Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

  • 3549 Chestnut Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19104
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Altersvoraussetzung

Das Mindestalter zum Reservieren eines Zimmers und für den Check-in beträgt 21 Jahre. Ein Lichtbildausweis muss vorgelegt werden.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 345 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Expectations I stayed at this hotel as part of a group. When we arrived to check in there was an issue with payment. The front desk staff would not listen to us as we tried to explain the situation and gain clarification. The staff continued to talk over us and was clearly not listening as we tried to learn about the hotel policies. It was not until we revealed our organization's affiliation that we began to be listened to. All guest should be treated with respect regardless of affiliation. I can only describe the guest rooms as "tired". The ceilings had water damage and you could see where the repairs were made, the furniture was worn, and the bathrooms were dingy. This hotel needs a "refresh". Cleaning up a few of these details would go a long way. August 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel Overall the hotel was good, the rooms were clean and neat. The only complaints that we have are when we were checking in the person at the lobby was a bit cold and not that welcoming. The inside of the refrigerator was dirty and in the corners of the tub was black. But, the bed was comfortable and the overall room was clean. Our room included the Hors d'oeuvres and breakfast which were both good. the Hors d'oeuvres were fruit, dips/chips, nuts and dessert. the breakfast was eggs/omelets, yogurt, pastries, cereal, bagels, coffee & juice. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel - will definitely stay next time we booked 1 night at this Sheraton while on a family vacation through Pennsylvania. it was perfectly situated in the center of Philadelphia and had many wonderful amenities. to start, we were upgraded to the Club Level (I'm a Gold member) and thus had access to their lounge on the 20th floor for breakfast and afternoon treats. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet. The AC was working well so we had no complaints. The garage is only $25 with in and out privileges - very convenient! Overall, we were very pleased and would stay here again. September 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Blah The room was outdated and we had a comped room very I happy I didn't have to pay for my stay because I would have stayed some where else They where doing construction the room right above us at 7 am I had two kids with me that where scared out of their mind because of all the noise Then the bathroom up stairs leaked all over our stuff tooth brushes and other things. Your night time staff when we checked in was really nice but your day time staff was a bit cold to us after we complained about the room and I felt like I had every right to. February 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fine Hotel Mostly excellent. The breakfast was good and could be improved by providing more convenient hot water (the coffee machine is very slow for hot water), having enough napkins and less dried-out burritos. The food choices are quite good. December 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient location We stay here because of the location convenient to activities in University City. It's quiet and we like the Chinese restaurant. However, we always have to check to ensure there are no down products in the room due to my severe allergies. Despite our repeat visits and a request on the reservation every time, they seldom get it right. Also, the rooms could use an update, such as fixing the peeling wallpaper and cracked lampshades. It's not the appearance of a room at these prices. The HVAC is kind of noisy. The staff is very friendly. January 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by the room has not telephone landline !!! I checked in on 8th and checked out on 9 morning. On Sep 8th afternoon, I was waiting for a phone call from a VIP person but I didn't received call. I checked the phone of my room. Ridiculously, it does not work. Asked for help fro desk. The technician cane and after one hour working in my room on all the plugs, telephone lines, he said that there is something serious and I stay on the room without phone.Because I don't have US phone plan on that day, I missed an important phone call. I am sorry for Sheraton. September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The entire staff, from the front desk to the concierge and housekeeping were great. Everybody was very helpful and the stay was very comfortable. The pool was great -- lots of sun, towels, chairs, etc. Loved the location...I was visiting the Children's Hospital a few blocks away, but the hotel is right in the heart of the Penn campus...lots of activity. We got a fridge in the room ($25 fee) but it was worth it .. and the fridge was a nice size. Parking was $25/day in/out privileges but that seemed like the going rate for the area. June 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Won't return I was traveling on buisness and arrived many hours before check-in. I found the staff not very welcoming or friendly. The conceriege was very cold bordering on rude. He appeared to by annoyed by my need to check bags and retrieve one of them at a later point before I could check in. As far as the room, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. My TV however did not work well, it repeatedly lost the satellite signal. And the shower spout was at a very low uncomfortable level for me and I am only 5'5". I can't imagine how difficult that would be for anyone taller. Also I traveled with a co-worker and she was offered the private continental breakfast and I was not. Overall, I don't think they did a very good job catering to guests, especially buisness travelers. March 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel went over and above We stayed at this hotel while my grandson was at a baseball camp at the University of Penn. On Sunday the camp ended at 1:00 pm for my grandson. He wanted a shower before our 5 hour plane ride home to Seattle. I had already checked out of our room, but came back and asked if there was any way he could take a shower. Since our