Sheraton Read House Hotel Chattanooga

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 431 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! This hotel was a wonderful place to stay. I had the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel room! The room was clean. The valet staff were wonderful! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel History and architecture beautiful - Responsive staff - Comfortable beds and great shower! July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes business travel feel like a vacation I have stayed at Read House more times than I can recall and it is always a pleasure. Food is first rate and the staff will strive to meet your request with speed and a smile. Looking forward to my next trip to the Read House. May 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the $ I'm not sure if it's usually this expensive, but for a very small room it was over $200 for a Saturday night during the weekend of the rowing competition, which we were not there to attend. We were in town to take our engagement photos. We were required to do valet parking for $15 (included in the price above), & felt obligated to tip every time we needed to use our car during our stay. We were also looking forward to using the pool, but we found that it was closed for maintenance, which the lady at the front desk neglected to mention to us when we called to find out where the pool was located. The beds were really comfy, but the shower didn't drain well and the water pressure was light. We were also in the room right next to the elevator so we would hear it all through the night and the early morning. We were looking for a hotel that was walking distance to the aquarium area of downtown and it was the only hotel that close with vacancy when we booked. It was about an 8-block walk to that area, which was pretty convenient. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. November 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I read the reviews and experienced the problems I read most of the reviews from the past 2 years on this site and couldn't believe what I was reading. I could not imagine a Sheraton hotel being reviewed so poorly, so I had to see for myself. It was worse. The problems started as soon as I tried to check in, the line was quite long, no special check-in for Gold or higher members and only 2 staff working, and one disappeared. When I finally made it to the front, they had my reservation but it was not correct. I had reserved a package including bkft and tix to the aquarium, but there was no record of it. The front desk clerk said he could not help so I asked to speak to the manager. I explained the situation to him and he asked where I made the reservation. I replied the SPG website and he stated that the rates on that site are usually incorrect and that my package would cost more. When I showed him my written reservation he finally agreed. Securing brft vouchers was not a problem but he stated he did not have the tix for the aquarium but would have them for me tomorrow morning (want to guess whether they were there the next day?). This process took over 20 minutes. When I arrived at my room, it was an upgraded junior suite but had a king sized bed. I specifically asked for 2 queens. So back to the front desk I go and wait on line again. Room corrected. The room was large but tired, as many other reviewers had stated. There were many problems in the bathroom, way too many to mention here. Suffice it to say way below the standards I am accustomed to at a Sheraton. The bed was comfortable, but the a/c was not working right. Luckily it was a cool evening. The next morning bkft was a disaster. There was only 2 tables occupied and it took over 5 minutes for the one waiter to come over. Our bkft took over 10 minutes to arrive, (we only ordered eggs) and the order was incorrect. When I asked for jelly for my toast the waiter brought honey. When I asked again he took almost 5 minutes to bring it and then threw a few plastic packages on the table. There were more problems but you probably get the idea by now. At checkout, the line was long with only one employee working. And yes, you were correct, there were no aquarium tix, but the desk clerk said she would immediately call the aquarium and have them waiting for me at the will-call (want to guess whether they were there?) You guessed right, they weren't so I called the hotel and after a lengthy conversation to both me and to management at the aquarium I finally received the tix. It certainly wasn't easy. How management at the Sheraton allows this poor service to continue is beyond me, and why Corporate doesn't intervene is also a mystery. Perhaps someone at Sheraton can shed some light on this for me. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations! The Read definitely made my family feel at home. Spacious rooms, plus a dash of nostalgia , made our stay very enjoyable. We most assuredly will add this to our travel spots in the future. August 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Central Location Nice Hotel - it's location is right in between the restaurants, choo choo, and has a stop right outside for the free shuttle bus. Parking is a bit much at $15 a day October 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great visit Always enjoy staying at this hotel when my business takes me to Chattanooga. Great hotel with a lot of history. Comfortable room and good workout facilities. February 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Memorable moments This hotel has a lot of interesting history that I enjoyed hearing from the friendly staff that works there. Thanks for making my visit a memorable one! June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful place to stay for the Regatta The coffee pot was broken but the staff brought me a pot of coffee which I preferred anyway. all of the staff were very friendly and helpful November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super friendly From check in to check out it was an enjoyable experience. Desk clerks, valet, bell hops were very friendly and helpful. Excellent dinner at Porters. February 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by loved the historic building We loved the ambiance and the history of the building. The staff recognized our SPG card status and gave us a nice upgrade. We enjoyed our stay. May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway We had a wonderful time in your city. The staff, the room, the location of the hotel were all perfect! Looking forward to a return visit. March 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not What I Would Have Expected This hotel needs a great deal of work. The deferred maintanence is very high in the guest rooms making it uncomfortable to stay there. September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very, very nice The staff was helpful from the moment we pulled into the garage. We had two dogs with us and the front desk gave us two rolls of doggie bags when we checked in. The bed was spectacular and we all had a great night sleep. The hotel it self is beautiful and very well decorated. We will be staying at the Sheraton from now on! July 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent staff The rooms were clean, bathrooms could use a little more attention, nothing degrading but maybe a little more upgrading. The Porter restaurant, we only ate breakfast there..could have been a good experience but the scrambled eggs were nasty...I had forgotten there is such a thing as 'powdered' eggs, but was quickly reminded when I ate the scrambled eggs...OMG!!! Have I said NASTY already...The garage attendees were perfect!! Took care of our luggage immediately, took care of my car and even had great tips for visiting the area..and very enthusiastic guys...worth every cent of their tip!! Even wished me a Happy Mother's Day on our departure!! May 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful Lobby The lobby was very nice. The beds were nice. The pool is only 4ft deep and there is no hot tub they covered it with a strange floor. The shower did not work and the bathtub was difficult for a 6ft 2in man to use. The walls were peeling and some areas it looked like they were just painted over the peeling paint so it looked pretty bad. There is 2 areas of the hotel the old part were the lobby is and you see in the pictures of the hotel and the addition that looks like your in a different building that is white. Loud door slamming all night long. Walls very thin I could hear people talking next door. The steakhouse in the hotel was wonderful. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by P E R F E C T ! Great staff, excellent room (with 2 HD TVs) and super comfortable mattress !! December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has great staff great check in, great valet service helpful and friendly staff October 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by None Lovely but needs to pay attention to the details. June 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by disappointed Everything was great except for some things in the room. It was nice to be upgraded to a room with a sofa and easy chair. The room was very comfortable, with the following exceptions. The first thing we noticed was the lack of lighting. Then the bathroom was tiny like a closet. There was no space to put any of the things we needed in there. When I went for ice, I noticed that the usual "tongs" were not attached to the ice bucket, nor any where in sight. When I went to make a note, there was also no pen in the room. Some of these are little things, but I would expect more from the Sheraton. The small bathroom was the biggest complaint. We had to call to have someone come and adjust the water in the heating system, as the air was too hot, and we needed cooler air. The evening staff in the club lounge was very good and friendly. And kept the items well stocked. And the same with the morning lady with the breakfast items. But the evening gal really gets a star plus. If I had business in downtown I would stay here again, But for someone just passing through, I would reconsider. To park in their garage, you must use Valet Parking at a cost of $15 per day. Which means tips for the valet guys and also the bellman. Again, the staff was very friendly. Personally, I do not like to use Valet staff for my car - but here there was no choice. The bed was very comfortable which I would expect, along with the other furniture in the room. December 11, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good enough The suite was beautiful. The beds and pillows are super comfy. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff efficient and helpful. We were disappointed to find that they hotel's movie selection did not include anything of an 'adult nature'. We did have a loose panel in the closet that was creepy (it led to a crawl space)- the staff fixed it, but it meant I had to hang out in the room for an hour while they worked- awkward. When I booked I asked about the pool and hot tub and came prepared to spend time int he hot tub on my anniversary trip. When we arrived- the hot tub/spa was out of service (and had been for some time). I should have been told this when I asked about it. The pool itself was very pretty. The club level breakfast was only ok (bread and pastry was dried out all three days) and was only from 7-9. The hors-d-ouvres were decent, but they cancelled it one night because of low occupancy- it made me feel like I wasn't important enough to receive that service. The attached restaurant is FABULOUS! A couple of times I stopped by the front desk and no one was there to help me.When I mentioned these things to the front desk upon check out- my concerns were pretty much dismissed and I was told "we were busy" and "it happens". For what I paid..it should not have happened. The valet guys were fantastic! Helpful, polite, didn't rush us- tip them well! All in all it was a positive trip, but I may try a different hotel next time. November 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the money There's no parking except valet which is a flat rate charged to our room. Plus tips of course. We got a jacuzzi room and there was standing water around the top of the tub and mildew. The bathroom door knob was broken and wouldn't latch. Our remote didn't work and I called they sent a man up who changed the batteries and it sill didnt work after that. The furnishings and linens where top notch. I believe that there are some maintenance and housekeeping issues that could be improved. The breakfast which was packaged into our purchase price was a buffet. The biscuits were hard as a rock literally. Very disappointing for $ for 2 people. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleasant Experience This is a very nice hotel. It has beautiful decor and historic ambiance. It's well located in downtown and seems to be very well maintained. However, internet service was flaky in my room -- had a hard time connecting to the wireless but that could have been a security setting in my laptop. Didn't try the restaurant but bar service was marginal at best. Seemed to be inconvenienced by having customers. Early morning front desk crew on the day of my departure did not seem terribly concerned about taxi's not arriving in time to make flights. I would stay there again but would address these issues with management up front upon check-in. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Hotel was great except for the A/C My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a romantic getaway. We booked a suite and paid for the romance package which offered champagne and chocolate cover fruit. It was very nice all the way around. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The only complaint that I have was the A/C unit in the room was very noisy I made a high pitched squeaking noise he entire time it was running. The only thing that made it stop was shutting the vent off completely. June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A stylish hotel This hotel has the charm and style of older hotels in contrast to the "modern," more stratified decor of newer hotels. The room was big with sleeping and living areas, however comfort was diminished a bit by a very small bathroom. The Starbucks coffee maker was down in the morning, no apologies given. The hotel skimped on staff, making check-in difficult with no concierge to assist. Wi-Fi in the room was much appreciated, and apart from the above criticisms, it was a good stay. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping walked in without knocking My husband and I were placed in a room that was supposed to be ready - 15 minutes after we arrived in our room, housekeeping walked in without knocking in order to put towels in the room that they failed to complete prior to indicating the room was ready. The front desk staff weren't really sympathetic to the fact that they had walked in. After we arrived home, I found my credit card had been charged for the room - we pre-paid our room at the time of reservation in order to obtain a better rate. Have not been able to get in touch with management onsite - spoke with corporate customer service, and pending a response to the issues. March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by my stay Hotel room not quiet up to quality of better Sheraton's. A bit small and room temp stability was a challenge. Cleanliness was good. Carpet worn and torn in room. Marble vanity has paint specks from last painting. Hallway to room not impressive. Staff excellent, nice lobby. Elevator in shabby condition. As the parent of a child performing at the Tennessee music teacher's convention, I was told of special rates. However, I was not offered the rate because due to long travel, I was checking in one day prior to the convention start. You could have, and should have, offered me the promised rate, but did not. I will not use Sheraton again if there is an option. April 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic Charm If you're interested in staying in a historic venue, this is the place for you. The rooms showed some wear, but the bed was comfortable. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Chuck2300 Nice Hotel. Old historic building with great charm. The building has an interesting history which was fun to research. July 7, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 next>>