Rated 3 out of 5 by Toredragon76 Great Service, Nice Hotel, Loud Train
This is a very nice hotel and generally a good location to stay when I work in Akron or Fairlawn. Rooms are nice, and the service is great...really nice restaurant and bar as well, but the every night, at around 3:00 and 5:00 am, the train come by and if you are on the "falls" side of the hotel, you will think it is coming into your room. The whistle blows and the rumble rages for about 30 seconds, but that is just enough to wake me up.
October 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Traveler Need maintenence update
1. Men's restroom by conference rooms, far toilet stall wall/door was previousily broken. It was repaired, but very poorly. Might be waiting for new parts but based on discolor of repaired area did not look as anything would be done. 2. Elevator close to pool (not rock elevator) had a sign partially ripped off inside wall. 3. My room "sitting room" TV not working. Tried actual side mounted power button and no reponse. Checked electrical plug, found them very loose. Should have been reported by housekeeping.
April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by SoClose Very nice hotel
I was only there one night, so I didn't have an opportunity to try out the restaurant or other amenities. The suite was very clean, well laid out, and spacious. There was even a recycling can - well done!!
There were a couple things I would chage though. The light in the bathroom was very dim - barely brighter than a nightlight. And there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Also, a towel ring next to the sink would be nice. There was no place to hang the hand towel.
September 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by czarnak77 Perfect accomodations
The room was perfect! It was very clean and well appointed. The view was nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
November 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by SEKCali Standard Sheraton, beware of train
Have stayed here several times, typical Sheraton. Something I have never experiences was the train that passes by at exactly 4:25 am each morning. Then there is another around 5:30 and 6:30. They sound their horn at the intersection 4-5 times and I guarantee it will wake you up. When I checked out I asked if anyone else has complained about it I was told "oh yes, lots". Obviously it is worse for the guests on the side of the hotel that faces the river (and tracks). No one had mentioned this at check-in. If I knew about it I would have picked the other side of hotel or stayed at a different hotel. Front desk said there is nothing they can do about it, trying to get them to make area a "quiet zone', but that could take years.
Also, be cautious that the Club Lounge stops with breakfast at 8:30am and food is very limited, more so than most Sheratons.
September 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Travel444 Staff Needs Customer Service Training
From the time of booking the room, it was a fiasco. We had to make multiple calls in order to confirm that we could in fact use a CC authorization form (as the trip was paid with a company credit card). After being told several times that this couldn't be done (which we travel all the time and have never had an issue), it took a supervisor to push the request through. Upon checking in, the staff was 'stand-offish" and very non-helpful...it was quite obvious that they did not want to be there.
May 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gbiv OK
Room cost was not consistent quality. Tiles in bathroom floor were cracked and there was no drain stopper in tub. There were no wash cloths in bath (they were located in sink area)
The view was very good but the windows were not insulated well so I had to keep the blinds closed. Traffic noise was also very noticable.
I called the desk for a recommendation on delivery restuarants, I was invited to come to the desk to review the menus. The o offer of information or to provide even the menus.
January 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by ZACK "TRAIN HORN/WHISTLE ALL NIGHT LONG!!!"
SHERATON SUITES AKRON/CUYAHOGA FALLS, THIS SHERATON IS A FIRST CLASS OPERATION. IT'S MODERN FACILITIES WERE IMPRESSIVE. HOWEVER! AT CHECK IN, MY INCOUNTER WAS NOT WARM AND FRIENDLY. I WAS GIVEN A ROOM FACING THE STREAM. SOMETIME AFTER 12PM I WAS AWAKENED BY A LOUD TRAIN HORN. AND ABOUT EVERY HOUR AFTER THAT. EVERYTIME I GOT TO SLEEP ANOTHER TRAIN HORN. THE NEXT MORNING I WAS TOLD NEXT TIME I STAY I SHOULD GET A ROOM ON THE CITY SIDE OF HOTEL. THAT INFO WOULD HAVE BEEN OF USE AT CHECK IN.
November 19, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Betty99 Needs Improvement
One of the tevelsion did not work in the room and the other one you could not see it very well (but the problem was solve very quickly and he did a great job fixing the problem). The refrigerator was not cold enough for are left overs (after are room service meals). They did not have fitted sheets on the bed. The fire alarm went off twice at the hotel and (both time there was not an all clear stated for the customers to return back to the room).
