Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel

  • 625 El Camino Real
  • Palo Alto,
  • California
  • 94301
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 339 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old style and shows This is an old hotel, and every where you walk, it shows. Compare this to the Westin next door, and it is night and day. The food was terrible, like a motel 6. The shrimp was frozen and microwaved, and had to give it back, not edible, and the breakfast buffet could have been at a Dennys. January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by worst SPG hotel I ever stayed at I was very disappointed in this hotel. The hotel does not measure up to other Sheratons. It was very aged and not clean. Also the internet did not work as it was so jammed with users or not strong enough. The hotel refused to credit me back for this. The staff was friendly and helpful. June 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by You can hear everything through the walls Rooms in this hotel are less than average. I was able to hear everything that my neighbor is doing through the walls - loud music early in the morning, snoring, etc. This hotel needs a lot of improvements. November 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed in management On our rare and much anticipated weekend get-away we were awoken at 5:50am with a fire alarm that continued for 15 minutes at ear piercing decibels. Our night's sleep was rudely interrupted and prematurely over! The front desk told us it was a false alarm and to stay in our room. I was extremely disappointed that no one ever followed up with an explanation of what went wrong or an apology for the disturbance. Good management would have shown more concern for the customer! December 11, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is old, smelly and has noisy heaters Furniture is old and outdated, room was smelly - may have been a smoking room in the past now converted to non-smoking - and heating system is antiquated and very noisy interrupting my sleep every 30-40 minutes... Overall a terrible experience for the $1000 spend for two nights! December 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Staff We had a problem with our booking (my fault) but the manager helped to get us a room anyway (during the Stanford/U of Oregon football game weekend!) and was helpful and more importantly cheerful. I love the service at this place, you can't go wrong at this hotel.... November 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peaceful Sleep First time to stay at a Sheraton. My room was located around the corner from the elevator so I thought I would hear noise during the night. It was actually a quiet and comfortable room. The hotel was well populated that weekend too. The food was very good as well. September 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs renovation Great location but worn and needs renovation. New paint and carpet in halls would help a lot. Plus, stop charging for WIFI !!It It looks like an old motel that Sheraton bought and fixed up a long time ago. Staff is excellent. Prices are high, due to location. September 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by portolm8 I like the Sheraton Palo Alto for various reasons. First the location which is within walking distnace of a wide choice of restaurants downtown. I like the proximity to nice stores like Palo Alto bycilcles and the proximity to the Stanford campus which is ideal for running or walking. In addition to this the staff of the Sheraton Palo Alto is particularly friendly... must be the weather or the location, but they rank to the top of my list of hotels for friendliness, going to extra mile to help out and so on... And this is consistent at each visit! Of course the rooms are very nice and clean. The lounge also has very good breakfast food. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stanford Reunions Book early. This is the best place to stay. Close to campus and bar that has indoor and outdoor areas. Parking is a little bit of a hassle but workable if you are staying in the hotel. However, paying $9.99 per day for internet SUCKS. October 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has good features Overall features good. Wifi should be free not charged for in this class of hotel. There a few things that need to be updated in the room. Noise level in my room was more than normal do to mechanical equipment for the elevator. September 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Business Trip I was given a handicap room (not per my request). The room was small/crowded. The room had a double bed, not a king size bed. The AC unit was noisy. And the noise from the train didn't help. Room 1055. May 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Part Two I forgot to mention about my recent stay from June 24-27. 