Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

  • 201 North 17th Street
  • Philadelphia,
  • Pennsylvania
  • 19103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 788 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by shady hotel I arrived at 1:30am in the morning, having called that I'm going to be late. When checking in I was told that there is unfortunately no room left for me. After pointing out that this is the 2nd time in a row that I didn't get a room despite a reservation and that I called to let them know that I'm going to be late a handicapped room was available. I'm pretty tired of this and not going to stay at this hotel anymore July 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I was rubbed the wrong way when I first checked in... Downtown Philadelphia location. We arrived very early in the morning. I walked up to one guy who acted like he didn't even see me and later on he did the same thing to my man. The other gentleman was really nice. The hotel was excellent other than the no free wifi. These days that is a must. The rooms were clean, the beds are so comfortable. I would recommend the hotel to my friends. The wifi is a must though....12.95 per day is extreme when most places are offering free wifi. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nothing Special Good location. Property is at least 10 years past its prime. Not bad, but just run down. Needs paint, old carpet, not outright dirty but... and just very average everywhere else. July 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tired Upon entering the garage, trash cans were overflowing in and around the elevators, the elevator doors were stained with coffee and drinks most likely from July 4th; we checked in the 6th. The hotel is tired, the floor covering in the main elevators is from a 1960's school house. When you get off at the club level, the foyer chair is missing its cushion. The chairs at the tables in the club are four inches shorter than the table. This place has lived its life. July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Updating The rooms was comfortable and the furniture was nice, but you can see that the hotel needs to be updated. It is time for a floor by floor makeover. This could be an excellent hotel. The location is perfect. It is nice place but it is time for refreshing. July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great conference facility Just attended a three-day conference here and everything ran smoothly. Was very impressed with the staff as they served 700+ for dinner. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by extremely friendly housekeeping staff Very good hotel with the most friendly housekeeping staff I've encoutnered July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Top Notch Customer Service The service that I received from the moment I called to make a reservation was excellent. * Reservation agent - took the time to find me the best rate for the room I needed to attend a charity walk in Philadelphia. * Mishap correction - when I realized a week prior to the travel date that the wrong weekend had been booked (99% sure this was actually my fault!), the hotel was quick to make the correction with no questions asked. My rate was kept the same, which was very important to me. * Check in - We arrived weary after a 9hour car ride and were met with very friendly staff. We really appreciated the room upgrade to the club level. I haven't stayed at a Sheraton in a long time, but after this visit and the treatment we received, we will be back! June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Choice in Philadelphia! We chose the Sheraton Downtown Philadelphia because it was closest to the site of a family 50th anniversary celebration luncheon. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a club room on the 25th floor with an amazing view westward - the Basilica of St. Peter and Paul right below us, Logan Square and Franklin Institute directly across from us, and the magnificent Philadelphia Museum of Art in the distance. The concierge desk was most helpful with a print-out of restaurant suggestions, maps, and directions, and every staff person we contacted was friendly and helpful. They have a rooftop ballroom with floor to ceiling windows that we thought looked just perfect for a wedding reception. We would definitely stay there again! January 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by enjoyed hotel We appreciate this hotel. Staff are great and we appreciate its dog friendly policies. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Made the Difference It's not often a person has the opportunity to get to know a hotel and its staff as well as I. Work afforded me the opportunity to visit Philadelphia for the better part of last year (nearly every week). I must say the Sheraton's staff seemed more like family than service providers by the end of the year. Having grown up in the South, I have come accustomed to expect genuine hospitality. Furthermore, I was not expecting to find this treatment among the hustle of Center City-Philadelphia. Quite the contrary, the Sheraton management and staff made the difference in my hotel choice all year. From weekly greetings by Patrick to helped with my luggage, to checking-in with Candace and Andrew at the front desk, I was made to feel welcome. Top it off with exceptional service in the lobby bar & restaurant all year by