Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

  • 250 Market Street
  • Portsmouth,
  • New Hampshire
  • 03801
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check in. Photo Identification is required at the time of arrival. Reservations will not be honored if guest can not produce proper identification at check in. Any exception requests must be directed to the property and specifically approved by hotel management via Director of Operations or Managing Director.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 338 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply The Best In Portsmouth From My arrival to my check out, The staff was outstanding. The valet , the skycaps all the way to the front desk staff and the Hotel manager went above an beyond my expectations .They should be rewarded accordingly with proper praise and recognition. I was so please I re booked again for a longer stay and joined your reward program .The staff and quality of the room and property are exceptional ....I don't have enough thank you s to go around ...Raymond Walz New York New York Thank you all at the Portsmouth Sheraton see you eagerly again every time we come here January 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good Option In Portsmouth This was my second stay at this hotel and was much better than the first. I may have had unrealistic expectations the first go around. The hotel is centrally located and is a short walk to everything. The lobby is quite nice as is the bar on the 2nd floor. The rooms are of average size, but all are clean having seemingly been newly renovated. I'd rate the club lounge as average- they have done the best they could with the limited space. The staff is also quite friendly. I'd recommend this hotel and will stay again when in the area. Pros: Staff, Location, Common Areas, Harbor View Cons: suites are privately owned so upgrade to one is very unlikely, pool/workout facilities were basement level and average, parking is a bit pricey. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few issues but overall a great place At first, we were not impressed by this hotel. We had some housekeeping issues we discovered upon check in. We asked to have them fixed and were disappointed to find they were not taken care of.Not what I am use to in a Sheraton propery. After speaking to another manager, things were taken care of. I'd say the cleanliness overall was a bit of a let down (dusty corners, dirty glasses, toenail on the floor) . But after they fixed the issues, our stay was great. The staff is friendly and polite. The hotel is perfectly situated in the downtown core so you can reach everything. Overall it ended up being a wonderful stay and we'd definitely stay here again. July 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save your money To be fair, the hotel was bustling. However, with a guaranteed, pre-paid, non-refundable reservation and a 3:00 p.m. check-in time, I did not expect upon arriving after 5:00 p.m. to be told by the receptionist that our room was not ready. Moreover, none of the requests I had made for room floor and location were granted. When I finally was given a room (on the wrong floor), I was told I could not check-in until the room was ready. I had to give the receptionist my cell phone number and wait to be called! We are in our 60s, have spent our entire adult lives traveling, and, over the years have stayed in literally hundreds of hotels. NEVER, have I experienced anything like that! When we informed that our room was finally ready, we were stopped by the receptionist, who saw our Cocker Spaniel, Pearl, on leash. She told us that the hotel was unaware that we were bringing our dog, even though I had told the reservation agent when I made the reservation directly with the hotel. I then had to sign a pet agreement, something I would happily have done upon arrival. This further delayed us. On the way to our room, I was dismayed to see soiled and stained carpeting in the hall. Upon entering the room, both of, as if with one voice, exclaimed, "$299.00" a night for THIS!" Our "deluxe" room was TINY, especially the bathroom and what passed for a closet. It was hard to relax with only one uncomfortable wing chair and a desk chair provided for seating. On the plus side, the valet parking service was prompt, and the staff, other than the receptionist, was friendly, particularly the bellman. P.S. Shortly after our stay, I received a survey from Sheraton about this property. I filled it out, including all the complaints listed above. I never received even an acknowledgement from Sheraton. October 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Spa experience was very disappointing Chose this hotel as an overnight special getaway for my husband. Specifically because of it being right in downtown Portsmouth and also because it was the only one in the area to note an expansive spa service option. I wanted to surprise my overly stressed husband with a massage. Booked a few days in advance with their spa cafe. Person I booked with was very friendly and tried to book the earlier time that I wanted but later in the afternoon was all that was available. (4:00) So I chose this time and was told that the therapist would come right to the room. An hour or so before the expected arrival time I called with the booking agent to let her know our room number to help make things easier for the therapist. We were able to stroll around downtown but came back earlier than we otherwise would to be on time for the appointment. When the therapist was 15 minutes late I called the booking agent again who was surprised to hear the therapist was late and began making phone calls to both the therapist and the suite in the hotel that the spa works directly from and no one would answer!!! After 45 minutes back and forth she told me she finally got a hold of the therapist who had "something come up" and would not be able to make the appointment! Not sure how something came up in the one hr. prior that I had called them to let them know our room number- and we ended up spending an hour out of our short stay sitting in a hotel room instead of enjoying the sites! The booking agent apologized and is supposedly sending a giftcard but when you plan on an experience that is a gift for someone it is really a big disappointment to have