Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center

  • 801 University Avenue
  • Syracuse,
  • New York
  • 13210
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 207 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Syracuse hotel and Basketball Game Stay If going to Syracuse for an Orangeman game, I recommend that you stay here for the night before and night after the game. It is conveniently located, fully of other out of town diehard Syracuse fans and very comfortable. Staff and facilities were just right- not too luxurious, nor too economy class grade hotel type. I highly recommend. February 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location but not up to standard This hotel is in a great location but is in dire need of renovation. The rooms present an old run down appearance and basic things do not work properly (i.e. toilets that do not flush). Also, the hotel seems to cater more towards partying than service. After returning from the football game there was vomit in the hallway and people were smoking inside despite being on a non-smoking floor. More involvement from management is needed if this hotel is going to attract large visiting crowds. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel has great friendly staff! I was greeted very nicely by the receptionist. She was friendly and gave me directions to my place of worhip. One of the staff was leaving for the night and she offered to stay to help me print my boarding pass. I was provided with transportantion to a gathering and to the airport. This was a great savings! The hotel was beyond my expection. I like the fact that the hotel was extremely clean. I also liked that if I needed to wash something there was a washer and dryer on the the 3rd floor! April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff is very pleasant and friendly staff is very pleasant and friendly March 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly, efficient service and a great location This was our 2nd stay here. The room was just what we needed each time. This time I had a problem with the television, which was fixed quickly and efficiently. The only drawback was the atmosphere in the restaurant. We didn't want to sit at the bar or the more formal restaurant,Rachel's, so we chose Sitrus. The food and service were great, we were just looking for a quieter corner to relax in. We much prefer the quiet in the Club lounge, it just wasn't serving by the time we got back. October 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not super but ok Restaurant food is crappy. My co-workers are given free breakfast, and when I asked for it, I was denied and was told that I don't qualify! The staff members are very nice. I've been staying in this hotel for many weeks, and will continue to stay in this hotel for the next 3 months or so. Sheraton don't seem to value customer loyalty. It's hard to get the room of my choice. For example: I can't get the king bed despite the fact that I hold loyalty membership while others do. December 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by food Our food was not eatable. The pasta was swimming in a pool of green pesto sauce. My seafood platter was over cooked to the point of having to cut my fish with a knife. The fish was also not fresh and had that old fish taste and smell. We sent our dinners back and settled for onion soup which was just okay. Service was very good and the dining room manager was very helpful. I would recommend guests to go elsewhere for their food. All else was very nice. January 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Friendly Daytime Staff I checked in very late after a long day and was pleased to get to my room, which was comfortable. The only issue is the bathroom is small. I would also suggest having more items in the pantry, but overall the staff was very, very, very helpful and friendly. The restaurant staff, the housekeeping staff, the front desk staff were all excellent. I found a new hotel to stay at in Syracuse. Road construction around hotel should wrap soon. June 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff but, beware of the heat The staff could have not been more friendly and helpful. A clear commitment to making our stay great. Issue was that we were in town on a hot day and the room AC is grossly underpowered for our Junior Suite. With the thermostat set at 68 and lower, the room never got below 76. To top it off, they use green tech that shuts the AC off when you leave the room, therefore the room temp goes even higher.. It was a miserable night... July 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay @ Great SPG Property After staying at the property multiple times over the past 6 months I now feel compelled to write an excellent review of the Sheraton at Syracuse University. The staff is superb, and attend to my every need. Each time I walk into the lobby I feel as though I am back at my own home. The food at Rachels is good, and the room service delivery makes perfect sense while working from the in-room mini office. Will definitely come back. March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well run but restaurant sub-par Reception staff was superb and well-trained. Free wireless internet was appreciated. As vegetarians, we appreciated the Eggplant Napoleon choice on the restaurant menu. Unfortunately, while creative, it was poorly designed and executed and