room had not been cleaned, the manager on duty made a new key card and let him shower. He did not have to accommodate us which was just one incident of the wonderful staff. September 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff was not helpful and rude When we checked in one of the employees took our bags to be held because the room was not ready. He tried to lift the heavy bag by the pop up handle that you use to wheel a heavy bag and broke it. First he denied breaking it. When we reported it to the manager on duty he told us the porter would be forced to pay for the repair out of his own pocket. He told us that Sheraton was not responsible for our bag but the porter making min. wage would pay. We declined but are surprised that this unfair practice is Sheratons policy. August 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Work on creating customer delight My first impression of the place was a damp, mildewed smell in the lobby. The elevator took about 10 minutes to arrive at the lobby. Upon reaching the floor my room was on, I discovered that the carpet in the hallway was filthy and stained. Outside my room, there were two dirty wine glasses on the floor of the hall -- they were not picked up for 2 days. I did notice, though, that my room was quite clean and comfortable! But one last thing -- the $4 bottles of water in the room? After I paid $250/night for the room? Really? April 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Power outage We arrived the day after the transformer blew and the hotel lost power, water, and a/c. the staff setup free beverages and appetizers for the guests and did the best to take care of everyone in a bad situation. The engineering dept. did a great job bringing in a 2 ton transformer by crane to get the hotel up and running by 6pm that day.The parking garage is real tight and I scraped a pilar that popped out some wheel well trim so I got maintenance to duct tape it back on. Very friendly people work at this hotel. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing We didn't have a room that properly accommodated all 5 of us. it also wasn't ready by 3pm for us. Had trouble with our credit card and no one would at least take a $50.00 cash deposit, then credit the rest the next day. My husband's payroll check was being deposited into that account the next morning, we even said that. One of our children age 14 slept on the floor. The room rates were very high for a family of 5 to be able to stay, eat, and park. We only ate at the lounge for the continental breakfast, it was ok. Wasn't happy about the pool only being outdoors. It's noted on the internet that it is indoors or all weather. Would think twice about staying there again. Even staying on the 18th floor heard a lot of noises inside and out. We've stayed at a few different Sheraton Hotels before but this one really disappointed us. October 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff makes all the difference! I stayed here recently through family member discount. The location was nice since it's close to the train station. The room wasn't ready so I checked my baggage and asked the young man behind the counter where I could get an umbrella. He actually provided me one, a service that I thought was excellent. Later they told me that my documents were insufficient but the young lady behind the desk told me that she would walk me through the documentation process step by step. These staff members went above and beyond to help me and I really appreciated it! The room was ok but I could see spills of stuff on the walls and sheets. Not really surprising since that seems to be the norm for hotels these days but I wish it were slightly cleaner since I was traveling with my infant son. February 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by eh At first we were assigned a room on the 18th floor. Although the elevators went to 20, the don't go beyond the 15th. After we tried 2 elevators, we went to the desk to request a room on a lower floor, which we were given. ( It was then that we were told in order to get to the higher floors, you have to use the key card in the elevator. This is too complicated in an emergency, so we insisted on a lower floor. In the morning the toilet overflowed and flooded the bathroom floor. We called the front desk and maintainence was there in minutes with a plunger. When he finished, he sent housekeeping up with fresh towels.They also came promptly. The bed was very comfortable. You have to like Chinese food for lunch and dinner in the restaurant. They serve a typical American breakfast. October 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Most miserable sleep of my life Both double beds in the room were absolutely misrable to sleep in. Felt evey spring in the bed. I will be writing a review to FIRST AID for CS exam and advising students not to stay the sleep was so miserable. The door did not close properly and the sinks did not drain. $280 should also include a free continental breakfast. Absurd one needs to pay. Expressed my concerns to the staff at the front desk. I can stay in NYC for a deal like that sleep like a champ, have everything work, and have a free breakfast. March 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location next to UPenn, but... The location is excellent, specially now that there is no hotel at the UPenn Hospital building. Expensive. However, there are no accessible rooms and the wheel chair can barely get into the "old sized" doors of the rooms and turn inside. It also needs a bit up "fixer-upper" since wall paint and carpets are worn and it seems like they have not been changed in a while. Also no shuttle is offered to go to the Hospital buildings. October 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but not worth the price Hotel and room was ok. Best part was Axis Pizza across the street! Room did not meet my expectations of a Starwood property. Could tell the maid only did the bare minimum at cleaning the room. Dusty furniture, dusty floor, air vent in bathroom was disgustingly covered in TONS of dust, shower head was coming out of the wall and bath soaps/items didn't get replaced. I'd give it a chance again in hopes the next room was better but would not pay the high prices they advertise. September 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location for UPenn Hospital Chose this hotel for short stay while one spouse admitted for surgery at UPenn