Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

  • 1800 50th Street
  • West Des Moines,
  • Iowa
  • 50266
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 nights, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book up to 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not in keeping with Sheraton standards Due to its location I understand why this hotel may not be the same quality as other Sheraton hotels I have stayed in. But that does not pardon poor customer service. When i returned from work I found my room had not been cleaned. So I called guest services who did not pick up the phone. So I walked down to guest services and was told they were very busy. I told them I would be leaving for dinner in an hour so they could have my room cleaned. An hour later I reminded them. When i returned after dinner two hours later the room had still not been cleaned. when the gentleman from housekeeping finally arrived I was asked if I wanted the whole room cleaned!!!. The rundown condition of the hotel may be overlooked with good customer service. June 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy, understaffed This facility, while conveniently located, is noisy and understaffed, at least during my recent stay. Food and drink service in the grill was unsatisfactorily slow. June 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient location Hotel room was very comfortable. glad that I upgraded the room for the extra space. easy access to I-35 for travelling in the area. requested early check-in, which was available. May 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by review everything was great except the mattresses were very hard and we only had 3 towels in our room not 4. May 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs to focus on guests The room was ok, but had a hard time staying cool. We ran out of tissues and toilet paper. Since we were staying 2 nights. I assumed it would be replenished during cleaning. It wasn't. The public restrooms in the hotel weren't any better. Pool is small. Front desk acted like we were inconveniencing them with a request. Hotel is very loud because of the design. Two elevators are not enough for 10 floors of rooms. May 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible experience Poorly run and changes without customer notice May 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just misses a few things The property was clearly constructed for a different hotel group so the experience doesn't feel quite "SPG" though they've probably done what is possible given the structure. The suite rooms are nice but the work space is poorly lit. May 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Property Room had a somewhat musty smell. The mattress is not overly comfortable. Overall this property is on the tired side. I had to ask the check in clerk if my Starwoods number was on the reservation. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place My wife and I were the parents of the groom and hosted the reception at the Sheraton. This place was awesome. Everything rated an excellent from us. I would recommend this to our friends. Thank you for all the great times. May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel met my needs I thought the hotel and room were dated, but overall, it met my needs. The toilet made a god awful noise when filling up after being flushed. The food in the restaurant was great. The staff was super. The fitness room had everything I needed. May 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good, except... I had called ahead to reserve adjoining rooms and was told to call back the day of check in. I did that and was told they were all taken. When we checked in we found out that our two rooms had a room between us. Fine expect it was adjoining to one of our reserved rooms! I called down and was able to have it changed so that we'd have the side-by-side rooms. Also, at check in we guaranteed our rooms with a credit card, but wanted to pay cash and told them so. They charged our rooms to the CC anyway which was a huge inconvenience to us. How ever the rooms are clean and well-kept and quiet. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Conference Facility Enjoyed a conference at this hotel. It is also very conveniently next to some great shopping in West Des Moines. The conference rooms and food were great. May 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs serious updating This Sheraton has seen better days. When you walk in, you are immediately greeted by the smell of chlorine from the fountain in the lobby. The hotel is very damp, and the carpets on the room floor lobbies are bunched and stained. Both my towels and sheets had old stains on them that clearly could not be removed, despite the strong scent of bleach used. Mattress is old fashioned and hard. The only reason that I stay here is b/c it is the only hotel in the area approved by my company. May 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Prefer Different Bedding Like many hotels today, this Sheraton uses quilts on the beds. These quilts are far more covering than I need, yet a sheet alone is not enough. Thus, I end up either too hot or too cold with the bedding provided and have trouble getting to sleep either way. Many hotels provide a blanket in the closet as an alternative. None was available at this hotel, even from the front desk. I would like a lighter bed covering to be available. April 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by When in Des Moines we always stat at the Sheraton Prior to our arrival, Nancy Leo always has all our needs addressed. Upon arrival our keys have been prepped and our rooms are ready. An outstanding facility with a business area that meets all needs and a workout complex that is excellent. The breakfast buffet meets anyone's dietary needs. The overall location is excellent with many restaurant choices within walking distance. When in Des Moines we always stay at the Sheraton. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clean, up to date, solid lodging I stayed at this hotel for a business conference. They were able to negotiate a great overnight rate. The event planners also paid for continental breakfast, break snacks and beverages, and lunches. I have to assume the breakfast and lunch were economy packages because they were pretty sparse. The beverage service was great. The rec room was well maintained, though one treadmill was not working. My stay was pleasant, comfortable bed and pillows and the meeting rooms were comfortable. I felt safe and confident staying here. April 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and spacious Easy to find, close to lots of other amenities. Interior features landscaped atrium. Nicely maintained. April 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Breakfast Buffet I went to the restaurat and the only employee was working the omelet station. I seated my self. A waitress came out from the back. She came to the table in about 10 minutes. She asked did I seat myself and I said yes. The entrance that I used was direclty off the elevator and was not marked "do not enter or go to Hostess Stand". She then said "That's the best way to be ignored". She walked away from the table and I left. April 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by very poor amenities For a very high price there are very few basic amenities. No internet available in rooms unless you pay, extremely long wait to get elevator because they only have 2-with 10 floors this is a problem, no fridge OR microwave in room, only double beds, no hot tub, and finally not even a cup of coffee available anywhere in the lobby. We have stayed in dozens of hotels in the last 2 years and this is by far the most limited in amenities for the price. April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly Staff The staff are very helpful and friendly. Great customer service. Lots of value for your business travel dollar. April 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WDM Sheraton Great location for a great hotel. April 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The only Starwood property in the area So there really is not much choice if one wants to stay at a Starwood property in Central Iowa. That said, this basic 1980's or 1990's hotel is not bad. The front desk staff is friendly and competent. The lounge was radically understaffed and grossly overcrowded. The suite I was upgraded to had neither a refrigerator nor microwave. As a platinum, I was given the best suite in the house without asking....an increasing rarity among Starwood properties. Everything worked! The place is spotless. April 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Meeting We stayed here due to a meeting we had in your hotel, our lunch was terrible, we had a very dry chicken sandwich on very hard bread. Could of easly been improved with condiments on tables. You also need a hot tub. April 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location for Car Buying Room HVAC was little noisy, Noise late night in hallways. Breakfast too fattening. Staff reasonably attentive. Overall, pretty good hotel. Better for large business. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay for family or convention This is the second time I have stayed at the Sheraton West Des Moines and it is a great place to stay from rooms to staff. They are very responsive to your needs and help in any way possible. I have been so satisfied I do not even look around for another hotel. It is located close to dining, shopping, and easily accessible to the interstate. March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was a great value. We stay in Des Moines about every other month and this was the first time at The Sheraton. We called only a two days before and we got a fabulous rate and felt overall it was a great experience at a great price. March 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upgrade failure! I travel a bit for business and have come to have some knowledge in the ammenities afforded most travelers. My wife booked a weekend get away for the family and was excited to inform me that she had recieved an opportunity to upgrade to a Suite from our King room. I was disappointed and surprised to learn that with Sheraton, a Suite definition meant that our King room had a fridge and micro-wave. Items that in my travels are standard in comparable rooms. Staff did adjust us to a proper Suite with seperated lounge and sleep areas. Staff was courterous and made the adjustment promptly, but as a guest to a Sheraton property I should not have been the one to initiate this upgrade. This leads me to believe that Sheraton and Starwood Hotels employ and encourage bait and switch sales tactics amoung staff at booking in the hopes that they can absorb a higher fee from an unsuspected traveler. After this experience I would not recommend Sheraton for other than a business trip where this is my only option, and have expresed to my wife and our extended family that for future such weekend or overnight get aways they seek out other family oriented accomidations. Truely dissappointed and did not live up to the standards of cutomer service I expected from a Sheraton. March 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible experience Had problems checking in and checking out even though reservations had been made 2 months prior to arrival. Front desk personnel appeared they did not know what they were doing and the manager was unhelpful and unwilling to provide good customer service. The hotel was very noisy and it was difficult to get any sleep. Finally, there was a conference meeting at hotel and it only has two elevators to transport people up to the room floors. They were constant tied up and it was not unusual to wait 10 minutes or longer to get on one. Thank goodness I was only on the fourth floor and was able to walk up and down the stairs located on the other side of the hotel from the elevators. I do not plan on ever staying at this Sheraton again. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable bed/pillows The beds and pillows are the most comfortable. We continue to stay at Sheraton's for that primary reason. March 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Older hotel needs help. Not great for the price. First, the positives: Staff very friendly - everyone we had contact with from the front desk to the janitor in the hall. The breakfast buffet was great - the price was reasonable and the food was excellent and the staff took great care of our family when in the restaurant area. The room was very clean. Bed comfortable. Starbucks coffee/Tazo tea in room was nice. Negatives: The room was really dark, even during the day. Lighting was not good. Internet was SLOW and cost $10. When a second device was connected we were charged another $10. The front desk nicely took off the charge, but it was annoying. Don't try to purchase an in room movie. It took 5 phone calls and a trip from the "technology engineer" who unplugged our TV and plugged it back in, to finally get it working. Then it started in the middle. And it cost $19. 2 more phone calls. Finally got to see the movie. Pool okay - but no hot tub. Carpet in room was very worn and threadbare. March 24, 2014
  • 2015-05-26T20:37:42.874-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_327, tr_327
  • loc_en_US, sid_1557, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>