it fowled up- especially when their services are boasted on posters all around the hotel. I was also really displeased that when I brought up my issues upon check out the front desk clerk expressed less than concern for the disappointment that it caused. "oh that's too bad- I ll let them know..." gee thanks for the concern...I would expect more since they so heavily advertise the perk of having this service as part of their hotel experience. It just made me be very disappointed with Sheraton overall unfortunately... July 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed This hotel does not meet Starwood expectations. The bed was very uncomfortable and squeaked all night. I had to use my cell phone to call the front desk because the phone was not programed correctly. The staff at breakfast were rude stating "you have ten minutes to order your food" The club level room was a joke and offerred very little to the traveler. After we left we realized that I had left my personal magnifying mirror in the room. We called the hotel and they said they would check with housekeeping and get back to us. Never did. I had to go out and buy another because I have a vision problem. Lack of follow up is poor. May 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Room/ Better Location Our room was what I come to expect from Sheraton. Everything was great, including the mini-fridge available for us to use in-room, with one exception: the room thermostat. It was very cold for most of our stay, and every 3-4 hours or so the thermostat would reset itself to 62 degrees when we had it set at 70. Very annoying. You can't beat the location, however, for proximity to outlet shopping in Maine and all the restaurants and nightlife spots in historic Portsmouth. We could walk to everything! It was great to have so many local spots right there for us to go eat and shop that weren't the chain stores or restaurants. Only a one hour drive to Boston Logan airport also made it very convenient. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable and convenient I return yearly to Portsmouth, NH for a religious retreat. This hotel has a homey atmosphere with good food and friendly staff. Even the housekeeper wrote me a welcoming note! January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of our favorites This hotel is one of our favorites! It is located right in the downtown area. You can walk to all the nice local shops so easily. Rooms are large and very comfortable. The place is quiet for a great night's sleep. The Club level is great with a terrific staff. The staff at the registration desk are also helpful and kind. The food is excellent throughout the hotel. There is valet parking in addition to regular parking. The fitness area meets all your needs. January 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Somewhat of a disappointment... We upgraded to the Club level because of the extra "perks" (which really were very nice). We had friends on the 3rd floor (occupying 5 rooms...so we saw sevveral of them) and were surprised at how much larger their rooms were than ours. Although small, our room was very nice...but it was very cold. We set the heat at 70, but it wouldn't go over 64 and quite a bit colder in the bathroom. We didn't call for service due to the late hour that we discovered this. Plus, we're from Maine so this wasn't a huge issue...but it would have been for some... Housekeeping was wonderful! Very attentive and thorough. The restaurant... We met with family and friends (probably 14 of us) and sat at a long table, but we had separate checks. We didn't consider ourselves as one party and also didn't realize an automatic 15% tip would be added. I wouldn't be surprised if that was noted somewhere...but we didn't see it so ended up tipping 35%. At breakfast (buffet) the service was terribble. My brother, sitting at the same table, actually had to get up and get my coffee...and water. Though there were plenty of black uniforms around. Overall...it could have been much worse and I would return if I were in the area. But don't expect 4 stars... January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and All You Need My wife and I stayed here for a one night get-away. It's location is perfect. Park you car in the ample parking lot and walk everywhere in Portsmouth. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Room was reasonably sized, clean and comfy. Price was reasonable as well. We didn't eat in the hotel as there are too many great places to eat nearby. My only complaint is that we got woken up by snow removal efforts in the middle of the night, but the bottom line was that I didn't have to touch my shovel to get out the next day. Heck, they even brushed off my car. Given that, I can't really complain about getting woken up. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great customer service from the Manager down There are no surprises with this hotel - everything is as per Sheraton standards. The one thing that did stand out was manager involvement with the guest experience. In the large majority of the hotels the manager is never seen - always hiding in a back office. At the Sheraton Portsmouth the manager is often visible, be it talking to guests and asking them about their stay, helping guests check in / out when the staff is overloaded, or even sweeping the carpet on a guest floor late at night when staff has gone home and something is amiss (though whatever was on the carpet was too small for me to have noticed). July 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great staff All the staff at this hotel are amazing. The front desk staff, room attendants, wait staff, event planers everyone was wonderful. I happened to be there when there was a SPG recognition cocktail hour and it was fabulous. January 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slight disappointment I'm SPG platinum and have been for several years. Have stayed at this hotel many times. Upon getting into bed, I found a wet spot about the size of a dinner plate. Trying to find the source, I discovered a soaking wet face cloth in the flat sheet. I called the front desk to move rooms and they did without issue, to a suite down the hall. They were gracious by giving me extra points but moving rooms at 1130pm was annoying to say the least. After having almost 250 SPG