Hospital. Location is perfect -- easy 10 min walk to hospital, nice area altough a bit noisy weekends because of proximity to Penn campus. Hotel was clean, room was comfortable but somewhat basic -- however I was shocked to see a charge for a bottle of water on our bill. The water was put out on a table in the room, did not see any indication it was not complimentary. This sort of nickle and dime approach alienates customers. January 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rude front desk staff The hotel is clean and the beds are really comfortable. The tv's are awesome. The gym is fairly decent for a hotel. That's the good. The bad was that the fire alarm kept going off and a few times in the middle of the night. I understand that this can happen but.... The ugly was when I went to the front desk to discuss this matter with them, this one man was very rude to me. I quote him. "You've been here a few days and this is the first time this has happened (it wasn't). I'm sorry okay there's nothing I can do for you" He said this with as much attitude and rudeness as you can imagine. I was there on business and I'm going to be back in the area and have a choice in hotels. I let this man know that. He didn't care. Basically if this guy wasn't there it would have been a fine stay. June 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay This was a stay that met and exceeded my expectations. I checked in late but the front desk was waiting and ready. When I requested a king size bed, they upgraded me to a concierge floor to be able to accommodate my request...Classy! It was also a very nice touch that the pleasant check-in person recognized that I was an SPG member and gave me extra attention. Breakfast was nice; room was elegant and comfortable. The only complaint was the unusually high cost of self-parking ($25/night). August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay My stay at the Sheraton was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast and snacks were a welcome treat. The host I believe her name was Wanda was a pleasure to talk to. I will definitley stay at the Sheraton again. It made my visit to sit with my granddaughter while she does dialysis at CHOP more easy. Keep up the great work. November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel Everyone and everything was great. November 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond Expecations The room was great. Spacious and well stocked with personal care items. The Club Lounge was well beyond what i expected, Chef Marlene made wonderful omelets and Tammie made each visit special and welcoming. Only issue was with the elevators. Seemed like 1 of the 3 was not working. Had to wait several minutes almost every time. November 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by horrendous amongst 8+ Sheratons and over 20 SPG hotels I've stayed at Several problems in order of importance: 1. Locked out of my room in the morning because my key wouldn't open the club lounge reader on the elevator, even though it was still working on my room once the security guard let me in. Was late to the office... 2. Charged for parking even though I did not park. Not sure how I am supposed to get this removed because the phone extension for front desk cycles back endlessly to the main menu 3. Pillows were extremely uncomfortable, bed wasn't comfortable either. Terrible sleep. 4. Internet was in and out, would have been unacceptable had I needed it for work 5. Club lounge breakfast has minimal hot food 6. Hair dryer handle was sticky (pet peeve of mine) The only good thing is that the desk, which I spent ~4 hours working at, was unusually well designed May 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very upset with my stay We paid $200/night for comfort that SHOULD come with a Sheraton hotel instead of staying at a two star motel nearby. The beds were indeed comfortable, BUT the room was old. Some drawers were broken, wood on the drawers was splinting and I could have hurt myself on them. The AC made the room either FREEZING or when the heat turned on, it filled the room with a rank smell that made me think a small animal died in the heater. There was no sleep to be had because the upstairs room's AC/Heater was on and it sent this vibrating noise throughout our room. It was incredibly loud and made our heads vibrate as we lied down on the pillows. So it was loud, and cold because we could not turn on the heater because it was loud and RANK. Very very dissapointed. I expected much better comfort from a Sheraton. October 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Excellent Stay nice to to report our second stay was just as nice as out first stay in August . Your staff is friendly , and always is interested in the reason for our visit to Philly Your rooms are clean and comforatable to say the very least . The feature that was reallly great for us was that we could check out and leave our car until 6pm that day . Not all hotels do that. It was great .We'll be back . Many thanks ,Gary Bloodgood October 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The concierge let me down, but the stay was otherwise good. I asked the concierge on Friday evening to book me a shuttle to the airport for Saturday morning at 9. He wrote it down and promised to do so. The next morning I went down to await the shuttle. The concierge (different person) noted that it was written down. When the shuttle didn't show after 10-15 minutes, he called them. They had no record of my request. So I took a cab instead. The second concierge was very helpful and concerned. The first had apparently not called in the reservation. October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very accommodating & spacious room The staff is top notch. The hotel is clean, modern & represents quality. Housekeeping is outstanding. Restaurant has a good menu& wonderful. The rooms are spacious & the beds have down pillows & comfy linens. One large flaw in the rooms, however. While someone is occupying the bath room (showering, shaving etc.) there is a problem for a woman. There isn't a mirror with lighting for hair or a place to apply makeup. The mirror, in the hall, is dark & no place to reach for a makeup bag!. August 19, 2012
  • 2015-03-28T17:34:26.542-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_345, tr_345
  • loc_en_US, sid_992, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>