Sheraton Commander Hotel

  • 16 Garden Street
  • Cambridge,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02138
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Richtlinien zum Mindestalter

Um eine Reservierung vorzunehmen, müssen Gäste mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 195 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 41 years I first stayed here in 1972, when I began working for the DOT in Washington. On the trip up to Boston, my host at the DOT Transportation Systems Center recommended the Commander. Close to TSC, Harvard Square and the MBTA. I have since stayed there both on business and pleasure with my family. The hotel still provides the same satisfaction that it did earlier. September 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a lot more work Staying at the Commander was like going back in time, not in a good way though... The elevator is tiny, the decor is very dated, the rooms are big but again very dated but the prices are still high to stay here so I would not recommend this hotel to others at this time. There seems to be construction on some floors but they have a long way to go. March 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy + malfunctioning AC I came up here for my 5th law school reunion. The first night, them thermostat didn't work at all and the room was sweltering. The second night I called maintenance and it turned out the AC unit had been turned off by pressing a button on the plug. The next two nights the AC was noisy and kept me and my wife awake. I will not return. April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Positive Experience This hotel was in the heart of the Harvard campus. Everything was what you would expect of an SPG hotel; friendly and accommodating staff, and large and comfortable rooms. My only complaints are related to the parking being difficult to locate (I came at night) and there is no starbucks on property (personal preference). Otherwise my stay was great!!!! November 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was convenient We were visiting colleges in the area and this hotel was conveniently located. Given the city location, I was not surprised that parking would be limited. However, I was not made aware that there would be an additional charge to park with the hotel. I was also disappointed that the hotel was unwilling to accept my AAA card and discount my room rate. November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sweet and Helpful Staff Just had an amazing three night stay. The lounge and front desk staff were sweet and knowledgeable. Also had a complementary upgrade with champagne + chocolates because of our to celebrate a special occasion. I've stayed in comparable and more "luxurious" places before, and the attention to detail this time just totally surpassed all expectations. January 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Traffic & Construction The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. I would have appreciated advanced notice of the construction being completed on the building. They started at 8:30am and were quite loud. Lastly, there is a ton of road construction in the area, so traffic was terrible. The hotel location was good for Harvard Square, but not anywhere I wanted to go. November 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good nights sleep My husband and I had a very comfortable stay when in town for a wedding. slept great! staff were wonderful. July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The location is excellent - otherwise unwelcoming I wanted to love this hotel. It is an excellent location for business trip to Harvard. I just had to walk a block and I was there. But I did not love it. There was no warm welcome upon arrival - in fact no welcome at all. Reception is tiny and there was a line. The check in person did not go out of her way to be welcoming or helpful, just to tell me that there was no shot for the upgrade I asked for. Throughout our entire stay there was not one friendly encounter with staff. They were generally not to be seen and certainly avoided any interaction with us when we were around a staff person. As mentioned in other reviews of this hotel the elevators are laughably small. It is an old building so I guess there is nothing for that. The rooms are tiny too as is the bathroom. Most channels on the TV were not HD. The decor in the room was outdated. The room was clean thank goodness and nothing was broken. Overall it was a not a memorable stay and bordered on unpleasant sorry to say. April 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suites need improvement The suites should be an upgrade over a regular room, but are all on the front side of the hotel which is much noisier. I had asked for a quiet room having reserved a two bedroom suite so family could gather in the living room area. I was not only on front side but also directly under the executive lounge where breakfast set-up could be heard. In addition, it seems that the smallest bathrooms in the hotel are in the 2 BR suites where you could potentially have four people staying. The one BR suites and the ordinary rooms had more counter space and room to turn around. The huge conference table in the 2 BR suite is a waste of space. Better to have a second bathroom or a larger bathroom and a closet in the larger bedroom. The noise and size of bathroom were the biggest problems and would make me not get a 2 BR suite the next time. Some insulation of windows and reallocation of space would greatly improve things. Still it was nice to have the living room. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff & Ideal Location We checked in on a Friday, we came to Boston for the Celtic Music Festival. Commander location just off the Square was ideal. Receptionist upgraded our reservations while we joined the SPG rewards program. Evening snacks and morning breakfast on 6th floor were excellent, fresh, and filling. Security of our vehicle was appreciated. January 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service Not feeling warm and fuzzy as a Starwood Preferred member. Arrived early and were told we 'd be notified when our room was ready. We were not notified. At 3:05 we went back up to the counter and the hotel clerk wisely offerred us a smaller bed and upgraded is to Club level. The other clerk 20 minutes earlier had made no such offer. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! This hotel was great from the very beginning. Upon check in we were upgraded to Jr. suites and still were able to use the concierge level. The staff was so nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The staff in the bar were also exceptional, as were the people in the breakfast room. The location is perfect. October 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Many historic features Overall, I would give this hotel a good review. It is an older hotel so do not expect outstanding features. My room definitely could have used some updating in regards to decorating & its bathroom, However, I have to say the mattress was great....so comfortable!! Also, noise factor & smell of room(OLD CARPET perhaps?).. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Happiness We have always been happy during our many stays in Cambridge at the Commander. The location is perfect, the staff are very supportive and attentive, and the facilities mix old school charm and quirkiness with modern supports and comfort. June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by why can't the TVs work? I have stayed at the Sheraton Commander more times than I can count. The rooms are very well kept and, as I have frequent business in Harvard Square, I will keep coming back. So I offer the following constructive criticism as a long-term customer... How hard is it to make the TVs at this place work properly? In my room, the remote had problems. The channel up/channel down button didn't work, so I had to type the digits in to get the channel to change. Plus, the Bruins were on TV the night I was there, and the TV in the room did not have the channel (how is that possible?). Then, in the exercise room, I used three different pieces of equipment--the (one) recumbent bike, the (one) upright bike, and one of the treadmills--and the TV had problems on each piece of equipment (eg, no picture at all, the picture very fuzzy, and/or the sound doesn't work). I think a quality brand like the Sheraton would be able to address such problems. But like I said--this hotel gets the basics right (room, bed) so I will be back. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A classic hotel in historic Cambridge I basically lived in the Sheraton Commander for three weeks. It was very pleasant - overall I have never had a better stay at any other hotel. The staff was conscientious and very helpful. The rooms were immaculate and pleasantly furnished. I will definitely stay again any time I need to return to Cambridge. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location; Great Room; Improve Elevator! The hotel has vastly improved rooms,including new, fresh showers, nice beds and linens, nicely decorated. The restaurant and lobby are nice and historical. Howerver, There is an odor of mold in the corridors and the elevators need to be updated (faster, roomier). Staircase alternatives are very complicated! December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxurious service From the moment I arrived everyone was very welcoming, calm, and genuinely happy to help. Everything I inquired about was met with a polished and polite response. The restaurant had a great wine selection and again, even though the service was over a holiday weekend, everyone was helpful and very kind. November 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Understaffed My only complaint was the hotel appeared to be understaffed at the front desk and check in took longer than necessary. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! I just stayed here for one night. The staff was excellent. The room was great...roomy, comfy and niclely appointed. They have an impressive workout room as well. I am attending an executive education program at the Kennedy School and this is very close. I will stay here again upon my return. September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Quality As we arrived, staff immmediately welcomed us ,asked us if we needed help with our luggage etc. Gorgeous suite. Excellent service at NuBar. Always asking if we needed anything. Loved our stay. Would definitely stay again and recommend hotel. Wedding accomodations perfect!! Thank you all. September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful hotel The hotel is a 5 minute walk to Harvard square, so location is excellent. The hotel is exactly what one would expect from Sheraton...immaculate and excellent service. The beds are exceptionally comfortable.Rooms are spacious enough for a roll-away. The fitness center is well equipped. September 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is not SPG points friendly The hotel is quite nice for its age, and its location is excellent. The SPG club was well stocked and comfortable. Our problems with the hotel were that we found whisker clippings in the sheets and we were shunted to a less desirable room because we used points to pay for our stay. July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exemplary service The old world character and service of this property reminded us of places we have enjoyed in London and new York. A perfect fit for Cambridge with a staff exceeded themselves with getting us into a room quite early and even upgrading us. Their extra effort made for a perfect stay. October 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient to Harvard This nicely appointed hotel is close to Harvard but is also a quiet place to stay. The club room is well provisioned and competently managed. The dining room is surprisingly good May 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sheraton Commander, Boston Perfect location for visiting Harvard University and nearby area. Clean hotel very very helpful staff. Breakfast somewhat expensive at $17 per head. Easy subway connections to Boston downtown. Much better value for money than staying in similar facility in Boston itself. June 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very convenient location The primary reason of our visit was Harvard, and the hotel is the perfect place. Close to the University, restaurants, walking distance to everywhere in Cambridge. Clean, spacious, great staff. We have made reservations on this hotel for all of our visits to Harvard. September 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel is falling apart Very poor water pressure in the sink. Minimal hot water in sink. Hallway smells like a locker room. Air conditioner has a mind of its own. Aside from its great location no one would want to stay here. May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another pleasant stay at this Sheraton The Sheraton Commander is probably our favorite dog-friendly hotel in the USA. We stay here every Christmas season when visiting friends and family in the Boston area. The staff are invariably friendly and helpful. The rooms are always comfortable and elegant. December 30, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>