The Sheraton Read House Hotel Chattanooga

  • 827 Broad Street
  • Chattanooga,
  • Tennessee
  • 37402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 380 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historical magnificence. Accommodating staff. ARRIVAL/CHECK-IN: My family and I checked in on a Thursday, I booked three Jr. King Suites. Upon arrival to the property, I was promptly and professionally greeted by the valet (of whom we later grew to better know as "Timmy"). Timmy promptly unloaded our baggage and delivered them to each of our 3 rooms. As I checked in I was assisted by the desk agent Ken who was exceptionally courteous and well mannered; [we had a minor setback after one of the sets of room keys failed to work, however Timmy the Valet rushed to assist by informing Ken of the issue. I went down to speak with Ken regarding the key issue, he offered his sincere apologies and explained they were currently in a transition with new room key devices. Ken kindly treated us to a couple cups of coffee and issued new working room keys.] After checking in, I briefly toured the first and second levels of the lobby. The architectural design and features are simply magnificent. The history of the Read House is quite interesting and makes for an exciting stay. ROOMS: As I mentioned, I booked 3 Jr. King Suites. 302, 404, 509. Each room was very clean, had excellent climate controls and appeared to have recently been updated. I was concerned that the rooms would be humid, unclean, and worn due to past reviews I had read which was the reason I decided to book the Jr King Suites (with the hopes that the suites would be better maintained.) The hotel is downtown so the views are pretty much a typical downtown view, nothing impressive when in Chattanooga, TN. I was pleased with our overall stay. Overall Property: As our rooms were in the newer wing of the hotel, I was curious to investigate the older wing. I went to the 4th floor in the older wing and walked the halls. It was noticeably worn and less kept than the rest of the hotel, there was even a dismantled, broken down a/c unit hanging out of the side of the hallway, it appeared as if it had been sitting in that condition for years . I am extremely glad I booked the Jr. King Suites and put myself in the newer wing. The Porters restaurant was great. The fitness center was above expectations and very well kept with all of the equipment functioning properly. The pool was not much to boast of, the waterfall was not on and appeared to be non-working, there was chlorine odor which was a bit strong for the pool area. I could not find a hot-tub anywhere. The club level was great, they offered a decent variety of snack items during dinner hours and a small breakfast during the morning hours. The climate in the club area was rather humid during mid-day but cooled down to a comfortable temperature during early morning and evening/night. Overall, prior to my arrival I had low expectations for this Sheraton property as I am accustomed to staying at Westin properties, however I was pleasantly surprised! I would absolutely stay at the Sheraton Read House again and again over any of the nearby hotels. For a Cat 3 hotel, they are above par in my opinion. May 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience While we didn't get to fully enjoy the hotel due to car trouble that got us there late and in a tizzy to attend a wedding. The weather wasn't very cooperative as well..having car trouble in bad weather is never fun. The hotel accommodations were fabulous and certainly made up for our troubles in reaching our destination. Rich in history and charm, the hotel is supposedly haunted.. Apparently the ghosts are as friendly as the employees. Hats off to the valet guys...they were the best! Love the Starbucks downstairs. The location could not have been better. We will definitely go back and stay longer to enjoy this beautiful hotel. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Week-end My wife and I enjoyed a week-end in Chattanoooga recently. WeI wanted to stay downtown so I booked us here. The staff was very welcoming as well as informative about places to go and directions. The room was super. We enjoyed the HUGE garden tub and the room was very nice, large, and inviting. I enjoyed having a table to sit at, drink my coffee, and read the Sunday paper. The sofa and desk were very nice as well. Some have bemoaned the size of the bathrooms, but ours was very nice, had two sinks, and was well stocked with products, from mouthwash to shampoo. The room was very clean, very comfortable, and we will come again! April 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Initial impression great We checked in to our room on 3/16/2014 room 335. We killed a huge water bug crawling on floor made me uncomfortable but wasn't going to complain, then I find a second huge water bug crawling on my clothes in my open suite case. I then went to front desk I was moved to room 333. The room had crumbs on floor a cracker laying on the floor looks like it hasn't been clean well in sometime. My husband Robin went back to front desk so we moved to 231. Im sure the hotel is doing all it can for