stays this was the only situation like this to happen to me so I write it off as a fluke. My only other gripe was asking if a suite were available at check in and told "none were available" only to get moved to an empty suite after all..... Other than that, hotel was fine and location is great. Staff friendly and accommodating. December 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Class 1 Appearance for Class 4 Price I'm a Starwood fan and extremely loyal. Thus i book via pay or points to a Starwood if at all possible when travelling. In short, this hotel is Class 4 in location only as you can walk to downtown. The actual hotel is not worth staying at unless you're flush with points and refuse to try another hotel. We went to Portsmouth for a wedding and stayed at the Sheraton. It's sadly dated throughout. The rooms were tattered and worn in all aspects - furniture, bathroom, wallpaper. I almost expected to see a tube television instead of a flat screen. That's the one upgrade in the last twenty years I'd say. I did not use the pool/spa so cannot comment other than public areas and the rooms. June 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel was a rip-off We were expecting a nice, relaxing luxury hotel experience. Instead, we were in a cramped, dingy room that looked like it was last updated 20 years ago. There was barely enough room for all the furniture. I've stayed in road-side motels with nicer amenities. We were told upon check-in that if we could find a parking spot in the courtyard it would be free, then was charged for parking. When we checked out, we were snottily told that "all employees know the parking policy and there's no way someone could have told [us] that." No apology, no amends, nothing. This hotel is a complete rip-off, and maybe if you didn't bury all your bad reviews other people would see that before they booked. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend visit Outstanding hotel. Excellent service. Convenient valet parking. Great restaurants in walking distance. Very good breakfast. January 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel--Terrible Club Level & Elevators I loved your hotel for its great location and excellent staff. However, I was surprised that I needed to pay an extra $20 a day for a club level room on the 5th floor. My average elavator wait was 3 to 5 minutes up or down, as only 1 of the 2 elavators went to the 5th floor. The rooms were small and the club level lounge was dreary and the smallest that I have ever visited. I would not recommend the club level. July 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Front Desk Staff is Wonderful Alexandra was on the desk when I called with some confusions for 12 of my guests and she was able to figure out the confusion and was waiting for us at the front desk when we arrived to make sure it went seemless and it did.. She was wonderful. Also the location and the place itself is WONDERFUL January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Christmas Visit We have been coming to the Sheraton for years around Christmas and when we arrived and were given a room this time, we found that we were dissatisfied with the accommodations. We notified the front desk staff who quickly showed us to another room which happened to be at the club level with a river view! This was the view we were expecting from the beginning but we were not expecting to be bumped to the CL. They really bent over backwards for us and we will definitely return next year. December 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Dissappointed For our 10th anniversary, my husband and I planned an overnight in Portsmouth. We booked one of your deluxe rooms, paid a little extra than the standard because it was a special occasion. We did arrive a little bit early, but stated that we would wait if necessary. The girl at the desk was kind, and said that the room was ready, so there would be no problem checking in. (2:15pm) The valet helped us with our luggage to our room. When we opened the door we were all surprised to see that it was already occupied with another guests belongings. The valet stated that he had never seen that happen before, and that it made him feel uneasy that someone could go into a room with other people's belongings. He helped me back to the desk to make other arrangements. This time I was helped by Micah Craft, who apologized, and gave me another room key. We were moved to another floor, the valet now gone, so my husband and I moved our luggage to a different floor, no view, and 2 queen beds, instead of the deluxe room I had paid for. There hotel was fully booked with a conference. The room was in need of repair, with broken tiles, scratches on the headboard and mirrors and a leak outside the window, probably from a gutter, that dripped constantly all night long. The beds were small, which is one reason why I had paid for the deluxe room, since my husband is 6'5". I am not one to complain, I work in guest service myself and I know how hard people try to make things right. However, the next day, when we checked out, I did voice my disappointment to Micah. He apologized and stated that he was the Guest Loyalty Manager, and gave me his card. He stated that if we came for another visit, to email him and he would make sure these things didn't happen again. I was surprised that was all he could do. I would have at least thought there would be some refund, either for our valet service, or the additional cost of the deluxe room. Or perhaps a coupon/discount towards a future stay. But there was nothing. I have always held the Sheraton name in high regards, but this hotel is far from what I have experienced as Sheraton brand in the past. Please do something about the situation with the keys being enabled for a room already in use! That's scary. Also, a reevaluation of the valet service is in order - we waited in line for 15 minutes in a traffic jam of others ahead of us. I know feedback can be difficult to hear, but if you fix these issues, you could really have a lovely hotel. Unfortunately, it was a very disappointing stay for us on our anniversary. January 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous service & location Our original plans were changed due to a snow storm, so a romantic weekend for 2 turned into a skiing overnight with kids