September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bobby301 Great View. So so rooms.
Beautiful view, if you get on the right side of the hotel. We checked in very late and the AC wasn't working. My children were asleep so we didn't want to bring maintenance up. It was a bad first night but we were promptly moved to a different room in the morning. There seem to be no Gold member benefits beyond the check-in amenity. I'm used to a club room with free breakfast and light dinner snacks. Overall though, it was satisfactory, maybe not worth 7,000 points per night.
June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by YogiBear Better on the "city" side
This is a great hotel. Very comfortable rooms with lots of space. It is very expensive compared to nearby hotels. The quality and features justify the price. For us the "animal friendly" feature is the big win.
Be sure to ask for a "city" side room. The view is lovely on the "river" side. You can enjoy it from many places in the hotel. The "river" side suffers from the noise of the highway and the train just across the river from the hotel. The noise gets worse on the top floor.
April 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Robert trains
Your Hotel is beautiful- the Falls are Beautiful- The train blasting it's horn every hour all night - ruined everything.
Your staff must know this major default- why would you not warn guests and suggest if we stay on the opposite side of the hotel the sound may not be as bad?
My wife and I try to take one evening a year away from kids and this was it!
Very disappointed in your staff and will make sure to tell anyone we know of the hazards of trying to sleep in your hotel
April 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by AshamedOfSPG Total Let Down...
As a platinum member, I don't appreciate having to wait 6 minutes before being attended to at the front desk, especially when I hear laughing in the back. The concierge lounge is by far the worst in food choice/quality I have ever experienced at an SPG property. I found cigarette butts in the trash can of my suite last week and the kitchen counter hadn't been cleaned. Almost every room has stains on the carpets--this property needs an upgrade.
August 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by derby be sure waiter reads the menu and tells the chef
had dinner with friends in "Beau."..ordered a berry salad with pecans--asked for it plain (no dressing)--it arrived wth a least a cup of dressing--sent it back and reminded the waiter I had specified no dressing but lemons instead. Salad came back--I counted the berries: one raspberry, five blackberries, 10 blueberries and three cut up strawberries--NO pecans. I asked for pecans--and reminded the waiter it said so on the menu and he brought a small bowl of pecans. . THEN we ordered dessert--all of us selected sorbet with berries. we expected a grand presentation--instead we got a cereral bowl with sorbet--but no berries--we again asked for berries and reminded the waiter it said so on the menu--another waiter brough a small bowl;of maybe a dozen blueberries--I asked for blackberries instead--and he came back with three.
June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tony24 Weekend getaway
THe hotel was very nice and had a great restuarant on site. Had a great time. Room was great, lounge was awesome to access. My only issue was that Simon at the front desk did not tell me the location of my room or the usage of the lounge upon check in. Usually, the front desk gives you all the info you need to get you headed in the right direction. I did find my room and had to go down to find out more about lounge usage and hours. That was my only issue.
July 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by BDWA My stay
The room was clean and comfortable. The first night the internet was great. The second day I could not find internet access and I had a lot I wanted to do online. Repeated calls to the front desk did not help. As I checked out on Sunday norning, I found the problem myself. The router was connected a wall light switch. To power the router a specific light had to be turned on. Did I know this? No. Did the staff know this? Apparently not. A whole evening of work lost.
June 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ginger49 A gem
This is a beautiful hotel overlooking the Cayahoga River and Falls. Only downside is the train that passes through periodically through the night and the fact that they don't have the option to have the fan on constantly in your room for white noise so the off and on of the air conditioner can wake you along with the train. pick the city side room not the falls side.. a little quieter.
The pool is indoors but there is a beautiful patio overlooking the river.
June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rmarc Location Good except Train Whistle
We were in town as wedding guests and enjoyed the room except for the very loud train whistle at frequent intervals all night.
One other nusance was the $4 charge for a bottle of water in the room.
October 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by mayday Disappointed with staff
I am currently a Gold SPG member. 110+ nights a year. I checked in late, around 7pm and they had me in a double bed room. I asked if they had a king and was told no. I went to the room and checked online and there was availabilty. I thought you were upgraded automatically? I called the front desk and he left me on hold for 10 minutes, picked up and placed back on hold 3 times. Still didn't offer upgrade but now there was a charge if I wanted it. room
February 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by James501 This hotel needs help.
