Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

  • 205 East Houston Street
  • San Antonio,
  • Texas
  • 78205
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 406 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Room Expierence * Desk chair is so close to the bed. (agaist the bed) * Banquest chair instead of desk chair! * Bath tub calukings showed multiple balck moldings. * Bath room window blocking (films?) has partially scratches. I do have photo to back up. November 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love Benjamin. We had a terrific one night stay at the Sheraton. We took advantage of the gold membership lounge on the 12th floor. The gentleman that worked there was fantastic. Benjamin thanks for the great service and the laughs. See you soon! November 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lovely Hotel & Great Location The Gunter is a lovely boutique hotel located 2 short blocks from the riverwalk, 4 to the Alamo, a trolley stop at the door, with restaurants, drug store, bagels and coffee shop nearby. What else could you want? Super helpful & friendly staff, stately charm and just the right amount of elegance with lovely rooms and comfy beds. I was MORE than pleased with our stay. We loved the old hotel switchboard on display in the lobby. I would recommend the Gunter to anyone. It was a perfect gem, glad we found it. December 6, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Sales and Catering Staff Around Our association hosted a conference at the Sheraton Gunter and the staff treated us very well. They were very accommodating and provided the best atmosphere for the conference. And the food was absolutely amazing. May 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool hotel This is a great hotel. Comfortable beds and pillows. Location convenient. AC wasn't as cold as I would like. Only cool to 70 degrees. Otherwise great place and staff very friendly and helpful. July 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is visually appealing yet comfortable. The hotel has a very attractive look to the inerior yet was comfortable and relaxing. The front desk staff was professional and very helpful. Our room met all of our expectations and more. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Secret Heaven I want to keep for myself! A stay at San Antonio Sheraton was nothing short of divine. The warm, caring and delightfully friendly staff is the gateway to a fabulous, fresh, newly designed and renovated Sheraton. It was pure heaven to have the big city cultural attraction with a small city comfort. What a jewel, walking distance from tons of cultural attractions. Even with Fiesta going on, it was a very comfortable city to be exploring. Don't forget to try the Sheraton restaurant, food is fabulous. Location, Location, Location, fresh, crisp, lovely decor, this place is a winner!!! I will be looking at where to buy the lovely duvet and shower curtain. We will be back to the Sheraton San Antonio!!! April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was incredible!!! My husband and I were supposed to go to San Antonio together to a convention but due to a back surgery, he could not go. I went alone, stayed in the Sheraton Gunter and had a wonderful experience even though I did not have my husband there. The breakfasts were good and the evening repast. The last day my flight did not leave until 9 pm, therefore I was concerned about sightseeing then having to fly without showering. I was able to leave my bags at the hotel while I was out, and then I was able to use the pool shower and the pool so that I was refreshed for my flight!! I am soooo appreciative of that "extra" touch for me!! Thank you sooo much. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay One of the best Sheratons I have stayed at. The amenities are great and the location is close to the Riverwalk. Only negative was the hot tub was normally not hot enough. June 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay We were in San Antonio as part of a cross country driving vacation. We were checked in by Patrick who was incredibly helpful. After we checked Patrick helped us with recommendations of things to do, places to go, directions and restaurant suggestions. He was right on with everything. The hotel and our room was very nice but our room was somewhat worn. The carpet needs to be replaced. The leather desk chair was torn in several places. The bath and shower was clean but also worn. The shower head is unusually low on the wall making it a bit difficult for an average sized person to shower. The service of the staff, however, made up for the room. April 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Older hotel needs updating This is an older hotel that needs updating. The carpets were dirty, the A/C didn't work well, the sink was backed up, etc. etc. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel What a beautiful and historic hotel this was! Great location, walking distance from the "Riverwalk," and much more! September 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location One of the best places to stay at. December 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Historic Hotel This hotel is centrally located downtown and only 1/2 block to the famous Riverwalk. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great meeting The entire staff was extremely helpful and all my attendees had a great time. June 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ear Plugs are not the solution I'm sure you have lots of comments about some rooms being really loud. I give credit to the staff that checked me in but the noise from mechanical systems was very hard to deal with. We also experienced poor service at the bell hop stand and concierge. They seemed very difficult to deal with uninterested in helping guests. The food at the restaurant and coffee shop was great, along with conference food. The rooms are clean and well tended, but the toilet seat was about as old as the hotel and showed it. That too easy a fix not to mention. The location is great and with a few minor changes this should be a flagship location. Best Regards, October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by SA Trip Perfect location. Great historic hotel. Very impressed May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Historic Hotel Near Alamo This is currently my favorite hotel in Texas for a number of reasons—but primarily because of the superb job the Sheraton has done in honoring the history of this century-old building and retaining the old world charm. I was upgraded to the Governor’s Suite, which I’ll admit was very kind of the hotel, but the other rooms are equally as nice. The Governor’s Suite was large and spacious. I especially liked the heavy wooden shutters that you could open in the mornings and close in the evenings. While sitting in the lobby, it felt like you were in the early 1900’s…with all the hard wood, marble floors and antique chandeliers. The Alamo is only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and the River Walk is equally as close. I recommend to SPG Corporate to increase the category designation of this property from Category 2 to Category 3. My opinion is that room quality, guest amenities (including full Club Level lounge), and prime location in historic San Antonio far exceeded expectations for what customers are currently paying/night. Judging by the guest reviews, Hotel Gunter has one of the highest customer satisfaction ratings in the network, and, I’m giving the hotel 5 stars across all points of evaluation. Keep up the excellent work, Hotel Gunter! Highly recommend this property if you’re considering staying in the San Antonio area. October 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not live up to my expectations When I made my reservations online I was under the impression that we would recieve breakfast included with our room rate. We could have choosen $166 a night with no breakfast or drinks or $188 a night. We choose the higher of the rates based on the free breakfast and free drinks in the afternoon/evening. We did not get either because the breakfast and drinks is only during the week mon-frid and we were staying here over the weekend. When I asked the front desk about this I was told we were paying more for an updated room which was not the case because we had someone else staying in the hotel for the lower rate and his room looked exactly the same. If this was not something that was offered during the weekend why would this option be offered on the website for a weekend reservation? When we get there we arrive about 2 am on saturday morning only for the lady at the counter to ask if we called to say we would be late, I said no and she said well let me see what we can do. Like we might not have a room. Again I say why would I do that if we made reservations on line and the hotel had already taken out payment for the 2 night reservations. We did end up with a room thank goodness. So I am not pleased with the amount that we spent versus what we thought we were getting. The friendliness of the customer service at the front desk was lacking a great deal. March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Metropolitan Hotel Gorgeous hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. It is old world with an art deco touch. The room was spacious (two queen size beds). The restaurant downstairs (Market On Houston) was phenomenal. I had the Napoli flatbread pizza. The hotel had a "South Beach" feel and just a block away from the Riverwalk. You will not be disappointed with your stay. June 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel could be excellent but . . . I stayed at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel while attending a professional conference in San Antonio. While the staff mostly helped in meeting my needs as a guest, the rooms were in poor shape. I experienced the following issues: i) towels and sheets were torn/ripped upon check-in (hotel staff quickly rectified this issue); ii) tiles in the shower area were covered in mold/mildew, which was not cleaned after mentioning this to housekeeping and/or front desk staff; iii) room carpet was extremely dirty and stained. As a result of the guest room condition, I will not be using for any future stays in San Antonio or recommending that colleagues stay in this hotel. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remarkable Staff I have to give 5 stars to the staff at your hotel. I have traveled on many occasions and stayed at a wide variety of Hotels. I have never been treated so well at any hotel by every member of the staff. And I am not the type of person that wants to be treated special and given upgrades, or extra amenities. Just treated friendly like a friend in town. From the very start the Concierge and parking staff greeted us with a very friendly attitude. The front Desk was very friendly and Very fast. She had my room key in my hand before I could find my credit card. I was at the hotel for the Labor management convention, and the staff that took care of us where wonderful, Very friendly, very good at their job. professional and they did not give me the impression they was there to cater to my every need but there to do their job and treat me as a guest. During the social, one of the waiter/bust persons even cracked a joke to me and my wife while sitting at a table sharing an adult beverage. I thought what a perfect time for him to leave his impression on us. It was not a business moment but a Social. And last but not least the person we came into contact with the most at the Gunter was our housekeeper. She was magnificent. She worked long hours, and every time we passed by her she was smiling and always had something positive to say. She was always