just didn't taste very good. At our meeting, the lack of vegetarian option was annoying, especially since the Alfredo pasta dish would have been fine without gratuitously throwing ham into it. March 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT WHAT I EXPECTED i stayed at this hotel on christmas 2011 , i was very disappointed the staff weren't very friendly. every time you use the elevator you have to use your key its very annoying especially wehn carrying luggage .the heating/cooling unit in my room didn't work they sent someone to fix it but it still didn't work . the TV also wasn't working and when i checked out i complained and all they said was 'oh sorry your done here bye' December 29, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very Dissapointed When I made the reservation I was told this was a 1 BR suite, 1 BR and a pull out couch. AT NO TIME, was I ever told that this was just a big open room with no walls. The beds were horrible, I have stayed at cheaper hotels with better beds. The Sheraton should invest in purchasing some new mattresses and educating your reservation desk people so they are accurate on what they booking. EXTREMELY DISSAPOINTED. October 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The room service representative was rude over the phone i had made a call around 9 PM on 10/16 to room service to order food. i was disappointed in the way the representative spoke. i had to mention to him that he was extremely rude and i was hanging up. i had asked him the soup of the day, as he was not audible i asked him to repeat it and he had the audacity to say i already told you the soup of the day. I really dont expect this from your hotel or staff. October 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wireless unsatisfactory and heat inconsistent I "live" here Sunday thru thursday for 10 months now. Wireless works 50% of the time and to get that I have to stand in the hallway to connect. The rest of the time I have to use the wired but the desk connector seldom works so I unplug the ethernet cable from desk and plug directly to laptop. The short cables provided usually have broken clips. AND twice I have had to swich rooms because the heat did not work! March 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by pet friendly Hello, when making my reservation i had called the hotel 3 times to confirm and advise i was bringing a dog and not once did they say i could not leave them in the room alone, that would of been good information to have before traveling. This does not make you a pet friendly hotel, it just means you accept pets which is two very different things. Also there should be something on the website about this policy. June 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is in a great location The hotel is in a great location. They have a shuttle service to and from the airport and if you need to go other places, they will accommodate you. The hotel staff was excellent and so was the service. My only complaint was that one elevator was not working and it was a real inconvenience. However, we were compensated for our discomfort. I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Syracuse area! August 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by another fabulous conference at Syracuse University Sheraton Hotel Staff were amazing. You don't think they can get much better each year but they do. Special thanks to wait staff member "Beth" for her amazing work during all meals at the conference and of course all members at the res desk ,consierge services and Tracy who is always the consumate professional at Reservations and guest services. I am so glad she is still with the organization. She is superb! October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything you could ask for My stay at your hotel was terrific. The room was very clean and comfortable and the styling was very attractive. Your amenities, including gym and pool, were all top notch and the convenient access to Syracuse University was incredible. Finally, every staff person I met was friendly and courteous and went out of their way to be helpful. If in Syracuse again, I would definitely stay with you. October 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Property with Excpetional Staff Excellent property with first rate staff. Professionalism of the staff was consistent and exceptionally high throughout the hotel regardless of position. In room dining menu is amongst the best I have seen especially for healthy options including the kids menu, Healthy kids options are rare and a nice addition. Renovated rooms are clean and well appointed. December 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Proximity to Syracuse Campus a plus. Stayed 1 night on tour ot Syracuse U campus the following AM- walk across the street and you are there. Parking included in rate. Our Reserv Floor included the Snack/Breakfast Hospitatliy Suite evening snacks, little finger food, cheese, bev- just ok. Breakfast food was better. Room high up clean, water bottles complemetary in room. Bed nice. Staff pleasant and quick check in. My only complaint is that there were little black ants crawling around on the bathroom floor when we went to take a shower that night. No obvious food was to be found and bathroom was otherwise clean. I was too tired to complain and my daughter just wanted to go to bed . I don't know if this has something