Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

  • 745 Baywood Drive
  • Petaluma,
  • California
  • 94954
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 309 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Do not disturb I had the do not disturb sign up and housekeeping came into my room anyway, when they did they also deactivated both our keys. Both my husband and myself had to go to the front desk to get our keys reset. March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice This is my first time to stay in this hotel, and I must say, my stay was very pleasant. The staff was able to check us in early and was even able to accommodate my friend's request for a room with a marina view and on the same floor where I was. The lobby was beautiful and our room was nice. I had a view of the marina, too! Being a techy, I enjoyed their free and fast Wi-fi connection and the fact that I could control their tv with my mobile phone! The fridge in the room was convenient for having a late snack at night and I love the availability of the safe in the room for my valuables. Located in the quiet city of Petaluma, it was very convenient indeed that the hospital where I was assigned was less than 2 miles away from the hotel. My only area for improvement was that our hotel card key, for some reason, was always getting demagnetized. I tried to keep it away from my cellphone, but it would not work on the club lounge door and my hotel room. I had to have it changed twice. Other than that, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, making my business trip a truly pleasurable one. January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place we stayed in the Northwest Very clean, updated room with many amenities in the hotel. Best fitness center we had seen. Food was superb. Overall, excellent rating. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little different In a good way nice hotel right in a marina and 10 mins from wine country. Very homy and friendly staff make you feel right at home. Rooms are big and comfortable. May 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good stay It was a good stay. I was satisified with my experience at this sheraton. I was a little weary about hearing the freeway from my room, but it was very quiet. February 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Exsperience Hotel is nice location but staff is very weak and rude. need better hireing and training. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room small for price Hotel was nice and Lobby was nice. But for the price I would have expected a bigger nicer room. September 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reservation & Cleanliness Lacking The room provided did not match the reservation I made. We called in to request a Club Level room that was pet-friendly. The reservation was made as requested. However, upon check-in the Front Desk indicated that pets were not allowed on the Club Level floor. While this is understandable, I would have preferred to have been told this from the start. We were moved to the first floor. The facility was not very clean. Our room was located on the South side of the property near the marsh. The entrance was filthy. It smelled like a horse's stable. Also, there were two cups sitting on the pipes when we arrived on Friday and were also there when we checked out on Sunday. Also, there were multiple beer bottle caps on the floor along with a lot of dirt, weeds, and other grime. I would think it worthwhile to clean the guest's entrances as this is where a first impression is made. Also, housekeeping was not up to par for a Sheraton property. They took the dirty towels but didn't hang the new ones. They didn't replace our bed sheets. The sheets were simply flipped; the feet side of the sheets were now at our faces. The bathroom floor was dirty upon arrival and was never cleaned during our stay. I will look at other hotels when I stay in the area next. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Easy access to highways and surprisingly convenient to Sears Point/Infineon Raceway August 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Petaluma Stay Carpets are dirty everywhere January 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel to spend a night This hotel is decent place to spend a night but not a vacation spot. Let me start with what we liked about the hotel: - Great service in the club lounge. Breakfast was excellent, evening snack was average. The hotel did accommodate our request for a vegetarian option for the evening snack - Staff was friendly, hardworking - Green choice option allows you to earn $5 in food and beverage credit or 500 SPG points The not so good - The fan in the bathroom did not work, one of the bulbs in the lamp was not functioning, safety deposit box could not be opened. Overall the hotel can use an upgrade. - The hotel does not have microwave ovens in all rooms as advertised on their website - Little or no recognition to Platinum members. For our 2-day stay, we were not upgraded to a suite (possibly due to sell out) - The closest wineries are about 12-15 miles away - We were there to celebrate my brothers 21st birthday. At the time of reservation and during a follow-up call with Sheraton Reservations, they made a big deal about this birthday and made a note on our account. I was expecting the hotel to surprise us with a small dessert - but that didn't happen. I must admit that we did not explicitly request for a birthday treat. Overall an above average experience but certainly there is room for improvement. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great place to stay at the gates of wine country Our family recently stayed at the Sheraton Sonoma County in Petaluma, and had a wonderful experience. After a long drive through San Francisco traffic we finally arrived at the hotel totally wiped out. We were so happy to be greeted by the welcoming front desk staff who helped us immediately. While booking online we were promised sparkling wine and strawberries upon our arrival. We didn't find the strawberries or wine, but there was a generous and delicious spread of charcuterie. Eventually I asked Josue at the front desk about the wine, and he brought it to our room immediately on ice. We were travelling with a puppy, so we didn't want to sit in the restaurant, although the rockstar hostess, Jordan said she could accommodate us. We instead gave her our meal order at the host stand. At the same time an unruly table in the lounge well into their drinks started verbally accosting my lady and our dog, eventually accusing our dog of wetting the floor. Although we couldn't see where it happened, we were thoroughly embarrassed, and growing frustrated. Jordan defused the situation with the unruly table and told us not to worry about the dog, that it goes along with the territory of a hotel that accommodates pets. Thanks to Jordan our minds we were put at ease, and we able to enjoy our food back in our room in peace and quiet. We enjoyed the food, and the comfort of our room that had a great view to the water. We highly recommend taking a run along the path through the estuary adjacent to the hotel at sunset. It was gorgeous. All in all we had a great stay thanks to the wonderful staff of your hotel. Hope to see you all again sometime. May 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 My first horrible stay at a hotel... I check in with my wife and think at first glance wow not too shabby. First of let’s start with room 342... Enter the room and there is a foul oder coming from the bathroom. Oh my not surprising there is a used toilet paper in the trash can already. I figure no big deal I'll take the trash out. So I proceed to open the drapes and what do I find right outside the window a great view of the service roof with AC and Heat pumps right outside. No view worth talking about. I go down to the front desk and ask if I could change rooms, they would have to move me and my wife the next day if I wanted to take a different room. I check in a day early and get shafted after not seeing my wife for 5 weeks. WOW! Now we get in the room and those little bottles of water you see in the room NOT COMPLIMENTARY very pricey. I could have bought a couple of cases at grocery store 3 minute walk away from hotel. Bar area was nice but small and service was very slow. Restaurant food was good but service again way to slow... I waited for 25 minutes to get and order of garlic fries... just ridiculous. The overall room itself had quality furnishings but when I lifted the comforter there was black lint all over the foot area of the bed as if someone slept in the bed before and they didn't change the sheets. Nice sheets too unbelievable the filth of it though. Shower had some small traces of mold on the caulking not much but enough to see with your naked eye. The room I stayed in should not be used to accommodate guests! My stay was not the worst but for a 4 / 5 start rated hotel not the best... my experience 2 / 3 May 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pets and Rusdness We stayed for two nights (Dec 20-21, 2103) at the Petaluma Sheraton. It's in a beautiful setting and we had no problem with the comfortable, quiet room. However, we were not told at check in that this is a Pet Friendly place. I love pets but I am allergic to them. I slept badly but didn't know why: then I heard dogs running up and down the hall. Then I noticed dog hairs all over the lobby, on the rugs and chairs, where I was sitting. When my husband asked, a staff member admitted our room was in the Pet Friendly area. I could have had an asthma attack, instead of "just" suffering from the allergies that bothered me to point of not being able to sleep. But here is the worst part: when we asked to speak with the guest service manager, and was told she would be in later after we checked-out, I left my cell number. She never returned my call. I called her 5 times and left messages, always being told by the front desk that she would be in later. Then I called the Central Manager and left him a message. No return call. Although they were both out at some point for vacation, I know from the front desk they were both in numerous times when I called, although obviously busy and I was always put through to their voice mail. How rude! What terrible customer relations. The only kindness came from the nice woman working the Starbucks mini café next to the front desk who overheard my pet-related problems and how I hadn't been asked if pet friendly was OK for me (not). She gave me a free cup of coffee. Thank you, whoever you were, because that's the only response I ever received from anyone at the hotel. Shame on you, managers! We would have stayed with our daughter in Petaluma but she has a cat! December 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible spg experience When I checked in, I needed to extend my stay by a third day due to personal reasons, and the lady at the front desk did tell me that she can extend my stay herself and that I can do it on points. So she did...or so I thought-more on that later. No club lounge access was provided for me and after I inquired why, she said it's only for spg platinum members. I had access at this time last year though. As she opened the side door to the front desk to give