1. Key cards would not let me out of the parking lot 2 days in a row. 2. My receipt was emailed to another employee of our district; how does that happen??? June 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by horrible spider webs in room. really really bad plumbing. toilet, water running etc. Maid knocked on my door at 8:15 am. to clean room on a sat morning the day I was checking out. Woke me up. Would not return!! May 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleasantly surprised The staff at front desk are very helpful. The king bed is comfortable, an internet is fast (wish it were free). Poolside restaurant has really delicious Baked Half Moon Bay Cod. January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Appreciate Evelyn's Help I have stayed here over 300 nights. Evelyn's work at the front desk is always exceptional. She does a fantastic job and is one of the reasons I keep coming back. Thanks! May 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible experience Salmon Steak Salad was what I ordered for room service. The salmon was uncooked Gave the feedback to reception desk and said for me to talk to the manager May 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great staff, awful structure The staff is great but the structure needs rebuilding. as it is now, it doea not value the money. the location is ok, close to caltrain and SF and the campus December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good but very expensive We had a lovely visit. The room was very nice but I think it was extremely expensive for a non-business visit. September 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disapointed The room was comfortable and the staff was responsive, but the upkeep was disapointing given the cost of the room. One of the phones did not work at check in. The TV would not receive a signal. It was fixed but on the last day again failed. The water to the commode was turned off and when turned on, sprayed water all over the bathroom until I fixed it. Also, the front desk people did not seem to know where the room was located and sent us on a round about route to the room and gave us incorrect directions to the nearest ice machine. October 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location This hotel is perfectly situated for walking downtown Palo Alto and visiting Stanford University. July 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Palto Alto Hotel in general needs upgrading. Bed was uncomfortable. Noisy, sounded like carboard June 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible experience Dirty, no security, unhelpful and unknowledgable staff. September 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement Needs improvement. Would not stay again March 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Escape Sheraton hotels are excellently represented by this property in Palo Alto. We have racked up four stays under our SPG account here. Each room we have stayed in is very clean, spacious and recently remodeled. The lavatories are well lit and allow enough space to get started for the day without interrupting others in the room. We’ve started many mornings off with prompt and personalized room service on the balcony overlooking its courtyard full of lush gardens, a babbling brook leading to the pond filled with Koi, all opening to a row of cushy lounge chairs surrounding a rejuvenating pool. Did I mention it’s next to the main restaurant and bar where one can sip drinks with fellow guests until moonrise, or dine al fresco at their Sunday brunch buffet? We love this location especially because it is quietly nestled between Stanford shopping center; located just across the street. Staying on University avenue allows one to walk around the plethora of shopping, café dining, or just enjoy the beautiful neighborhood of old faculty homes. Though the Hotel provides excellent dining, it does provide a refrigerator for all the organic goodies one can pick up at the local market. This comes in handy after using the indoor exercise room. Don’t forget to utilize the ample covered parking around back if needed, and the friendly staff who are there to aid around the clock. So if you are looking for that weekend getaway, stop off between travels, or planning an event please call upon the Sheraton Hotel Palo Alto! July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by unbearable noise It seems that my room was either directly on top of or adjacent to the elevator motor room, the machinery in which could be heard clanking and whining away all night long. The CalTrain and Union Pacific trains, which pass very close by the hotel, were a minor distraction compared to this. This was far and away the noisiest hotel room I've ever stayed in. The additional charge required for wireless internet access, an amenity provided gratis even by inexpensive youth hostels, was also an annoying surprise. While the proximity to Stanford and CalTrain is great, I would otherwise not recommend this hotel, particularly at the current rates. December 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Denied access to room Hello— I used to be an SPG member but it's times like these that I stopped being a loyal member. Upon checking in, your staff told me that there was no reservation for me and that if I wanted to check-in I would have to charge it to my credit card. I told him to run the search again and he finally found it. Needless to say, I believe your staff should exercise dull diligence before telling customers that they don't reservations. In addition, on my last night at your property, I was locked out of my room. I went back to the front desk thinking that my card was just de-magnetized. The front desk agent informed me that I could not have access to my room until the room rate was paid. I found that odd but my company had apparently stopped funds. However, my personal credit card was still on file. The room rate could have just been charged to my card and the room rate problem could have been dealt with at a later time. To lock me out