The Sheraton Read House Hotel Chattanooga

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 424 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great room and location Nice hotel with a great central location in Chattanooga. July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to SPG / Sheraton standards As a member of the highest level (Platinum) of the SPG loyalty program, I have some experience with SPG properties....not impressed. Poor reception staff experience, below standard room condition, food quality poor and club lounge was shameful. We tried the lounge two out of three mornings...both days the food was gone, dirty tables and floor, dishes stacked up, had to ask the attendant to make more coffee but then no cups to drink it....not even paper cups. After twenty minutes still no food. Housekeeping walked into our room at 8:30 am while I was in bathroom and my wife sitting in chair. Housekeeper said "I was just checking the room"....no apology. My wife said she never heard a knock. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel and Great Staff This hotel is a classic from the moment you arrive in the lobby to the comfort of the beds.....everything was outstanding. We have stayed here many times and have always been impressed and would never stay anywhere else when visiting Chattanooga. The staff tended to all of our needs like we were the only ones there. July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible Service This was by far the worst hotel service I have ever received. Whoever was supposed to be answering the "guest service" line from the room phones let it ring and ring without answering, to get any help we had to go downstairs and wait in a line (there always seemed to be a line, probably because no one answered the phones). I asked for someone to arrange a taxi pickup, after missing the wedding ceremony we were supposed to be at, we realized no one had ever actually made the call. We were unable to control the temperature of our room, but it took 2 hours for someone to tell us that. And we didn't receive clean up service once during our stay. May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs updating We were very disappointed in the cleanliness and the quality of the facilities. There were large stains on the furniture, the mattress was very worn, and the sheets were so stretched that they did not stay in place. It was so uncomfortable that we only stayed one night instead of the two that we were scheduled to stay. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience From the moment Ken checked us in, to the moment we left our experience was awesome. Ken was fantastic, nice and so informative. Our room was super and I just love the older section of the hotel. We debated about eating at Porter's and decided we would try it, I will go back it was so delicious. Melanie was very kind and we enjoyed her a lot as well as our wonderful waiter from Texas (cannot remember his name, sorry). Overall a marvelous and memorable experience, Thanks to all your staff for being so kind. May 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Hotel Needs Lots of Work The Read House is in a state of disrepair. Our first room was missing the light over the tub/shower - there was just a hole in the ceiling with a bulb stuck in there. Outlet holes were cut too large for the outlets, so you could see into the walls all over the place. The desk in the first room was so beaten up that it looked like someone threw it down a set of stairs. There was also some sort of very loud mechanical noise every few seconds. The wallpaper is peeling or cracking ALL over the hotel. Bathtub surrounds are sub par, and there were stains on the sheets in the second room we were moved to. The staff is the only thing that saved this place at all - they were friendly and helpful, but until they have a MAJOR renovation, no chance I'm coming back. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel Great hotel the staff is very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was the rooms don't come with a microwave or a refigerator. Overall had a great time and will come back to visit. July 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Read House Needs Massive Upgrades Bed mattress sagged causing back pain the following morning; bathroom fixtures were rusted, my Gold level status was not recognized at check in, and management decided to forego access to the Club lounge in lieu of breakfast coupons in the main dining room. This is a much slower process for business travelers & costs more for the hotel with people like me who only want coffee, yogurt and a piece of fruit! July 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to standard Probably the worst check in I have ever had, one guest in front of me and still took 30 minutes. Staff offhand and did not have a friendly attitude. There was an important envelope left for me which was not given to me, it was altering our evening plans and dress code. However it was found later clearly marked for me. Rooms were very "tired", peeling veneers, sink plugs that did not function. wobbly shower head, a surge protector attached to a wall socket (I am sure that was not up to code) Apart from the Parking Valet no one seemed to care. The looby is fantastic as are the ballrooms and meeting rooms. A pity the hotel is not the same standard all over April 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Read House The Read House was clean and he staff was accommodating. The room was larger than most but bathroom much smaller than most. $15 a day parking! That can be avoided by parking on the street (free after 4:30/before 8:00 am as well as weekends). Meters were never hard to find during the day. Restaurant is pricey. Starbucks in building is nice. Great location, walking distance or short trolley ride to many attractions and restaurants. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hospitality The staff was always friendly, sincere, helpful and welcoming. No matter what our request or need was they were very quick to help. We loved our visit! April 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel need improvement Lobby look great; expected the room to have an aged look, did not expect the following: trash in the room not vacuum from previous guest, 1 trash can shared between bathrm & bedrm, non working electrical outlets in the bathrm & the 2 in bedrm poor power consumption, broken iron board wih dirty cover, leaking iron, trash (bottle caps) in hallway for 2 days; did not receive green points & unable to check out at 645a with cash June 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by below average Unfortunately the bathtub was dirty and the staff was really overwhelmed with all the checking in and out. I finally got someone to clean it--but she did not speak english, she was cleaning the toilet-so I had to take the pistol grip and do it myself. she was very sweet-but!! Need more staff when you know you are going to be swamped. bed was TOOOO SOFT!!! Where is my Heavenly Bed??? Not there for sure. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So helpful We were checking in for a conference immediately after another conference had checked out. Front desk staff were helpful and patient with our repeated requests to check the status of the rooms. In addition, the valet service workers were polite, helpful and respectful, even though for the first few days of my stay I didn't have any cash with which to tip. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I do wish, however, that either a more affordable dining option were available or that microwave and refrigerator were available in the rooms. Even if I did dine in Porter's downstairs, I had no way to keep any food that I could not finish, or take a dessert back to my room for later. April 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by unsatisfactory We were given two rooms on the SPG floor; 6th floor. Upon disembarking the elevator there is an old musty smell. We went to the vending area and the area where there would have been soda/ snack vending had obvious signs of water damage... vending had been removed. Ice machine was still present. One room had a large hole in the carpet where it meets the entry tile. The window seal was broken for so long that you could barely see out of the window. there was obvious signs of continuing water damage above the window. The bath tub finish was worn away. It looked as though refinish repair was attempted which had also worn away. Grout was dirty and broken. Shower flow was good. Beds squeak upon slightest movement. Robe in closet had stain on left sleeve. Other room; repaired water damage above window which is of such poor quality that your attention is immediately drawn to it. Windows had greasy handprints. A/C set at 61F still would not stay on to cool room. No robe in closet. The bath tub finish was worn away. It looked as though refinish repair was attempted which had also worn away. Grout was dirty and broken. Shower flow was good. Beds squeak upon slightest movement. room service; soup, baked potato and soda were highlights. The rest of the food was awful. Service was quick and friendly. Valet service was quick and friendly. Check in was quick and easy. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel! We loved the historic features of this hotel! The lobby was beautiful! The only items we noticed that needed to be addressed were the water stains on the walls in the halls and the lumpy carpets in the hallways. Not complaining though, because it was a great room and we enjoyed our stay. The staff was also very friendly and courteous. June 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Sheraton Quality The room was cold and no heat available. We asked for a heater and it was brought up 4 hours later. Our room was not cleaned when returned around 430 PM and requested at the Front Desk that the room be cleaned. When we returned at 730 PM the room was cleaned. Big difference from my first stay there. Will not return again. October 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Faded Glory This glorious old hotel is fading. The lobby is beautiful but the hallways and rooms are in major need of repair - peeling wallpaper, water stains, frayed carpet, and just plain dirty. I've known this hotel for 50 years and it hurts my heart to see it falling apart. Please save this glorious place. December 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel bathroom - ick Though the area was decent and the room somewhat comfortable, my biggest complaint has got to be the bathroom. Never have I stayed in a hotel with a bathroom that was so dingy. The shower and tub were yellow and black with mold and grime, and the tile floor looked decades old. On top of that, the ENTIRE bathroom was wet after a shower. The walls (wallpaper, ew), door frame, floor, toilet, shelves etc. were covered with a thick layer of moisture following the shower. It was horrifying, and only made more sense as to why the mold existed in the shower: moisture. It's normal for a mirror or other surfaces to get somewhat foggy during/after a shower, but everything was DRIPPING wet. It was gross. If I had seen a decent photo of the bathroom before I confirmed my reservation, I would never have stayed here. Bathrooms need a serious upgrade, and until then, you shouldn't charge that much a night to stay in a room with a bathroom with mold in it. No thanks. Stay somewhere else. September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Edees We loved our stay at the Read House. The room was clean, the beds are heavenly and the staff was so friendly and went out of their way to give excellent service. The history of the Read House is fascinating and the workmanship in the lobby is beautiful. December 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I read the reviews and experienced the problems I read most of the reviews from the past 2 years on this site and couldn't believe what I was reading. I could not imagine a Sheraton hotel being reviewed so poorly, so I had to see for myself. It was worse. The problems started as soon as I tried to check in, the line was quite long, no special check-in for Gold or higher members and only 2 staff working, and one