me the luggage cart, I explained to her I had access last year as a gold spg member and asked why it changed, but she had no response and closed the door on me. Kinda rude, no? I called spg and they had no reason either as to why I had it last year at this property and not this year. Very confusing and inconsistent. It's not fair to provide it one year then take it away the next. One of the reasons I reserved this hotel was on the basis of access to the spg club lounge. It's very convenient and I get it at other Starwood properties all over the place as a spg gold member. That's inconsistent. I gave up complaining to them. As soon as I got into the room, it was apparent by the look of the blankets in disarray, and some on the floor, that the room wasn't cleaned. I lugged my luggage and family outta that room then tried to call the front desk from the room, but no one answered after trying twice for about 5 minutes. Went downstairs, told them what was wrong with the room. No apology offered from that lady. She gave me a new room, but unfortunately it was the furthest from the elevator. As I went into the new room, security lock box was not working. Called front desk twice again and no one picks up the phone again. I gave up trying to complain. Bathroom floor towel was missing. Another annoying thing. NOW, same lady at the front desk, 24 hours later, called me and said I have to actually call spg to extend my stay even though she said she took care of it then and there as soon as I arrived yesterday. Weird how it can't be done at the front desk. Well, as my kids are all dressed up for the pool and waiting for me, I called spg and spent 25 minutes on the phone wasting time taking care of something that I thought was taken care of already! We all go to the pool, and unfortunately, the jets in the jacuzzi weren't working. The button doesn't work! I got more one night at this hotel, then I'm done. This is the worst spg hotel I've ever had. It's too bad too because it was fine when I was here last year in August! Will never come back to this shoddy service of a hotel. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love Dining here! Delightful food and service, shocked and comforted to be remembered, visit to visit, and treated with such lovely welcoming and friendship. Nice deep soaking bathtub, miss bathrobe. Lovely crisp ironed sheets. Appreciate refrigerator, tv not bad but miss some, Thanks for fan working this time in bath, Phone conformation for room 446 she called and verified as making reservation, but given 384, with no club froor access at $???. not AARP? AAA @ club floor price. AC blows up drape and is so noisy. Litter in hallways and elevators. Never got internet access in room. Wish for outlet by bed to plug/charge phone. Room hot for arrival, prefer fresh air to enter. w August 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel in good location We had a couple pre-paid rooms and had to reschedule the original reservation dates due to a family emergency. The staff we spoke to at the hotel were accommodating and let us reschedule (not cancel) the reservation. Although it took calling back to get an email confirmation of the change, the staff was helpful in providing this. Rooms were nice with great amenities for SPG members. There was also free wine tasting in the evening from very nice people. Overall, it was a great hotel to stay at that provided a good central base to come back to after visiting all the vineyards in the area. Would definitely stay here again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay It was my first time to the hotel and I had a lot of questions about the area when I checked in. Ben, Morgan, and Christian were really helpful and full of information. Christian loaded me up with things to do and Morgan was very informative about the amenities the hotel had to offer. I had minor problem when the batteries were dead in my remote but I called down and Ben had someone to my room in 5 minutes with a new one. The entire staff of the Sheraton made me feel very welcome with the impression that they actually wanted me to be there, and wanted to be there themselves. I am really looking forward to my next stay! May 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unprepared room, unresponsive staff, ridiculous prices Despite my reservation, I waited more than two hours for a room after arriving at 330 pm. Unsatisfactory. The desk staff was more or less indifferent to our situation (though they did offer a $15 drink voucher for the bar. Well, that was good for exactly one of the bar's absurdly overpriced drinks. Too bad I had to wait nearly two hours to get into a room. By then, I could have used another drink.) If I'm ever in Petaluma again, I definitely won't stay here. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice hotel in north of SF Hotel is approximately an hour away from downtown SF. Check-in was smooth but I wished the concierge stuff could have helped us with the luggage, as we can't really handle them without a cart that has to be taken out from the front desk office. December 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great choice for R and R My grown daughter and I are now in the staycation mode, as we care for my mom age 93 and don't want to travel too far. 1 in 6 families care for their elderly parents. This can be draining. So, a few times a year, we now pick a hotel within a couple of hours of our home, help Mom into the car and off we go. The staff is so understanding and kind. They just let you be, just do your own thing. Yet, if you ever need them, they are there. Nice people. Super location, as we stayed in our beautiful room most of the time. Order up! It's great food!! Thanks everybody for helping us thru this difficult time. May 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasure in Petaluma This is a must stay property when you are visiting southern Sonoma County. What a great location, close to many great wineries, just a very short drive to downtown Petaluma, and literally steps away from Shollenberg Park, for a fabulous morning walk, jog, bike ride, or run through the wetlands. The views from the property are also wonderful. The staff succeeds in making your stay special. Chef Danny's restaurant Tolay is wonderful. The pool (salt water) and hot tub are great, especially in the afternoon, with the gentle west winds blowing. We would not stay anywhere else when we visit Petaluma. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place in town to stay I put up my 84 year old parents at the hotel. David and his whole staff were very accommodating with her specail needs of a wheelchair and a handicap room. I knew immediately that I would not have to worry about them being well taken care of. All of the staff were very friendly to them as they passed by the front desk several times during their stay. I own a restaurant in town and will send all of my out of town customers that are looking for lodging to the hotel. There is now place in town that can provided everything that you do. Thanks once again for making my family feel so warm and welcomed. June 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by very noisy room I love this hotel generally and always stay there when I go to that area as I can take my dog and it is a wonderful hotel and great location. This time however I was given a room that was underneath the housekeeping and it was extremely noisy all night, sounded like there was a bowling alley on top of us. We had been offered a room earlier that they said was near the elevator and some people thought it was noisy and I did not take that one and said I really wanted a quiet room! We did call and complain but the only recourse we had at 11:00 at night after being already in bed was to change rooms. I really don't think they should offer rooms that are that noisy during the night, it was AWFUL!!!! June 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, lousy Cisco room phone I was very happy with my stay at the Sheraton Sonoma County, with one annoyance: the Cisco IP phone in the room was just awful: - The handset never did work. Only the speaker phone mode worked. - Because only the speaker phone mode worked, wake up calls were a shock. The phone would announce, loudly, "Are you there?" over and over until you answered. Weird and annoying. Not a good way to be woken up in the morning. This phone is a model of poor user design: a phone with limited capabilities that few people will know how to use offhand. Sheraton should just replace them with simpler phones. October 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but next to freeway The hotel is nice, clean, and quiet. October 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Typical Fwy Hotel As a Plat SPG I have to say I was disappointed in this property. We had two rooms and neither were on the SPG floor and one had one of the worst room views I've ever had and this was just beyond the dirty curtains. The A/C unit was so noisy we couldn't even sleep with it on. The Lounge on Level 4 was OK but needed better restocking procedures. I was told they had run out of cereal selections other than the few boxes remaining. I'm sure the earthquake nearby had some impacts on this property. I have to say the one true upside of this was the front desk staff---extremely friendly. August 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by You charged me double!! You charged me for two rooms even though I pointed out the mistake on the invoice at checkout. You even called me later that day to assure me I would only be billed for one room. I am so annoyed! September 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Almost a nightmare! Asked to have our luggage sent to our room as soon as it was delivered. Next morning had to go down early to get it. If it came in the middle of the night we wanted it then! Lost electricity for approx. two hours due to what????? Did not change towels and sheets in our room for three different days...we did not use the "Green door tag to request green service". Renovation up stairs in hall....ughhh. Large party down stairs...music made it impossible to sleep. Room actually vibrated from bass sounds. We stayed 6 nights....will not stay there again. Believe me 2013 was much better then this year when we stayed there. Front staff was less then helpful....with loud party we called and no one answered the phone...guess they could not hear it ring! Cleaning staff we excellent when we DID have our room cleaned! November 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable Stay We were in Petaluma for a wedding and stayed at this Sheraton. Despite a small snafu with our reservations and room assignment (because I had reserved 3 rooms for other family members), the rest of the stay including the pool and hot tub, was comfortable and efficient. I especially like having a refrigerator and microwave and coffee maker in the room. Wish there was a free breakfast included, though. The hotel is near the highway and a short drive to the center of this cute town. Don't miss Copperfield's bookstore - it's fabulous, with new and used books... August 20, 2014
  • 2015-03-29T17:54:05.720-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_309, tr_309
  • loc_en_US, sid_1138, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>