with my personal items still in the room is just unacceptable! I know there is nothing that can be done now but I do hope that your staff does a better a job of providing better service in the future. It's an inconvenience for the customer and I'm sure it's an inconvenience for you to receive such negative reviews like this one. Cheers, Fidel October 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over priced for age and quality of facilities The staff was friendly and efficient. My son had to be at Lucille Packard hospital early in the morning for surgery. When we first contacted the hotel we were told they had no rooms available; however several,sights online showed rooms there being available. Upon speaking to management they found a room for us and provided the hospital discount. Not much of a discount only 15 percent. He explained how rooms can show available on other sites but not when You call but this is not good customer service and the online sites are not customer friendly at all.. Our biggest complaint was the very very loud, noisy air conditioning which had to be on since the room was stuffy. The room needs a new quiet air conditioner and also needs the old cottage cheese stuff removed from the ceiling. The walls also are not insulated well and we could hear people in the halls, toilets flushing and worst of all the train going by. I think we were stuck in the worst section of the hotel. We were wanting a quiet, restful night before surgery and it was not what we needed. We have stayed in hotels half this price that have been much better. Definitley not worth the money. The location is good and the staff great and the room was clean. The food was also very good at the restaurant and staff there was also excellent. One free bottle of water in room but should have been two. Also for price of room and location to,silicone valley you would think wi fi would be free. Lots of empty parking places should parking should be free also. August 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No one mentioned a train! This was my first visit to the Palo Alto Sheraton and probably my last. I was traveling with a group of 5 of my customers and suggested we stay there as it was relatively close to our HQ location where we had meetings the next day. 4 out of 5 of my customers said they were not thrilled with my choice of hotel. Neither was I. I was checked into a room in the Palo Alto wing. Small, ground floor room, where I could literally stand in the bathroom and touch a foot in the shower and my hand on the opposite wall. Air freshener smell in the room was overpowering and as I was on the ground floor the windows didn't open for any fresh air. This was after I had to walk back to the front desk after check in because my first set of keys didn't work. Two of my travel companions had the same issue with their keys. I'm an SPG member, but don't have status, so wasn't checked into a "preferred" room. I soon found out that "preferred" room meant you were on the side of the wing that didn't face the train tracks. We returned from dinner that evening around 10:30 and as soon as I entered my room I could hear the train. I could even FEEL the train...floor had a slight vibration. They continued to run until midnight. I called guest services at one point and they suggested that for my next stay I ask to be put in the Stanford wing. The walls were thin enough for me to not only hear the entire side of the telephone conversation my neighbor was having, but to also hear the "wha, wha, wha" charlie brown speak of the person he was talking TO on his mobile phone. On the bright side the pool was lovely. April 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by $389/Night Really? I called a few days before our recent stay to request 2 double beds because 4 of us would be staying in the room. Upon check-in, there were no double-bed rooms available. about refrigerators in the room, he says "we are in the process of getting refrigerators in ever room. As a matter of fact, today we are getting them in all the rooms and make them a standard for all guests." So I asked if we had one and he said no. I asked if I could have one and he said it would be a $10/night charge. I can go on about this but we finally got one the next day; we were traveling with a 2-year old. The bed closest to the patio squeaked so bad that it was obvious that the box spring was broken. Again, with the 2 year old it was hard for me to move in the bed without making too much noise. We would have liked to have requested a different room but I did not have the time to go back and forth with the front desk again. On our last morning, workers decided to talk, sing, hum, and throw tools down before 8am. They began using a machine that tore up old carpet! UNPROFESSIONAL and INCONSIDERATE! In summary, 3 of my district bosses had negative and rude experiences upon checking-in and complained about the noise. Your hotel gave money back to the district but that doesn't compensate us as individual guests and families. We will be returning next year for the same conference and will be making arrangements to stay somewhere else despite the fact that the conference is being held at your hotel. I would rather walk a few blocks from a hotel that can treat us better. I can't believe you guys charge $389 a night there! I don't pay that much to stay in NYC at a competitor's hotel and it's much more luxurious. June 28, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>