disappeared. When I finally made it to the front, they had my reservation but it was not correct. I had reserved a package including bkft and tix to the aquarium, but there was no record of it. The front desk clerk said he could not help so I asked to speak to the manager. I explained the situation to him and he asked where I made the reservation. I replied the SPG website and he stated that the rates on that site are usually incorrect and that my package would cost more. When I showed him my written reservation he finally agreed. Securing brft vouchers was not a problem but he stated he did not have the tix for the aquarium but would have them for me tomorrow morning (want to guess whether they were there the next day?). This process took over 20 minutes. When I arrived at my room, it was an upgraded junior suite but had a king sized bed. I specifically asked for 2 queens. So back to the front desk I go and wait on line again. Room corrected. The room was large but tired, as many other reviewers had stated. There were many problems in the bathroom, way too many to mention here. Suffice it to say way below the standards I am accustomed to at a Sheraton. The bed was comfortable, but the a/c was not working right. Luckily it was a cool evening. The next morning bkft was a disaster. There was only 2 tables occupied and it took over 5 minutes for the one waiter to come over. Our bkft took over 10 minutes to arrive, (we only ordered eggs) and the order was incorrect. When I asked for jelly for my toast the waiter brought honey. When I asked again he took almost 5 minutes to bring it and then threw a few plastic packages on the table. There were more problems but you probably get the idea by now. At checkout, the line was long with only one employee working. And yes, you were correct, there were no aquarium tix, but the desk clerk said she would immediately call the aquarium and have them waiting for me at the will-call (want to guess whether they were there?) You guessed right, they weren't so I called the hotel and after a lengthy conversation to both me and to management at the aquarium I finally received the tix. It certainly wasn't easy. How management at the Sheraton allows this poor service to continue is beyond me, and why Corporate doesn't intervene is also a mystery. Perhaps someone at Sheraton can shed some light on this for me. July 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Our 3rd visit was not a good experience I didn't make a reservation before hand because I hadn't decided that we would stay here a third time but we do love Porters restaurant, the location is very convenient for our needs and our previous visits were satisfactory. This time our room seemed as though it had been forgotten. We started out with no shower curtain, but I must say that once I called to report this omission a staff member almost immediately rectified the issue. I didn't realize until I was in the shower, because the bathtub is old and scarred, that it had not been cleaned properly, it was grimy and gross. The last straw was the obviously stained cushions on the side chair and couch in the sitting area. I would not sit on the upholstered furniture. So this visit was unfortunately, less than stellar.We had a lot to do while we were in town for just one night so I didn't have time to request a room change but I did speak with the front desk clerk at check out, she had also checked us in on the previous day. She apologized but didn't seem overly concerned. July 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has changed. Roll-away bed that we did not order, keys that did not work, closure of the Club Lounge with no warning, A/C that does not work, room uncleanliness and other confusing issues. August 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice downtown hotel We celebrated our anniversary at the Read House. Overall, it was very nice - our room was a little warm/air conditioning didn't work all that well. It would be nice if the Club Level rooms had robes for us to use. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel History and architecture beautiful - Responsive staff - Comfortable beds and great shower! July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel and location I read all the reviews before our stay and was a little worried. I have to say Sheraton did not let us down. The Hotel is historic so don't expect it to be new. We had 2 rooms for 3 nights and they were clean and the beds are the best. Pool was closed the first 2 days but they gave us a pass to use another hotels pool. It opened the last day and the kids got to swim. Location is great and we felt safe walking downtown at night. We will vacation here again! July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit of a disappointment We were upgraded to the Presidential Suite and thought that we would be overwhelmed. Unfortunately, our expectations were not met. The suite, even though large, was not what I would consider "presidential". The room did not have a desk or an adequate place to plug in a computer or phone chargers. The shower had much missing grout from the tiles. There was not even hooks to hang up towels in the bathroom. The a/c vent in the bedroom was dirty and appeared to have not been cleaned in a long time. In the past when I have checked in at my Sheraton destinations, we have been greeted in the room with some amenity from the hotel. But, on this stay there was nothing. All in all, a big letdown. September 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! This hotel was a wonderful place to stay. I had the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel room! The room was clean. The valet staff were wonderful! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very, very nice The staff was helpful from the moment we pulled into the garage. We had two dogs with us and the front desk gave us two rolls of doggie bags when we checked in. The bed was spectacular and we all had a great night sleep. The hotel it self is beautiful and very well decorated. We will be staying at the Sheraton from now on! July 9, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>