the bugs it's an old building but the housekeeping staff is clearly needing supervision. All 3 rooms appeared to be cleaned by a toddler. I hate to complain, but highly suggest an inspection on the cleanliness after housekeeping has been there. March 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by the hotel needs improvement there are not any amenities..not a restful sleep...the curtains would not close in order to filter out the outside street lights...the hotel is not impressive and we will not return. April 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb staff at an great old hotel in need of some renovations I've stayed here a couple times as it is the only SPG property in Chattanooga. It is one of those grand old hotels that was once likely really nice but where renovations/updates have slipped a little behind it's age - nothing major but it is evident, especially with the pool area, small bathrooms, etc. The rooms are great if a little small (again, it is an older building so rooms are smaller). The staff is superb and try very hard in general and to make up for anything lacking about the hotel. Extremely convenient location with full Starbucks and restaurant downstairs and the free Chattanooga electric bus stopping directly outside (fast and free trip to the Aquarium, Museums, etc). January 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst hotel i ever stayed at!!!!! THE WORST OVERALL. WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!!!! November 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay My wife and I stayed at the Read House one Friday this summer. We enjoyed our stay but it wasn't anything great. We got a very good deal compared to other nice hotels in the area. The staff was very helpful. The location in downtown Chattanooga was great. The lobby area was beautiful. The room was nice but nothing special. It seemed clean overall, but my wife noticed some fruit loops partially under some of the furniture, and I stepped on what appeared to be a chicken bone, which I suppose is not easily vacuumed. Nothing was wrong with the bathroom, but I expected it to be nicer. Overall we did enjoy our stay. June 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by "IT SHOULD" be their motto Key cards would not work after end of 1st day and room was booked 2 nights. We had our arms loaded down with stuff & couldn't get into our room. Was told " it should" work. Had to haul everything back to desk to show ID to get new cards. Then club card wouldn't work in the morning after assuring me " it should" work. Had to call the front desk, who said there "should be" someone nearby to let me and another guest in. When I checked out, I told the desk person there was no hairdryer in our room. The response was, there "should be" one. I wish they had a microwave in the "new" building. I drink tea & coffee brewers in rooms always makes my tea taste like coffee. It was quite a ways to walk back to my room with a couple of hot paper cups in my hands. I say there "should be" some of those cardboard rings for paper cups at the very least. April 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel customer service is not at all satisfactory Our toilet overflowed 3 times within a 6 hour period. A very angry acting man came to the room and brought a "snake" (tool) to unclog it the first 2 times. The 3rd time a nicer man came and unclogged it with a plunger. It overflowed again afterward, and each time the water went through to the carpet and floors outside the bathroom, which can cause extensive damage. When I called the 3rd time, when we were about to check out in the early afternoon, they offered us a free breakfast!!!! lol, which they can of course write off in taxes. And no wonder there is a strange odor in the hall and rooms....nuff said! February 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front desk Staff is very helpful Hotel has the old charm that you want when visiting Chattanooga. My friends and I stayed there because of the ghostly stories. Last year we captured a shadow figure picture in the 3rd floor hallway. Intrigued we stayed on the 3rd floor this time. We did not capture any shadows but we did leave our room to go to dinner and when we returned we got a surprise. Our clean, unused towels were in the toilet and the bathroom trash can was knocked over. Ghostly or not, we don't know. But it was enough to validate the stories we have heard. The rooms are comfortable and the hotel is beautiful. I will stay again! June 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Comedy of errors Lets start with the positive...great location, friendly staff, beautiful historic building. Unfortunately, they dont seem to have their act together any more... Remotes to TVs in suite did not function, room was completely ignored one day..came back from a long day to a dirty, unmade room...and then at checkout, they charged me full price instead of recognizing I had used Starpoints for this stay. at 10k starpoints a night, I expected more. March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Over the Top Service from Front Desk A rare ocassion to bring all the family together and we chose