around, I felt like we had our own security officer on our floor she was present so often and she noticed everything. She really seemed like she loved what she does. And maybe interacting with people is what she loves about her job. But she was a very pleasant person to interact with leaving or returning to the room. I really wish I could remember her name to leave her personal credit. The only negative things I have about the hotel is that my bill does not match my receipt. But it has not cleared my checking account yet. So I am waiting to see what they process on my card. The second is that the Hot tub was not hot. The only suggestion that I have for the hotel is that some of the hotels I have stayed at have adult hours for the pool and spa. close the pool at 9 or 10 to kids. and let the adults have time without all the kids around splashing and screaming. My wife and I like to just sit by the pool and drink our drinks in a adult surrounding. But hey the Gunter did have a wonderful bar. Loved it. The gym was very clean and well maintained. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and the friendly atmosphere. Hats off to your management team, They must have one very good recruiting process. The staff they have hired really left a good impression on my wife and I. Thank you Gunter Sheraton. June 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy Hotel is in a nice location and looks good from the outside but is noisy and old. All the fans for heat/AC are located in the center court which increases the noise level. The windows are old and do not stop any noise. When I called to change room it took more than 30 minutes to get another key + I had to call back to find out what was happening. The new room was just a little bit quiter. I had to wear earplogs to sleep.Earplugs hurt my ears but I could not sleep without them. Hotel rooms look old. I was charged for a bottle of water after check out when it was labelled as free (I did not touch the other bottle with a price) January 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Less than expected This hotel was a little disappointing because of its location. My expectation was it would be a little closer to the main portion of the riverwalk and the Alamo. June 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by san antonio weekend Wonderful 4 day weekend; in town for family event. Great customer service; answered all questions quickly; helped secure needed wheelchair. Executive lounge staff; bar; restaurant; front desk and concierge/parking staff all were attentive; some calling us by name. Room was large; bed very comfortable. Would like to have seen higher quality towels; but that is the only suggestion to offer and admittingly not that significant. WIll return to SA and will not look for another hotel; location was excellent too February 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disapointing Arrived at the hotel late, Valet guy was on the ball and greeted me immediately, however had to wait at the front desk for 10 minutes to be helped. Front desk clerk did not even mention my Platinum status or even ask about points or welcome gift. Was given a room that appeared to be clean, with the exception of the carpeting and furnishings. Carpet had several stains and had been cleaned so many times that it was loose and had waves in it. Went to the restroom and stepped on the transition from carpet to the tile, and was stabbed in the foot by the tack strip on the carpet. I would never stay at this location again. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Interior We have stayed at the Gunter in the past and really liked the stained woodwork. Painting all the woodwork white really changes the character of the hotel and in my opinion, not for the best. There were areas blocked off that were available before. It was a little disappointing. Maybe the hotel is still in remodel mode. June 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has good features, however.... Upon check-in I was informed by the desk attendant that your hotel had a heated outdoor pool and hot tub. When I checked the water temperature of the pool and hot tub after dropping my luggage off in my room the temperature was at 72 degrees! It was not warm enough for me to enter. I mentioned this at the front desk they told the appropriate hotel personnel. When I checked the water temperature 2 days later it had risen to 78 degrees. It was still not warm enough for me to enter. My suggestion would be for the desk personnel to not inform guests that the pool and hot tub are heated when they are lukewarm at best. November 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Retired US Army Officer This was the 2nd time we have stayed with you and my wife is cliniquely deaf, could not use the benefit of closed caption to watch our favorite evening shows. It was our 53rd Wedding Anniversary and my 74th Birthday and we were looking forward to staying with you because of the proximity of the River Walk and St. Marys Church services. The two technicians visited our room and said they would fix it, nothing, though I asked the desk the next am, same, nothing! May 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the experience I expected. The Club Room & Lounge room was not even close to being worth the value; tiny and poor selections available. Room carpet was significantly water stained inside room, mirror cracked. The rest of the room was very well appointed, though. Street noise inexplicably loud all night for being over ten stories up; windows clearly need better insulation. Made it hard to sleep. The entraces, resturant and bar were all wonderful, as were the associated staffs. Had a very pleasent experience everywhere except for the room and the club lounge. Valet brought wrong car and had half hour wait for them to find the right one. September 9, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>