Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

  • 3549 Chestnut Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19104
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and check-in to a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 330 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Most dependably good; wifi terrible Having stayed at the University City Sheraton several times now, I was happy to find that overall the experience was up to standard, even on graduation weekend, which must be very difficult on the staff. The man on the front desk was able to accomodate us with an early check in when we unexpectedly got there early, and I do particularly appreciate it. I do want to mention that the wifi (Sheraton_GUEST) was far below your usual standard -- very frustrating to try to use. Since our daughter will now be doing her residency at HUP, we'll be your guests for the next four years at least, and I do hope you do get the wifi fixed. May 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury at affordable prices! We stay at this hotel every time we visit our son at Penn. Who knew we could bring the dog? We had to bring our dog this past visit and it couldn't have gone smoother. We continue to stay at this hotel even though it's not the closest anymore because the staff is great and the food outstanding! The Noodle restaurant onsite is great for breakfast and Japanese fare. We love this hotel and it always exceeds our expectations. Thank you! August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff - Terrific Location We have been staying at this Starwood hotel several times a year for five years. Without exception we have always had an excellent experience. They have the best trained, most professional, accomodating staff in the entire city. Their front desk (Richard and colleagues) and their concierge desk (Rueben and colleagues) go above and beyond for every guest to ensure that their needs are met and their expectations exceeded. Compliments to their housekeeping staff for maintaining such a busy property so well. And not to be forgotten - their lobby restauarant happens to be one of Philadelphia's finest Asian restauarants. Many thanks from a frequent traveller! September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful room and amenities Wonderful room, amenities and a great location. August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location This hotel is close to the Citizens Bank Park and the Philadelphia Zoo. A few restaurants are within walking distance. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs a face lift I had a certificate to use for my wedding anniversary. Reservations was not too excited to accept the certificate. Upon check-in, I was given a room situated next to the elevator, probably the worst location in the hotel...the A/C unit did not work...so much for a room inspection....we waited for over an hour for the repair status and finally we were moved to another room. After check out, I discovered that I left my cell phone charger pluged into the credenza electrical outlet and promptly called the hotel...I spoke with security, they checked to see if the item was recovered by housekeeping and promised a call....still waiting! August 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by breakfast Hotel was just fine except for the breakfast in the restaurant. The orange juice was warm and tasted bad. The coffee was not hot. The waffle was mushy. August 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient but a bit run down I would recommend this hotel for those taking professional exams nearby if you can get a discount on their regular rate. The testing site for Step 2CS is a short 2 block walk. The staff was friendly, the lobby very nice, and there is the convenience of a restaurant in the hotel as well as reasonably priced room service. The rooms however are a bit run down and not cleaned particularly well. I found used tissues on the floor, the shower floor was dirty, and the lid to the toilet did not fit properly and was always in danger of falling off. The parking in the hotel deck was not included in the price of the room and was $25 a day. January 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Experience in a Long Time I prepaid for this hotel, but couldn't get here on the first day of my reservation because of the weather. Somehow the ability to deal with this stumped your staff because I have had to deal with erroneous charges on my credit card since I got here. The morning after being awoken in the middle of the night by a false fire alarm, there was no hot water for the shower. I'm extremely disappointed in my stay here. I've stayed here before with no problems, but then again, everything went as planned. It's terribly disappointing to know that should the Sheraton be thrown even the smallest travel delay curve ball, that they cannot get it right. Math isn't that hard. March 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs an update This is the worst sheraton property I have stayed at. The rooms and facilities need to be updated. The wireless signal was nonexistent. The printers were not working. There is no bar or decent restaurant. Even though the staff were great I will not return. August 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just not good enough My room, 1501 was ok but not to expectations. The tub did not drain and at the end of my shower I could have taken a bath. My quilt was severely worn and had pull's all over it so it made the room look old. The hallway on the 15th floor was dirty and never appeared vacuumed. The iron in my room ruined two of my dress shirts which was a significant problem as I was traveling on business. The iron had black sticky stuff on it and when I started to iron, it transferred onto my shirts. I tired to clean it off and iron my second shirt and that one was damaged as well. I will look for other accommodations when traveling to Philly. April 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by good, but not as much so as expected room could have been a bit cleaner. I do not mean the maid service, but rather the overall maintenance. when taking a shower, the tub filled up due to ridiculously slow draining. this had obviously been building up for a while, so I am surprised it had not been dealt with. it was somewhat disgusting, Id say. there was a really nasty looking filthy spot on the carpet that should have been taken care of. light between beds worked well part of the time. I think there might be a short in the switch. I was there on 2 weekday morning, but paper was delivered only one of the 2 days. Room service food (breakfast) was below average, but food in hotel restaurant was fine. May 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tip Tray 1st Club level lounge with a TIP tray. This is what your paying extra for, so why would you tip??? Very tacky!!! August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient for my purpose If you need internet, forget about it. Other than that it was a good place to stay. August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ancient Wifi Internet Speed It's a good hotel except the wifi network which is terribly slow. I reported this problem to the wifi technician who tried to reset the speed and just told me that it was the 'best' they can do and that everyone has accepted the speed. I found it unacceptable in this modern age and era. July 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by I had an alarm clock in the room go off at 12am This has never happened to me before, it led to a poor night sleep. The room and bathroom felt unclean. However, the staff was responsive. August 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by We won't be back. Never again! After reserving 3 rooms for me and my employees I was embarrassed when I arrived and saw how dirty our rooms were. I even took some pictures of dirty floor corners in bathroom, dirty floor under the sink and dirty closet doors. I am a Starwood Hotel member for a long time but after visit in this hotel I am not sure if I will be loyal to this chain/group. I will never go back to this hotel, that is for sure. On top of dirty rooms and distasteful food the Internet connection was constantly dropping out. I couldn't do much work in the hotel. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. I was very very disappointed. November 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, Great staff Loved the pool! Only drawback was that the mattress was a bit soft, and my wife woke up with a backache. Other than that, everything was tops. Would also like to commend your deck person, Ms. Brown for her friendly and efficient check in. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location-Great Staff My mom and I stayed at the Sheraton, unfortunately not for pleasure, but because mom had a doctor's appointment early at nearby Presbyterian Hospital. We live an hour away, so we both felt more comfortable staying in the city only blocks away from the hospital. The staff was wonderful-helped me with directions and addressed all questions that I had about taxis, parking , etc. Our stay at the Sheraton was outstanding. Although we were apprehensive about why we were there, we enjoyed dinner at the restaurant and having coffee in front of the fire. Thanks for making a stressful situation less stressful! January 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the Step 2 CS exam I recently took my United States Medical Licensing Exam -Step 2 Clinical Skills , at the USMLE Philadelphia Centre . Sheraton Univercity City Hotel is within walking distance and so I decided to stay here . The staff was very friendly especially Ms.Tammy Rose at reception, who was very hospitable and was very knowledgeable about my exam ! I stayed on the club level for the convenience of breakfast in the morning . My room was quite comfortable and the hotel was very clean. I'd definitely recommend Sheraton and especially this location if you're planning to take the Step 2CS exam in Philadelphia. February 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sheraton hotel review The hotel was nice and conveniently located. The staff are very friendly and helpful. July 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average hotel, great pool and gym! I was not overwhelmed with my stay here. I was placed in a suite style room next to loud guests that could be heard through the connecting doors. My shower did not drain and I was left standing in shin deep water at the end of each shower. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. However, I was not pleased to find a bag of trash left over from housekeeping in the middle of the floor when I returned to my room one evening. This is unacceptable. I was very impressed by the gym and the pool. The gym has up to date equipment and was kept spotless. The pool area was accommodating and tidy. May 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude staff Rooms are comfortable, showers are good, nice tv, slooow WiFi, location is the one we needed. Could have a microwave since the room service brought only warm food and it got cold fast. There was some leaking in the bathroom, I couldn't identify where, but the carpet right behind the bathroom, on my way to the bed, was always wet. That was annoying since it was winter and I kept forgetting about it and getting my socks wet. But all could be forgotten if it wasn't for this very rude guy in the front desk. He kept no eye contact, didn't make any effort to help us, had us feeling like a burden. February 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by not a good experience I was very disappointed in this hotel. The room was not very clean. I called the front desk because there were items from the previous guest just there. It did not get removed until I finally had to go down to the front desk the following day after the room had supposedly be clean and complain again. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel could improve the internet service was poor. could not access my emails from my room nor the meeting rooms. I contacted the support staff the first night and they were helpful. i was able to retrieve emails only once. the room's air quality was stuffy. the breakfast pastries were not fresh. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel was in a great spot The hotel was in a great spot surrounding the Univ. of Penn. Was there to visit the campus for my son. I was not informed that there would be a $25 parking fee for each night of stay. There was only one small elevator from the paking garage. Only to get off one elevator to wait for another elevator for your room destination. Was told there was a fridge and microwave in the room once we got there we were then informed that was rooms with a $20 upgrade. A lot of hidden charges were not mentioned before hand that were only told at the time of your arrival regarding the perks of the hotel. July 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was great, food not so much The staff at this hotel were very friendly and accommodating. I had great service from everyone. However, the food at the restaurant and room service were really pretty awful. I ordered chicken lettuce wraps at the restaurant, and I don't think I have ever had a worse meal at a restaurant in my life. The portion was fairly large, but I only ate about 5 bites of it because it tasted to terrible. The breakfast I ordered through room service was grossly overpriced (even for room service), and was below average and not very warm. The temperature in the conference and meeting rooms was also frigid. There was no reason to have the air conditioning blasting on us when it was only about 40 degrees outside. March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay!! No complaints...everything was great!! I was attending a conference at the hotel which also was handled very well by the hotel staff. The room was cleaned every day with fresh linens as needed. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great customer service in an average hotel 2nd visit to this location as my son attends Drexel. The hotel itself is 'ok'. The wallpaper in hallwawys and carpet need repairing/cleaning, as it is stained and scratched. The rooms are fine, typical Sheraton. However, the staff is superb. Ms. Rose, at the front desk ALWAYS goes out of her way to help all guests. She is great upon check in, always a smile, follows up with a phone call to check on you, after you enter the room and remembers guests names. Superb customer service in a 'ok' hotel. Note, I paid for the club floor but it is closed on Sunday nights. Do not pay for this, when you book, if you are going on a Sunday night. Perfect location for Drexel & Penn. Also no bar area in hotel to relax in - this was a disappointment and not in the info described on line. We would have enjoyed a cocktail on Sunday night to unwind, after traveling, but there is no where to do that in the hotel! July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 MRS WRETCHED RESTAURANT! MEDIOCRE HOTEL EXCELLENT MATTRESS! July 22, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>