Chattanooga. Hotel is about a one mile walk to the river, aquarium and best dining areas but we enjoyed the walks. Room cleanliness was not what it should have been (food crumbs in corners, clothing left in sleeper sofa) but was easily overlooked because of the great treatment we received from Kevin, the front office manager, and Joshua. Both were extremely helpful to take care of all our needs and questions. We plan on returning. March 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic hotel Wife and I stayed in Chattanooga for business/pleasure...The Read House is one of those hotels that have a "Rat Pack" ambience....It has a very large mahogany foyer and a smell of coffee and antiques. The facility was built in 1925, but is as clean as a pin. The hotel is in excellent condition. Overall, service was EXCELLENT, ( we are Gold SPG). The staff all went above and beyond to help. Breakfast was excellent, room was spacious and clean and bed was soft as a feather...Parking was easy and location could not be better for downtown nightlife...We loved it. I wished I could stay here for a week. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Home Away From Home My son lives in Chattanooga, TN, so when I visit him, I always stay at the Seraton Read House. It really is my "Home away from home." I can always depend on the Seraton from the beginning to the end of my trip. Beginning with courteous boys who park my car and bring my luggage to the wonderful staff who remember me to my extra comfortable room (no pillows as comfortable anywhere) to the hot, strong shower to the club room to the restaurant downstairs with white linen table cloths and wonderful food to the free Internet to the spotless, impressive lobby. I'm already looking forward to my next visit! September 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is not up to expectations. I've stayed in Read House before and found the accommodations much better before I became a 'preferred guest'. This trip, after one night I moved to another hotel. The annexed sections, by the pool, are in need of complete renovation: walls are stained, paper peeling, ceilings have water stains, carpet in my room needed replacing, tub desperately needed reglazing and bathroom needed updating. For a hotel with the reputation and cost of Sheraton, this particular facility was very disappointing. March 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff issues My wife had issues one night with her menstrual cycle, unfortunately making a small mess of the bed. Before leaving, we left a note of apology to the staff, exiting for the day and evening. Upon our late night return, the bed was still a mess, and my wife was forced to sleep in these dirty sheets. This she was not happy about. I contacted the staff n the morning, letting them know my displeasure. November 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by horrible visit Unfortunately my wife and I had a horrible experience. Our room was par but it was very very noisy. we heard every door close and every siren throughout the day. On the last evening (3:42am) someone pulled the fire alarm and of course we were down on the streets until the event was over. But the worst part of the whole trip was the knocking of my door 4 times from 9:14 to 1:01 by various people asking me if I was leaving. For some reason they did not talk to the front desk for I asked for a 2pm late check out. Needless to say we received very little sleep that night and the following morning. April 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location and historical features of the hotel make it desirable Very friendly staff and accommodating April 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing I have stayed at this property many times in the past. It's never been exemplary in any manner but my most recent stay was ridiculously unacceptable. First, as I checked into the hotel, there was only ONE desk clerk when there was a line of 4 people waiting. Then the clerk made me stand and wait to be checked in while she dealt with an airline representative who was dropping off luggage for a guest. Once I was finally checked in and I went upstairs to my room, I was shocked to find the room not cleaned. There were empty soda, beer and liquor boxes and other trash left in a closet. Also left in the closet was a foil pan with fried chicken and baked beans, obviously left over from a party. The next morning, upon pulling back the shower curtain, there was hair in the floor of the shower stall. Long, dark, quite obvious if the housekeeping staff had bothered to look in the shower to see if it needed cleaning. September 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous stay I could not have been happier with my stay at the Sheraton Read House! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the club King room I stayed in was perfect. The bed was so comfortable, and the amenities were noticeable and appreciated. The front desk clerk (a very nice young man) upgraded me to a club room. I hope the management reads these reviews and recognizes their excellent staff that was working on 8/15/13 (around 10pm) -- they have won me over to staying at the Sheraton for my business trips to Chattanooga. This hotel far exceeds their competition in the Chattanooga market. August 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great up until.... Friend booked two rooms for the weekend, somehow he got charged for both rooms after I personally went down to the lobby to check out and told them I needed MY room charged to a different card. I gave them my card, watched them swipe it and they gave me my receipt. It turns out the wrong credit card was charged. I contacted the hotel and was told a manager was not available at the time but would return my call. The manager never returned the call to attempt to explain how this error could of happened. Never called to apologize the platinum member whose card got erroneously charged twice, this kind of customer service is why I wouldn't return to this particular hotel and also advise all my friends not to. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid worth while Great upgraded room. Nie folks at front desk. April 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historic, but nice The hotel and furnishings are dated, but the staff was great and the facility was clean. April 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing I booked three of us at this hotel for a business trip. The lobby area is lovely and full of historic charm and the staff was friendly and welcoming. Then we got to our rooms. The entire wall behind the shower surround in my room was rotting out and there was significant water damage in the ceiling above the bed. I believe that a drip of water actually hit me in the head during the night. Then, in the morning one of my co-workers reported that the sheets on her bed were not clean and she had had to call for new sheets prior to going to bed. The report from our third party was that they had unsightly stains on the cloth headboard and the ceiling in his bath was rotten. We had all hoped for a better experience. July 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by One night lay-over on a long driving trip from Tampa, FL to Chicago, IL We targeted Chattanooga as a one night lay-over as we drove from Tampa, FL to Chicao, IL. The Hotel was really great. The Valet recognized we had driven all day with two sick kids. They helped load up the lugage cart, and voulenteered to park the car nearby, in case we needed an emergency trip to the emergency room. The club floor was great, oodly it closed for breakfast at 9:00 AM which seems to be an hour earlier than most. The room was great, large and comforatble. We had a King with a pull out sofa, the sheets seemed to be wrinkled but clean. Unfortunately we had to hit the road early so we did not have time to see the sights or enjoy to gym or pool We would definitely stay there again, next trip to FL. January 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Great hotel for the price We were definitely happy with the location and the price we paid. The double rooms were overbooked so we were put in a Jr. Suite. There were four of us, two adults and two children but only a king size bed. I spoke to the staff and they brought a roll away bed. They couldn't have been any more helpful. I wasn't thrilled with the cleanliness or the space in the bathroom. That's my only complaint. It was very awkward for four people trying to shower and get ready with absolutely no counter space. We also went to the pool the first night. My daughter absolutely loved it and it's very nice. My only complaint here is that my eyes were on fire afterward from the strong chlorine fumes. Fantastic fitness center though! June 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty room Room 600 Dust on TV console very thick, Bed upper third wore out from sitting watching TV, head was 3-4 inches lover than reas of bed, bathroom floor was stained, others at meeting stated pretty hotal but bad upkeep, and cleanliness. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Love the Sheraton We enjoyed our stay, and the clerk was very helpful. Did want to comment though, about our check in. I reserved a Jr. suite. to make sure we had a really nice room. When we arrived. Late arrival 7:30 PM. Clerk said our King size room was not available. Tried to give us a reg. room with 2 Queen beds, not a Jr. suite. I had to ask him, and let him know that we spent more points to get this. He was very nice, and did upgrade us. My issue is not with him. This has happened to us 3 times before. ?, we are beginning to believe that we are considered 2nd class using our points? April 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement The room was very nice. The hotel overall needs improvement. I had to go to 3 different floors to find an ice machine that was working. Going from floor to floor to find ice I noticed that the stairwells were very unsightly - dirty linens thrown in corners, food trays setting on one floor that appeared to have been there for several days, floors dirty, etc. I had made reservations for the restaurant a week or so in advance but we still had to sit in the bar area. It took forever to get hot water in the shower. February 17, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 next>>