Nicole, Peter, Greg, Daniele, and Amanda. Breakfast with Nick or a coffee and danish with Marilyn, they each made me feel at home while away from home from the start. Thanks for taking such good care of me! I look forward to visiting again. January 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by checkin after making reservations several months in advance, for three rooms, as Starwood Gold guests, check in was a nightmare! I understand the hotel was busy and most likely full, but that could not possibly be a surprise to the staff. With one desk attendant at noon, the line was out the door, the rooms were not ready, by 5 I had not rcvd the promised phone call, so went through the line again, went out without a room, got the call during the evening, and finally checked in all three rooms at 11:30 PM April 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Downtown Hotel in area that is desolate at night and while it may be safe appears to leave a caual walker at risk. Front desk does not know promotion codes for SPG guests and checkin required 1/2 hour and two people to adjust room rate to promotion code on reservation. At checkout another 1/2 hr was required to again adjust rate with different people. Halls and lobby of hotel are darkly lit giving impression of being in an old outdated hotel (which it is not). Room size is okay but bathrooms are small. Parking very expensive especially since accross the street paking is 1/4 the rate. Wireless cost money for SPG guests which seems to be a starwoods policy but is an irratent and makes one wnat to choose other hotels where it's free. January 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Avoid This Dump I first stayed at this hotel in 2006 and recently returned in April 2012. I had hoped it improved since then but had not. I am a frequent traveler and often stay at Sheraton hotels. This place is very much "your father's Sheraton" and makes me feel like its 1993. The staff is very unpolished and unfamiliar with SPG process and rules. They did not allow for late checkout. Internet did not work well either at the hotel. The food in the lobby bar was terrible. My shower barely worked and created this screaming sound as water sprayed all over the floor. I highly suggest you look elsewhere in Philly. I stayed with a number of colleagues at this hotel, many with different travel preferences, and we all came to the same conclusion. April 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Two things: 1I just want to personally thank Sean Jin who worked at the hospitality desk and front door. He was very attentive to our needs, and thankfully to him,we were able to catch our bus back to Pittsburgh on time with his swift retrieval of our luggage and hailing down a cab!! Thank you Sean. 2: I was there for the Soccra Examination and unfortunately church services were scheduled at the very same time. Which was very distracting . we were moved to another room but unfotunately tnot until 20 minutes before the test was over. I just hope and pray I passed!!! June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stuck in the 80's This hotel is in desparate need of a renovation. I was very disappointed with this hotel and my room, which was tiny. July 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Happy I was here for a conf. Reserved five rooms. The employee checking us in did not know how to allow me to pay for all five with one check. She over charged us for one night. When received our slips at check out, some of us were charged additional amount. Different employee fixed everything but now we have to wait for five reimburstment checks. My room had no soap, had to ask everyday. One day was given an extra bottle of shampoo to use for soap. The hallway to my room looked like it hadn't been swept in a week. It wasn't swept for the four nights we stayed. April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Property The Sheraton Downtown Philadelphia is one of the most outstanding properties not only in Philadelphia but in the entire USA. From the warm greeting by hotel staff to the food fare both for dinner and breakfast, this hotel meets all guests needs. The rooms are spotless, the housekeeping staff diligent in their responsibilities and the appointments in the guest rooms made the room inviting and comfortable. The Club Lounge is clean and the food selection in both morning and evening caters to all culinary tastes. This property is unparalleled in hospitality. October 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sloppy Chef I saw a disregard for any culinary standards during three meals at the Sheraton last weekend. I had vegan meals at the American Humanist conference June 6-7 (2014 not 2012). The first dinner was mismatched pasta with a can of diced tomatoes poured on top and unseasoned vegetables. Lunch was burned, mushy, and downright inedible squash on eggplant. The next dinner was tolerable rice and soy cubes with pea pods but the pods still had the stems on. 0/3 on what should be the easiest meals to prepare. Every dessert was diced fruit; tasty but lazy. I'd be happy to offer some ideas to reduce cost and better service vegan customers, but the bottom line is the meals were prepared badly. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel This hotel was beauitful and exceeded our expectations. May 2, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Experience I guarantee I will never stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone. Our room smelled like smoke even though it was non-smoking, the sheets were like paper, and the shower drain was clogged. My husband and I left a request for breakfast at 9p the previous night for delivery between 6-6:15a the next morning. At 6:15a I received a call from the kitchen saying they received too many breakfast orders to accommodate everyone's requests. If you know the hotel is completely booked because of an event, it may be wise to add extra staff and prepare for this to happen. If there is one positive thing to say about this hotel it is the exceptionally pleasant staff who always greeted us with a smile. Thank you for making this stay bearable. September 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is in a great location Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Convenient Starbucks located in lobby. When kiosk was closed, hotel provided free coffee which was awesome gesture. Downside is lobby carpets were dirty as were hallways where rooms were located. Bathrooms had no exhaust fans, only one sink, and shower liner curtain did have some mold. Room definitely was in need of a good dusting as well. Big minus for us was that room refrigerators were not included .. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4th of July Stay The hotel was very conveniently located to everything I needed and wanted to do in Philadelphia. i thought the location of the Pool was a little out the way, especially for someone who has trouble walking. Overall my stay was excellent. July 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL's STAFF IS PLEASANT and EFFICIENT I understand that the hotel will be going through renovations. It did not have security box to store valuables although the hotel offered at the lobby level. That is not convenient. The shower pressure is extremely low. People need, sleep, shower and security. Some of the things are missing in those categories. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel should be a Starwood training facility for "how to do it right". The Philadelphia Downtown Sheraton staff deserve raises. From the front desk staff, to the maintenance staff, to the Club Room host, to the lobby bartender, and of course, the concierge team of Chris and Eric. . all met and exceeded our needs throughout our stay. The view from our room overlooking Logan Circle was spectacular and if you have never slept in a Sheraton bed, put it on your to-do-list! Our stay was made even more memorable on the night of my milestone birthday. We returned to our room from dinner to find chilled wine, cheese and crackers with a "Happy Birthday" greeting personally signed by each and every front desk staff member. WOW This staff is professional, caring and so friendly. They turned our get-away into a truly memorable experience. December 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Location, but Smells Bad! We stayed at the Sheraton on New Years Eve. The location was within walking distance to plenty of bars/restaurants, and we had a beautiful view of the art gallery from our room on the 24th floor. It was a busy afternoon, but the hotel was well-staffed so we didn't have to wait for anything. The room was comfortable. Our biggest complaint was the smell of cigarette smoke in the hallways and our room. Even though the room seemed clean enough, I just couldn't get past the fact that our room smelled like an ashtray (even though it was a non-smoking room). Luckily, we didn't spend much time there. Although the excellent staff made the most of what they have to work with, unfortunately it seems that their hotel has seen better days and could use a serious renovation. January 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is in a great location First time in Philadelphia. Had a great visit.. location is great to all 4th of July activities. Woodrow from hotel security was great and very helpful.. he is a great employee July 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rooms let me down... To start the carpet in room 335 has began to buckcle right in the center location of the floor… if not address soon it will become a tripping hazard. The bathroom tub walls had not been cleaned in weeks… you could seen water stains completely to the ceiling. There was no comfort with sleeping… none of the double bed had any support or the pillows. I was up most of the night trying to find a posistion I could sleep in (not good for the back). The only good experience was there was a party the night we stayed. December 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Features First day waited for elevators took long and were over packed. Ice machine not on every floor, had to go up to 4th floor to get ice. Other wise it was a great stay. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort, convenience, care Each staff member remembered the names of my wife and myself. One overheard that my wife was celebrating her birthday during our stay and several staff members congratulated her and the concierge sent up cheese and crackers, her favorite snack. Angel G was so gratuitous and during a snow storm and it's aftermath kept the walkways clear in bone chilling cold and only paused to help each guest empty and load their cabs. He deserves a promotion as he could be an excellent front desk staff member. January 25, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 27 next>>