoid this type of behavior because it is not fair to people who want to just relax on their balcony and follow that up with a good nights sleep. We will not ever spend the night at this hotel again.
August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Muktown Enjoyed Our Stay
This is a very nice hotel. The staff is very friendly. Our room was on the second floor and we had access to complimentery breakfast and snacks. When we arrived we were given the choice of a riverview (with train noise) or a cityview. We chose the riverview knowing we could switch the next day if we found it to be too noisy for us. The train whistle is loud, but did not bother us. Our room was very clean . It was nicely furnished as well. I would definitely stay here again if visiting the area :)
September 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by BEB2013 unfortunate visit
I have stayed at this hotel several time in the past and have always had an excellent experience. Unfortunately, this time was not a good experience. We stayed four nights in the hotel and had problems with the air conditioner every night. We contacted the front desk and they promised to fix it but every night, in the middle of the night, the air conditioner stopped working and began to flow warm air. The hotel staff never communicated they were unable to fix the issue permanently. The AC worked during the day but not at night.
Also, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and appeared to have broken springs on one side. I mentioned this to the front desk as well and the response I received was "I am sorry to hear that. We'll have someone come look at it".
June 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Julie1963 Hotel Experience
The hotel is beautiful the food was great.. The only problem we had was we asked for connecting rooms to another guest. we were told they had that on record. Called the day of check in and confirmed it.. We arrived about an hour earlier than the other couple and I confirmed it one more time and when they checked in and called us to see what room we had.. it was not anyway connected or close.. 004 to 242 Really... How hard is it.. It never got fixed. They said they would but the evening went on and we never heard from the staff.
January 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dick1234 Nice rooms, good location
All rooms are big and the location is great. 2 bars just across the street and nice restaurant. More food options within 5-10 min walk.
Cons: the entire hotel smells very bad in the morning. Something is wrong with the ventilation (its been like that for years, time to do something!), Breakfast too expensive
October 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Traveler Need maintenence update
1. Men's restroom by conference rooms, far toilet stall wall/door was previousily broken. It was repaired, but very poorly. Might be waiting for new parts but based on discolor of repaired area did not look as anything would be done. 2. Elevator close to pool (not rock elevator) had a sign partially ripped off inside wall. 3. My room "sitting room" TV not working. Tried actual side mounted power button and no reponse. Checked electrical plug, found them very loose. Should have been reported by housekeeping.
April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Petesburgh Awesome stay
From the moment we checked in I felt welcomed. Kasey (Casey) was AWESOME, she was by far one of the best check-in experiences I have ever had. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the quick service by Jim in maintenance, we had a problem with the air conditioning in our room he came up let us know he was working on it and with-in 5-10 minutes it was pumping ice cold air out and he then followed up to make sure it was resolved and asked if there was anything else that he could help us with. OUTSTANDING!
September 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Travel444 Staff Needs Customer Service Training
From the time of booking the room, it was a fiasco. We had to make multiple calls in order to confirm that we could in fact use a CC authorization form (as the trip was paid with a company credit card). After being told several times that this couldn't be done (which we travel all the time and have never had an issue), it took a supervisor to push the request through. Upon checking in, the staff was 'stand-offish" and very non-helpful...it was quite obvious that they did not want to be there.
May 17, 2013