to do with he fact that food is served on this floor?? There were no ants in the sleeping area. Perhaps pest conrol should visit the floor. I have no other complains other than the ants. I would consider staying again- I think. June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding Weekend We hosted a wedding and had many guest who stayed right at the hotel. We had too many rave reviews to count- the food at the reception and the breakfasts were wonderful, the staff treated us like family and the beds were just fantastic. I would reccomend this facility whole heartedly and a special thanks to the wedding coordinator, Alexis who was the absolute best!! Well done!!! March 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff! Excellent Staff - from parking in the garage to check-out. Bartender held the door in the garage and offered to help with luggage, front desk agent - great smile & eye contact - was extremely informative, waitstaff in restaurant - friendly & knowledgable, engineer who worked on Lodgenet system had great follow up and customer service skills. One of my best Starwood encounters! April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel and great location Overall, a very nice hotel. Rooms and beds are comfortable. Ability to control temperature from my room was broken which was a bit of an inconvenience. Last knock on the hotel is the overnight parking charge. I understand it's in the middle of the Syracuse U. campus, but it doesn't mean GUESTS of the hotel should be charged; people who just want to park their cars should. At $250/night, it shows a lack of class to charge $13/night extra in parking. When I complained to front desk, their response was "in NYC you'd pay the same..." First, this isn't NYC; it's Syracuse - big difference. Secondly, I've parked early-bird in NYC for under $13/day. It shouldn't be possible to be more expensive than NYC parking. This hotel should just eat the cost -- it looks greedy and entirely unprofessional to charge for parking. I understand parking visitors. Just don't charge GUESTS paying $250 to stay overnight!!! It's completely UNACCEPTABLE. October 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hard to express in words You are comfortable from the moment you arrive as all staff is very responsive to your needs. I would not stay anywhere else in the city of Syracuse. The one thing I would suggest is that the front desk staff have the type of chairs that allow them to choose sitting or standing while serving your clients. It would not matter as they all perform a high level of service. March 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mrs Overall, my experience was good. However, we were with a group for the Marching Band Competition. We book this hotel well in advance year after year. Your staff is not prepared properly to clean the rooms. For large parties that are checking in, you need additional staff. It is not acceptable for a room with 4 teenage girls not to be able to get settled until 11:00pm. November 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed This Time I have enjoyed staying at this property a few times, but my last stay was lacking. Although the hotel was sold out, I was able to secure a room thanks to my Platinum status. Rather pricey though. The service at the bar and nighttime room service were quite good. However, I was disappointed when I tried to order breakfast from room service. No one answered the phone after numerous attempts by me directly and transfers by the hotel operator. In the end, I had to give my order to the front desk receptionist who indicated she would walk my order over to the restaurant. Well it never made it over or the restaurant lost it because I never got my order. After a 90 minute wait I had to leave. When I told my story to the receptionist upon checkout, all I got was a "sorry." Well at least I got that. I tried to reserve a room directly with her for the following week but got a reply that they were sold out. I'll find another place. February 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by ENT6 Al the staff were very friendly. We asked for extra coffee and they were very happy to meet our wish. There was not a gift shop and really no place to go shopping in the area.We were charged for parking in the garage it was added to our bill. But we had no choice as there as no other parking option. The room was clean, comfortable. The linen was very nice quality. October 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, but not quite what we expected Our room was clean and beautiful, but not quite what we expected of a "jacuzzi suite." The jacuzzi was just a bathtub with jets. We also must have been near some kind of water pipes, as we heard constant noise that made us feel we were staying under water. The only other concern was not knowing about the charge for parking...must have missed that when we booked! January 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by energy saving airconditioning works too well This is an older property that is still tired. It has an energy saving feature that turns off the air conditioning when it perceives no activity in the room. The problem is it turns off at night and you cannot turn it back on. Thus you swelter. I was not offered any amenities despite being platinum and had to ask to get club access. Avoid it if you can. June 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>