I felt like this hotel was too expensive for what it offered. Their web site made a big deal about the views of the river but the windows were very dirty and made that view difficult to see. Their site also neglected to reveal the hourly train whistle that woke me all night long. During my stay, I was never able to connect to the internet. I would choose the network, but get kicked off before I could get my email application launched.
June 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by asasasa Recent Stay
I specifically requested room overlooking the falls, but that didn't happen. I asked to buy wine a few minutes before the sales were supposed to end and was told no. I was forced to leave hotel to do what I needed to get done.
Nice room. But never again. You want to be taken care of. Not ignored. We were ignored.
October 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dean21 Staff needs help in hospitality
Your staff was not the friendliest group of people. Chris at the front desk should think about a job as a mortitian. His people skills are not up to par. Everytime we asked for something we were told that their were three major events and no staff available. It seemed as if the entire facility was understaffed. It seemed as though the entire staff was overwhelmed. My family vacation should not suffer becuase your hotel is completely booked.
August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by dcn57 This hotel is a great location
Easy on and off Rt 8 and what a great view from the restaurant.
October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Deborah2171 Akron-Falls Sheraton is a great place to be or stay!
In addition to a marvelous indoor pool, this Sheraton has Piatto Nuevo, an excellent restaurant with breathtaking views, an inviting Club Lounge on the Club Floor, and friendly, accommodating, hotel staff. We always look forward to returning here. We also had five family events here including significant reception birthday parties and wedding anniversary receptions for my parents - - 60th, 65th, and 70th anniversaries!
August 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GreatCanadian Riverside - Careful
Eventhough we asked for the upgraded view of the Riverside, Staff neglected to tell us the amount of noise from that side. The Riverside, also includes Rapids, a Train and a Highway. The Train sounds off at 2am, 3am and 4am..... Bring the earplugs if you wish to sleep. Andrea at the Front Desk was a great help, and was able to move us to the Cityview side, which was much quiter.
Otherwise, a great Hotel.
January 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPGFreqBizTraveler Loud trains at night; smelly elevator
Platinum SPG but I don't think I got an upgraded room or was offerred one (stayed on 3rd floor, club level on 2nd).
Elevator smelled the whole time I was there.
I requested a Falls view but I should have stayed on the parking lot side. If you stay on the Falls side, you are awoken every night by a series of loud train horns and constant freeway traffic.
Staff were nice. Great oatmeal in lounge..
September 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Jackson25 Very Nice with some issues
I waited ten minutes at the front desk. Another employee had to find the desk clerk for several of us. The desk clerk wasn't the friendliest nor were several of your staff. A few were very nice though. Our room was too loud by the ice machine, but we were given another one.
The rooms were very nice and the view of the river was great. OH and the food was very good. Overall the facility was very nice.
January 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friends Great views
Great location,to Akron university! We were in town taking our son to Akron soccer camp,we're from indiana. We stayed in the king penthouse, plenty of room for the 3of us. Views of the falls were fantastic, though the windows were a little dirty, so harder to see out them.surprised with the draught that the water was still so strong. Staff was friendly especially a young an akron hospitality student!
July 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Zoomer Spacious rooms
The rooms are spacious and the bed comfortable however the room temperature control did not function well. Even though I could change the temperature setting for the room it did not seem to actually do anything. Also it's the little things that count and the alarm clock is old and does not have connector to allow me to plug in MP3 player and the microwave was old and did not have one touch settings.
February 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by hsteu had better visits
Let me start out by saying, i have stayed here several times in the past and it was awesome. this time not so much. 1st off when we got to our room the toilet was clogged and not by us.The showere was not working properly and the tub would fill up with the dirty water.The room was not as clean as expected. Part of our stay, we didnt get hand towel or toiletries.One day they came to clean our room so we left for an 11/2hr, when we got back it wasnt touched. I called front dest they said they would send someone up ASAP. They called back and said they were all out to lnuch and that it would be a half hour. I said ok but it has to be soon cause my child needs a nap. They showed up over a hour later!! this put us out for the day and my daughter never got her nap, so if you have children you know what the rest of the day and night was like! There were other miner issues but i can over look them
October 18, 2012