the following weekend. We were delighted with an upgrade to a suite. It was fabulous! The view of the water was amazing , and we were treated like royalty. Chocolates and a welcome note awaited us after we walked into town for dinner. The breakfast was yummy, and the suite fully equipped. My son and I played a game of chess over coffee in the morning. We were sad we had to leave the next morning to ski! Could have relaxed the morning away! We will absolutely return!! February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by not happy Because I have stayed in this hotel in the past and had a different experience i would recommend staying. This visit I was placed in a small room which I excepted because I wanted a king bed. As I walked to my room I noticed the carpet in the hall was lifted and looked to be dirty. Entering my room I found the bed cover had spots on it, so I removed it. However the next morning my husband commented that the bed sheets looked dirty. It was the holiday maybe there had been problems with cleaning. I had asked for a room with a view but was told nothing was available because of my dog, at departure I was told sometimes the rooms on the fourth floor are permitted dogs but only when the second is full. I guess because I arrived after six I was given the left overs. November 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location in Portsmouth This property is located in the heart of Portsmouth and is ideal for a weekend getaway or a vacation. The room is what you would expect from a Sharaton-- nice, specious, and clean. The staff was really very helpful. The only downside is that the club lounge was marginal. The continental breakfast was okay but nothing more. The friendliness of the staff made up for it. Also, there was not a lot of upgrades for Platinum members. The hotel is very nice very good restaurants, the historic section of town, and sight seeing venues. I'd definitely return for the location and nice rooms. October 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice stay, as always I stay here frequently on my work trips to Maine. Staff is very helpful and kind. No problems here! Highly recommend - and their restaurant food is very good ( and I've eaten at a few places in Portsmouth). Just recently they checked me in very very early in the morning after driving all night and desperately in need of sleep. Girl (very nice) at front desk checked me in immediately in a comfortable room so I could sleep. No nonsense about mid afternoon check-in times, which I greatly appreciated and commend Sheraton for that. Stay here, you won't be disappointed, staff is great! February 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stayed here numerous times Hotel is great but this time only had 1 hand soap & not a separate one for the shower which I didn't like. January 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway Arriving at the hotel we used the valet parking service, good attentive friendly service, worth the extra money. Very fast check in by efficient front desk staff. We stayed on the exclusive Club Level, regular type room, nothing special, TV remote worked sporadically, we had the complementry breakfast which was very good. We checked out the pool, we were disapointed, the pool was in a plain white room, the tables and chairs in the area were scattered around, not very inviting at all so we did not use the pool. All in all we had a relaxing stay and would return again. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kudos to a staff memebers I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years. Over-all my experience with the staff and site have been favorable. But I wanted to take a minute and express my 'Thanks' to Ms Sarah Drost, the Director of Guest Experience. On the evening of our arrival, at the start of a New England snow storm, my wife discovered that she had accidently forgotten to bring her contact lens materials. When we enquired at the desk, we were informed that the hotel was out of the need items. While searching the back offices for the items, apparently the clerk mentioned the situation to Ms. Drost. The next thing we knew, Ms Drost had thrown on her coat, gone out into the snowstorm and had purchased the needed items at an area store! She then brought the items directly to our room, saving an uncomfortable night and morning for my wife. 'Way to Go' Ms. Drost!. December 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience due to staff and hotel management I was staying at this hotel s part of a wedding block. I arrive at 2:25pm to check in for a 3:15pm shuttle bus FROM the hotel. I am informed that I can't check in because there are no rooms ready and that there checkin policy is 3pm (despite them checking in others early from the same wedding I was attending). Nowhere in my confirmation email does it state a 3pm check in and the person who took my reservation stated that it was a strict 3pm check in. Long and short of it is I miss the wedding ceramony all due to not being able to check in. When we finally get to our room the TV doesn't work and there is a welcome gift from a different wedding! When we go to the desk to tak about the inconvenience and broken TV the woman #same lady that checked me in) stated that she would talk to a manager about the issues and get back to me... Never heard from her! Then when we check out a new, and equally incompetent staff member informs my husband "My records indicate that we checked you in at 2:55pm - which is actually early..." This was the worst hotel experiene of my life and it was clear that this hotel was not organized and poorly managed. July 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Talk about a nightmare My wife and I stay at the Sherton, Portsmouth, NH for our anniversary. We do this every year and I reserve the same room. I was promised this room and even double checked to insure we were all set and when we arrived i was told the room was not available. I was irate. They did offer to knock some money off but the money wasn't the issue. It was the room we awanted and I'm not happy with the way it was handle. I did ask to reserve this for next year and was promised a confirmation before I left and no one ever got back to me. Lack of follow thru is amzing. July 19, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>